Wharfedale WH-2 Series Surround Speakers

Wharfedale WH-2 Series Surround Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

  • True bipole configuration for the ideal combination of diffuse ambient soundfield and clear, directional rear stereo image
  • 2-way design for sonic precision and wide frequency response
  • Dual 4" polypropylene-cone midwoofers with hand-wound voice coils
  • Dual ferrofluid-cooled, neodymium-powered 1" silk-dome tweeters for smooth, transparent highs and incredible detail
  • Maximum power-handling capacity: 120 watts

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[May 08, 2007]
Julian Little
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

The main strengths are dispersal of soundfrom the dipole design, proper binding posts and power handling.

Weakness:

None for the money.

I had a chance to get these cheapish on e-bay to replace my Gale Satellite 10's as I'd always hankered after dipoles for better dispersal. These Wharfedales didn't disappoint. Used with my Denon 1507 - although they sound laid-back - the effect is more subtle. The rear sounds are more 'enveloping' than in your face - highlighting what needs to be and leaving the rest where it should be. The treble isn't sharp enough for you to notice the rears working and the bass doesn't take over even in the loudest of scenes. The sound is less insistant than some other makes which can initially sound detailed and sharper but which are tiring and strident after a while. The quality of build is excellent and while some of the colour schemes might not appeal to some, my Maple versions blend in with the room's other wooden features well. The keyhole fitting on the rear is great for simple placement on the wall - just the usual fiddling with depth so that the speaker sits right. All in all a good all-rounder and 100 watts rms to boot!.

Customer Service

Not required.

Similar Products Used:

Gale Satellite 10 and Mordaunt Short MSB20.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2006]
czar
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

El precio, U$110 ($60.000 pesos chilenos) el par de surround + el central....no hay más que comentar, eso basta :)

Weakness:

aun no le encuentro

Muy nitidos...me sorprendió la calidad, combinados con uns Wharfedale Crystal 40 y un sobwoofer Yamaha, y un receiver Yamaha HTR5830... realmente impresionante.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 12, 2005]
prz
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

. good build quality . dipoles . proper posts

Weakness:

. for that price, none whatsoever . compared to surrounds at 400$/pair: treble too laid back, not enough lower bass, top of treble problematic (male voices sound very good, female alto lacks on top)

true bipoles, no low bass, trebble pretty laid back (well, typical english speakers), top treble could be better (especially the center). Good build quality

Similar Products Used:

axioms, jbl, mission, b&w

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 30, 2005]
Gaius Caligula
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Unbelievable value, brilliant imaging and clarity, incredible performance, superb bipole operation.

Weakness:

Item is being discontinued.

I bought four of these for my Yamaha RX-V1500 7.1 to use as surrounds and rear surrounds. I have since wall-mounted and calibrated them, and they sound and look absolutely amazing, espcially for speakers in this price range. Watching "Master & Commander" proved an experience in virtual reality as surround sounds were coming at me in the sweet spot from places where no speakers are even located (product of the bipoles). I've an upstairs, and when people would run across the deck of the ship topside in the movie, I literally thought I had people running around on my second floor. The sound was that directional, coming in straight down from my ceiling, even though my speakers are wall mounted. Further, they sound wonderful, with good range and incredible imaging. These speakers are superb, for twice the price. As it would appear Wharfedale is discontinuing them, run, don't walk, to grab a couple, four! At $89.99 per pair, you just cannot go wrong!

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha NS-333 Surrounds, Yamaha NS-BP4500 Surrounds, and Klipsch RS-35 Surrounds

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 10, 2004]
markg3126
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Compact and looks nice hanging on wall. Great surround sound.

Weakness:

None at this time.

What a deal. I was very hesitant on buying these speaker. Come on, $59 for surround speakes. How good can they be? Let me tell you, for $59 they are excellent. The sound is great. Highly recommended. No regrets with quality.

Similar Products Used:

Wharfedale Diamond 8.1 speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 17, 2004]
jawzx
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price! Actualy dynamic and musical across the Mid-range and most of the treble. Built really well!

Weakness:

Punchy, but no bass extension... do you really need that in a surround though? Top of the treble sounds a little plastic.

$85? $85? They don't suck!?! It's true! These little dipole surrounds are a deal and 3/4! Maybe even 2 deals in one! I mean come on! $85?? Sure, they sound a tiny little bit plastic in the treble, and they don't have any extension to speak of below 100 Hz, but for $85 (or less) you can't beat these little things with a stick! Construction quality is truly good, not just "OK" and the built-in key-hole hanger is easy as pie. I mean the fit and finish on the WH-2s is REALLY GOOD. They look good, they sound better than anything that costs this litte has a right to, and they play *LOUD* if you need 'em to! If you need some surrounds for a second system or are on a restricted budget the WH-2s will not dissapoint, especialy at this ridiculously low price point.

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm Micro Bose 201

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 06, 2004]
gbtormes
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

sturdy look,post binding terminals, clean sounding

Weakness:

none as of the moment

I bought my WH-2(center & surrounds)for PhP 5900 (104 USD)together with Wharfedale Diamond 8.2(fronts) for 6.1 set up of my Yamaha RX-V440 .I couldn't believe that these speakers can produce , the center & surrounds deliver a very good & clean sound. With regards to price(3 speakers)this is absolutely a steal!!

Similar Products Used:

Cerwin Vega Fidek Speakers Dai-ichi Speakers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 28, 2004]
holw123
Casual Listener

Strength:

uni-directional is great

Weakness:

None so far

I bought the Wh-2 to replace my rear surround speakers - the JBL Pro 3 which had been used more than 10 years in my Pro-logic days . The bi-pole design is wonderful .It is your best partner in watching DTS DVDs . When I watched one of the scences in Fellowship Of The Rings I could feel that a flock of crows actually flew from your back to your front . Buy one to replace your rear surround speakers and you'll tell the difference . The tweeters are clear and crisp . It is worth buying .

Similar Products Used:

JBL ProIII

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 02, 2004]
lorenzo1000
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price, sound for the $ is exceptional

Weakness:

None so Far

Great for the price. Used as back surrounds with my denon 3803. Great for the 7.1 mode and for DTS-ES and DD EX. Wall mounted these sound great. Well worth the $69. Avail in black or white too! Get them quick!!!

Similar Products Used:

Wharfedale sapphires, Axiom M22 ti

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 31, 2003]
chuck
AudioPhile

Strength:

definately the price and sound. Go to ecost.com and get these guys for a steal

Weakness:

none so far. There are better bipoles out there, but not worth an extra 400+

Great speaker for a 5.1 system. Even better for a 6.1 For 69 bucks for the pair, you cant beat the price, especially for bipoles. Open and airy,these speakers will really add detail to movies. Recommend hanging on back wall if you have 5.1, hang on side walls if you have 6.1 or higher. Shop around if you like, but I guarantee you will not find true bipoles for cheaper.The build could be better, but still pretty decent design

Similar Products Used:

polk, sapphire, klipsch, boston

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com