Toshiba 24AF41 Flat Panel Televisions

24AF41

· 24-Inch FST Pureâ„¢ Fine Pitch Flat Picture Tube · Advanced Velocity Scan Modulation · 3-Line Digital Comb Filter · Stereo MTS (SAP) · BBE Audio · StableSound · 10 Watts Audio (Total Output)

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Neil   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2002]
Strength:

Everything! Good remote, Colorstream input(component video) S-Video, and AV inputs(including front AV) and a 24" flat screen is surpisingly smaller than a stanard 25" TV and fits perfect in a bedroom.

Weakness:

None to speak of, but since nothing is perfect here goes. All flat screen TV's have minor jaggy effects, luckly you can hardly notice it on this TV, its much more noticable on 26" flat screens, this is the best flat screen TV I've seen outside of HDTV's. The reset on the remote is a bad idea, I havent hit it yet but I don't like it there. Toshiba just recently droped warranty on TV's to one year instead of two years, but since sony was the first to drop warranty we can thank them I guess. All in all these are minor complaints that don't hurt the TV in anyway, if anything the quality of the flat screen compared to some others is a strength not weakness.

Ok lets start by saying I LOVE TV. I watch many TV programs, movies and play video games so I good TV is important to me. Over the past two years I've become very fond of Toshiba TV, mind you I don't usually go to buy a product and look at brand names, I usually look for quality/price/features and choose what best meets my needs. I have equipment from JVC, GE, RCA, Yamaha, Samsung, Panasonic and Toshiba(probally more too), but Toshiba TV's are really standing out to me now. It all began almost three years ago when I bought a 27" standard no frills(except component video) TV made by toshiba, it had its downfalls but overall I was very impressed. This april past I decided to replace the 27" and get a new HDTV, when I began to look I looked at sony, toshiba and panasonic and ended up with the 50H81 for various reasons. I then sold the 27" TV. A few weeks later I wanted a new TV for my Rec Room and kind of regreted selling the 27" becuase it would have been perfect, but it was too late for that, so I went looking again, I decided to look at 32" instead. I looked at a JVC, Sony(not Wega) and Toshiba, I decided once agian that Toshiba was the best choice, and got a 32A41. A few weeks ago I finally decided that it was time to replace my 13 year old TV in my bedroom, it had no AV inputs, mono sound, the picture began to show lines, and the remote died and it was impossible to find a universial one with full compatibility. So I went looking again, I wanted to get a really nice TV and decided on Flat Screen before I went looking. After looking at the price diffence from 20" to 24" and the nice screen size increase I decided that 24" was what I wanted. My choices where then narrowed down to a Sony, Sony Wega and Toshiba. The standard sony was over $100 more and the Wega was almost double the price of the toshiba, and in all honestly the toshiba still looked the best. After looking and comparing the two(I quickly ruled out the Wega it was $900 before taxes and much more than I wanted to spend) the toshiba won hands down, it had better sound and picture quality. If your looking to get a great set that won't break the bank and still has just as good if not better quality and features than a TV almost twice the price then get this one, you won't be disapointed.

Similar Products Used: Sony Wega KV24FV12 24" Sony KV24FS100 24" Flat screen
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tonybrunke   Audio Enthusiast [May 31, 2002]
Strength:

Everything!

Weakness:

It's pretty heavy for one person to move.

Toshiba model # MW24FM1, 2002 model TV-VCR-DVD combo is the best 24" Flat screen "combo" for 2002. Awesome color and brillant sharp, clear picture. For the price it's the best TV on the market.

Similar Products Used: Sony Wega
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tetsuo   AudioPhile [Apr 24, 2002]
Strength:

TOP 1 best 24inch FST 2000 to 2004 with digital combfilter Superior color than other TV''''s .... Than Sony Wega!!great value best of best 24 flat screen...beleive me

Weakness:

great value! not a weaknesses

The best 24 Flat screen for 2000 to 2004. The picture give you the best of color and sharpness,clear picture. To play UNREAL TOURNEMENT i plug my PC in S-video and the color are better than my monitor 19" LG.the 3D polygone gonna kick your ass with amazing color sharpness but it''''s not a HDTV but a good resolution of 800x600 hi-res. perfect for 3D game and DVD.

Similar Products Used: PURE FST toshiba WEGA sony TAU panasonic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marginal   AudioPhile [Apr 23, 2002]
Strength:

S and component video ins, crystal clear picture, flat screen

Weakness:

Heavy.

Great TV for the price. I like especially the S and component video ins and all the video ins and outs in general. The picture is as perfect as it can be. The remote can be used on other A/V components. This size Sony TVs don''t have the S and component video ins. I would recommend this TV a 100% to everyone.

Similar Products Used: Sony Trinitron.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Don   Audio Enthusiast [May 15, 2001]
Strength:

Great Flat-Screen disply, audio output, S-video & Component video, controls, menu

Weakness:

Heavy

When shopping for a new TV for a small room or dorm, this TV should be considered. It has the most incredible picture I've seen for a flat-screen of its size. Sun glare is reduced to a minimal, and viewing the TV from any angle makes it good all round. Its picture is better than the Sony WEGA of the same size, plus it comes with more features than it too, for a lesser price. It comes with an Advanced Scan Modulation, so scanning lines are very less visible, if visible at all. I dont notice them, but then again I dont sit up close to my TV. The digital comb filter that it comes with really reduces the dot crawl that you get from watching standard NTSC broadcast, thus giving you a crystal clear picture. The sound output is very good aswell, better than any previous TVs that I used, and is clearer too. Owning a Playstation 2, the Component video hook-up is a major plus, giving me the best visuals out of my games and DVD movies. Since Component video delivers un-compressed color resolution, you get the best possible visual to date, for a TV that is. There is also a hefty S-video connection for any oher equipment that uses S-video. The remote control is very easy to learn, and the menu is simple, so configuring your TV wont take very long at all.

The only gripe about this TV is that it is pretty heavy, but with 2 people it is quite easy.

Basically, if your looking for a new TV and want to enjoy video games at the same time, this is the TV to get. Even if you dont play games, viewing your favorite movies and TV shows will never look better.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2001]
Strength:

Picture Quality, Beautiful Colours, Front AV Plugs, Price

Weakness:

Slow Channel Surfing

I went out on the market in search for a flat screen TV 24-27 inches in size. I stopped in at Future Shop and noticed that the Toshiba 24 inch and Sony 24 inch were pretty much equal in quality (Toshiba actually looked a bit better) except there was a 3 hundred dollar difference.

The Toshiba TV is a beautiful model, with exception colour depth, and great quality with their FST Pure technology. Hooked up to a great DVD player you can receive impecable quality through the colour stream mode.

I highly reccomend this TV, both for it's quality, and it's excellent price. It's great for a regular sized apartment, and goes well with almost anything around it. The only drawback I found was the slow speed in which you can flip through channels, but like they say, great things come to those who wait.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tony   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2001]
Strength:

Fantastic flat-screen picture, component video and S-video inputs, PRICE!!

Weakness:

Reset button on remote (??) way too easy to hit accidently. Component and S-video inputs should have their own dedicated audio inputs. No way to choose S-video in the input menu, it takes over automatically when video 1(composite) is selected,if an S-video signal is present.

For the price, this has to be the best TV on the market. Picture quality is unbelievable, as good or better than the Panasonic T'au and Sony Wega models, which are both MUCH more expensive. These models cost at least $300 more, and the T'au has NO component video inputs.

My StarChoice satellite receiver is hooked up to the S-video input and my DVD player to the composite input. The satellite picture is excellent, but watching a DVD is nothing short of amazing, with incredible contrast, detail and color. The digital comb filter and velocity scan modulation combined with the flat screen make for an almost film-like picture.

Anyone looking to buy a flat-screen TV would do well to consider this Toshiba. All in all, an outstanding product at a bargain price.

Similar Products Used: Sharp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
don   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 25, 2001]
Strength:

As good in not better than Sony, Much longer Warr. than Sony.

Weakness:

75Lbs.

I did a lot of research and all of it added up to this TV. The Sony is a fine set but whats with a 90 Warranty? I've had the Sony run around trying to get repairs and find Sony offers nothing days after the 90 days are up. Good luck Sony owners if you ever need help, I wonder about a product that is so poorly backed.

Anyway I am very happy with this set, it has enough inputs, good remote and a perfect picture.
The sound is better than most of this size but I still use AV receiver.

Similar Products Used: Sony Wega
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2001]
Strength:

Lots of AV inputs

Weakness:

No direct access to video sources

I bought this tv for bedroom use. I have a Dish network receiver hooked up to the S-video input. The picture is great. Also have a sony ns-300 dvd player hooked up to the component video input. The picture is even better. I have a rooftop off air antenna hooked up to the rf input. This set has an excellent tuner since I am able to receive many fringe stations. I cross shopped this set with the 24 in. sony wega. I have always liked sony products but this set has just as good if not a better picture. Where the toshiba blows the sony away is price and number of AV inputs. The toshiba also has a much better sound to it.

I do have one major gripe with this set. Why did they put a video reset button on the remote? When you press reset contrast is pegged at 100%. At least I haven't hit this button since I am more used to the remote after owning the set for a while.

Similar Products Used: 36 in. Toshiba cinema series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com