Yamaha YST-SW300 Subwoofers

YST-SW300

Subwoofer

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
Rob Greenfield   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 09, 2016]

This Sub for such a small low powered unit it kicks ass! for general purpose home listening it is more than ample and capable of rattling the windows somewhat. It generates an impressive amount of energy around the 30-35Hz range. I've used it in a small theatre situation(120seats) to add low end for live performance - amazingly it copes with this and easily produces more 30 - 60Hz output that a pair of 15" active PA speakers combined and i beleive it to outperform a 500W behringer 12" sub used in the same setup! very impressive for "domestic" rated unit.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ben Hanke   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2003]
Strength:

Turn the low pass to max (180hz, I think), the mode to full movie, and the volume right down until, with a little fiddling, the sub will gradually take control of the bass frequencies of your system as your main speakers lose muscle ( down to about 18hz ). Get it just right then change sources and it'll be all wrong and you'll have to start again!

Weakness:

This sub has a mind of its own. It's very cheeky. Leave it alone for too long and it will ask for attention by suddenly booming at you or vibrating ornaments by finding their resonant frequency. It demands constant fiddling, especially when you change sources, or when you have guests. It's quite rewarding changing its settings though - I've had my sub for 4 years and still enjoy trying to find the best configuration. Quite often, you won't be able to tell it's working while you're in the room with it, then you'll go next door and the whole place will be shaking. It's very mysterious - but fun, and a good conversation point.

This sub is one of my favourite possesions. It's quite obviously not the best sub ever, certainly not the tightest, or the most powerful. It's not beautiful, or prestigious. It's definitely not well behaved. It does have a lot of character though.. a big black 25kg box of fun, and great value for money.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter Jorgensen   AudioPhile [Apr 10, 2002]
Strength:

Low frekvented areas.

Weakness:

Its ugly.

This sub are playing in the top area. I had some problems in the beginning with no control. But that was fixed with better cables, must be done if you are an audioPhile.

Similar Products Used: An home made, big one from the -70:s
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
andrew tran   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2000]
Weakness:

might not be the best subwoofer around but definitely great for that kind of price.

Ive owned this for about a week now, not to sure about everything, but it sounds great. The Matrix when played back with this sub is great, the bass is excellent. A top notch subwoofer at an outstanding price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shane   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 03, 2000]
Strength:

Great for Movies

Weakness:

None Really

Have been using the Yamaha YST-100 for some years now which i was very happy with. But when this came up for sale i thought it was time for an upgrade due to the nature of some movies these days. This sub bone rattled the house on movies such as (The Iron Giant, scene when the Giant goes to blast the War Ship), The Matrix, Armageddon, T2 Ultamite Collection. This sub had great control & depth without bloating. Very happy that i upgraded and it looks good aswell.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marcel   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 11, 2000]
Strength:

Awesome bass

Weakness:

Big, no remote control

This subwoofer sounds awesome, with music and dvd. D-day on "saving private Ryan" makes you wish you had no neihgbours!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Trotto   an Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 1999]

I just bought a Paradigm PS-1200 powered sub. (after months of listening to every other sub I could) And have found it to be the best in it price range ( under 600) I compared it to Yamaha(150 watt), sony, and many others I cant think of. It was MUCH more powerful when it came to LOW rumbles. It had a very clean, smoooooooth , tight bass punch. No air flutter, or rough sounds. It also prduces more shock waves! It will shack the whole room. Power rating(140W) is conservitive. A must for bass lovers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Ray   an Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 1999]

An Excellent Subwoofer especially at this price. HIGHLY recomended. Produces smoot flat bass in all volume levels. Excellent when used in Home Theater.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
shachar ben naim   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2001]

i have been using this sub for about two-three years now. its great with movies especially with the fast action ones. it is not the best choice for music fans for it is a bit too boomy and not that subtle. however, when it comes to movies and to simulating a theater at one's living room - it simply does the job and its probably the best sub available in this price range. i had a few problems with the neighbors but i got rid of them so now we cool. very good choice for those of you how want to be known around the block! i have been using this product with yamaha
dsp-A1 amplifier, a pioneer DVD, kenwood LD and a yamaha tuner as well. highly recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John Avery   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2001]
Strength:

Good looking,deep base responce, volume is controlable from the remote head unit wich is YAMAHA RXV-992, and the YAMAHA name.

Weakness:

CLEARLY NONE WHAT SO EVER!

This thing hauls ass as required with no fuss whatso ever, a must have if this is your budget, you will find their is no comparison between other brands as the YST-300 in this range tops them off with eaze.
hooked up to most yamaha and other av units the volume is ajustable via remote and freq responce,cut out volume are also other usfull features along with RC conectors or SPEAKERS IN OUT, And also reverse or forward changer if you want the sub at the rear or the front of your listening environment, and it delivers plenty of bang for your buck!
All in all there isnt a great deal this baby doesnt offer wich makes it a delightful member of my family! Weather it be music, dvd, video, tv, satalite,cd, this unit hauls ass, I highly recomend this unit to anyone contemplating the purchase of the YST-300. Thumbs up to YAMAHA once again!!!
PS: If your budget permits, try the YAMAHA 800watt down throw!!!! It is thunder from the sky's, my next wish list!

Similar Products Used: KENWOOD CRAP! YAMAHA YST-150.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com