Atlantic Technology T70 Surround Speakers

T70

Home Theater Loudspeaker System

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
PeterF44   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2004]
Strength:

Great sound for movies and music

Weakness:

Price Only comes in black

I received the T70 a couple of months back as an aniversary present. I am very impresed with the clarity and uncolored output from the the mains and surrounds. The center speaker is much better that the H/K center it replaced. Dialog comes through very clear. The surrounds do a great job creating the effect of a wide space. The sub is not bad either.

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon HKTS-12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
C Bennett   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 23, 2003]
Strength:

Bang for the buck,size,quality,tightness,no boomyness

Weakness:

none yet

Well for $179 I think I got a great sub. Sounds great with my movies. Lot more bass than the Polk S4's put out by themselves :). My kid loves them too. He listens to Dinosaur all the time and they really wake up that movie. I need to get a disc or something to adjust the sub though as im having a hard time getting it just right. This is not the sub though just me :). Really tight and not boomy like a few others I heard. VERY easy to get going. Nice size great bang for the buck.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne vx10,Polk,CSW 12" Basscube
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joel   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 11, 2003]
Strength:

Sealed enclosure Overall build quality $179 sub that hits 25Hz and below! Compact Design 125 Watt Amp (conservitively rated) Auto-On sensing Adjustable Low Pass Crossover 2nd sub passthrough RCA's

Weakness:

Warranty only 90 days unless you send in registration form. No mention anywhere what crossover point they chose for the high pass. It simply states that "low bass will be removed from the satellites".

This is a quick review on just the T70 subwoofer that is now being offered by itself on some websites. The list price for the sub on its own is $425 but Sound City is blowing them out at $179 as the mk.2 version is now out. One Call has them alone too but they are still asking $399 for them (this exact version too)! This little sub has some things going for it for a relatively cheap sub. First, it works great for music as well as movies as it is a sealed enclosure and a 10" driver which is a small enough driver to respond quickly for music. I've always thought sealed subs have had the lowest distortion and most even bandwith across the low frequency spectrum as well as compared to ported subs. Second, I tested it to easily hit 25Hz with my stereophile test cd although output was down about 6 decibles at that frequency. It also hit at 20Hz but was down about 15 decibles at that point. These are very impressive numbers for a simple 10" sub with a 125 watt amp. Also, the QUALITY of what I was hearing was impressive as well with no boom, thumps or humps in the low frequencies in my room. Very even response (within a few decibles)between about 28-100 Hz! I have never owned an Atlantic Technolgy product before (though I have always read awesome reviews of their products)and I also own 2 Velodyne subs for my Home Theater so I feel I am a good judge of subs by now and I have to say I am incredibly impressed with the build quality and craftsmanship of this sub (especially considering the $179 price)! It has almost every feature of my $800 15" Velodyne save for the inability to change the high-pass frequency crossover to filter bass from the satellites. You simply cannot do better at this price point for a sub in the here and now. I was so impressed with it, I ended up buying a second one today so that I will have a matching stereo pair for my music only system. I was always taught that for music, it is better to go with 2 small sub drivers in a stereo setup then 1 big 12" or 15" sub as their radiating surface is too large to react quickly enough for music. That is the philosophy I am using here---2 10" sealed inchers should be incredible! My system: Apogee Centaur Loudspeakers (2) Atlantic Technology T70 Subs Jolida 502a Tube Integrated Amp Dynaco CDV-2 Tube CD Player Adcom ACE 515 AC Enhancer

Similar Products Used: Own both in my HT: Velodyne VLF-1012 X2 Velodyne CT-150
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mustangnc1   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2003]
Strength:

Awesome bass response, hits almost at 22Hz.

Weakness:

What weaknesses?

I just purchased the T70 subwoofer. This subwoofer is my first blind purchase, and i am not at all displeased. The sub is super-responsive and fidelly reproduces low frequencies. Since i am just now kicking my computer hardware and going into HT, i think i have made a great start!

Similar Products Used: Umm, i have BOSE 301 series IV for surround.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nate   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2003]
Strength:

Size Price Accurate imaging Speakers able to give depth to the sound

Weakness:

None

I recently sold my entire surround system because I wanted a smaller profile system. I began looking around various websites, and reading reviews on all sorts of different systems. I had always heard very good things about Atlantic Technology in magazines over the years, so I decided to take a chance. The T70 system won't disappoint you if you're into movies as I am. I hardly ever use my systems for music, but movies are in everyday. I first put Jurassic Park(DTS) because I wanted to see how the sub handled itself, and it was very tight and punchy. I then put in Disturbing Behavior because there is a scene where you hear voices all around you, and the surrounds were amazing in that it wasn't as localized as most systems tend to be. In the end it's an amazing system that won't break the bank, and won't break your heart. *Equipment used* Yamaha HTR-5560 Receiver Toshiba SD-4800 DVD player Sony KP-46WT500 All Monster THX cables

Similar Products Used: Jamo Apollo 3 system Jamo 8 Series Complete System
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jake   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2002]
Strength:

Fantastic sound quality, superb build quality, truly excellent value for the money.

Weakness:

None.

What else can I say but WOW! Like the previous reviewer, I purchased this system blind, based on considerable net research, as well as the reviews from this site. The T70 system does not dissapoint. mids and highs are clear and sharp and the subwoofer is truly a monster. I''ve been very impressed with the accuracy and punchiness of the subwoofer as well. I''m using the T70 system with a Marantz SR8000 reciever (105w per channel) and the sound quality is phenomenal. At lower volumes, sound is clear and smooth, but at higher volumes is where this system really shines.. warn the neighbors before cranking things up, these things are an absolute joy when given some serious juice. I was surprised at how small the front and surround speakers are, but sound this system is capable is nothing short of huge. I''ve got several friends into HT that all have $3-4000 systems and they''re nothing short of amazed at the sound quality these speakers are capable of.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fred   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2001]
Strength:

I am no guru; but this system sounds clean and I got the stands for $50 at OneCall and they work fine.

The sub sounds good and when I spring for a subwoofer cable; I am sure it will kick it up a notch. One other thing; I called Atlantic up twice to ask a question and you got a
swithcboard person right away and you were talking to a tech guy in about 15 secons. I bought a package at OneCall and the speakers were $900 but I got a Yamaha HTR 5250 for $442.

Weakness:

None that I see or hear.

Sounds clear; not bright. Looks good with the stands and the sub is fine.

Similar Products Used: Compared to my friends Sony system and its no contest.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dvdman   Audiophile [Sep 27, 2001]
Strength:

Great for movies.Go along well with the Denon AVR1602

Weakness:

none at that price range

T70 is an awesome system, more for movies.Slightly better that my other system of NHT Superone Combo ith Energy sub.

Similar Products Used: NHT Superone Combo ith Energy sub- Great for movies and music
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 05, 2000]
Strength:

Dynamic sound for a small sub/sat system, center speaker tilt base, dipole surround speakers, 5 way binding post,

Weakness:

speaker design

In my opinion, this is the best sub/sat system for under $1000 on the market. I just ordered them from Onecall.com after spending hours at 5 different local audio/video stores within a week (w/ the same DVDs & CDs to make a fair comparison).

I demoed the Atlantic T70, Sony SAV815ed/705/315, DefTech ProCinema 80, Energy Take 5, Polk RM6600 & RM6200, and Mirage sub/sat systems.

I was immediately impressed with the T70 system. The T70 was the only system that made me "smile". You know what I'm talking about... that "smile" of approval .... the "smile" that told me my search is over.

Here's my ranking of the rest: The Polk 6600 was very good for music and HT a mass produced system ; DefTechs sounded great for music, and above average for HT sound (good subwoofer), Energy's were decent all around; the Sonys were too bright and lacked sufficient bass; and the Mirage was average.

My other components include: Sony 560D/Sony STRDE845/TEAC CD player/Toshiba 36"/Sony VCR/etc...

Anyway, I hope the review helps.

Similar Products Used: Sony tower/surround speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Musicman   Audiophile [Aug 27, 2001]

This advice is the standard mantra issued by audio hobbyists everywhere whenever
there's a discussion or disagreement about what sounds "best" or, which product
outperforms another. Some people say that human
hearing is quite different - that some people just hear better than others ... hence, the
"golden ears". Trust your own ears!!! Demo this system

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com