VMPS Large Subwoofer Subwoofers

Large Subwoofer

6.2 cubic ft box,made of 1" thick mdf, with one 12" poly woofer with rubber surround and one 15" active poly woofer with foam surround, and one mass loaded 15 inch passive radiator tuned to 10 hz, and all internal wiring with 11 gauge monster cable .

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
talldude777   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 06, 2008]
Strength:

Hits very low and hard
Clean sound
Quality screams from this big thing
VMPS Customer Service is very responsive A+++

Weakness:

My back after moving this big guy

All I can say is WOW! This big thing sounds tremendous. Mine came with passive crossovers installed, and I am only sending 120 clean watts per channel to this massive box and it sounds great. I can only imagine what it would sound like with an electronic crossover and a big amp connected. This completes my garage stereo system which consist of:
Denon DVD-2800II
harman/kardon HK-3480
Pair of Polk Audio Monitor 10B
VMPS Larger Subwoofer
Monster Power Supply
Monster Cable Z2 (these things look like black snakes!)

This VMPS Tallboy Larger Subwoofer sounds better than any other sub I have ever heard. It makes bass sound like it is supposed to sound.

Customer Service

VMPS Customer Service is very quick and responsive. Thanks Brian!

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Plasma TV (the best ever)
Pioneer THX receiver
H/K stereo receiver
Various Denon products
Infinity (Not any more, Polk Audio is the bomb)
Sony Playstation 3.......sweet
No sub I have ever owned is worthy to list here after listening to this big guy
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SleeperSupra   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2008]
Strength:

Extremely fast, tight, and musical. Plays deep. Great low bass extension. The VMPS is fast enough to blend seamlessly with my Infinity Kappa 8.2i Series II speakers. Very high output. Powerful sounding. Passive radiator (ability to tune the subwoofer to your application). No cheap built in amp like most other subs use. Sounds REALLY GOOD driven by a bridged Soundcraftsmen PCR800...

Weakness:

Big and heavy. Blew one 15" driver with too much power (my fault)...

Great bang for the buck. Chushes just about anything available in your local brick and mortar store...

Customer Service

Brian is great to deal with.

A+

Similar Products Used: Two passive 12" JBL subwoofers...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DN   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2008]
Strength:

Lots of deep bass.
Organs sound nice.
Great customer service at VMPS.

Weakness:

Not well defined bass - muddy.
Did not have real 'slam' with precussions and movies.

Searching for a subwoofer back in 1995, I was debating between the sealed series of Velodyne, HSU, Definitive, and others in the $1000-$2500 range. Then I picked up a copy of Stereo Reviews year end catalog. Deliberately checking specs and configurations, I came across a subwoofer that had a 12", 15" set of active drivers - and a 15" PR! The Larger Subwoofer was my instant choice!
Called up VMPS and ordered a kit - by the way, VMPS has EXCELLENT customer service.
But alas - the subwoofer was a disappointment. It has plenty of low end (think organ on the lowest registers.) But there was an absence of real 'slam' from drums and movies. I tried a pro series Yamaha amp, Sunfire, Carver - all with an active crossover - but I just did not get the hard-hitting, well controlled bass that I should have.
If you are used to Bose home audio, the audio from Best Buy, Circuit City, or the mid level audio from most 'high-end' shops - this subwoofer will rock your world! But if you're looking for something more - keep looking.
I am now using a pair of NHT U2 subwoofers with Magnepans - I am absolutely amazed! The NHT's keep up with the ultra-fast sound of the Maggies...I auditioned Sunfire (in home) - Velodyne DD series - others - but these NHTs matched to ribbin speakers are *hands down* the best I've heard.
By the way - the Larger Sub that I owned didn't have the mega woofers - not an option when I bought them - but I don't think it really matters.

Customer Service

Excellent! A+!

Similar Products Used: Sunfire
NHT
Velodyne
Polk
Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
ryandunk12345   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 02, 2007]
Strength:

Very musical, is able to pump out INSANE amounts of clear undistorted bass - astounding, It blends very well with my mains, a very flat response curve down to 20Hz, Even has the ability to respond down to atleast 16Hz. This thing is wonderfully and lovingly constructed! I love how sturdy and well built this thing is. This is an exceptional value - I doubt you could find anything better for under 1000$, I'd Imagine that you'd be hard pressed to find subwoofers that cost less than 4K that could match up to Larger Subwoofer.

Weakness:

Heavy - but That's fine, that's the price you pay for solid construction. Otherwise, I can't imagine anything that's not to like about the larger subwoofer.

I've finally completely replaced my entire stereo system. I have B&W DM602S3 for my mains, powered by a Rotel rb-1050. I have a Crown XLS402 to drive my subwoofer, works out perfectly, as the VMPS Larger subwoofer requires two channels of power! Originally this powered an SVS 20-39 CS+ . I'd have to say - that I was not impressed with this product. You'd notice that this particular SVS model has actually very good reviews, and I suppose for the money it's not that bad, probably better than most major brands, but I still felt that it didn't have the raw SPL that I was looking for, not to mention - for a 12" subwoofer, not particularly accurate or musical. luckily I was able to return it for a refund. I decided to go with the VMPS Larger - as this appeared to be much more along the lines of what I was looking for - the best of both worlds, a subwooefer with plenty of headroom, and the ability to play at INSANE levels! I'd have to say - that one of the first things I noticed about this was the quality of construction. I've never seen a subwoofer so well constructed! It's VERY heavy , about 135 pounds! But, it's SOLID! I'd have to say that I'm very impressed with this subwoofer! It is very musical, able to keep up with highly detailed sound, a flat response curve to atleast 20 Hz, if not lower - this thing has some real SLAM - it's incredibly powerful - this bad boy has some real authority to 20Hz and below! I can truly verify that this subwoofer can do 115dB@20 Hz - just as VMPS claims. I've got my handy radio shack SPL meter, and it certainly lives up to what they say it does. This is truly something to behold! I'm able to play video games over my computer, and it's got the raw power that is wonderful for games. Yet, this beast also happens to be nimble enough to be very musical! It's wonderful for classical, jazz, it truly shines nomatter what task you throw at it. After shipping, I ended up paying about 930$, I opted for the MegaWoofer option - where they upgrade your drivers to a much more powerful version - highly reccomended! I also got the SR-71 damping material inside. For a subwoofer that is under 1000$, this is a steal! I still can't believe the incredible sound - in both quantity and quality that comes out of this thing. The only thing better than one of these - is two! I couldn't imagine what having two of these would be like. Lastly, I'd have to say that after some tweaking to my crossover - this subwoofer blends seamlessly with my B&W mains - the SVS which I had before really never blended well. If you're looking for a fantastic subwoofer, look no further than the VMPS Larger subwoofer - but you really do need to get all the available upgrades to really get what you want.

Similar Products Used: Earthquake Supernova, SVS, A/D/S, Klipsch, Paradigm.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tsmurth   AudioPhile [Nov 05, 2006]
Strength:

Extremely high output levels, truly flat response to 20hz. Incredible value.

Weakness:

Mediocre cabinet finish. The drivers themselves look a bit cheap but have held up very well.

I am a long-time audiophile. A few years ago I replaced my Hsu Research 10" stereo subs with a single Larger Subwoofer. Some of you may recall the rave reviews the original Hsu's got, and they were an excellent product. However, they could not go as deep or play anywhere near as loud as this sub. In my system the Larger Subwoofer is filtered at 63 hz and provides the bottom end for B&W 802 Series III loudspeakers. Both low and high pass crossover is courtesy of Audio Control Richter Scale. I have the sub in a large room (approx 300 square feet), running with a 200 wpc Soundcraftman amp; the sub is in a front corner; this location provides the flattest measured response at my listening position. Without any equalization, the sub measures flat to 20 hz. Applying EQ through the Richter Scale gives me 20-60hz with less than 3 dB total variation.

Even at insane volume levels with deep bass, I have never seen the clipping indicators on the Soundcraftsman light up, which is an indication of the high sensitivity of the Larger Sub. The sound is deep, tight and effortless, blending well with the B&W's. Feed this sub more power and it just gets louder, without any sense of strain. Equally at ease with music or movies.

I have the piano black finish; from a distance it looks very good but up close you will see that the overall finish is so-so. The cabinet seems quite inert, however. For the money you can't go wrong; probably the best buy I have made in my 30 years of audio purchases.

Customer Service

It has been several years, but things went smoothly with HCM Audio. Good communication, fast shipping and prices lower than direct from the manufacturer.

Similar Products Used: Hsu Research stereo 10" subs.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pocketchange   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2004]
Strength:

Everything about this Sub is very well thought out and designed with a great deal of forethought.

Weakness:

Having to hire some help , should I decide to move, and I only have the ONE Larger Sub...TWO would be OK.

First: Thank You Hugh, letting me know about VMPS Subs was great. I'm not one to spend money easily and this purchase was easy compaired to other buys. E-Bay opened the door on this purchase with the previous owner wanting to upgrade his system (to each his own). After deciding to lend a helping hand to an excellent set of main speakers and finding [the] smaller sub to audition, I spent a brief amount of time on E-Bay and located a Larger Sub. Shock: no foolin, this IS BIG. To get it through the mail the drivers were removed and shipped seperately. After assembly and placing of the Sub in the corner, due to limited room size, I plugged it into the B side of my old freshly rebuilt SX1250 and let the games begin. Gad, what a killer. The surround sound people have nothing on this setup. I have an old set of EV Patricians, which due to size difficulties continue to sit in the corner of my Fathers home where they were built, I didn't want to remove the door casing to get them out of the house and the 25 ft. sq. room they are in works better than my current much smaller digs. Brian (VMPS) was most pleasant in assisting me in the proper setup, considering I purchased the Larger Sub from E-Bay. Thank You Brian, you are a sport. I did purchase the updated crossover's but havn't used them since I've decided improving on near perfection would be a waste of time. Do they sound like a good set of Grado Headphones? Not quit, but their close.

Similar Products Used: This is my only Sub.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Bone   AudioPhile [Jan 22, 2003]
Strength:

Beautiful tight articulate base with no noticeable distortion. Will play at 115 dbl or more at the 20Hz range without breaking a sweat.

Weakness:

None

I auditioned this Sub in a professionally designed dedicated home theater. It is one of the best I have heard for music or HT. For the record, I have also auditioned M&K, Aerial, Velodyne, Rel, Earthquake, Klipsch and SVS to name a few. The VMPS New Larger with upgraded woofers and soundcoat is just as musical as an Aerial SW12 and has the HT slam of the SVS Ultra's. For the money it is one of the best.

Similar Products Used: Aerial SW12, M&K-5000, SVS Ultra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rosconey   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 02, 2002]
Strength:

low-tight-bass

Weakness:

none

my large kit arrived yesterday took about 1.5 hours to assemble(easy) BIG BOX buy the kit and get the upgrades like i did well worth it( mega woofers, sound coat) grabbed a h-k amp off u-bid to power it in stereo it dont get any better than this sub.

Similar Products Used: many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rizz   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 07, 2002]
Strength:

Heavy (won't bounce around under high SPL), extremely accurate bass reproduction (I have yet to hear noticeable distortion!), cheap price, and simply INSANE SPL CAPABILITIES at a HUGE range of frequencies!

Weakness:

The sheer size of the larger subwoofer may be prohibitive for some people. If you are unsure if you have the room, it might be better to go with the original sub from VMPS.

This unit is quite large...it is almost exactly the size of my mini fridge. The optional piano black finish is very professional and looks totally gorgeous. The sound this thing puts out is simply phenomonal! Deep, chest-bursting lows can be accompanied by blurred vision if one sticks one's head within a few feet of the drivers during high decible playback. When I say this sub can play loud and deep, I MEAN it! Let me put it this way...my listening room is at the opposite end of my house from the front door. If I crank the volume up, I can close the door to my listening room, run outside my house, close the front door, and then run into the middle of the street and STILL hear the VMPS larger sub. What else can I say? I am profoundly happy that I picked the VMPS larger sub over SVS, HSU, Velodyne, and any other sub that I can think of and afford!

Similar Products Used: I have never used ANYTHING that can compare to this sub!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
William Eustis   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2002]
Strength:

Volume, low bass extension, and definition like nothing I’ve heard (“Megawoofer" option highly recommended). Incredibly nonresonant cabinet (I got the optional sound coat). My wife wanted to put a CD rack on the top of the cabinet, I told her, “fine, but it’ll rattle like heck,” I was wrong.

Weakness:

Lack of level control (fortunately the Mackies have input sensitivity controls). A bit of a pain to adjust damping, involving putting an arm under the cabinet to remove bits of putty from passive radiator.

I stumbled upon VMPS while I was doing a major system upgrade. After eight months of surfing the ‘net and auditioning speakers, I discovered Mackie 824s in a friend’s house. He is a composer who uses these as playback monitors in his project studio and as main stereo speakers. So I decided to buy a pair. This left me with nothing to do with my NAD 218 amp. as the Mackies are self-powered. I had investigated VMPS ribbon monitors but I won’t buy main speakers without auditioning them first. I knew that VMPS had an excellent reputation for their subwoofers as well and I had an amplifier I was loathe to part with. The real strength of the NAD is in its bass to mid - bass. Keeping in mind that the the quality of most powered subwoofers can be achieved by getting a automotive speaker and amp in a box and a good 12v. power supply, I decided that this could be a “match made in heaven.” Its really beginning to sound that way. all of these speakers need some break - in yet, but the clarity and accuracy of the sub seems to be a fine match for the highly accurate HR824s.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch KSW 15. Auditioned; Monitor Audio, Paradigm, Velodyne, M&K.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com