Proscan PS50700 Rear Projection

PS50700

50" Projection TV - 4:3 Aspect Ratio - 900 Lines Horizontal Resolution - Comb Filter - Surround Sound Audio - Picture in Picture - S-Video Input - 2 A/V Inputs - Universal Remote

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Randy   Casual Listener [Aug 19, 2002]
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Do yourself a favor and find another product

Purchased 2-23-99 first repair 5-26-00 $228.33 2nd repair 3-16-02 $502.16 8-19-02 set won't work HV Transformer & output transistor bad on both repairs

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Lance   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 02, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture quality and viewing angle.

Weakness:

no component inputs, but hey I got it in 1998.

I bought this TV new from Future Shop in Dec. 1998. The TV was originally priced at $1899.00. I compared the tv with Toshiba and Sony and found the Proscan to have the sharpest picture with the best color tones. So far I have had no problems and the TV is working great.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
john   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 20, 2000]
Strength:

Outstanding Picture,PIP and TV guide feature

Weakness:

none

The image qual. is very good. I think it is the best picture quality that you can achive without breaking the $2200 barrier. I bought this thing at Circuit City off of the floor (400 hrs of running time) for $1200 with the screen saver attached. I love it, now my Home theater is complete. I highly recommend the Proscan over the Toshiba and the hitachi models that are out there in this price range. The best part was the salesman delivered the TV to my house personally on his way home from work the same day free of charge. Now that is customer service. I also got the extended warr. plan. $250 / 4 years. I can wait to go home and listen to / watch a movie.

Similar Products Used: Nothing worth mentioning
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Derek Bundick   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 1999]
Strength:

Lots of inputs, on screen TV guide feature, sharpest picture I've seen

Weakness:

no component inputs, speakers not impressive, but who uses those anyway?

Im not sure why there are no reviews for this RPTV ? It's been out awhile and IMHO has the sharpest picture, especially for DVD, that I have seen in comparison to similar priced units by Sony, Hitachi etc. After a side by side comparison, there was no doubt this was the sharpest and best color balanced of all sets I looked at, except maybe the Mitsubishi, which was $500+ more than Proscan. I originally went in with the intentions of buying the Sony, but after adjusting picture controls of both sets the sony appeared to bright and the reds seemed off color and bled in to other dark colors where as the Proscan was not as bright but much sharper in appearance and no bleeding of bright colors. Two S-video and two composite inputs with two tuner pip are a plus, but lack of composite inputs keeps this set from getting 5 stars overall. It has performed flawless and never has lost its convergance settings since I plugged it in. By the way I bought this at circuit city for $ 1,700 six months ago and it they are still on sale and your in the market for a 50" do your self a favor and check this set out.

Similar Products Used: sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
M A C   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2002]
Strength:

Nice picture when looking down, or straight at it. Preset picture settings, PIP.

Weakness:

NOT HD Ready.

Just Purchased on the 17th of January 2002 as a closeout, openbox refurbished. To be honest, we were really looking to get a 36" tube, but at $769, $996.07 with tax, and Extended Service Plan, we would have spent the same. However for a 50" RPTV, this would definitely have to be a no brainer. I saw a couple of negative items that were addressed. I seem to be pretty pleased with this unit even though it is not HDTV ready. I will not complain as some ungrateful people out there would. I know my brother in-law and his wife were pretty impressed, since they just purchased a 36" Hitachi Ultravision less than 45 days ago, and now want our 50". Well that is flattering. If anything changes in 6 months or so, I will resubmit another review. If I remember a year from know, I will do another review and let everyone know more about it.

Similar Products Used: Sanyo, Sony, Zenith Ultravision.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dennis Boschert   [Dec 28, 2000]
Strength:

Set works ok. But others work better for less money as we have since found out.

Weakness:

No support.. Corporate structure sucks and they are basically just DIFFICULT to get along with. (Synonym for DIFFICULT - Where do hemmoroids occur?)

The unit operated just fine when we recieved it into the house. One exception was that thee Guide Plus programming feature did not work. However, we did not concern ourselves with this since we had digital cable which included this feature. Once digital cable was canceled, this became more important to us. After the initial problem was unable to be repaired by the local Proscan representative, contact was made to the manufacturer for the replacement of this unit. They, however, wanted to continue to replace various components in an effort to make the set functional. Thomson Electronics (the manufacturer) finallly admitted that this feature was not functional after having the unit in the shop for over two months.

Here is where the real story begins. Thomason Electronics attempted to replace our unit for several months with no success. This is suprising to us that they were unable to get a unit when THEY are the manufacturer of same.


I will never own another RCAProscan since this company cares nothing of its current and life-long customers. We were treated rudely on every attempt we madeto resolve this issue from the beginning to the top of the company Mr. JIM MEYER. This man just deligated off the responsibilty to others so that he didn't have to deal with it even after two personal letters to him.

All of this can be documneted.....

Similar Products Used: REPALACED WITH EXCELLENT TOSHIBA
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Gord   Casual Listener [Aug 11, 2000]
Strength:

Great picture for cable TV, VHS tapes and outstanding for DVD
and this despite using a protective screen. On screen TV guide and illuminated easy to use remote a big plus.

Weakness:

Cheesy speakers which I don't use.

I was looking for a replacement for the Mitsubishi I've had
for almost 9 years. I considered my Mitsubishi equal to
anything on the market today however after 8 1/2 years of
service it finally gave out and repairs were estimated to
be almost equal to a new unit. Without question I would have
replaced it with another Mitsubishi however they have moved
out of Canada and are no longer available in our city (hence
the huge cost to repair). I then began a 2 month search for
a replacement and during this time I probably drove several
salesreps crazy however I was determined to get the best value for my doller. I have never been an RCA fan and it was
by accident that I took a look at the Proscan line. I was
immediately blown away by the quality of the picture (DVD
was being shown). Even though I was impressed it was a RCA
product and I did not pursue features, pricing, warranty, etc. What I did do was try to find as many reviews on this
product as possible over the net. Everything I found highly
recommended this model, I then went to the dealer and asked
him names of customers who had bought this model. People were
very gracious and I found that these customers were very happy with their TV and highly recommended the model and the
dealer. I then brought my VCR, DVD player and some of my audio equipment to the dealer and played my own tapes and
DVD's to see how they would play. The more I tested the
unit the more I was impressed. This TV was head and shoulders
above all the competition in the same price range. I tried
them all including Sony, Hitachi, Toshiba, etc. With this
information we made a deal at what I feel was a good price.
I have now had this TV for 4 months and it has exceeded my
expectations. We have a lot of cable noise which my
Mitsubishi could not handle however the 3D Y/C Digital
Frame Comb Filter in this unit has eliminated this problem.
This unit has an amazing range of picture quality adjustments
which allows you to set the TV to your own personal preferences. You get the picture you want not the picture
closest to what you want. The TV comes with a 2 year in house
100% parts and service warranty which for $130 more was
extended to 5 years. This TV does not include a protective
screen (required if you have children/grandchilden) which
was an additional cost of $125. The screen protector that
I have has only slightly reduced the quality of the picture.








Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi rear projection
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tom Yau   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2000]
Strength:

Exellent picture, adjustable to surrounding light conditions,inuitive remote

Weakness:

Had problem with coax connecter for cable but has been repaired and haven't had any problems since.

When I went shopping for a big screen, I looked at Sony , Hitachi, and RCA. The Sony bigscreens had the worst picture. The Hitachi had 2 lines: one was less costly and of course their Ultravision line. RCA gave the most bang for the buck and not a bad picture. Then the Proscan 50" model caught my eye. It was less expensive than the Hitachi Ultravision series by around $500 and better than the 52" RCA. I was surprised how poorly Sony big screens were considering their excellent tube 43" model and their Wega XBR series. Plus I am a big Sony video product fan. The Hitachi Ultravsion had the best picture in the clarity and detail department but Hitachi video tone on all their products seem to have a haze and not enough black in the picture. The Proscan had superior warmth and coloration that is natural and pleasing to the eye. Setting up was a breeze because of the intuitive menus. The remote which has a light button to illuminate the buttons is quite good. Although after time the labels on the number buttons have faded. When I first purchased my DVD player, I was in a whole other world. I examined the edges on objects and it was completely free of ghosting or blurring, and the colors had extra depth. The comb filters seem to do the job. Although I don't recall wether it is an analog or digital comb filter or wether it is a 3 line comb filter or not. The results are the most important factor. Overall, in total it is just a cut above the rest. The automatic channel labels are a nice added feature. However, I do not use the the TV guide, so I cannot comment on that. Overall, a superb product.

Similar Products Used: Hitachi, Sony, and RCA
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Mathis   [Nov 17, 2000]
Strength:

Picture quality, PIP and great remote.

Weakness:

PIP not easy to setup.

Excellent Big Screen for the money. I was fortunate to be able to buy a floor model and save alot of money. Much better picture than Sony or Toshiba. Great PIP, sound is good for built in speakers. Super good for angles of view. Very easy to setup, able to ajust picture to room light.
Nice and easy remote control.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com