Velodyne Acoustics CT-80 Subwoofers

Velodyne Acoustics CT-80 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

8 inch forward firing woofer 100 watt internal amplifier 40 oz magnet, 33-130 Hz ± 3dB

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Sep 26, 2002]
samr
AudioPhile

Strength:

Blends well with small satellites, very musical for the price range.

Weakness:

None for $170!

This sub is in my bedroom system, and does a great job of complimenting the very small satellites, blending particularly well since you can defeat the internal crossover and use your source component's bass management to tune it, something you cannot do on many more expensive subs. Can be a little boomy if too close to a wall, and doesn;t go really low, but I bought this one for $170 factory refurbished from Sound City with warranty from Velodyne, what a steal!!

Similar Products Used:

Other Velodyne subs, Paradigm, Definitive, and M&K subs

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 15, 2002]
edbo
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Nice sound, forward firing, price. Adjustable crossover, RCA and speaker wire inputs for two channels.

Weakness:

A little weak in the power department!

I bought this sub to go along with the BOSE AM-10 speaker system I also purchased at this time. The sub is a great value and really kicks, not just in HT mode but also my CDs have great bass too! For a good value, this Velodyne sub exceeds my expectations and really adds to the sound of my Bose system as well. For only an 8" sub, it really draws the low end very nice! No problems whatsoever in over 3 years of use. Although now, there are probably better sounding subs, this one has been awesome and Velodyne has excellent quality.

Similar Products Used:

JVC RX-884VBK AV Reciever JVC XV-S60BK JProgressive Scan DVD Player JVC HR-IP820U HiFi VCR SONY CDP-CX220 200-Disk CD Changer MITSUBISHI WS-55805 55" Widescreen HDTV BOSE AM10-S2W Surround Speake

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 11, 2002]
Seasong46
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Size, sound quality, ease of operation and placement

Weakness:

Rubber stick ''em feet are terrible. I have the sub sitting on four hockey pucks. The pucks look like they are coaster type feet and because they are vulcanized rubber, do not vibrate. One other weakness, LED and volume control should be on the front

I called Ciruit City and they told me they had the CT-80 for $249.99. When I got there, the sales associate said that they no longer stocked the CT-80 so I gave a listen to the CHT-8.I did not get any deal, I had to purchase it for full price. That being said the CHT-8 is a fine subwoofer. I has real punch.The bass is deep and tight and very musical. I recently purchased a pair of Athena S2 speakers which go down to 50 Hz. I have the CHT-8 come in at about 70 Hz and it blends seamlessly with the Athenas. This sub never sounds boomy, once the right crossover is calibrated. It adds a new dimention to my music listening. I have not used the CHT-8 for HT yet as I''m waiting for my Athena C1 center channel speaker to arrive. The CHT-8 is a great little sub

Similar Products Used:

1st subwoofer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 25, 2002]
KnightOfLore
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Connection options, quicker 8" driver handles complicated bass material well - but not loudly.

Weakness:

Rubber feet (one fell off on mine), square port tends to "chuff" at higher volumes (barely audible, but it''''s there) and though it adds a nice design touch the port should be flared.

Don''''t let the little driver fool you, this little unit is very capable - but is not for use in large rooms! Response is outstanding in rooms up to about 250sq ft, but starts to thin out as the room gets bigger. I''''ve used this sub in my bedroom since I picked it up, the little driver is very snappy and I was impressed with the the features at this price. I would recommend this unit as a nice addition to an entry-level movie system in a small room, and perhaps even part of a music system though I have never been impressed with it''''s musicality.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 01, 2000]
Tony G
Audiophile

Strength:

Line-level inputs & outputs, Adjustable low-pass crossover,
Signal sensing auto on/off, Very tight bass

Weakness:

No spike feet - Push button speaker connection (Velodyne should have used the banana clip connectors)

Don't let the looks fool ya. The sub only has an 8 inch forward firing woofer. I thought I had an awesome home theatre system until I acquired the CT-80. Initially, I was using satellite speakers (Altec Lansing)that had a non-amplified subwoofer. I started reading about powered subs because I heard they added a different flavor to the home theatre experience. I decided to go with the CT-80 due to its small size and price. The first movie I watched was "Twister". First I ran the movie without the CT-80, then I did a second run with the CT-80. WoW!! What a blast. I did some modification with the CT-80 by adding spike feet to the cabinet. I got rid of the non-amplified sub that came with the Altec satellites. I haven't been to the movies ever since a got the CT-80. Why?? I use my Velodyne sub along with the following components:

Amp: Marantz 250M
Pre Amp: Acurus L10
Surround Sound Processor: Audio Sourc SSIII
Center speaker: JBL 305
L/R speaker: Altec Lansing
Rear speaker: Pioneer
CD Player: Harnom Kardon FL-8400
DVD: Sony S560D

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 11, 2001]
Roberto
Audiophile

Strength:

Small size. Nice sound. Blends very well

Weakness:

Auto on/off feature doesn't work. It stays on all the time.

Very nice sounding sub from a little package, which makes it easy to place in the room. Integrates very well with my Mirage speakers. For $200 I think it's a very good value.

Similar Products Used:

NHT, Mirage

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 05, 2002]
Enrico
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

small size, quick and punchy, tight bass

Weakness:

bottoms out at very loud volumes, might be too small for larger rooms.

This little sub has plenty of omph. The bass is extremely tight and when crossed over correctly (about 100 Hz), sounds great with movies. If you have a relatively small to medium size room, this sub is perfect. It's small woofer size gives you the advantage of very tight and snappy bass. I also have a 15" Audiosource sub which garnered great reviews on this board and it's not at responsive. If I remember correctly, the sub was about $250 since it was a floor model at Circuit City. For what I paid, it's been worth every penny. Might be a little expensive if paying retail, though. If you like a lot of bass (and who doesn't) pay the extra $$$ for the 10" model (CT-100). The size is still small enough to be quick/punchy and you get the advantage of more bass and more power.

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch, Audiosource, Energy, Cerwin Vega

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 20, 2000]
Richard
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Accurate, smooth bass

Its Velodyne, its good. I originally purchased a Polk 8" (forgot model) which sounded pretty good. Right after that, I found this sub on taketoauction. I won the auction for 196 dollars!!!!! Got it in perfect condition, the thing rocks. Its perfect for my small dorm room and hits hard and accurately, don't settle for chintzy Aiwa or Sony subs which are not only weak but innacurate. Go with this Velo

Similar Products Used:

Aiwa, Polk

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2000]
brian
Casual Listener

Strength:

Very clean tight bass.

Weakness:

none yet

I was in the market for a low cost subwoofer. I had Yamaha before and it had OK performance. I heard the Velodyne and realized that I should pay the extra money for improved quality. I am very impressed with the deep,clean, tight bass from only an 8" driver. Also the small size makes it easier to hide. I could "feel" the explosions in "True Lies" Just lifting the subwoofer out of the box gave you the impression of a quality product. It seemed very heavy for the small size. It seems to have plenty of power. My normal setting is only 4 out of 10.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 24, 2001]
Jason
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean tight bass, musical, volume is only at 2/3 right now, and fills the room...

Weakness:

rubber feet, not the 10" velly i wanted...

well, I put the discontinued CT-100 on lay-away at circuit city... brought it home yesterday to find that there was no power going to the sub... I never liked the CT-80, so I was skeptical about downgrading, but there were no CT-100's left (the CHT series is $100 more)... So i went with the CHT-8... it was the same price, but i figured circuit city has an upgrade policy, so i'll upgrade later... Now i think that i won't... the sub is plain awesome... Blows the CT-80 away... I figured there weren't many differences in the discontinued CT series and the new CHT series... I like this sub better than the CT-100... But, if this one sounds that much better, I may have to upgrade to the CHT-10 later on... This baby fills my room with clean tight bass, and it blends REAL well with my Paradigm Mini-Monitor fronts, CC-170 Center and Atoms in the rear... I won't say I got a great deal, and I am slightly pissed at Circuit City for not dropping the price $100 on the CHT for me when my CT was bought damaged... I would've waited for the sub to be fixed, but I have been waiting to get a Velly for 2 years now... I was not about to go home empty handed... But, it's a great sub for under $1000, and i'd have to say it's better than all the subs under $1000 that I have recently demo'd... And thank GOD it's not boomy... I HATE boomy subs... I may not even upgrade cos it fits in my room better than the 10" did... All around good sub.

Similar Products Used:

Velodyne CT-100, Paradigm PDR-10, Sony MW40.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com