Yamaha YST SW105 Subwoofers

Yamaha YST SW105 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

- Advanced Active Servo technology: a complementary amplifier/speaker system utilizing negative impedance feedback in the amplifier and a Helmholtz resonator in the speaker to provide strong and accurate bass from small speakers.
- High amplifier power assures enough power to deliver movie theater-like bass effects and the 8-inch spruce cone driver translates the power into clear bass sound.
- Front panel controls make it easy to see the settings and make adjustments when necessary.
- Yamaha's bass selector tailors the subwoofer's output for video or music at the touch of a switch.
- The subwoofer is magnetically shielded so it can be placed near a TV monitor or receiver without fear that it will degrade the picture.
- Continuously variable high-cut filter allows the subwoofer's output to be matched to the other speakers in the system and the room's acoustics for a seamless presentation.
- Volume control permits the perfect matching of the subwoofer's output to the overall volume of the system.
- Signal sensing on/off: when the subwoofer detects an audio signal, it turns its power on, when it senses no signal for several minutes, it shuts itself off.
- Phase normal/reverse switch makes it easy to phase the subwoofer with the other speakers in your system.
- Dual inputs allows the versatile subwoofer to accept either line level or speaker level input signals.
- Heavy-duty three-way speaker terminals accept banana plug and a variety of other connectors, as well as speaker wire.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Sep 05, 2009]
darrell
Audio Enthusiast

I got my brand new one for $20 at a huge yard sale... its so cool.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 18, 2007]
Alex
AudioPhile

Strength:

Relatively powerful for it's size
Very small
Will support small speakers very well
Great for small rooms
Cheap
Variable crossover seems to work very well
Movie and Music modes
Relatively well built
No background noise/fan/hum
Active

Weakness:

Can bit a *bit* slow at times
Not massively musical
Not great in medium sized rooms
Next to useless in larger rooms
Medicore design
Port 'rattling' at very high volumes

This subwoofer has been used in a multitude of setups, ranging from home theatre and dedicated music systems to computer speaker systems.

In Home Theatre, it often lacked the absolute power given by other subs when played at medium-high volumes in medium-large rooms. Distortion is often slightly noticeable on powerful 'thumps', although generally, this isn't an issue as distortion in subwoofers is far less noticeable than in full-range systems. Generally, the subwoofer handles movies pretty well at normal to around medium volume levels, and will be far more than enough in smaller rooms.

For music, this subwoofer has been tested in small(ish) and very large rooms with bookshelf and floorstanding speakers. With bookshelf speakers, it performs well, smooth bass and enough power to pack some punch at higher volumes. At times it can be a bit slow, struggling to keep up with faster more detailed bass lines. Other than that, no major gripes.

In large rooms with larger speakers, this subwoofer does next to nothing other than 'flap' constantly. The port tends to rattle at higher volumes, and overall the subwoofer doesn't go deep enough to make this worthwhile. The maximum volume output also makes it rather limited in room size. This is a little unfair however, as it is quite a small subwoofer.

For computer speakers, this was absolutely fantastic. It was used along with a pair of very compact active bookshelf speakers, which had no desperate need for support from a subwoofer, but could have done with a little more bass at times. This subwoofer performed absolutely fantastically as computer speakers generally do not need to be particularly powerful. Having said that, this sub goes way louder than would ever be needed for computer use, and the crossover frequency seam is not particularly noticeable. I had the crossover frequency set to around 60 Hz, and it packs a huge punch when used like this.

Similar Products Used:

Assorted budget subwoofers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 06, 2003]
zoid2
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

1. Price 2. Good for Home theater use and post 1980 music.

Weakness:

1. For melodious 50's, it gives BOOMing effect which u may not appreciate for > 15 ~ 20 minutes.

I used the secret menu on my Pioneer VSX 711 S receiver to set "Front-Center-Surround" to "Large" and then set the Subwoofer selection to "Plus" (meaning that it will also send sub frequencies to Sub-out AND to Front speakers). Used Bose AM600 (unpowered acoustimass from Sams' club). The sound is great when you play recently released music and movies. The lowest frequencies reproduced from YST105 were around 38 to 40 Hz.(hooked up a digital tone generator to the sub).

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 15, 2003]
John
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Small, easy to place anywhere. Adjustment controls easy to use.

Weakness:

None that I have found so far.

I really like this sub alot. For the price I think its very good. I have it connected as the back surround channel on a pioneer vsxd811s receiver. Bose acoustimas 3 system in front, bose center channel, yamaha bookshlef speakers as the rear surround. What a difference in movies. I bought this sub mainly for movie watching and it fills the bas in quite nicely in a medium size room. You have to take the time to adjust the controls, but once that is done, just sit back and enjoy. The first time I had it on my wife looked out the front window for the thunderstorm which was on the tv :) Great buy and a great price.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 14, 2002]
wisechoise
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Small size. Control knobs on the front. Very little to no distortion. Superior design. Tight base sound. Great with movies and music.

Weakness:

nothing

This subwoofer is superior to all 8" 10" and 12" subs that my wife and I listen to at Best Buy, Circuit City and hh gregg. If your looking for tight reponsive bass sound this is your baby. Action packed movies will rumble the floors and vibrate the windows with without the baffle sound of larger subs. There is very little to no disortion. The small size and design is superb. If your a person looking for alot of base, get two of these babys for under $260.00. They will rock your world and you won't believe your ears, the power wave across the floor, walls rumbling and windows vibrating. Yes we have two. I will finish with this. Don't waste your money on large clumsy subs that have the baffling tunnel effect. I highly recommend Yamaha SW 105 with its small size and superior design.

Similar Products Used:

bose

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 13, 2002]
JJ
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Nice bass. adjustable controls (volume & frequency cutoff). Small size.

Weakness:

sometimes the power save mode doesnt come on as quickly as it should. . during movies you may miss some bass tones if it dropped into power save mode. . You can manually turn it off if you like...I do during movie watching.

Don't be fooled. If you are on a budget and need a good sub. . this is the one for you. It has an adjustable frequency knob that allows you to fit it in with the rest of your sound system. I am impressed by the way it fills in the sound on my system. I listed to Jazz, Reggae and R&B. .and it is awesome. for 130 bucks or so you can't beat it.

Similar Products Used:

CSW, POLK, Infinity

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 29, 2002]
Mo
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Wide range of adjustments, warm, sound that complements the system.

Weakness:

A little boomy if not set up properly

I'm really pleased with this sub. It took a while to set up properly, but it's worth the effort: it adds a great deal of warmth to music, and a lot of drama to films. I use it with an Acoustic Energy Aego P5 system, and while this is a great system for the price, the addition of this subwoofer transforms it. It's ideal for medium/small English lounges: obviously, it won't suit if you live in a barn.

Similar Products Used:

Aego P5 sub/sat system

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 23, 2002]
Mansu Mansu II
AudioPhile

Strength:

Produces low bass clearly at lower volume.

Weakness:

Sounds awfull at higher volume.

Quit cheap to buy and its easy to use.Sound quality is great deep and low ,but at higher volume its disaster.

Similar Products Used:

Stereo

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 16, 2002]
cntdr65
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent sound and power for its size. Easy to use controls

Weakness:

None!

Really happy with this unit. Perfect for low to medium range A/V systems installed in an apt. I have a Sony STR DE 485 A/V receiver with Bose Acoustimass-7''s and Bose 161 surround''s and have found this unit''s size and power a perfect match. Because the unit is so small it can be moved around the room with little difficulty to suit one''s taste. Lot''s of bang for the buck. P.S. Not for those who should anticipate total hearing loss before the age of 30.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 22, 2002]
larry schnell
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

?

Weakness:

distorts if you want to FEEL it sometimes when you just want to LISTEN.

spend the money. get a bigger one.Phoned A&B sound said they''d give me a credit. i''m sending it back with some more coin and get the 250w model I have a 160 rms rated Yamaha amp an add on center/rear Yamaha amp KG4 klishp 100w speakers just to give you all an idea this sub is not for you if you have a system like mine

Similar Products Used:

maybe a guy should just go buy a car sub

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com