Mitsubishi WS 55809 Rear Projection

WS 55809

- Employs fine-grain phosphors for a 20 percent smaller spot sizes, resulting in sharper, clearer, higher-resolution images.
- Even video content with bright colors and fast action is displayed with a new level of clarity.
- High-speed Velocity Scan Modulation has the speed and precision it takes to deliver crisp-edge detail even at the hyperfast scan rates of 480p and 1080i.
- Enhanced depth-of-field lenses: advanced lenses provide more accurate focus in the corners and along the edges of the screen.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Easymember   Casual Listener [Oct 22, 2006]
Strength:

The picture is large and looks great now that it is completely rebuilt. I haven't used the HDTV feature yet and I have been told that it is a better image but I use S-video connection. My favorite feature is the surround sound feature. I just found that one last week.

Weakness:

It isn't 1080p it only 1080i. Now I know what that means and wish I had done my homework and bought 1080p. Something to look foward to I guess in my next purchase.

This is a great television set and reliable as long as you get a real good service agreement. Pun intended. I give it 4 stars for picture quality on all fronts as long as you get the picture adjusted by a trained service tech and then you will be pleased.
I went for the savings and bought mine off the showroom floor at Sears and I knew that it had been a used television. It was the last of the line and going for a few hundred off the price of a better newer model.

But then, seemingly to the day, after the factory warranty expired all of the sudden when I turned on the television it would have a skewed image appear for a brief moment then snap back to a clear image. The skew in the picture was slight and hardly noticed but then over the next few weeks became a few seconds to a longer period like 10 or twenty seconds until it just stayed like that. If I played the Finding Nemo DVD then it would return to a clear image but only if I played Finding Nemo. Weird huh?

After a call to tech support a tech was dispatched. After every printed circuit board and 4 techs later I have a completely repaired television. All covered under extended warranty. Money spent upfront or on the back end. They get it either way.

Customer Service

Sear’s tech support bombed on me and I had a television OOC (out of commission) for a couple weeks or more. I had 3 different techs arrive to my home that each second and third blamed the first for why the prior one didn't repair my television the first time. Then the phone support person sent the first one back to complete the job. The third tech came back to tune in my television and that worked. Now my television works like new because it is.

Similar Products Used: Some other products sold by Mitsubishi have been used in my home.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ariel rodriguez   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 08, 2003]
Strength:

inputs, detail in picture. very nice entry level set.

Weakness:

sound you constantly have to adjust the volume everytime something goes into commercial. it cranks up too loud.

This tv is awesome, it has a clear picture. i like the way that the audio and video is memorized when you change inputs. I own a progressive scan dvd player and the picture is just amazing.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Omar Flores   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 24, 2002]
Strength:

Good Picture and good sound

Weakness:

The support is weak

I have 1 month with this TV and suddenlly it is useless, The garantee is not as good as it should be.

Similar Products Used: SONY
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
kingkustom   AudioPhile [Sep 17, 2002]
Strength:

Vast capabilities for input soures. Extremley user friendly remote and set-up options. Absolutley the right choice for the money. 65" or 55"? -65" or 55"? that question played in my mind at first, but with the amount of veiwing space I have the 55" was definetly the right one for me.

Weakness:

Some "red" saturation at times. Able to be tuned or corrected by different means, that's being extremely picky, I hate to say that's even a weakness. It's really a perfect peice of equipment for anyone interested in a 55" wide screen for their home theater.

Before buying this set. I did many comparisons and was very picky about what I was going to buy, my opiion is that you can't beat Mitsubishi's quality for the price. I have had the wide screen for exactly a year now and I am just now writing a review,(a bit too much red at times) if there were any viable annoyances with this set I would for sure know by now. I use it with a Harmon Kardon AVR7000 and a Toshiba SD-6200 progressive scan DVD player,and Polk Audio for sound. My wife and I watch about 2-3 DVD's per week and this set has been the most entertaining and fun bang for the buck I can say I have ever purchased,I have a bad habbit of stopping the movies we get in the beginning to tweak this and that, and when I finally sit down to watch I am still amazed every time at the clarity and performance I get from the WS55809. I recently got an older HD receiver, it is 480 - 1080 swithable, I don't know much about it. But up until now I have really not been interested in even installing the HD receiver, the set has provided such a good picture that this will be another level, I am imaging that it will appear as the ones I looked at on display did, the programs broadcast in Hi Definition are a bit limited,I recently changed from DSS to Digital Cable (for PC reasons) and the picture is not as good,there is talk that there will be HD broadcast through cable in the future. That would be awesome.

Similar Products Used: (as far as video only) Toshiba Hitachi Sony Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve Miller   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2002]
Strength:

Picture, Inputs and outputs

Weakness:

None

After checking out Big Screens for over a year a finally decided on this model. Every time I went to stores I would Check out the TV's I narrowed it down to Hitachi and Mitsubishi. When I finally got it home I new I had made the right choice. The overall picture is better and the I like the way it looks.

Similar Products Used: Sony,JVC
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Nick Donato   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 23, 2002]
Strength:

Colors, Sharpness, Depth of focus (background images are still crisp, you can actually see that one image is 8', 10’ or 15' behind another).

Weakness:

Netcommand! It's more trouble than it's worth.

Mitsubishi makes the best displays I have ever seen! No other TV comes close! I'm not just talking rear projection either. I've yet to see the DLP front projector, Plasma or tube TV that looks better. There are a few flagship displays from other manufacturers that are as good as mitsubishi's entry level sets but, that’s all. Progressive scan DVDs look almost High Definition. High definition images look Amazing, breathtaking on the upper end Platinum plus and Diamond series sets. My advice to anyone is to buy highest level Mitsubishi set you can afford.

Similar Products Used: Sony plasma, tubes and RPTV, Marantz plasma and RPTV, Hitachi, Samsung, RCA, Toshiba.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
o14047   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 10, 2002]
Strength:

DVD Playback, great sound from the speakers, vivid colors, fantastic picture on some channels.

Weakness:

None so far.

Well, I finally decided to do it, after researching different products for over 2 months. I looked at Sony, Hitachi, Pioneer, and purchused a Panasonic 47 in. It was a great tv, until I decided, I really wanted the bigger Mitsubishi, As you probably haved guessed, I took the Panasonic back and paid the upcharges for the Mits. Some of the channels coming in from my satelite company, 'Direct TV', are exceptional on this TV. Others are just ok, but watching DVD movies with my progressive scan player, I'm totally blown away! There are also a very high clarity on all The Discovery Channels as well. I am very glad I made this purchase. This has been a long time coming for me. What I appreciate the most is, the future upgradeability promise offered from Mitsubishi. I could not find this from any of the other manufactures. Anyone searching for a big screen tv, have a look at the 'Mits WS55809', there is no use in spending more money, your search will be over! Now if I only had a little help with the convergence setup. Oh I forgot, this was part of the purchase price too, never mind.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic PT-47WX49.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
matt robinson   Audio Enthusiast [May 08, 2002]

Has a very nice pic.Great for hdtv and dvd''s.All a round very good tv!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Paratrooper   AudioPhile [Mar 08, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture even from non-digital sources. My progressive scan DVD player combined with this TV will take your breath away with it''''''''s clarity. I now have no need at all to ever go see a movie in a theater. The remote is perfect and super simple to use. There are plenty of inputs on the back of the set and even some on the front behind a little door. I love having friends over for movie night now.

Weakness:

Yeah right!!

Wow! I looked long and hard for the perfect TV and this is it! After shopping around, Sears, Circuit City, Worst Buy, etc. I found a local dealer with a good reputation. I could not be happier with them. I bought the service plan with the TV and they don''''''''t balk at all if I want them to come adjust the set. I compared all the major brands and couldn''''''''t find a better TV at any price unless I went to plasma monitors.

Similar Products Used: Sony junk!!! Magnavox/Phillips, JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 30, 2002]
Strength:

Lots of inputs, on screen menu, easy to use remote.

Weakness:

None noticed so far.

I've owned the WS 55809 for about 4 months now and have had no complaints. I had to adjust the convergance as well upon setup, but after some brief trial and error with the remote it was easy. I recently upgraded my DVD player to a progressive scan (Toshiba SD 3750) and noticed a distinct improvement on the picture. The 480p compared to 480i was noticeable and worth getting the new player. I'm still waiting on my HDTV cable box so I haven't had an opportunity to view HD broadcasts yet. I did make several different HD picture comparisons at retail stores and my wife and I both decided that when compared side by side with Toshiba HD and Sony HD that Mitsubishi had the sharpest HD picture. I will say that watching standard TV broadcasts took some getting used to. We watch TV primarily in the 'stretched' mode. All other modes seem to disrupt the picture too much. The best pictures I can receive through digital cable are the premium channels such as HBO or Showtime. Regular network programming is not as crisp. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this TV to anyone who is considering upgrading to an HD ready televsion.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com