Velodyne Acoustics F-1800XR Subwoofers

F-1800XR

SUBWOOFER

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
pipelion   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 04, 2003]
Strength:

Huge, heavy, loud, and well built.

Weakness:

The remote level adjustment is too narrow (the volume spectrum). Bass sources vary so much I couldn't get enough on some sorces and vice versa. I use an old receiver as a pre amp and adjust sub volume via the receivers remote.

The positive reviews left me upset as this model was no longer in stores. I located a used one and bought it. My mains were a classic rare model of ARs, the AR 9lsi $2000 mslp. With two front firing 12" and two down firing inclosed 10" woofers powered by two Hafler 500s, bridged into mono, producing a measured 750 watts a side, left me incorrectly convinced I had plenty of bass. Now obiously I did ! Yet lots of reading about home theater requirements insisted on a sub. My budget left me looking at Vel. CT-150s because of Velodynes' credibility. If 15"s is good 18"s must be better. This sub has taught me alot about bass. When you hear a sub alone it doesn't sound loud or powerful. When we hear bass we are used to hearing loud levels of midrange. The low and ultra low freq.s feel as well as sound. So subs by themselves sound deceivingly low. Once with the other speakers, right away you will hear many parts of the music, before not available. Even with my systems ability to "rock the house" before I had the sub, I had to play music at such high levels as to only have lots of bass when "cranked". This sub gives me the bass even at low listning levels. This sub is fantastic. I've heard $5000 subs and double blind tests would most likely leave many trainded ears guessing. This model, still available used is a way to approach HGS size and sound without the heavy price tag. A post below down grades the amps' size. Remember to double the sound one must increase the wattage by a factor of 10x. So for $3000 you can get a 3000watt sub. I just attach a small house-hold fan to the cooling fins for those times when "long term sustained heavy imbardment sessions" are a must, this isn't nessecary but I feel cooling the amp eases the strain of heat. The amps ability to penitrate 20' of earth and 50' of house might be unwise for apartments and condos. Music or HT this sub is great.

Similar Products Used: Concerts; front row dead center!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Craig   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

The most accurate, powerful, and deep bass I have ever
had the pleasure to own.

Weakness:

I own two - they are big. My wife's first question after she
saw one in our theater room - " There's another one ??? "

After selling my Def-Tech BP-3000's , I purchased two of the Velodyne subs and a pair of Krix Euphonix with the matching center as a replacement. The bass these subs put out is a big improvement over any of the subs listed above. Bass guitar is clearly delineated and it gives a floor to classical music and jazz which is subtle but occasionally can move you in your chair. For Home theater, we have watched The Mummy, The Iron Giant and several others with deep bass. The whole room will shake - fantastic. Call one-call (800-540-0900) - They sell this 18 inch Velodyne
for about $1000 each. They will also take the time to discuss your system and have quality people who know
what they are talking about.

Similar Products Used: Bass sections of Def-Tech BP-2000 and 3000's, Sunfire
True subwoofer, PSB Subsonic 3i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Beschen   Audiophile [Nov 17, 2000]
Strength:

Mega Bass, Awesome power, easy to hook up.

Weakness:

None that I can think of.

My Klipcsh's allready had good bass, but more is better!!!
This sub is almost too much. I've read all the other reports some people have written. I for one have not had any stuctural damage or broken windows. But you do need to make sure things in the room "vases,pictures,ect" don't vibrate or rattle.
The only problem I had was a buzz sound at low volume levels. After a call to the servise center, they thought I might have a ground loop. The one very helpfull tech suggested that I remove the ground post from the power cord. And presto! My buzz sound was gone!
Auto on, line or speaker inputs, adjustable crossover. Who could ask for more?
If your looking to buy one of these subs You won't be dissapointed.

Similar Products Used: First sub I've owned.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
George Schlicker   Audio Enthusiast [May 04, 2000]
Strength:

Deep Clean effortless bass, Remote controlled, Accurate bass reproduction, Servo controlled cone, High level and Low level inputs, and X-over is defeatable (Big Plus).

Weakness:

Needs to be tuned into the room for maximum performance.

I have had two of these monsters for about a year and it is quite scary what they can do. With the internal amps set at approxmately 4 1/2 - 5 out of 10, x-over removed and running through low-level inputs the bass shakes (very cleanly) my ENTIRE 2500 sq ft. home. I mean it moves the ceiling fans, ripples in standing water, in the closet, bathrooms, everywhere.... I LOVE it!!! My system include the Denon AVR 5700, Denon 460 CD, Sony DAT, Sony DVD, with
the DCM KX-212 (2 12" subs) as my mains. So clear clean bass is my goal and the Velodynes are my workhorses. I have
had nothing but compliments from friends and family about these speakers. If you have the clams this subwoofer is highly recommended. It's not for everyone but to the Bass inclined it's a marquee product.

Similar Products Used: Mirage dual 6"
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chris pietras   Audio Enthusiast [May 02, 2000]
Strength:

power, extension, price

Weakness:

none so far

This thing is awesome, first velodyne product, and I am VERY impressed! My first sub was a klipsch sw10 that I have had for 5 years, I thought it was pretty good for it's size, the first time I put on some organ music through my velodyne my jaw dropped, I didnt realize how much DEEP bass I was missing out on! Do yourself a favour, if you're thinking of a sub, go call one call, this sub ROCKS! The extension, the power for under 1000? Can't go wrong, highly reccomended!

Similar Products Used: klipsch sw10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian   Audiophile [Jan 29, 2001]
Strength:

Clean, low, accurate bass.

Weakness:

None that I know of; I don't know what more power would do for it.

I put this where I had a CT-150 and there was no comparison. The bass from this was so much cleaner. For the 1st time my bass frequency response measured flat and down to 20 Hz. I don't have much else to compare it to. I can live with this for quite a while or maybe forever unlike the CT-150 which I knew was not the end-all sub.
For music it makes bass drums sound as good as being there. Music is my 1st listening priority. I don't know if more power would result in more dynamice range/impact on movies or not. 4 stars overall, since I assume that the more expensive subs are better, but I have not heard them in my home. It is definitely a better value than the CT-150.
Equipment: NAD 512 CD Player, Transparent Premium Digital cable, Golden Theater GTX-1, Transparent Music Link interconnects, Monarchy SE-100 deluxe mono blocks, Nordost Solar Winds shotgunned to Magnepan MMGs. B&W, NAD, DHLabs on rear speakers, no center channel.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne CT-120, CT-150
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Riley   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 05, 2001]
Strength:

Powerful, Clean, dynamic, deep bass, great price

Weakness:

Big and Heavy.

I've had my Velodyne F-1800R for a couple of years now and it still impresses me.

With movies it's thunderous and powerful. You feel the effects as well as hear them. Eventhough it's rated at only 250 watts, I've never felt a need for more power.

With music its articulate and dynamic. You can hear textures and detail in the bass. I've heard cleaner bass only in subs that cost four or five times more. I did notice that when using "The Ultimate DVD's" rattle test, a slight dip in sound level is evident in the mid bass region; around 60-80hz. I bought an AMC 20 subwoofer to fill in where there was bass frequency loss, but traded it in for an NHT SA-W2i. The AMC was cleaner but the NHT was louder. I'm sure the bass suckout is due to my room setup but because of it's size I am limited in my ability to place the sub. However, the two subs together produce a smooth, clean, and flat response all the way down to about 18hz. It's nice. I've been able to hear detail in the bass instruments that was missing with previous subs.

I was very pleased with the Velodyne before adding a second sub, but I am extremely pleased with the sound produced by the duo.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne VA 1215; NHT SAW-2i and SA-W3, Sony; Audio Source, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
FRANK   Audiophile [Jan 28, 2001]
Strength:

DEEP BASS VERY DEEP

Weakness:

NONE FOUND YET

I OWN THIS A SHOT TIME BUT IT'S GREAT . TIGHT VERY DEEP
BASS. ONLY PROBLEM IS A POPPING NOISE WHEN I TURN IT ON WITH THE REMOTE , NOT SURE WHAT THAT IS YET ????????
THIS THING IS BIG BUT WORTH EVERY PENNY !!!!!!!!!1

Similar Products Used: KLIPSCH 12 KSW12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MikeW   an Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 1999]

I haven't heard the unit, but I do have some info on it. This is a special piece that Velodyne made for One Call, a mail order retailer in Spokane WA. It is essentially the 18" driver out of the older ULD-18, the amp from the FSR15, and the enclosure of the FSR18. It is servo controlled.
While I woundn't expect the punch of the FSR18, it would probably be an incremental improvement over the FSR15.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Henry   an Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 1999]

Just recently purchased a Velodyne F1800XR subwoofer from One Call for$1160.00 + 60 SHIPPING. This sub is fantastic for both music and especially
home theater. The bass get's really low on this one 19HZ. I'm wondering
is there is much difference between this one and the FSR18?
looking forward to anyone elses' review of the 1800XR sub.
Troy

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com