Mitsubishi WS-65907 Rear Projection

WS-65907

Screen Size - 65" Aspect Ratio - 16:9 Finish - High Gloss Burl 2-Piece Cabinet

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Madd   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2002]
Strength:

Everything,Price!

Weakness:

Red push, ISF will take care of that

This TV Kicks A$$! The picture quality is stunning to say the least. I must have gotten a good one. Sorry for those who did not. I will put this TV up against any other RPTV. I just hooked up my friends new P Elite Pro 720hd and it has nothing on the Mit. Even the Menu system is out dated! Where is the 3D menu Pioneer? You charge how much for those TV's? My friends Pioneer is 53", Mine is 65" and my picture is equal to if not better then the Pioneer's.Plus I saved a hell of alot of money going with the Mit. I am a happy man to say the least.$3700 vs $7500.I am suppose to have it ISF calibraited but I am not sure there will be an improvedment except the red push. My system: Mit 65907HD Mit Satelite Toshiba DVD 6200 Yamaha RXV 1000 Paridigm Studio 20's Front Paradigm Studio CC center Paradigm Studio Surrounds rear Paradigm PW2200 SUB All Monster wire M500 & M1000 series. Monster Line Cond Result incredible sound and picture.

Similar Products Used: Sony,Mit
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Carl Bell   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 09, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity of Picture,bright colors

Weakness:

none

The WS65907 impressed me at the store and I choose to have it professionally installed went with Paradigm surround speakers,Mitsubishi Pro scan dvd player, Mitsubishi HD Direct tv Satelite receiver the works,even went with Mitsubishi cabinent. The Picture was and still is outstanding. I wish there were more HD programs out there but I get HBO & HD Net. Everybody that comes over and views the pict is impressed. I keep in mind that there is a difference in movies filmed in HD and those converted to HD,but even with the converted to HD movies viewing is excellent. All my connections are gold plated because I wanted the best sound & pict. This was money well spent and my wife watches alot of tv. Prior to this set we had a 61" Magnovox before HD big screens came out, I gave it away to the first person that asked why was it sitting on the curb.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dana   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 03, 2002]
Strength:

picture quality

Weakness:

Haven't run into one yet.

I've used this tv for a couple of years and overall I'm very happy with it. I've tried to get my laptop computer to connect to the vga input but after reading the operator manual it doesn't support svga....great I love the split screen, with my video/audio setup I can watch and listen to two programs at the same time. Talk about multitasking!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
hunter5   Casual Listener [Aug 13, 2002]
Strength:

great pic

Weakness:

runs a little red. i didnt view that much in box format and i still got the ghost grey side bars

i have the mitsu 65" diamond 65908 awesome set super great pic quality especially with my progressive scan dvd. the HD channel is way too amazing from my sat dish (sony hd100 box)direct tv. i wish they had more HD channels. all my neighbors love my set when they get a special dvd they all come over to watch it on my mitsu. even my neighbors friends visit them & sneak over to my house to watch my set. i love it!!

Similar Products Used: i had a mitsu 50" before this one for 20yrs love it and still have it in the guess room good pic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Prashant   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2002]
Strength:

Awesome picture

Weakness:

CRT problems, Bad Customer Service

This TV has given me problems from day one. I had yellow bands on the right side of the screen and blue bands on the left side of the screen when watching pictures with white background. Called the technician ( extended warranty from tweeter) and he said he couldn''t fix and asked tweeter to exchange this set. It has been about 3 months and i haven''t gotten the replacement yet( they it is out of stock). If you have a choice buy the pioneer instead. Hower this TV has a better picture than pioneer. Also, note that the Misthibishi Customer service is bad. They never answer you questions..

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Pablo Taboada   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 01, 2001]
Strength:

I guess picture quality.

Weakness:

Mitsubishi's quality control before shipping

Bought it brand new in box at The Wiz, got it out of the box by the delivery guy, turn it on and there we go...
Out of focus, shadows all over, very poor picture.
Now after 4 weeks, I'm still dealing with Mitsubishi customer service to get an RMA so The Wiz can exchange it.
A service company looked at it and offered me a repair that it would take about 3 weeks, good deal, then I'll get a refurbished TV for $4000 tax included.

Make sure who you buy this TV from and buy the extra warranty, remember that!

Very disappointed

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Jeff   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2001]
Strength:

I agree with Jeff Spencer the best thing is that it splits apart into two components. This is very important if you need to move this sucker up/down stairs. Choice of five different screen modes. Good PIP implementation. Great performance for the price. Plenty enough inputs.

Weakness:

20-30% red push on all inputs. Out of focus,,, you need the 64-point convergence.

If you are looking for pro-grade picture look at another product. If you want a big bang for your buck or need the split cabinet, this is a good choice. I truly believe bigger is better and this unit is BIG. I only considered 16:9 TV’s. As you can see, I got this TV at a pretty deep discount. I am not happy with the picture quality and I wouldn’t have purchased it unless it was such a good deal.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Elite 64", Toshiba 56"
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Jeff   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2001]
Strength:

Great price/performance ratio; beautiful picture; beautiful cabinetry; usable remote and on-screen menus; 11 seperate inputs each with its own memory settings

Weakness:

Excessive red push (fixable for component input via external device); some service menu lockouts; NTSC cable performance

Same comments as previous posters. Great picture on DVD 480p (Do not have HD yet); so-so on Cable (but may be spceific to my situation), very usable remote and menu system, very tweakable set (except for some service menu lockouts). Great quality out of the box (at least for me): No geometry problems, no convergence problems, no ringing...just the red push issue which is most exceesive with Mits sets. Great value. If not for red push, I'd give it 5 out of 5 stars.

Similar Products Used: Looked at Pioneer (Elite and Non-Elite, Sony) before purchasing
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   Audiophile [Jun 10, 2001]
Strength:

Awesome picture, cabinet finish fine vs. 907-was unable to see difference in store demo. $700 price difference less than 907. Both great sets. Best value for size. DLP it is not, however HDTV and Progressive scan simply rocks. Speakers look like they came out of the back of a 88 escort, but they sound great. I can't believe it.

Weakness:

picture accuracy not true in HD and can see it when panning down, you see objects "bend" like trees. My set needs some calibration-I hope.

Overall I am happy with the purchase. I could not find a space for the 857 so I put it here. I wonder if it is worth the upgrade to the 907. I have not had it 30 day's so I might make them upgrade me. I love the finnish on the 907. The mirrors are supposed to be a little better and the guns are to be better as well. However, I am very happy with the unit. Direct TV needs more programming and my town shows local content in 4:3 digital-that sucks. DVD's look great with a prog scan. My rcvr up samples the comp video, but does not pass through so I have elected to go straight from tuner to TV. However with DVD, I have 2 comp outs and I have one direct and one through the rcver and the up sample is much better, better blacks, crisper, much more depth. Looks 3D. The digital loop on 199 is incredible. If I see that guy check the sex of the aligator one more time I am gonna go nuts-pardon the punn. The best machine for the money. good foot print, does not take up too much room. Menu easy to understand, remote is nice, back lit for night and works with the HD DTV rcvr. You can program macros-however I have too many remotes that can do that as it is. The big suprise is the sound from these little radio shack speakers, they sound great. Even ghost surround sound is good from the two little pinto door speakers. After owning it, and looking it over, it seems to be built pretty cheaply. There must be a heafty margin in this one. If the pic is the same when you look at them in the store, buy the more solid built one, with all plastic instead of particle board. My only regret. I am thinking of returning it for a better built one for future compatibility. Direct TV's picture is by far better than digital cable. I am finally a convert. costly, but good.

Sales man told me that showtime was in HD, so watch out for the lies. Only HBO chan 509 is HD. Make sure installer does not put cables in roof tiles. I have some complaints.

Similar Products Used: First HD set
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Joshua Plank   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2001]
Strength:

Amazing picture quality. Easy to use remote. Choice of five different screen modes(expand is the best). Nice fit and finish. Screen protector.

Weakness:

Cabinet height could be lower.

This TV is amazing! While shopping for a 16:9 HDTV I compared three brands at the store. The salesman put a Pioneer Elite 64", Sony XBR 65", and the Mitsubishi side by side in their "theatre room". Of the three, the Pioneer Elite had a VERY SLIGHT edge over the Mitsu for overall picture quality. The Sony came in a pretty distant third (in my opinion). The reason for my choosing the Mitsu was a $2500 price difference below the Pioneer($7000vs.$4500).
I have watched at least a hundred dvd's by now, and can say that each time I am truly amazed by the picture quality. I have also watched many hours of programming via a Mitsubishi Direct TV satellite, and while not as sharp as the dvd's the picture is still outstanding.
While this is just my opinion, I would not hesitate to recommend this TV to anyone.

Similar Products Used: JVC,Sony.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com