Mitsubishi 65 Projection Television WS 65869 Rear Projection

65 Projection Television WS 65869

- Black diamond gray finish with 2-piece cabinet.
- ATSC, NTSC, QAM (digital cable), and MPEG-2 video systems.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
techguy2277   Casual Listener [Jun 09, 2009]


MITSUBISH-WD62825- 62 INCH DLP T.V.

MAJOR RIPOFF!!! DON”T BUY ANY MITSUISHI TVS!!

Well, any of us who bought this TV, have been had, and ripped off!
Anyone who owns one knows what I am talking about!
Everyone has had to replace expensive bulbs in these TVs many times!
Or expansive board or other parts, which by the time it’s all said and done, it just cost more than the TV Set its self, to fix over a period of time. No one like to hear, or think they made a bad decision or purchase, But We did, It a fact. I don’t know about the rest of you but I am so pissed off about it I am going on every thread I can find and posting this to want others about MITSUBISHI products ALL MITSUBIHI products!
I for one will never, And I mean never in my life time buy anything again with the MITSUBISHI name on it! Not a TV, not a CAR, not a flashlight or even a toaster!
And I will make it a personal mission to let everyone I know, and can think of to do the same. This company Just thinks we’re all just stupid Americans, and they will take us to the cleaners if they can, in a lot of cases they have! But know more! The way to fight back is spread the word of your experience post it every ware! If Americans don’t buy there products maybe it will help to put them out of business!

My Story!
1. Bought MITSUBISH WD62825 on 12-27-2005+ extended warranty!
2. 1st lamp failed on 11-4-2006 warranty covered but would have been $300 to replace out of pocket. They had to order the lamp installed 11-7-2006.
3. 2nd lamp went out on 9-28-2007 less than a year from last replacement. Still under warranty, they had to order lamp, installed 10-2-2007.
4. 3rd lamp went out 6-8-2008 no lamp warranty this time, original warranty only good for 2 lamp replacements, Cost $215 out of pocket had to order installed 6-15-2008. Ordered backup lamp to this time another $215.
5. 6-5-2009 Screen getting blotchy, mirrors need cleaning, took off front and cleaned mirrors (Have done many times with no problems). Cleaned filters, all dust I could get to out of TV. Reassembled Set. Turned on fine, (Keep in Mind I am a Tech for a living to).
6. 1/2 hour of Set running comes up with the heat warning message and says the set will be shutting down, and to check all air flow, to make sure of no blockage! (THERE IS NONE OR WAS NONE!) Cleaning should have made it run cooler in fact. Shut down occurs red flashing light.
7. After inspection and finding know air flow blockage, I set up 2 6 inch fans to blow in the air flow duct, and one to blow general from the right!
8. Took power off the set unplugged it, (Only way it would reset) after a wait of about 15 mins with the fans blowing, I plugged back in, The flashing rest light (green) when through is cycle. Then turned TV back on.
9. 35 mins, go’s bye and it did it again.
Long story short, from doing extensive testing, If the air temp in the room gets above 74.3 degrees, even with fan blowing the set will shut off, and needs to be unplugged cooled down, If you run the air conditioner, and keep the room below 74.3, it will run for some time, then get to hot and shut down.
The problems is in the DM board and the sensors in the Set, It cost $700 to $900 for the parts + install.

No one should have to run 2 fans, keep the room temp below 70 degrees just to use this set. They know it we know it, and Mitsubishi does not care. They know and knew of the problem! But sell them to the dumb Americans anyway!

A. MITSUBISHI will not replace or fix, standing orders, they would rather go to court, in the long run even if they have to pay, and they still win, in the long run. Because not all the sets they sold will have the people listed on the suite, so they still come out ahead. On people who are named on a class action suit get paid and then at a small amount so they win.

Do not Buy DLP TVS period.

A. It’s a well know fact they go through costly bulbs like crazy!
B. They have to be cleaned constantly if you don’t keep the mirrors clean the picture degrades until you do. (Involves taking the screen of to get to the mirrors!)
C. They Get HOT, REAL HOT, because of the lamp! And most models do not have enough cooling fans in them, so bulbs and boards go out a lot, and at a big cost! This is for all DLPS any brand! Not Just Mitsubishi, I know people with other brands who have the same problem.
So This MITSUBISHI WD-62825 that I bought in 2005 for more than $3000 is worthless! I am not willing to keep putting $1200 or more a year in to it just to keep it running, and who know just how long you will be able to keep getting parts on top of that!
So I am going to Just go buy a 47 to 50 inch LCD, for about $1000, seems from the research I have been doing they have a lot less problems, oh yea the bulb does go out in them but a lot less often, and they don’t make the heat the DLPS do, and have a lot less other problems, I am Just tired a screwing with it, and the frustration of it all! Heck at what it costs me to keep this Mitsubishi WD-62825 running, I could throw a LCD set away about every 4 years and get a new one and still come out ahead! And especially now since they have come out with the LED TV’s the LCDS are dropping in price big time! Soon you will be able to buy a 50 to 55 inch for under $1000.
Just don’t buy MITSUBISHI LCD ether. THERE JUNK TO!




OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Shawn   Casual Listener [Feb 12, 2009]

The TV is good when it works. After 6 years we get a blinking green light. It seems the board is defective. Don't just take my word for it. Google blinking green light ws-65869. I wouldn't buy their TV's until their quality standards are up. I'd be fine if this was just a fluke, but after seeing that everyone has the same problem, it makes me mad.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
ritzzz00   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 21, 2003]
Strength:

firewire, built in hd box, netcom. comes in two piece's, great picture.

Weakness:

No DVI input, No 720p.

Great tv for the price, I've had this tv for over a year and have nothing but good luck. I'm glad I have a tv with firewire, it will come in handy later on. netcom. is great if you have the right a/v piece's, some will not work. Once you hook it all up it works great...

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
melissa adams   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 22, 2002]

don't walk, run to buy this tv. After owning it for almost a full year, I am extremely pleased with the this television. The picture is amazing and dvd's literally come to life on this set. I am amazed at the clarity and difinition. Highly recommend it without any hesitation.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
seattlesalesman   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 11, 2002]
Strength:

Inputs Galore, Firewire, Picture Quality, Price, Upgrades Available.

Weakness:

Cabinet won't win any beauty contests. Like all TV speakers, they lack bass

After 8 months of continuous use, no complaints. TV has plenty of inputs to accomidate the most hard-core enthusiast. Picture quality is phenominal with progressive scan DVD's looking near Hi-def. Only had one problem: When I hooked up my Nintendo gamecube with component cables to the appropriate input, I got no audio. I promptly called Home Theater Store to check it out. Turns out to be a loose conection inside the cabinet. About a 10 minute fix using a sautering tool fixed it. I highly recommend using the "Low Temp" setting for the colors. Skin tones are near perfect on this setting. With upgradeability From Mitsu, this is a great Big Scren bargain!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   AudioPhile [Aug 04, 2002]
Strength:

Picture, Sound, Inputs, Futurability

Weakness:

none

The Mitsubish WS-85369 kicks all other TV's in the grAss. Pioneer Elite...nope doesn't cut the features/options/input/outputs. The only thing the elite can compare in is with the visual display, but for 3k more, not worth it, especially when 65869 equals picture quality in HD and NON-HD modes. Mitsubish owns the RPTV world, with crisp audio to boot, this Mitsu can be a stand in receiver with the many inputs in the back. But for the enthusiast they are going to wan to buy the best dvd/speaker/receivers available to maximize the already magnificent quality. Let's not forget the firewire ports in the back with updateable TV software. All of this is backed with Mitsu's ability to guarentee that this TV will not become old news. Sony's XBR needs to stay direct view. Sony needs to know its role and take a back seat and let the big boys of big screen show them how it works. All in all the rear-projection television on the market is the WS-85365 2002 edition.

Similar Products Used: DVD-Player: Ayre D-1, DTV RECEIVER: Zenith DTV1080, RECEIVER: Denon 5803, AMP: BAT VK-6200, SPEAKERS: [Krell LAT-1, LAT-C Center, LAT-2 Surround, and Master Reference Subwoof] TELEVISION: Mit
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GDS   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2002]
Strength:

Absolutely beautiful color the first hour. I don't care what others say, I like Net Command. Unit has LOTS of inputs which I love.

Weakness:

It didn't last very long. In all honesty, this is probably a manufacturing defect or early component failure. I couldn't imagine QA letting the set go out with this problem. Text seems to be fuzzy. Wish it had PiP.

I've watched this item for several months at all local electronics shops and found it usually listed for about $4,199 but when Fry's put it on sale for $3,599, I couldn't resist. I asked if there were any other discounts available and was told Fry's would match BestBuy who was offering $150 toward a DVD player. (Now $3,449) They scheduled delivery for the following Saturday but never showed up. I called the store and they said they had a mix up and I would get it the next day. When I asked what they were going to do for my inconvienience, they took another $100 off the price. (Now $3,349) The unmarked delivery truck pulled up Sunday afternoon and unloaded. They set up the set quickly and beat feet. After about one hour the color started fluctuating red as though someone was turning the red tint up and down. I called the store the next day and told them about the problem and they rescheduled another set for the following Sunday. I didn't have the courage to ask them again what they would do for my inconvienience. My grandson uses his XBox on it with utter amazement! Went to Fry's again Tuesday and found a Mitsubishi 2003 catalog. Arrgh! I didn't realize my new set was near the end of year but that is probably why they had it on sale to start with.

Similar Products Used: Mistsubishi 35"
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Nick Donato   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 23, 2002]
Strength:

Colors, Sharpness, Depth of focus (background images are still crisp, you can actually see that one image is 8', 10’ or 15' behind another).

Weakness:

Netcommand! It's more trouble than it's worth.

Mitsubishi makes the best displays I have ever seen! No other TV comes close! I'm not just talking rear projection either. I've yet to see the DLP front projector, Plasma or tube TV that looks better. There are a few flagship displays from other manufacturers that are as good as mitsubishi's entry level sets but, that’s all. Progressive scan DVDs look almost High Definition. High definition images look Amazing, breathtaking on the upper end Platinum plus and Diamond series sets. My advice to anyone is to buy highest level Mitsubishi set you can afford.

Similar Products Used: Sony plasma, tubes and RPTV, Marantz plasma and RPTV, Hitachi, Samsung, RCA, Toshiba.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Sunny Nanua   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 02, 2002]
Strength:

HDTV, Great Picture, Easy to use remote control.

Weakness:

At this time I don''t have a Progressive Scan DVD player & no Sattilite or Digital Cable. There is no weaknes in the WS-65869.

Looks so much beeter at the house than it does at the sales floor at goodguys. The size looked ok at the sales floor. When I got it deliverd to the house, it looked HUGE. Looks great. If my house was on fire & I only had 1 thing to save...it would be the WS-65869...lol

Similar Products Used: Sony & Toshiba
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Casual Listener [Jan 31, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture, many inputs, HDTV Tuner, CABLE Digital Tuner

Weakness:

Does not allow PIP with all inputs, NTSC signal

I did a lot of research and am very happy I purchased this TV. The only real problem is the same problem with all 65 inch TV's, the NTSC signal is poor. I tried an external line doubler with no success. The HDTV signal makes up for any problems with the NTSC signal.

Similar Products Used: Sony XBR, Hitachi
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com