Velodyne Acoustics SPL-1000R Subwoofers

SPL-1000R

The industry's best selling small subwoofers just got better with the perfect combination of beauty, brains and brawn. We took the original SPL Series II's 1000-watt RMS amps, long throw drivers, and compact, beautiful cabinets and added a 6-band automatic digital room equalizer with included mic, a remote control and full DSP control. The result is a subwoofer that adapts to any room's décor and acoustic anomalies with performance that leaves anything else in its class in the dust. The SPL-R Series - Small, Precise...Loud. Simply Perfect.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
audio fanatic   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2011]

well..velodyne subs have always been in my system..so i traded in my old vrp-100 ..and picked up the spl100r.....what a great loud controlled sub..after running eq, the bass is tight plays low and defenitly musical its hard to find a sub that does home theater and also sounds great with music..this sub does both with perfect results..i have a harmony one remote ( all setups should have one)..and i programmed it to also control the velodyne..now complete control over all my componets..this sub is just amazing..as is all of veledyne subs...looks great and wife approved..a.big plus!....anyway gotta go ..time for a movie!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
FRANKI1955   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 22, 2008]
Strength:

Size, sound, the set up using the micrphone, and remote control.

Weakness:

The only weakness is in my wallet, I am alleady wishing I had 2 of these subs. There is no weakness in this sub..................

After setting up the EQ and playing around getting it just right this subwoofer is really fantastic. At first I was going to get the 1200r but this thing is so powerful, it would have been a waste of money. My living room is around 20 by 15, 16, something like that. Anyway listening to the latest King Kong movie is almost scary. This movie by the way gives the sub a really good workout. The quailty of the bass is just incredible. I really can't go above 30 on the volume because things in the room start to vibrate, but really if your listening room is around my size anywhere between 30 and 40 is going to be very loud and pricise. I had wanted a Velodyne for a long time and I am not disapointed. The only way to truly listen to this sub is to take it home and set it up in your listening room. Going to the store and listening to it in a sound room will not do it justice. This sub by the way is replacing 2 Yamaha YST-160'S 100w each. I had thought these subs were doing a pretty good job, I just did'ent know what I had been missing. Just go and buy one.

Customer Service

Very good..............

Similar Products Used: None that can compare
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
account   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 24, 2007]
Strength:

LOUD SOLID BASS that rattles everything in your house! Quality bass that can be heard and felt!

Weakness:

volume is indicate my the numbers of the blue lights blinks infront of the sub, can be quite troublesome once you need to adjust the volume of the sub.

After suffering 6 months with my crap quality Yamaha Yst-sw515 Sub (which is a distortion, clipping and air-blowing woofer), I decided to replace it with another sub. After searching online for quite sometime, I finally settle for REL R205 and Velodyne SPL – 800R, both very reputable companies.

I first head down to the Velodyne showroom to check out their subs, the guy there recommended a CHT-12R and SPL-1000R, as my room size is too big for a 800R. He went on to demonstrate both subs, and I found both doesn’t produce punchy bass that can be felt and both sounded almost the same even though the SPL cost about twice as much that the CHT series. As I use my system for movies only, punchy bass is very important! The guy then brings me and my wife to another showroom as he mention it could be the acoustic environment in the previous room. Again no punchy bass there but this time I can tell the difference between the CHT and the SPL. The bass of CHT sounded more spread out and the SPL produce tight quality bass, the difference is really big. So then he recommended the SPL-1200R which sounded slightly better than the 1000R but still not the punchy bass I wanted. He then went on to another demonstration with the coffee table size CHT-15R, and woala! I found the bass I want, real deep punchy bass that rumbles my chair and probably the customers outside the showroom. Even my wife who doesn’t know about audio turned and said, this is very good, just like watching movie in the theater!

But deep down I don’t believe the SPL-1000R and SPL-1200R couldn’t perform as intended, and soon I notice one problem. The subs were placed almost right in the middle of the room. So I requested to have them placed right in front where the coffee table sub sits. And immediately they sounded much punchy than before although still not as I’ve intended to hear. The guy also mention because the floor is carpeted and the wall covered with fabrics, the bass tended to be about 30% - 40% less punchy. So I’m left with only the SPL-1000R, SPL-1200R and CHT-12R. He then offered me an option, I can get the SPL-1000R or CHT-12R first, and if it’s not the bass I want, I can return the SPL-1000R and bring home the SPL-1200R and just top-up the difference. In the end, I chose SPL1000R as the quality of the bass is so much better than the CHT series.

Back home I did some testing with my 1000R, and immediately the sub blew me away; the SPL can produce so much bass in such a small enclosure!! Soundtracks that made my Yamaha SW515 clip and distort was playing effortlessly with my 1000R, and I’m only using about 40% of what the sub is capable of! After running the so simple EQ on the sub, there was an immediate change, the bass is down right tight and solid deep, no more bloomy and distortion. I can hear a much wider dynamic in my system and sounds that are non-existence previously. I’m quite sure if I push this sub to the max it’s going to shake my windows to shatter, break my doors and the doors my neighbors! If I had gotten the SPL-1200R, I think my house is going to be destroyed. I’m very amazed to what this sub is capable of; everything about this sub is a wow once I hit the play button. Guys at Velodyne really made something solid there, thanks~!

Similar Products Used: Yamaha yst-sw515
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
KPChoong   AudioPhile [Oct 01, 2007]
Strength:

Great quality bass, real low bass (down to the 20 hz or so), tight, muscular, punch in the stomach bass (felf as much as it can be heard). Great power and output capability (2000 dynamic/1000 rms power output). Great build quality. In addition to the "must have" EQ feature, the handy remote lends great flexibility to adjust and tweak the subwoofer for seemless integration without the usual laborous subwoofer set up procedures (crawling around on all fours, or having some to carry the sub around to adjudicate the best sounding position, etc). I would rate the remote as an essesial feature of new generation subwoofers, second only to the EQ. Also, the various pre-sets for AV, Jazz, etc (there are 4 for the Velodyne) are great as well., including a nice feature of "night" listening where the sub attentuates the volume so as not to disturb your wife in the bedroom or the neighbours next door.

Weakness:

The blue light which glares back at you especially in AV rooms with controlled lighting - quite disturbing really. Though you can turn it off on the remote, I find putting in a tiny piece of UV sheet (like the ones they use for car glass tint) to block the LED extremely useful. It cuts down the glare immensely while affording the user the eye contact clarity when you use the remote to adjust the various parameters on the Velodyne. a second weakness is that Velodyne obviously use some common remote trigger modes as the SPL1000R is triggered off by my one of my other equipment remote (remote that operates my Pre-amp). Because of this I need to exercise care when operating the Pre-amp remote so as not to interfere with the sub's working or settings. Easily done, but nonetheless irritating and somewhat inconvenient. Wish Velodyne offers a user definable or changable remote triggering setting.

Recently sold my Sunfire True Subwoofer as I had persistent problem with integrating the Sunfire with the rest of my speakers (both audio & AV). Perhaps, the issue was room influenced, as there was a pronounced "boom" to whatever setting I dialed in on the Sunfire. Room treatments could not even address the problem adequately. Eventually, I gave up and sold it. In considering a new purchase, I determined that the new sub should have some sort of "room tuning" capability aka equalization that would flatten the in-room response of the subwoofer so as not to excerbate room boundaries or resonances (as I had with the Sunfire). Hence, the choice was narrowed to the Velodyne SPL series with an automated EQ facility. Just to ensure that there was the difference to the EQ feature, I tried the Velodyne SPL1000R without using the EQ first, and the results were no better than with the old Sunfire. Horrors of horrors the sound was untamed, fat, and boomy. Once the automated EQ was engaged, the transformation was hard to believe! What was once uncouth and boomy bass was turned into the most tight, deep (real deep) and tuneful bass I have ever encountered in a sub. Gone are the room resounances especially the boominess, and uncontrolled bass output. In its place are the most exquisite bass I have ever come across in my own experience or that of my friend's set up. The SPL1000R mates excellently with both of my resident system - great with stereo, the bass goes real down low and deep if such was there in the first place. With video, the LFE was astounding - deep, deep growls, and real low lows! I have gone back to re-visit with many of my DVD's that didn't quite come to grps with the old set up. Movies like the Jurassic Parks series, Terminator, Lord of Rings, Starwars, etc took on a new experience. Many subs may give you excessive bass or output, but the Veldodyne offers quality bass - tight, deep, & low - without the looseness or boom. A real gem this Velodyne with the EQ feature. Don't ever get a real sub-woofer without this feature. It will save you $$$ trying to rectify the room limitations with acoustic treatments. The slightly higher price of the Velodynes with the EQ feature will pay great listening and movie viewing experience. My advise: don't ever get another sub without an EQ feature - it's that important !

Customer Service

The local dealer service was impeccable - they demostrated various Velodyne subwoofers in AV configuration, and in pure stereo mode. While I was still considering buying back another Sunfire, or REL or indeed the Monitor Audio RSW12, it was the willingness and customer friendliness of the Velodyne agent that made up my mind to buy the Velodyne SPL1000R. Kudos to great service!

Similar Products Used: Sunfire, Wharfedate, Yamaha, REL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
curtis nunley   Casual Listener [Oct 14, 2006]
Strength:

this subwoofer comes with a remote control which comes in handy when trying to first set up all of its functions. The microphone you use to set up your subwoofers tones is very easy and quick to use.

Weakness:

none so far

I recently had a audio and video tech come to my house and optimize my entire system. money well spent. He suggested I get a larger subwoofer since mine was not big enough to maxamize my systems performance. He suggested I go with the Velodyne spl series. I bought it at Tweeter after listening to some cd's and dvd's I had brought. I am still trying to learn all of its features. Overall I am, very happy with my purchase.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
reginald lancaster   Casual Listener [Jul 23, 2006]
Strength:

Folks I want to tell you that this sub is something special. I lacks nothing. The controlled lows are amazing; it is controlled with some kind of a motor that controlls the way the driver moves so it will image what ever sound it is reproducing. If it is trying to reproduce a kick drum the motor in the sealed inclosure will stop the comb so it give up the same kind of punch the bass drum would. the inclosed motor also lets the speaker hold a long note of say a bass gatuiar without distorting. O did I mention, it also has a built in equilizer so you can custom taylor the sound like you like althought, I personally have not had to touch ot other that turning the power down. This thing is truly amazing. Try on out. All I can say, just like the company is the sub is Simply Perfect. :)

Weakness:

No weaknesses I can think of.

O my goodness. I have never heard such and increadable sounding home sub-woofer like this one before and I have listened to a lot of them. We went thur 4 subs before I heard this on; once I did it was love at first hear. For the price I don't think there a better sounding sub. I purchased the Velodyne SPL-1000R, 10", 346 oz magnet, 2000 watts Dynamic and 1000 watts RMS power sub from Emyer Emco.

Customer Service

I have not had to use customer service yet.

Similar Products Used: The only sub woofer I can thing of the even comes close to this sub is used in cars called W7 by JL Audio, but really I can not think of any sub coming even close to this Velodyne for the price. The folks at Velodyne have really developed something special with the SPL series subwoofers. I know they might make different series of sub - woofers, but with the happyness I have gotten from this sub, I would not think that anything you get from this company is going to be junk. Check them out at www.velodyne.com
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Levike   AudioPhile [Dec 02, 2005]
Strength:

Musical Sub More then enough bass for my bedroom stereo Built like a tank especially for the price I paid

Weakness:

None

Here I am again reviewing something that I got. Well I can say for the price I paid and for it being out of the box only for about 2 hours, it sounds top notch. I know it needs to break in and then it will sound even better. I will not try it for home theater, cause I think Definitive Technology Subs are the best for HT. But this sub is very musical and I still cannot believe how much I paid for it, and it's true it will be up there with subs costing double as much.

Similar Products Used: JBL 10 inch (Sucked ass) Onkyo 8 inch (Bad as well) Def Tech 10 inch (awesome) Def Tech 15 inch (best 15 inch on market for HT)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tv99   AudioPhile [Nov 27, 2005]
Strength:

Deep earth shaking base, tight bass on music and down right scary during movies.

Weakness:

None price is high but worth it. Cant see how anyone in an apartment is going to ever appreciate the power of this Sub due to neighbors.

I tried 4 different moderately high end subs over the course of a month (Sunfire EQ,Boston PV700 and PV1000, Definitive Tech 12 inch sub) When I first hooked up the Velodyne and used the Auto EQ setup it was a done deal. The low bass this thing puts out blows the other Subs away. You feel your butt and stomach vibrate with no distortion. Its almost like being in an earthquake you don't know where the shaking is coming from but you feel it. Classical music sounds awesome. This sub made my in ceiling speakers sound totally different. The Sub was pricier than I wanted to spend but now I dont regret it. IF you have never owned a good Subwoofer treat yourself to this unit. My wife whom is deaf to good sounding equipment said she could feel the difference and asked did I upgrade all the speakers. I love this Sub and have now become a Velodyne Fan. Good job Velodyne. The Sunfire EQ was also nice and shook everything but it did not seem as refined and a little boomy. The voice part of the Sunfire did not feel natural during regular TV watching. Love the remote control and use it quite regularly, especially at night when the kid is sleeping. I don't think I could own a subwoofer without a remote again. Dont buy this Subwoofer if you live in an apartment your neighbors will hate you. I live in a house so its OK.

Similar Products Used: Boston Acoustic PV100, PV700, Definitive Tech, Sunfire EQ
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com