AKAI LCT2701TD 27 in. LCD Television TV/DVD Combo Flat Panel Televisions

LCT2701TD 27 in. LCD Television TV/DVD Combo

User Reviews (5)

Showing 1-5 of 5  
lis   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2010]

horrilble combo tv/dvd nice picture, but dvd player quit working after 1 year... couldnt get machine to incert the dvd... nice to see on the wall, nice side dvd player, too bad the whole thing is a waste of money

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
VinceMundo   Casual Listener [Jan 11, 2009]
Strength:

Set work well until the power supply issue.

Weakness:

Short life span. When you pay $800 for a TV, you expect more than 2 years service and there is an expectation that repairs will be available if needed.

Disappointing product! Unit power supply failed after 2 years and 10 months of service, and replacement part is no longer available anywhere, so unit can not be fixed. Fortunately for me Costco honored their replacement policy in place at the time I bought the TV set in February 2006. I contacted their concierge service that instructed me to take it in to a local repair service. The repair service confirmed what I had already deduced by reading reviews online, that parts are no longer available. The concierge service instructed me to return the set to a Costco warehouse and workout a satisfactory deal with the warehouse manager. I did just that, there was no drama involved. As it turned out I got a 32" Vizio 1028p set that is currently selling for $549 as a replacement. Considering I had the original set for two years, and that Costco no longer offeres their generous return policy in place, this was a very fair accomidation.

Customer Service

AKAI support appears to be non-exisitent. Thank god for Costco!

Similar Products Used: $2400 AKAI 42inch Plasma Set purchased in 2004. Developed a line of defective pixels after one week of use, exchanged.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Peter Flagg   Casual Listener [Nov 24, 2008]
Strength:

It was great while it lasted, crisp picture and the built-in DVD was a plus.

Weakness:

Stand was always wobbly, so we went to a wall mount within our entertainment center to pull it away and out (sway mount). Other then the power issues, I liked it, I just expected more from a TV then 2.5 years.

Same thing for me too. I purchased my AKAI Purchased in March 2006, 27 in wide screen LCD TV w/DVD Player. Screen has many burn spots but didn't matter until I got the flashing Red LD - can't even get my DVD out of the damn thing. Spent 3 months trying to get an answer only to tell me that no repair place or AKAI for that matter created the power supply anymore There is a number for technical support but they too are worthless and non responsive via phone or eMail other than to tell you they will get back to you. The only good thing that came out of this was even though I purchased it in March 2006, it was before Costco put the 2 year limit on electronic purchase returns in 2007 - Costco refunded all my money (I had all the paperwork including the remote, receipts and prints of blogs). If you purchased ( i believe after 2/07) good luck, should just throw it out, or better said out of luck. I'll never buy another AKAI product again. The refund allowed me to buy another flat screen and save $300 bucks on the backend.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
notAgeek   Casual Listener [Nov 20, 2008]
Strength:

AKAI knows how to make their product last a year or two and can write a comical product User Guide

AKAI 27" lcd tv (LCT2715N) worked fairly well about one year, then color and picture quality screwed up and we could never get it reset again to a satisfactory picture. Worse yet, it turned itself off and we have the now infamous blinking red light syndrome! What a piece of junk foisted on consumers! Please, never be tempted to buy AKAI products by the attractive price and pretty showroom picture qaulity! It won't last! Our web searches show that these problems are not unusual, rather they seem to be way too common a problem ! There are numerous descriptions of the exact same symptoms and pages dedicated to the fixes and the difficulties of obtaining the parts due to high demand for them or lack of product support by AKAI !

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Travis   Casual Listener [Jan 05, 2008]

How can I get a manuel for this TV
Model # LCD2070
PLEASE HELP

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
deebo24   Casual Listener [Dec 10, 2007]
Strength:

Great television and DVD player until it just suddenly brokedown.

Weakness:

Too short of a life.

Had the same flashing red infrared red light problem that previous reviewer Harry had. Same problem with tryng to get technical assistance via phone (limited hours). They don't address the flashing red light problem in the troubleshooting secton of the manual because they don't want you to know you're up the creek.

Luckily I stumbled accross the fixya web-site. Was able to get very quick and detailed answers from the the online technicians.

The failure is in the SMPS. If you know what you're doing (I'm clueless) it's supposed to be easily removed and replaced. The part can be purchased for $70.00 plus shipping. Because it's such a common failure technicians buy them by the case which causes them to be out of stock.

I was told some of don't even last a year and most will see a major breakdown within 3 years.Fortunately for me the television failed before the two year return deadline Costco now enforces for electronics. I was able to get a full cash refund.

You will need both the product manual and remote to complete the return so make sure to keep all your paperwork.

All the other televisions I ever owned lasted 15-25 years. I was really shocked that eventhough I was buying a lesser priced LCD that it would breakdown so quickly.

Hope this information helps someone else!

Customer Service

Not available when I needed it.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Harry   Casual Listener [Jul 01, 2007]
Strength:

Surround sound and picture quality as well as DVD component and zoom features. Light weight and size make this ideal for bedroom.

Weakness:

Short shelf life, no on-line or telephone technical support available Saturdays or Sundays.

Purchased the 27 in wide screen LCD TV w/DVD Player a little over a year and 3 months ago. Television screen has 4 burn in spots and cut off today. The infrared button is flashing and I am unable to get the system to respond to manual or remote prompts. There is a number for technical support and advice to contack tech support before contacting the store where purchased, however, the tech support number is only good Monday through Friday, PST. Of course I didn't purchase an extended warranty as I find the additional expense such a waste and often don't get the opportunity to use it. I don't know if there is a significant problem or something minor, The manual is vague in the problem/solution area. Thought I might get on line support/information and that was a bust as well. I know this is not a popular brand but thought I would have gotten more use from this product given the price and manufacturer

Customer Service

No customer service available over the weekends.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-5 of 5  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com