Mitsubishi VS-60601 Rear Projection

VS-60601

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
troy   Casual Listener [Aug 30, 2007]

i have a vs60603 mitsubishi 60" tv that i got free pretty much for moving it(heavy)it works awesome once in awhile the tv picture goes bad(converence)but all i have to do is go into the menu reset the convercence and its good to go it takes awhile but it has awesome picture.i own dlps,lcds and tube tvs and my opinion this is the best picture.i just wish it was true hd compatible

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Bill Albright   [Jul 05, 2000]
Strength:

Great Picture remote runs my digital cable box my pioneer dvd and my reciever

Weakness:

"Iris" over compensates and is slow reacting but can be overridden

60" projection television First for me. Shopped agressivly to find a unit that met my needs hdtv still not where it should be in my opinion. Very impressed with picture quality beat everything I looked at except Pioneer elite and cost alot less every possible input and not too deep. Remote easy to use. Should be able to eliminate unused inputs though.overall for the money I don't see how you could go wrong unless reliability becomes a problem, I purchased extened warrenty just in case and still got it for $2000.00 with screen protector

Similar Products Used: friends and family have p/tvs from 40" to 55" two pioneers one toshiba this beats them all hands down but is at least two years newer than any
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
wayne   Casual Listener [Dec 20, 2001]
Strength:

crystal clear picture. very good with directv, dvd and tape. my cable company signal is full of noise.

Weakness:

signal input selection only works sequentially.

worth every penny.

Similar Products Used: VS-60603
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Gilliland   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 20, 2000]
Strength:

This big screen has a very good picture.

Weakness:

none

Overall I have been very satisfied with this set. You get a great big screen at a very reasonable price. It is also a very sharp looking piece of equipment that will compliment any living room. It's a must for the sports fanantic. The picture rivals many tubes I have watched. This is a solid buy.

Similar Products Used: 46" Magnavox
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Darren Tauer   Casual Listener [Nov 16, 1999]
Strength:

This set has a great picture.

Weakness:

Using the input button forces user to go through each available input to get to the one you want. Would be nice if you could delete unused inputs.

For a set this big the picture detail and clarity is amazing. When used with the screen protector the picture rivals the picture of a direct view set.
The set features a 64 point convergence system which allows precise convergence setup as well as a nice feature which allows you to name the various inputs instead of just Ant A or Video 1.
Sound quality is adequate but it sounds as though it was designed to be secondary to a home theater setup. The speakers seem underpowered based on the distance most viewers will be from the set because of it's size.
Has a fairly wide viewing area for a rear projection set but seems to lose detail fast when viewing from a lower seating position such as the floor.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
billy grinstead   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 1999]
Strength:

great picture,very user friendly,lots of features and quality for price

Weakness:

none yet except a few minor quibbles (why do you have to cycle thru EVERY input to get where u want)

My model no is 60603 and dont know the difference but
probaly not much.Was goining to buy a 50 incher but it
just wasnt BIIG enough. when I found out that this 60 incher
was the same price as a 2000 model 50 incher that sealed
the deal.the salesman said that there was no difference
between 99 and 2000 models and I wanted my first big screen
to be as big as possible.THE picture has always been good
(gross understatement) but if it wasnt a digital source(dvd
od digital cable)you could see every artifact and sometimes
the picture was good and sometimes soso after allowing
for light conditions.But when I got home this morning
the picture on analog sources was OUTSTANDING. Dont
know if this thing needs a break-in period or what but
the pic is even better than my former 32 inc sony.Dont know
about reliability yet but not too worried.For 1999.99$
you cant beat this set for value,but if you are a first time
rptv buyerlike my newbie ass, be warned, these things are a
LOT bigger than they lok in the store. the 50 incher just
didnt impress me much, but when I got this thing home
it looked like the box the U.N building came in.I've heard
about your eyes being bigger than your stomach but I guess
mine were bigger than my living room.But I really love this
unit.I will repost if it turns out to be junk but that would
surprize me considering the overall quality of this unit. If, like me, you are tried of waiting for high def prices to come down lower than that of a black market kidney you
would problay enjoy this tv. THE PROGESSIVE scan tv I looked
at just didnt impress me that much. I guess size does matter

Similar Products Used: first rptv so maybe Im not the most impartial reviewer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Daniel Shumate   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2001]
Strength:

Sharp picture, Good Blacks, Durability, Easy to use remote

Weakness:

Built in speakers, only 1 S-Video input( 1993 model )

I bought my 60" mitsubishi at Circuit City in 1993. Thats why the 3800 dollar price tag. This tv is still playing great after 8 years. I have had no service done on it ever!
The picture is still very bright ( although I have had to increase the brightness adjustment some over the years).
The viewing angle is very good from side to side, but it gets fuzzy if you are looking down on the screen while standing. The only problem I have had, is it will not keep
accurate time on the internal clock( gains an extra hour per day). Mitsubishi claims their projection tv's only lose
10% of their brightness after 5 years, compared to some others who can lose up to 50% . After 8 years of service,
I believe them. My next projection tv will be a Mitsubishi
( If this one ever quits ) I only rated mine 3 stars on value, because of the price, but the new ones are a much better deal price wise.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Jeff Hill   [Dec 15, 2000]
Strength:

Sharp Picture

Weakness:

speakers

I am assuming the VS60601 is similar to the one I bought (VS60607) which is the 60" Silver Series. The Gold Series model is VS60707. So far I've been pleased with it. The only draw back with it is (same with all rear projection sets) is the angle of view from the sides are worthless. It takes awhile to dial everything in. The remote control is fantastic. One of the best I've ever used and it's fairly small.

There is a DVD program on the market that really helps fine tune your televison and your surround sound set up. If anyone is interested, let me know and I'll get the name of the program.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
keith carroll   Casual Listener [Mar 08, 2000]
Strength:

very clear picture(don't be so quick to say no to projection)it's better then my tube tv they have came a long way

Weakness:

none

the nice price,& a very clear picture

Similar Products Used: friend got the sony when he comes over he always says Dam your picture looks so mush better
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com