Yamaha YST-SW1500 Subwoofers

Yamaha YST-SW1500 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

  • 12" extra-long stroke driver with Dual-Bias System
  • Extremely efficient amplifier with 1000 W power and highly efficient power supply
  • Dual Inputs-- allow the versatile subwoofer to accept either line level or speaker level input signals.
  • Volume Control
  • Phase Normal/Reverse Switch
  • QD-Bass (Quatre Dispersion Bass) technology
  • Advanced Active Servo Technology

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Apr 18, 2017]
Yamaha freak
Audio Enthusiast

Like previous raters I love this sub and I been searching for this one more than 4 years and like another guy here I also have a 800 sub thats been in work since 2001 and now is paired with the 1500 by a Yamaha RX-A3040 since 2 years back. And I cant say much because nobody that never listen to one of those beasts can understand the feeling when it is working.
So far I been having BW and Klipsh subs but they are all gone now I use the 1500 and 800 together and they deliver what I can ask for and then some. If you find someone for sale grab it and run :).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2017]
Gene
Casual Listener

I have one it's been sitting in my moms house not used at all
I am looking to sell it what is good asking price ??

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 15, 2016]
Micke
Audio Enthusiast

I been searching for this for more than 4 years and I been using my SW800 meanwhile. A few weeks back I finally got one in excellent condition with everything working. I hooked it up together with my 800 and configure my A3030 for 2 subs and ran the auto calibration.
Put on a good movie on BLURAY Cowboys and Aliens wich I knew have a lot of good effects.
Already in the beginning I could FEEL the difference betwen the 800 and 1500. With the 800 I could hear the bass and somehow feel it but the 1500 really made the effects shaking and it was like be kicked in the stomach. Even I bought this one used and it was not cheap I still can agree with most people here this was really one of the best subs I ever listen to even those XX expensive ones 3500$ subs..... If you ever see one for sale grab it asap. The chance will seldom come again.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 07, 2011]
Listener
Casual Listener

I have never heard a subwoofer sound this good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 08, 2010]
Keith Middlehurst
Audio Enthusiast

To be honest I have a Yamaha YST - SW 800, not the 1500, but it is fabulous. I had it years, can't remember when I got it. I am happy, and would not mind a pair of them to look neat.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2009]
johndts4ever
AudioPhile

I DISAGREE WITH MOST OF THE BAD FEED BACK ON THE YAMAHA SW 1500 SUBWOOFER I RUN 2 OF THEM I LIKE TO SPREAD BASS AROND MY ROOM NOTHING BEATS 2 SUBWOOFERS AND WILL NOT TRADE THEM WITH ANY THING (LOVE THEM)
YAMAHA RX-Z9
4X NS300 MAINS
3X NSC300 & REAR
1X Soavo-900C CENTRE
2X SW1500 SUBWOOFERS
1X MITSUBISHI 7000 PROJECTOR
140 INCH HD LP MORGON FIXED SCREEN
DENON 3930 DVD PLAYER
PLAYSTATION 3
ELITE XBOX
POWERZEST 301 MEDIA PLAYER
PIONEER 989 DVD PLAYER

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2006]
72340cuda
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very tight and powerful. Remote control, auto shutoff / turn on, Good looking sub

Weakness:

Very picky about room placement, and I wish the woofer had a rubber surround instead of foam, but both are very minor gripes.

This sub is awesome!! I don't know where all of the negative feedback is coming from. I've owned and or auditioned every brand of subwoofer imaginable, and this one was by far the winner. Don't get me wrong, the M&K stuff is awesome, and velodyne is good, if you get their top of the line stuff, the lesser stuff (vrp series) is overpriced junk, just paying for the name. The Yamaha yst-sw1500 is a wolf in sheeps clothing. So many so called audiophiles rip on the Yamaha because it's a Yamaha. Every manufacturer makes their share of junk, do you really think a 12" vrp velodyne is good? It's sold at circuit city, that should give you a clue. Just as Yamaha makes their junk, too, they also make some excellent unknown stuff, a.k.a. the yst-sw1500. Too many so called audiophiles listen with their eyes and look for the brand, oh, it's a velodyne, it must be good. This sub has tremendous output, on either movies or music, it doesn't care. One thing about the yamaha is it is very picky about room placement, as are most subs, but especially the yamaha. It will take some changing of position to find the sweet spot, but once you do, it will reward you with solid, tight, powerful bass. The remote control is a nice feature since every recording has different dynamics you can just kick back and alter your volume or your high filter cut. I have mine mated to a pair of Klipsch kg4's and it sounds absolutely stunning, I usually keep the volume at near halfway, and the high filter set at about 80 hz, and the sound is awesome. I have a very wide choice of listening, smooth jazz, rock, pop/rock, some country, it's all good. The Yamaha eats it up without a hiccup. I also watch my fair share of movies, it will shake the house pretty easily, but in a powerfully tight way. Anyone looking to expand the sound capabilities of their audio/video system should seriously check out the yst-sw1500, don't let the name on the front fool you. If you want the best bass period, check out the Miller and Kreisel line, if you can't afford that, like me, the next best choice is the big Yamaha.

Similar Products Used:

Jbl studio series, Klipsch ksw and reference series, Polk Audio

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 12, 2006]
paul furrer
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

its Beautiful! lovely craftmanship and build of quality. the remote with high pass controls and volume level as well as phase shift is great. IT LOOKS like it Should ROCK!. tight bass in either music or movie mode- i could hardly hear a difference.the highpass Really filters radically the crossover slope. no bleedover of voices thru sub. quality of bass is very good and you can really sense that its servo controlled and taught. i dont feel this a bad sub at all, just not what i expected, i was misled by the great specs. for people who dont demand too much, they may be very happy with it.

Weakness:

POWER or the lack thereof! ive demoed and owned various subs of different power levels. this one feels in truth no more than 250 watts. MAX. i have a 450 watt sub in the next room that would easily put the yamaha to shame as far as sheer output and spl. this yamaha, does Not have the impact during passages that SHOULD scare you or make you it up and take notice, or induce fear ect. the sheer horsepower is just not enough to make that happen, at least for me. part of problem Is the power rating, being very overly optimistic, and 2nd the true bass extension does not seem to be as stated untill you look closer at yamahas specs and see that the 16 hz is rated at 10db down and Not at 3db down as most manufacturers rate their subs. this means that If it is doing 16 hz , its at an spl level so mild and quiet that it would be meaningless in real world use.i notice serious power and spl drop off as one lowers the crossover to the 40 hz setting. i have to turn my reciever up to its max level of bass output and the sub up to its max to feel anything at all at these settings. and when it Does try to reproduce these lower bass notes, it easily clips. yes it begins to shake things somewhat, but its also almost on the verge of clipping while doing so. it feels powerful int to mid 35hz range, with rapid drop off after that point.

yamaha YST-SW1500 sub not measuring up to the specs for power and depth that i had hoped for. i find the bass output to be modest and the am easily clips on loud passages. granted the bass is very clean ,tight ,controlled up to a point, but that point is nowhere near the 1000 watt spec the amp claims. its far too easy to overwhelm the amp during passages that should easily be handled by an am with such headroom. the other area is the bass extension claimed at 16 hz. in actual use ,the spl level drops off radically below 35hz or so andfeels really lacking if u run the highpass down to the 40 hz setting. there is little bass there, as for the 25 to 20 range it feels very weak even when maxed out with gain at full and reciever at full sub output settings. whatdoes happen is the sub tries to produce but clips easily under the strain.the bass "weight" of powerful and low reaching subs is just not there, and the wall shaking effects of the 20 to 25 hz range are somewhat possible but strained and the amp always feels on verge of clipping. this does Not have that bottomless reserve of effortless power you would expect from the power and depth specs.

Customer Service

bought from computer geeks.com. really great price! 399.99 with cheap shipping. downside is , sub arrives damaged with 2 dings in its beautiful wood surface , right where they would be most visible in front by controls. ive tried emailing computergeeks.com with multiple letters and have gotton no response at all. not yet at least. this was a new item sale, not refurbished. so i expected it unmarred. between the lackluster performance and the fact it was sent damaged, im going to seek a return. dont want it. but they arent answering emails, so what to do? i may have my credit card company go after them if they refuse a return authorisation.i do NOT want to have to pay return shipping on this item, as i feel its Their responsibility to make sure items are sent undamaged to customers.

Similar Products Used:

klipshe sw-10 sub with 10"driver and 12 " passive, 150 watt. this sub i still have and it matches the yamaha in depth and almost same in output! swapped in mid movies to test on same passages and all i can say is , i ask why i bought the yamaha when the output and depth seem no imprvement over what i had.also used sunfire 2700watt. which would Smoke the yamaha in sheer pwr and spl output as well as besting it in depth.also mirage bipolar sub, and soundbridge 450 watt- this 1 has fierce power output! but not as deep as the yamaha or other subs. as far as demos? more than i can write abt.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 10, 2005]
Reidark
AudioPhile

Strength:

Remote Control! Good looking and powerful sub of high quality.

Weakness:

Maybe not the first choice for music lovers that want a sub only for that use. (It is really not that fast and precise.) For movies it is just perfect!

Easy to use sub, with remote control. It has also got 3 memories, which makes it possible to store settings both for music and movies - if you use it for both. I have never used a sub for music, but for movies it is a must! The Yamaha is powerful, reasonably fast reacting, good looking and reliable. I have had it for over a year, without any problems whatsoever. The first reviewer must have been unbelievebly unlucky to have problems after power shortages. I know several other who have got Yamaha subs, and I have never heard a word about problems like that.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 08, 2004]
Harp845
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great looks,powerful 1000watt amp.

Weakness:

Some "chuffing" from the front port when overpowered.

Great Sub,Have had no problems as the guy above this review.Powerful,and as audiophile Mag.says,"The best looking sub around". Highly recommend.

Similar Products Used:

To many to list

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com