Definitive Technology BP 2X Surround Speakers

BP 2X

Bipolar Surround Speaker

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
Steven Duker   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 24, 2008]
Strength:

Definition, clarity, soundfield, Speakers disapear!!!, Build Quality

Weakness:

A little weak on bass, but thats why we own subwoofers!!!! Therefore not really a weakness

These speakers work great as surrounds. In my opinion bipolar speakers are the best for surrounds and these fit the bill quite nicely. They are a little weak in bass, but what do you expect from these size drivers. FYI Best Buy Magnolia stores are not carrying these anymore so they are clearanced way down. I went in expecting to pay $500 and walked with the pair for $265...WHAT A DEAL!!! These speakers immerse you into the action of movies and add great definition to music. These are great speakers....so go grab some.

Customer Service

Definitive always has great customer service, as well as the Best Buy Magnolia centers

Similar Products Used: Bp7006's, axiom surrounds, b&w, classe amps, mcintosh processors.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
vabch22   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 26, 2004]
Strength:

Sound beautiful Perfect for either fronts or rears Good size

Weakness:

None that I have seen so far

They're Def Tech's, what else needs to be said? These speakers are rich and full, perfect for rears. I had them hooked up to my fronts just to see how they would do and I was amazed at how they filled my living room. Granted they do not have the bass response of the BPX's, but for the feature/price ratio you cannot go wrong. If you are debating between buying the BP1.2X and BP2X's, spend a little extra and get better sound!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
horrorfan   Audio Enthusiast [May 26, 2004]
Strength:

build quality . great looks and sound.

Weakness:

none

Great surround speakers. They do exactly what they claim just make sure your processor is set on small surrounds because the dimunitive woofers in these speakers cannot handle DEEP bass. These speakers are a very good match for my bp10b fronts and clr2500 center . Definitive makes great sounding speakers and these are no exception.

Similar Products Used: paradigm titans . jbl bookshelf , klipsh bookshelf. paradigm phantoms .
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lamboots   AudioPhile [Nov 15, 2003]
Strength:

Any time you buy Definitive, you're buying quality, just read the comparison reviews. The BP 2X's are great bang per buck. Excellent basic surround speakers!

Weakness:

Weak bass response

First I should say that I do not own these speakers. However I spent 3 hours at Ultimate Electronics comparing the BP 2X's vs. Definitive's next step up BPX surrounds. After spending the 3 hours, I must say the BPX's (while double the price per speaker) are head and shoulders above the BP 2X model! If you're like most people just looking for a quality surround speaker just to complete your 5, 6, or 7.1 surround system... bang per buck, you can't beat the BP 2X's! However, if you're an "audiophile" like myself, the BP 2X's are VERY lacking in bass. According to Definitive's specs http://www.definitivetech.com/specs/specs.html the BP 2X's lowest frequency response is 45 Hz. That's not very low when you're talking bass. The BPX's however have a lowest frequency response of 38 Hz. Now, you might be thinking "that's only 7 Hz difference..." however if you spend the time, and "listen" to the difference, there's no mistaking it! The complete range of the BPX's (not to mention the difference in sound quality) was phenominal! To me, it will be worth spending the extra bucks per speaker. For those that are a step beyond audiophile's, and on to pure insanity, there are the true ultimate in Definitive surrounds... the BPVX and BPVX/P (for those not in "the know" the /p is POWERED!). I myself have a Cerwin Vega 10" powered sub that I have channeled my surrounds through, so I don't need the top end surrounds with sub's in them. But I must say, if you haven't thought of adding a powered sub to the rear of your home theater connected solely to the surround channels and not the "sub out"... YOU ARE MISSING OUT!! If you want proof, put "Star Wars Episode II" in the DVD player, go to Chapter 3.. when Senator Amidala's ship fly's over head (from rear to front) if you've got a powered sub connected to your surrounds, you understand where George Lucas has taken Surround EX... there are subwoofer signals sent to the surround channels!! It was like I had a new home theater!! It rumbles across the whole theater sound stage!! I knew I held on to my Vega for a reason! My setup is Definitive BP 2002 TL's for main... Polk Audio twin 4" Center Channel, Sony 8" Rear surrounds fed through Cerwin Vega 10" powered sub. Onky 90W x 5 receiver.

Similar Products Used: Definitive BPX's
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Matt Levy   AudioPhile [Dec 13, 2002]
Strength:

Sound, build quality, aesthetics, reputation

Weakness:

None

The product model is 2002. I just got 3 of these babies professionally installed today by Audio Center here in Florida, an authorized DT dealer. I had patiently been biding my time waiting to go 6.1 and surround myself with sound. I am now in audio-video heaven. Before, I had no choice but to elect a wall of sound approach because of the layout of my family room. I went from my Polk surrounds to Definitive Tech, mainly because they're better and I am quite happy with my DT subwoofer. I also was patiently waiting to finally go from 5.1 to 6.1, as my Marantz SR-18EX had not been used to its fullest potential until now. Great sound from these surrounds - they are about 7-8 feet high in the air on the wall (left, right and dead center). My wife wanted them in white for aesthetic reasons...who am I to argue, colors don't affect sound. So far I've listened to the Fellowship of the Ring (Extended version 6.1 DTS), Spiderman (check out chapter 18), T2, Phish Live in Vegas, Star Wars Episode IV (the original imported from Malaysia), and Blade II. WOW! I don't know what else to say. It's like I was at the movies, only better - no lines, privacy, no annoying old Boca Raton farts asking what was just said, no sticky soda-laden floors, and best of all the pause button for bathroom breaks. Music in 5 channel stereo was wonderful. My one and only DTS music CD (Vital Information) was amazing too. These speakers haven't even burned in. Def. Tech are truly the best bargain out there - the reviews don't lie - don't but turned off by the heavy marketing either. Bipoles are the way to go - they give much more spaciousness to your room with the sound, particularly with a big family room like mine where its needed. You will not be disappointed. My system: Marantz SR-18EX receiver Marantz MA-6100 mono block amplifier Sony Wega KV-40XBR800 TV Toshiba SD-6200 DVD Player Sony PCM-R300 DAT Player Onkyo Integra TA-RW909 Dual Tape Deck Polk RT-800 tower speakers Polk CS-250S Center Channel Definitive Tech Pro Sub 100 Definitive Tech BP-2X (3)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   AudioPhile [Dec 03, 2002]
Strength:

sound, power handling capability, price.

Weakness:

The keyhole where you need to anchor these speakers to the stud is directly above the speaker terminals. If these terminals could be moved to the right or left by 2 inches the design would be perfect and the piano gloss finish like the BP 8B.

This review should be read with the review on the Definitive Technology BP 8B speakers I did on October 28, 2002 and December 3, 2002. These sealed surround sound speakers are fabulous! I can't get over the sound on these speakers. These speakers are a perfect match with the BP 8B speakers. These speakers didn't show any signs of distortion compared to the Polk Audio F/X500i or the F/Xi50. Don't get me wrong about the Polk speakers. They too sounded wonderful, but if you decided to play your movies or music at reference levels, be prepared for that slightly annoying sound of cone vibration due to air movement because those speakers are ported (power-port design), i.e. bass reflex. As before I tired several types of music such as U2, 2 Pac, George Strait, ZZ Top and BB King. In each case, the BP2X sounded better than the Polk speakers did in 5-channel stereo. I looked at those Polk speakers for the longest time and couldn't decide if I should keep them (thanks to Circuit City for letting me return them). I next decided to test these speakers with the following DVDs: Star Wars Episode II - Attack of the Clones, Saving Private Ryan (DTS version), Behind Enemy Lines (DTS version), IMAX Super Speedway-Mach II (DTS version) and We Were Soldiers. The BP2X left me speechless. I just sat on my coach and said, "Damn." The IMAX Super Speedway-Mach II just blew me away. The scene were Mel Gibson calls in the "broken arrow" during the second day of the battle and bullets are flying by every direction was awesome. The scene where Owen Wilson and "Stackhouse" are trying to lose the SAM was even better. The beginning of Saving Private Ryan was just incredible. The Jedi battle scene towards the end of the movies just kept my jaw to the ground. For those of you wondering, these speakers are powered by a Denon AVR-3801 and showed so signs of weakness. I'm sorry, but the cone vibration from the Polk speakers just kept annoying me

Similar Products Used: Polk Audio F/X500i and F/Xi50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luis   Audiophile [Jan 13, 2000]
Strength:

Sound Quality, Power Handling, Imaging

Weakness:

Overall Bass Extension

To summarize... these speakers are great! They handle tons of power, can be utilized as full range surrounds(large speaker setting in AC-3) and blend well with my front speakers. For a surround with 5 1/4 speakers they emit enough bass to satisfy most users, but I myself (the bass hungry freak that I am) will be expermenting with a small sub to compensate for what they lack in overall extension. My system consists of B&W Matrix 804, B&W HTM, Def Tech PF1500 sub, Angstrom 100 processor, Acurus 250x2 (for the 804s)& 200x3 (for the center and surrounds) and a Pioneer DVD player.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm & B&W dipoles
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2000]
Strength:

Spaciousness, Clarity, Power Handling

Weakness:

Extreme Low Bass, Mounting Flexibility

I picked these up last week for $370 used from a guy in NY. They were only bought in September 99 so they are relatively new. The finish and quality is very nice. I wish the grills were of the sock type like the higher end Definitives, b/c the grills don't feel like they snap on very tightly but I haven't noticed any rattle in them yet. I upgraded to these from the Polk M3 II multipurpose speaker. The Polk had a better mounting mechanism. The BP2Xs need some kind of channel to route the cable through as they are designed to just hand from one screw directly against the wall. As for the sound they are a huge improvement. I was able to hear things in soundtracks that I had not heard before and the clarity was much better. They also have significantly improved bass over the Polks. If you really need more bass you should go with the BPXs but for my budget these sound fantastic. The bipolar design had the effect of spreading out the sounds much better while still being able to localize them when a soundtrack called for it. I really felt I was in a rainstorm when I heard rain played through them. I would recommend them to anyone serious about quality rear channel speakers. I give it a 5 for value as I looked at many speakers in this range and none of them were close but I have the resrve the 5 rating for the BPXs which I will someday afford or the BPVXs.

Similar Products Used: Polk M3 II
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Moe   Audiophile [Sep 21, 2000]
Strength:

Very clear, have some good base, nice shape and wall mountable. Bipolar,very neat

Weakness:

Not piano gloss like the rest of the Def Tech's

These are very cool rear speakers', theu sound great and allow for very excellent and accurate rear effects. They produce and outstanding rear performance and fill in the gap in the middle. The Bipolar design is very cool, this is the first time I've experimented with Bipolar, I'm very impressed. I can see why lot's of people are switching to Def Tech speaker's.

I can't say anything more then the previous reviewers have, and I agree with all, including the one below, they reproduce excellent sound as a main speaker. I hooked them as my L/R speaker, boy can they perform! Very impressed. If one was tight for cash, they should give these serious consideration's for a L/R speaker, I would have.

Anyway, very highly recommended, honestly.

Similar Products Used: B&W601
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard Kraus   Casual Listener [Nov 01, 2001]
Strength:

Clear, neutral sound

Purchased as part of a package
ProMonitor 200 - front
ProCenter C2 - center
ProSub 200TL - subwoofer
BP 2X - surround

I'm very pleased with this package. The ProMonitors have a very clear and natural sound that doesn't pump up the treble like my prior JBL,Genesis or Bose speakers. The sound is excellent for both music and DVDs.

The stands could be improved, but this is a very minor point.

Overall, the Definitive Technology system has been every bit as good as the magazine reviews and the comments here indicate.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com