Yamaha YST-SW100 Subwoofers

Yamaha YST-SW100 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

70W sub w/ two (2) 7-inch paper cones with Active Servo Processing (1992)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Nov 24, 2017]
Jonathan
AudioPhile

I used this sub with our family surround sound system when I was a teenager. I'm 44 now and it is still going strong. Currently it is flanked by a pair of Mirage bookshelf speakers, and they make a fantastically musical combination for the price. The bang for the buck is off the scale. When used in movie duty it will shake the floor. It is all the sub you really need. I'm looking for another.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 09, 2017]
shazad
Audio Enthusiast

I picked this up at a garage sale for Canadian $10.00 Didn't expect the sound that came from it. What a steal. I thought for $10.00, what the heck I'll give it a try. Not disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 05, 2016]
Jack
Audio Enthusiast

I'm in mourning. I didn't think it was possible but my wife blew this up last night. If she wasn't so sexy while she was doing it I might be pissed off but I just can't be. As far as the sub goes, it's the best for the money. It took two decades of heavy abuse before finally giving out. (I'm only guessing at the date because it seems like I had it forever.) I never write reviews but as I was looking for a replacement I came across this and I thought it worthy of a eulogy. It made everything I connected it to sound ten times better. What else can you ask for?!!! RIP

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 31, 2015]
Ron
Audio Enthusiast

Yamaha YST-SW100 review:
I bought this sub from a friend around 1997-1999 and it is still the best sub I have ever owned; and I have flirted with many over the years. It's been moved a dozen times since then across many states and it has never had any problems. Clear tight base, no distortion or unwanted noticeable vibrations. Love it!


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 06, 2012]
gbn
Audio Enthusiast

This is a very good sub which has a punchy bass.The bass is very tight and can go very low frequencies.I really enjoyed it with my stereo system.If you can find then in second hand market definite worth to buy.I got mine for just S$100.This was one of my highest value for money deal...Only one thing didn't impress me was its size.But still can be forgiven this for the sound quality...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2011]
gustasmaximus
Audio Enthusiast

I`ve had mine for over 10 years,still works,still sounds fantastic,if you find one grab it,(rare) and ps its built well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 12, 2009]
Tyrion
Audio Enthusiast

This sub, if you can find one is an extraordinary find. I purchased this on ebay, to replace a Polk ten inch sub-woofer that was not musical at all. If you do the math two 7 inch drivers have almost exactly the same surface area as a single ten inch.

I recommend these for and addition to a stereo system. Tight, Tight bass! With the adjustable crossover it will blend seamlessly into your system. No boom, no avalanche of exaggerated bass that does not belong. It you like thunking because... I don't know why you would, Find bigger drivers, put them in a poor inclosure (so as it will vibrate) causing intense and distored vibration.

This sub is musical and makes a great addition to a stereo, floor standing as well as bookshelf. Full range speakers are best but you can't go wrong with this addition to your stereo.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 11, 2008]
mfm6
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent for music reproduction. Rather tall slim shape is more easily hid behind furniture, curtains etc, than a conventional box shape. Very solid (close to 40 lb), and durable. Can accept speaker wire or RCA interconnects.

Weakness:

Controls for high frequency cut off, volume, and power are located near the floor. Uses old-fashioned clip-type speaker wire terminals. Lacks automatic sleep/wake function.

Bought this new around 1993 along with a pair of Yamaha satellites. It has seen various duties over the years including direct hook up to a TV, part of a conventional 5.1 system, and currently as part of a 2-channel system with Totem Mites and a Bryston B-60 amp. This is a great subwoofer. Very tight sounding and great resolution even sub 50 Hz. It was advertised as using wood material for the two woofer cones, and the YST servo technology to reduce distortion --seems to work! I've got a PSB SubZero too, and it doesn't come close to the old Yamaha when it comes to music reproduction in a stereo set up. The PSB sounds bloated, and full of echo/boom. By contrast, t he Yamaha has very clean, punchy bass. I've tested it in a relatively big room (20 x 23 x 10 cubic feet) by using the Stereophile Test CD 3: It easily generates the 31.5 Hz tone without diminished volume. The 25 Hz signal is generated, but at a much reduced volume. Mine has survived several moves and small kids. After the first year or so, some small part of the on/off circuit broke. Yamaha fixed it and it works great. I haven't turned it off since. If you can find one used I hightly recommend it. I realize there are many many superior (and costly!) subs out there, so I won't abuse the rating system by giving this a 5. I'll give it an emotion 4 to be fair.

Similar Products Used:

PSB, various full range speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 19, 2004]
-cc
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful, musical, accurate sound down below 30 Hz. So cheap I was able to buy two and have true stereo sub-bass.

Weakness:

Lousy speaker clips instead of binding posts.

This is a fine acoustic music sub. It will not be suitable for the mind-numbing thump of disco or the room shaking explosions on movies. If you are looking to add a couple of high quality octaves to the bottom of your bookshelf speakers, these are superb. They are extremely accurate and musical. Tympani, tubas, acoustic bass, and piano just sound great. If you listen to jazz, classical, classic rock, and country, you'll love these. If you're building a disco palace, a hip hop club, or watching a special effects film festival, you'll be disappointed. I know these go down to at least 25 Hz because I have tested them. 25 Hz is the lowest tone on my test CD and the sound meter picked recorded it at only -2 dB. The 25 Hz tone rattles the pictures hanging on my walls. Since the lowest fundamental tone on an acoustic instrument is 28 Hz, these subs do the job just fine. But that's all just meters and numbers. The real test is listening, and everyone who hears them, really likes them. They reproduce real music, not one-note thumps. A stand-up bass on these subs is a thing of beauty.

Similar Products Used:

Large full range speakers like AR 3a, and Tannoy that didn't need sub-woofers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 09, 2003]
cwarn
AudioPhile

Strength:

Durability, Longevity, Flexability, Clean sound quality

Weakness:

Hard punches, it is a little too smooth.

Combined with Tangent T-10's, T-40's and T-50's by Klipsh and Yamaha's MX-1000 amp, you could not have a better combo in 1991. I'm sad to say that the amp met it's match and is no longer with us. This sub still rocks the house. It's hard to find the flexability this thing gives you.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com