B&W DS 6 Surround Speakers

DS 6

Dipolar Surrounds - 5" Woofer and (2) 3" Tweeter

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Jizz Mopper   AudioPhile [Oct 09, 2002]
Strength:

Fantastic ambience, panning of effects, low sensitivity is perfectly matched to compliment use with the other B&W 6 series speakers.

Weakness:

Some may not like the lack of frequency extension, depends on what you think a surround speaker is really for.

This is a great product which really does create a diffuse soundfield. Ambience, panning and coherence with the front speakers is top notch, well beyond the price range. I find that most of the time I'm not really too aware of them - but turn them off in the middle of a film and it is amazing how much the soundstage shrinks into the front channels. Set up properly, and this is easily done, they are unobtrusive yet invaluable, just like a well set up subwoofer. I must say that I much prefer dipole surround to any other type of speaker used as rears. They are the only type which really manage to 'surround' you without bringing attention to themselves - they really blend into the background. They only downside - for some people - is that they cut off at 80ish Hz. However, with a good subwoofer, this isn't a problem. Overall, highly recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Patryk Goller   Audiophile [Dec 25, 1999]
Strength:

Midrange,wide sound dispersion

Weakness:

Price,frequency response

I've had a pair of those in my Dolby Pro-Logic system:
Sony STR-DB925QS
Sony SLV-E870 VHS
B&W DM602
B&W CC6
They were working and looking great.
But when I bought a DVD player and turned to Dolby Digital,they started slowly showing their weakness:
fatal frequency response [100Hz-8kHz],lack of bass and dynamics.
Finally,I recommend it to a Dolby Pro-Logic systems only.
In Dolby Digital and DTS systems you should have a pair of regular floorstanders...

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
gregory caldwell   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 09, 2000]
Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none that i can hear

these speakers are amazing they dont bring attention to themselves.....who cares about freq.response if u have a good sub....THX approved ,good drivers....quality build....and construction.ability to throw sound in front of your listening position and way behind you .....if u want a good demo dvd get das boot ,the submarine movie it has amazing sound,or top gun it's really reference material......i had the paradigm adp-170 they sounded good but drew too much attention to them selves. i love these speakers and they have excellent freq.response...you cant go wrong with these,bipolar sound horrible,they might have more bass but trust me they are not as spacious as dipolar surrounds....and also they look elegant with the thx sign on the front...they are a little heavy but who really cares happy hometheater.....................:)
p.s. most THX surround speakers cut off at 80hz....then the sub picks up from the surround...visit www.thx.com
to get a better understanding..........

Similar Products Used: paradigm-adp-170
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Keith   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 21, 2000]
Strength:

Nice sound field, hideability, value

Weakness:

Binding posts

Produce a nice sound field, and perfect for my apartment setup. White finish can be painted and hide well on my walls. Paired with the right components, which I think I have, the DS6 is impressive, but understated (as a dipole surround should be). Spend the time to locate and set them up appropriately for your equipment, then use quality cable, and they should not disappoint in your HT.

I was initially concerned about the surround transition from the higher quality 805's to the DS6, but after many DVD trials I am glad I purchased them.

My setup is:
B&W Nautilus 805's/HTM2/DS6
Pioneer DV626 DVD
Lexicon DC1
Rotel RB985mkII AMP

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Hwulex   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2002]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Binding Posts - nothing sonically

Excellent speakers, bought as a system together with B&W 603S2 fronts, CC6 centre, and Sony STR-DB940 Amp
Sound excellent in my listening room of around 5x4 would definately recommend them.
Considering upgrading my Amp, but I know these speakers don't need upgrading, these are gonna last me up through some higher quality hifi yet :)
They seem expensive to start with, but they're gonna last, so in the long run they are going to work out to be a steal!

Similar Products Used: None dipolar
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tony Whitfield   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent diffuse sound. Good looks and build quality.

Weakness:

Binding posts.

These speakers integrate beautifully with my 603S2 fronts and LCR6S2 centre. The whole soundfield sounds awesome. careful placement though is essential to get the best form the DS6.

Similar Products Used: Kef TDM65DS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2002]
Strength:

Looks,sound(although a little more bandwidth would have been appreciated) THX approved

Weakness:

On demonstration a speaker was moved but still plugged in and one of the terminals broke! at home I tightened up a terminal (on my own speakers) by hand and it just kept turning, on internal inspection the terminal had become detatched ! the moral-be careful with those speaker terminals

At first I wasnt to sure about these speakers I had never used dipole speakers before and did not what to expect, I had played a James Bond DVD "Tommorrow never dies"(a favorite dem disc) and because I had not set the rears to small on my Yamaha DSP A2 I heard, as my wife discribed:-"funny farty noises"! I promptly re adjusted my amp and tried again, this time the sound was much better, very good in fact
I used my system comrising of:-
Sony 725 DVD player.
Yamaha DSP A2 amp.
B&W 601 fronts.
B&w CC6 centre.
B&W DS6 rears.
REL Storm II sub.
Cable Talk cabling.
for about 2 years, enjoying the exellent sound given out by this system and then it happened............
I upgraded my Sony 725 DVD player to a Pioneer DV 737.
What a difference this upgrade has made, it has made my DS6 rears sound about 50% better, if this is possible, they now sound a lot sharper and completely wrap you in sound, From old films "The Blues Brothers" to new "Pearl Harbour" and all good dem discs in between such as:-
The Haunting
Fight Club,
Toy Story 1&2,
The World is Not Enough,
Shrek,
and guess what, Tommorrow Never Dies has never sounded so good !!
There is only one problem though, now the rears sound so good I think an upgrade to the fronts is now due, maybe the B&W CDM1NT fronts & B&W CDMNT centre.
The moral to this story is that the DS6 rears sound good with mid range HI-FI but the further you advance up the HI-FI ladder the better they get.

Similar Products Used: Mission 701s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Paul   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2002]
Strength:

Soundstage

Weakness:

Frequency response

A really nice dipole surround. Positioned correctly, they are almost impossible to localize. Despite the limited frequency response, they have done well with music, even with my new DVD-A setup, much to my surprise. Great for cinema, I would highly recommend them. For music, it might be better to get an receiver like a Denon which lets you switch between A and B surround speakers (depending on if you're listening to music or cinema) and get a more full-range speaker for music. Highly recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Derek Van der Klift   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2002]
Strength:

The appearance is aesthetically very pleasing

Weakness:

None

Outstanding surround sound experience. Easy to install and great to look out. Real easy to fit into your home theatre.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rikard   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2001]
Strength:

Does what it's suppose to. Diffuses the sound nicely. Sounds good. I believe it can work in larger systems aswell.

Easy placement. Discreet compared to its size. Looks good due to the curved shape.

Weakness:

None really. To comment others: The frequency response is that bad people!

"Read" the specifications of them before purchasing these speakers. They were designed this way.

Probably wasn't physically impossible to squeeze out a few extra Hz out of them when B&W built them. But there isn't really a need for it.


Here are some of my opinions (maybe facts):

1.) Learn how to place them. "They are dipole". They depend on the room and placement to reproduce a usable soundfield.
Try placing diffusers at the rear wall and some of the sidewalls. Do not reduce the DS-6's sounds by adding absorbing materials there...

2.) Your ears are mostly pointed forward thus reducing high-frequencies recieved from surround speakers. -"No need for full range here people!".

3.) The DS-6's can't work their stuff in small rooms.

4.) They, like all B&W's need alot of power to perform their best.


Consider this when purchasing these or any other brand of of dipoles.

Similar Products Used: Previously used directional surround speakers...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com