Mitsubishi VS-50805 Rear Projection

VS-50805

50" Screen. Multiple HDTV input flexibility. Progressive Scan Analog Component Video Input. 2nd Generation DiamondDigital Pixel Multiplierâ„¢ (DPM2) Technology. Active AV Network System 3. (Also available in 60" and 80")

User Reviews (24)

Showing 1-10 of 24  
Marcus   AudioPhile [Feb 23, 2009]

Awesome TV. The HD picture quality is great! Sound quality is also excellent. I would recommend this TV to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dinesh Navalurkar   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2000]
Strength:

Great Picture! Great features!

Weakness:

None that really mattered.

This TV is great. No regrets. I had seen a couple of other HD capable TVs but for the price range, this is a great value. All you HD ready owners, if you guys don't own the HD receiver unit as yet, but are interested in seeing a great image on your TV, MUST buy the DVDO iscan Plus line doubler unit ($650 approx). The image changed considerably and I am very satisfied seeing the true capability of this TV. I would definitely rate this TV with 5 stars!

Similar Products Used: This is my first HD ready TV...so none.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Daniel Myles   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 29, 2000]
Strength:

Excelent DVD Picture, above average DSS picture and solid build quality.

Weakness:

Slight blue push can be hard to correct

I can only say good things about this TV. I would have bought the WS55805, but I watch to much 4.3 material and i'm willing to wait until they settle on standards and formats. I paid only $2250 so I can't really complain. The overall quality of picture is wonderful on good sources. I can't believe how good it looks with Progressive scan DVD. No, I don't think this is the best TV, Considering the money I spent I think it's the best for the price I paid. I reviewed the Pioneer 510....now that's an HDTV. I'll wait they will get better.
For those of you who buy HDTV now (any brand) You should base your opinion on how your TV displays a good digital input DVD,DTV...not cable and DSS. I do however enjoy DSS on this particular TV, but I may be to forgiving.

Similar Products Used: Mits. VS50903 Toshiba TN43X71
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
vic white   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2000]
Strength:

same as below

Weakness:

none

again moe is incorrect on all counts,(must work for sony..has too)the set is capable of raster resizing,it does display anamorphic dvd's in their correct format (like i stated earlier)it can do this on all inputs unlike the sony which can only do it on input 5 which is its progressive scan input,if you are refering to the re-sizing of a letterbox movie when using a progressive scan player then the mitsubshi is not alone in this,as far as i know only the pioneers and the toshiba's widescreens can do this but then the toshiba 4.3 sets cant.Also yes the mits is discounted but still at its discounted price its more expensive than the sony s10,and certainly a better set,as for you being a videophile,well lets just say if you are then i am an astronaut.

Similar Products Used: samsung
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
M. Mohammadi   Audiophile [Aug 11, 2000]
Strength:

See my previous review

Weakness:

See above

The Mits, is not capable of raster resizing, but it is capable of 16x9.
Get a copy of the Perfect Vision (# 31) and see what Mr. Hartly says about the Sony. If both sets are calibrated to 65D, and compared side by side, there will not be any contest as the Sony is a superior set to Mits. 50805. If fact, this Mits, set is already a discontinued model and Mits. has already tried to addressed some of the problems that I have mentioned. Please, when you post a review, do not get excited and try to be as fair as possible. Also, do not get offended by other's opinion and views.
The Mitsubishi 50895 is not for serious videophile pursuits.

Similar Products Used: See above
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Robert O.   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 31, 2000]
Strength:

VS-60805 clarity,clarity,clarity

Weakness:

audio system, Wow 10 watts per channel!

Went shopping for a 36" tv ended up buying a 60"
What can I say, bigger is much much better.Was awe struck of the clarity of this big boy,saw it from across the room and
as I got closer to the screen I was amazed by the clarity.I
was informed by the salesman that the picture would be much clearer at home as they split the signal to all the t.v.'s,
(right, and then he told me he also had a bridge to sell me)
turns out he was telling the truth. I cannot begin to say how much I love this t.v.It drives me to distraction.I think I feel a weight gain coming on as I refuse to stop watching.
Auditioned sony,toshiba, and panasonic all paled in comparison.Enough said, look at everything else and then look at this t.v. I think you will agree.

Similar Products Used: 1st time big screen
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon Murray   [Jan 02, 2001]
Strength:

Inputs, Picture, Design

Weakness:

Rotating distortion when playing dvd's

First things first... this is a great set, with only one major design flaw. I am not 100% sure that this flaw is on all of their 50805's, but this is my 3rd set I have seen this on. When in progressive (480p) on the dvd using component inputs, the grey screen displays "rotating" distortion lines that can be seen durring movie playback. My speakers and my rack are all magnetically sheilded, but both my tv and the floor model at the store have this problem. I am convinced that this is a flaw with the tv because I have played 3 different dvd players (mits dd6000, pioneer elite dv-37, and my playstation2) all on this input with a variety of differnt cables (monster, generic, s and component) and it is visable... but only on this input. Meaning if you hook a dvd player with s-video to a different input, the problem is not present. Having said this, the picture is great. I love being able to hook all my components up with ease thanks to the input selection. Even though this tv ships with the picture set to hot as the sun level, even at mid and low temp settings the picture is simply the best available. I have a technician coming (again) to see the tv tomorrow. We will see if they can determine the problem... until then, I am cautiosly pleased with this tv.

Similar Products Used: lots o tv's
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Karl   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2000]
Strength:

Great picture w/High Def signal.

Weakness:

Anything but High Def signals look real bad.

First.....Yes I am using DSS and not cable.

No Coax.

I did my homework before picking this TV!

Tried Video Essential with my Samsung DVD 909 using component cables was unable to correctly get brightness/contrast situated. Also, I was unable to get color/Tint set correctly. I am not sure this was due to the fault of the DVD player or the TV.

When listening to sound via the TV I get a buzzing sound. It sounds like the speakers are working too hard. It gets quiter as the speakers are turned down or muted.
Also, on black screens it looks as if someone is shinning a flashlight in certain parts of the screen. Is this normal?

So far I am not real happy with tv.

As mentioned earlier by other reviewers the retail store had A Bug's Life playing on it.

So far I am not happy with this set. It could be the DVD player I am using though. I am also having problems with the store I bought it at, The Home Theater Store. Currently I will not buy further products from them until they clear up issues I have.
Please email me if you want further opinions on this set or the Home Theater Store in Texas.

I give this product 5 stars for Value and 2 stars overall.

I will give it a higer score once I find out the answer to my problems/concerns.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 36", JVC 32"
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
Neal Bunce   [Jul 06, 2000]
Strength:

Outstanding clarity - Best picture I've seen on any RPTV

Weakness:

Remote will not provide all the functions of digital cable remote (Program Guide)

I researched this buy for months and am totally satisfied with my selection. All our friends that have viewed this set in the last two weeks raved about the picture quality. DVD viewing is an absolute treat. Mitsubishi is setting the standard. Only set that comes close is the Pioneer Elite at a price of close to $6K versus less than $3K for the VS-50805. This was the only set that could replace my NEC Big Screen after 11 years of quality performance.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Anthony Diego   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 24, 2000]
Strength:

Great picture, Great color reproduction, Great Menu Set up.

Weakness:

Cant change formats in DTV or Progressive Mode.

This is a very great tv. I am very impressed with the color reproduction and the clarity of the tv when it's hooked up to a progressive scan dvd player. It has a lot of inputs in the back for anything and everything out there. The 64 point convergence feature on the tv works really good for fine tuning the picture. I'm glad I bought this TV. I have no real regrets picking this tv over a widescreen. Most of the stuff the I watch is in full screen anyway. When the widescreen format gets more and more universal I will buy one but for now this is great.

Similar Products Used: Work at a High End A/V store. Everything!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com