Energy Speaker Systems Take 2.2 Satellite Speaker Surround Speakers

Take 2.2 Satellite Speaker

The main component of the Take 5.2 system, this brand new speaker design features completely redesigned transducers, cabinet, crossover and much more. It outperforms speakers larger in size and price.

Combined with an S8.2 subwoofer, the Take 2.2 gives flat, even response from below 30Hz to above 20kHz, which is the threshold of human hearing.

The Take 2.2 includes a wall-mounting bracket, allowing multiple mounting options.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Rick   Casual Listener [Nov 23, 2003]
Strength:

Great clear sound Excellent value

Weakness:

Cones blow easily

Had this speakers for over 18 months. Had the cone blown on two of my speakers. By the sounds of it I'm not the only one having problems. Too bad because the system sounds great, but it's annoying to be missing componenets on your surround system for about 3 weeks while it's in the shop for repair.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
ANDRES PENA   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2003]
Strength:

Good quality sound. The center channel is good.

Weakness:

Doubtfull about the lonlasting life of the speakers. Will not buy them again. Frontals are not good.

The first Energy speakers I had lasted only 1 month after the cones in all of the five speakers were blown . They were replaced by warranty and with the new ones and after 9 months the two frontal had the cones blown.

Similar Products Used: Sony speakers
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
ptr69   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2003]
Strength:

great for hometheater,great sound,nice little speaker.

Weakness:

unreliable

Bought these speaker on ebay,they were great until one one the speaker cone gave out.i've had them for 3 weeks.To bad they sure sound good.The guy who sold them to said that he will pay for the speaker repair nice guy.

Similar Products Used: ??
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
steve1173   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2002]
Strength:

Great sounding but as previously stated longterm use could be unknown.

Weakness:

Build quality, I too had a woofer blow out & crossover fried like previous poster. Was repaired by Energy under warranty but said they will not repair again blaming my components for it. Used numerous speakers & no problems except with the Energy's.

Great sounds for such a small speaker. would rate it a 5 except for the seemingly inferior xover & woofers thast have a tendency to blow.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, Monitor, Optimus
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Leo Chimo   Audio Enthusiast [May 15, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound, able to handle full-bandwith rated outputs. Perfect for smaller rooms. Great for movie playback.

Weakness:

Reliability? Most people speak highly of these speakers, but I''m not sure. Strongly recomend calibrating system with sound meter.

Great speakers for the money, dynamite sounding, but I am concerned with their long term performance. Since I got the Energy Take 5.2 system (w/ 8.2 sub), I have had one 2.2 woofer cone go bad, another 2.2''s crossover went bad, and then finally my 8.2 sub''s cone went bad. Although they were repaired under warrantee, it took 1-2 weeks per speaker. Also, I had complained about a rattle in one of the speakers, which the repair center said "they couldn''t detect." The second time I sent back that same speaker, the rattle was corrected, although they still said they couldn''t dectect the problem. I''m happy they were fixed, but I worry about the future. I also wish I would have went with their higher-end models- I think it would be a better match with my Denon 2802.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Ian T   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 01, 2002]
Strength:

- Very clean in 2 channel music - Excellent in DTS surround - Strong Binding posts - molded woofer with graphite, for a very strong speaker. - strong cabinet with nice finish - includes wall mount brackets

Weakness:

- must have sub, put what sat system doesn''t.

They are quite possibly the best sounding sat speakers next to the encore. They give you a excellent surround system for very little out of your pocket. The only thing is you must have a sub for those lows. The energy S10.2 fits that system very nicely.

Similar Products Used: -Take51 -Encore
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Kaduk   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 03, 2001]
Strength:

Small size, Big sound, comes with nice mounting hardware

Weakness:

Sometimes muffled, no bottom end, but thats what subs are for


Its a good surround for the casual listener, anyone on a budget will enjoy this speaker. I would not recomend it as a main, only surrounds. If you can afford it though, spend the extra 50-60 bucks for the M&K K5's, much better

Similar Products Used: M&K 5
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Dale   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 21, 2001]
Strength:

Build Quality, Sound, Size and Appearance

Weakness:

none at this time

I have the entire Energy Take 5.2 system with the S8.2 sub woofer. Simply put, these speakers kick ass. For the money you spend, you get quality and performance that is simply amazing. I have these speakers hooked up to the Dennon AVR-1801. The sound from this set up is wonderful especially when watching DVD's , the 8 inch sub is more than enough bass. Music sounds great too, although some people say there is a frequency hole with this AVR, I have not heard anything or missed anything. If you're on a budget, go get these speakers they will amaze your ears and eyes. I have the four speaker stands with this system, in all it cost me 1200 Canadian for the entire set up. Go get these speakers before someone else does...

Cheers
Dale

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com