Yamaha YST-SW215 Subwoofers

YST-SW215

  • 8" cone driver
  • 120W Amplifier
  • 30 to 200 Hz frequency range
  • Advanced Active Servo Technology --is an amplifier/speaker system utilizing negative impedance feedback in the amp and a Helmholtz resonator in the speaker to provide strong and accurate bass.
  • BASS Selector
  • Yamaha's QD-Bass Technology
  • Magnetic Shielding

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
videodoktor   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 24, 2006]
Strength:

For the price hard to beat cant stand up to the tiny carver sub with the what is it 1000 wat RMS amp and such but it is a very good unit and highly recomended

Weakness:

none I can hear or see

I bought this little fellow to use when watching movies worked so well I bought another and use them in stereo instead of the sub woofer output on preamp. I have the turn over point at its lowest point. Not that it will move walls and such it does add a little more pizzaz at tlox level they are turned off when not watching movies. This set up is in what we call guest area

Customer Service

Never had to use Yanaha service

Similar Products Used: Carver Velodyne
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
j   AudioPhile [Apr 24, 2006]
Strength:

dd

Weakness:

d

d

Customer Service

d

Similar Products Used: d
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
K.C.   Casual Listener [Aug 25, 2005]
Strength:

*Inexpensive *Small *Good sound for the price

Weakness:

*I can't complain about anything for the price I paid

I was searching for the least expensive sub I could find that promised decent sound. I didn't want to rattle the windows since I usually use the home theater system after the kiddies are in bed, so I didn't need much. I was getting more bass from my monster center channel (EC-35) that I was from my front speakers, so I just wanted to add a little bit to the low end. So I purchased the SW215 from Best Buy, figuring I'd just return it if I didn't like the sound. Well, I still have it. So far, the SW215 had been exactly what I was looking for. It's certainly not the most impressive sub I've heard - but it does the job. I can definitely tell a difference when I turn it on - even in my relatively large family room. It's also nice and small, so it doesn't stand out and wreck the decor (my wife is pleased by this). All in all, it's probably just a so-so subwoofer, but c'mon - it's only got an 8" driver to work with. And it was $100. So I'm thrilled.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
music fan San Fran   Casual Listener [Jan 15, 2005]
Strength:

Sounds great, perfectly complements a surround sound speaker set. Looks nice, has a unique design, useful controls front and back (especially the phase control!)

Weakness:

None at this price

All low end (less than $1K) speakers need a boost in the bass. I have a set of Klipsch Synergy speakers (SF-1, SC-1, SS-1) that are especially needy. This wonderful little subwoofer rounded out my system beautifully. It's not powerful enough to shake your windows but if you have neighbors, as I do, window shaking is not an option. This sub is musical and sweet and precise. And for $99, there's nothing else like it. Some reviews below complain that they can't hear the sub. This is almost certainly a phase problem. This sub has a downward firing cone woofer, and a port on one side. The port puts out sound when the woofer cone moves *up*, which is 180 degrees out of phase with the rest of your speakers. So push the 'phase' button to reverse and you'll hear the sub come shining through. Can't beat this little guy for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
joej1   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 11, 2004]
Strength:

Clean sound, ability to rock a room watching a movie, or thump a good tune, excellent additional features (volume, cut-off, filter, auto start ups)down firing with side port

Weakness:

Can be underpowered for a really big room

I purchased this sub as a cheap fix after my last sub died unexpectedly (Sony products will never again haunt my home). This has turned out to be an excellent sub for a cheap price. Some may be inclined to bag on it, because it is a low end unit. The thing to remember always with any product like this, is that it is tested in design, and in production using a very controlled environment using excellent equiptment, so when it leaves the factory it is a good product. With halfway decent components at home (receiver) and proper connections (with appropriate cable), and proper placement in an appropriate sized room, this will sound great - clean, tight bass with little distortion and plenty of volume. True it ought to be that you can take any product and hook it up to a crappy system, and still have it perform, but then that would be the definition of a high end product which would still struggle to get beyond the receiver that is powering it. So hooking a low end sub like this from an excellent audio company will produce great sound, provided you have taken the time to do it right (which doesn't require much more expense - which is why someone would be buying a low end product) Okay I'm off the soapbox, give this sub a try (with the previous in mind)and you won't be disappointed.

Similar Products Used: Sony, polk audio
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
4x4fvr   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2004]
Strength:

Price, sound quality, compact size, stylish enclosure

Weakness:

none so far

I just wanted to chime in. I listened to several subs before getting this one. It was either this or the athena. I am very happy for the price and sound quality. It really brings out lows while not making the slappy bottoming out sound that you would expect from a cheap sub. The downward firing 8" really fills the room.

Similar Products Used: klipsch, athena, sony, klh
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Matthew   Casual Listener [Nov 02, 2003]
Strength:

Small, compact, affordable, and yet powerful

Weakness:

The power seems to reach to other floor instead of my own floor.

I heard no significant difference in the bass until 15 minutes later the lovely lady living upstair came down to my place together with the landlord to complain that the music was too loud. Before I also played music at the same level of volume but never had any complaints. Now I knew that I got a great subwoofer. It sounds really great, but don't turn up the volume too much. 60-80% sounds the best. The music/movie button is useless, you can leave it on to movie all the time.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stoic   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 14, 2003]
Strength:

*Adequate Power *QD Bass fills the room evenly with bass sound. *Very clean sub, with great sounding bass without distortion.

In the store the sub sounded clear, but had to have the volume turned up quite a bit to really be heard. Since BestBuy displays their equipment on metal shelves in aisles, this is probably to be expected. I set this up in a 16 by 25 room with cathedral ceilings. It was attached to a Sony STR-DE595 5.1 receiver with 4 polk R15's and a polk center speaker, and of course the Yamaha SW215. In my home, the sub sounded wonderful. Clean bass, without the sloppy, mudddy, stick hitting a plastic trashcan sound that some lower end subs can have. The bass was tight and really quite loud. It could easily provide enough bass for this room and the bass was tight and clean throughout the entire power range, with no audible distortion. A nice feature, that one of the previous reviewers dismissed as "El Cheapo plastic base), is the QD-bass. The sub is downfiring, and this base disperses the sound well, and really fills the room. The effect is that you can be sitting within 4 feet of the sub, and not be blown away or overpowered by it, and yet the bass fills the room. The auto/on/off feature us wonderful, however, I had to replace the sub cord I was using (inexpensive 12 foot sub cord) with a monster cable cord in order for it to work properly. The inexpensive cord ran next to the sattelite RG-6 cable and apparently would bleed over enough signal to keep the sub from powering off. Once I put the monster cable on, the Auto/On/Off worked perfectly, and the sub sounded even better. The sub has a small profile and will easily fit under an end table or other inconspicuous location, which makes it perfect for a family room.

Similar Products Used: Sony WM200 75 watt sub KLH Bassbite V Sub Cerwin Vega SV1 sub
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
paganman7   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 10, 2003]
Strength:

Cost, very deep and clear for the size, lots of features for customizable sound

Weakness:

The stand-by feature never works.

I needed a sub to supplement my Yamaha NS-A100XT towers. I went with Yamaha because of their reputation for quality and affordability. I have to say, I am very impressed with this little and inexpensive sub. For its size, it delivers crystal clear lows and is not at all boomy or cloudy. The surround is sturdy and minimizes external vibrations, and the downfiring driver reflects nicely off the "spliting" device. This sub is also "feature rich". With the crossover and phase selector, you are sure to find a setting that will deliver distortion free bass. The only negative is the awkward stand-by setting that never seems to function properly. This sub is very sensitive to ambient low frequencies, so it rarely turns off when the signal is cut...even though I have the stand-by selector on the "low" setting. Other than the standy-by feature, this sub is exemplary!

Similar Products Used: Kenwood, RCA, KLH, MTX, Polk
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Pressure Waves   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2003]
Strength:

Size and quality. The Music/Movie controls are excellent, make sense, and are self-explaining. It is, like most subs, not pretty in a well decorated room but easily hid.

Weakness:

Nothing major. Dual off switches are bothersome. Height adjustment would be a plus.

Opinions are subjective affairs I know; speaker preferences are a good example. What one person likes another may not. I like this sub. This sub-woofer provides the user with a host of excellent on-board tools to complement its capable performance. Integration into any system is easy using the "cut-off", volume control and phase switch, as well as those on the receiver. Any problems encountered are rectifiable with a "read" of the easy to understand and follow manual. The audible "click" on start up was a welcome sign that a good amp was utilized by Yamaha in the system build. I compared this sub to Energy, Athena and JBL. To me it sounded the best and this is someone who listens to a lot of music as well and who has always loved JBL products. It was easily integrated into my system that is made up of a Yamaha Receiver, Mission and JBL speakers, a Sony ES CD player, and Panasonic DVD player. The sub provides powerful and authoratative bass for movies and music alike. I haven't bothered to do any quasi-scientific tests on it in my house as I can't afford the equipment necessary to provide accurate scientific results and frankly I think it is performing to spec. It really shines with Jazz tracks and well recorded CD's of all music genres. I like the tweakability of the sub and its size. For the money you can't do much better. If you are a bass lover and seek the same sound as your car audio provides don't bother with it. However if you are looking for that added element in music and home theatre give it a try at home.

Similar Products Used: JBL sub below $500 price point.(I took it back, and I have been a JBL fan for years)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com