SVS PB10-NSD Subwoofers

SVS PB10-NSD Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

SVS PB10-ISD Box Sub

  • Proprietary SVS-designed long-throw 10" woofer built by TC-Sounds
  • 300 watt BASH digital switching amp
  • Computer aided cabinet design with 1" front baffle
  • Front-firing design with flush fit woofer
  • Patented 3" wide-flare port fittings
  • Six removable, compliant floor isolation points
  • Four finish choices to match any decor
  • Color-keyed fabric grill with chromed mounting pins
  • Extra heavy-duty removable 8 foot power cord
  • Contemporary, "seamless" cabinet styling
  • +/- 3 dB 18 Hz-100 Hz or better in nearly any room
  • Compact size: 15" wide x 18" high x 21" deep
  • Weight: 60 pounds
  • 220~240V 50/60Hz configuration available

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 20  
    [Mar 01, 2011]
    LAZCURDUG
    Casual Listener

    Great, great subwoofer. An excellent value. Goes down to 20Hz. Very powerful sub. If you are not familiar with the Aurelex SubDude, get one and place your sub on it. It will significantly reduce floor and wall reverberations.
    This sub is excellent for music and let's you feel the action during movies. The only point of discussion is whether you want an item this size in your living room, but I'm a believer in the SVS "size matters" theory of subwoofer design. 5 stars all the way.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jan 19, 2011]
    christopher
    Audio Enthusiast

    I picked one up and couldnt be happier with my purchase. It made me want to pull out every cd/ dvd from my collection and give them another spin. everything old sounds new again, this sub gave everything a whole new dimension in sound. I LOVE its monolithic all business styleing with no fancy bells or whistles, just lots of deep hard hitting bass you can feel in the pit of your chest. The ps 10 nsd will embaress any other "entry level" sub out there I can promise you that, I've had my share. even subs above and beyond its price tag. I sold a 1000 velodyne dollar to replace it with this svs after hearing a friends. if its in your budget range get one, you wont regret it.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Dec 26, 2008]
    BPBear
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Cabinet built like a tank; excellent value; bass extended to 20 hertz or below; continuously adjustable phase control; powerful built in amplifier; no rattling or other audible distortion

    Weakness:

    Large cabinet - need some floor space; no built in crossover (but you DO NOT have to have a home theater receiver with built in sub crossover/output to use this sub - see review for some options)

    I have used this sub since December 2007 and it is simply fantastic - especially for the price. Using the Stereophile Test CD bass tracks to test and set up the sub, I got good extension in my room down to 25 hertz -at a moderate volume the sub literally rattled wall mounted sconces that were 20 feet away whenever I played the 25 hertz tone! My listening room is large but this sub is all I need to extend the bass of my main speakers (which already reached to 30 hertz ). Deep bass such as pipe organ and movie effects are reproduced with extreme weight and clarity; no cabinet rattling or other colorations are detectable. Also, don't let the lack of a built in crossover put you off buying one - I used passive in-line crossovers (Harrison F Mods 50 hertz low pass) between my preamp and the sub and except for reducing the volume to the main speakers sonewhat it works just fine. I have recently bought a Pyle Pro active crossover and use it along with the F mods and the gain has been restored (and the slope is now 24 db/octave), and the bass is now extended down to 20 hertz. To sum up : Awesome sub, excellent build, excellent value

    Customer Service

    Excellent. Sub comes with sound level meter - mine didn't work so I called the customer service and told them - they sent me another one free of charge within a few days

    Similar Products Used:

    Parasound 60 watt subwoofer from late 1980s

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 30, 2008]
    Fred Bolger
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Strong bass, reasonable footprint, solid build.

    Weakness:

    None.

    At only $499 (CDN), this 10" subwoofer blows away every comparably-priced 10" subwoofer...and any number of 12" subs, too! (My older and very capable 12" DefTech ProSub 200TL was no match for the PB10-NSD.)

    It's solidly-built, but not overly-large or overly-heavy. It looks good, it sounds great and it literally shakes the floors of my main-floor family room when necessary. ( "Master & Commander" and "Cloverfield" really help make the point.) It's also quite musical, blending nicely with my Paradigm 7se speakers for 2-channel listening.

    If you're on a budget but still want to enjoy a poweful and versatile subwoofer, look no further than the PB10-NSD!

    Similar Products Used:

    Definitie Technology ProSub 200TL

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 16, 2007]
    kfilly
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Build quality is top notch. Cabinet does not rattle or produce unwanted artifact sounds. Finish quality is excellent. Rounded corners and flush mounted amp are nice features. Most important however is that the sound quality is first rate. The entire setup and configuration process was simple. Easy to follow owners manual for those who like to read.

    Weakness:

    Only one connection option. Receiver needs to have a subwoofer output. Also, the subwoofer does not have a built in/adjustable crossover. Users must depend upon a crossover from their receiver.

    Some people might say this, but not me. The sub is big and heavy. Possible low WAF.

    I would like to start out by thanking audioreview.com for placing banner ads on their website. Without those ads, I would have never even considered SVS subwoofers. I also have to thank the reviewers for this product for their glowing opinions of this particular subwoofer. I took a leap of faith since these are only sold online basing my judgment soley by what total strangers were saying about this product. I am glad that I took that chance! SVS offers a 45 day trial period in which you can get your money back if not satisfied (minus shipping of course) for those partially afraid as I was.

    This little ten inch woofer rocks. The bass is incredibly clear, and this speaker sounds very accurate. I hear sound details that I never heard from other powered subs (Like reverberation sounds in a rolling thunder clap). Also, there is little to no audible port noise. The sub hits very low. I have not metered it, but I know it hits a lot lower than the Sony sub I replaced. Movies and music both sound a whole lot better! It makes me want to watch all of my DVDs all over again to hear/feel everything that I missed!

    The sub was easy to calibrate to my system. I have it hidden a corner of my room which was no easy feat. If people do not know it is there, they would not even know that I had a sub providing those low frequency effects. That is how seemless the integration is.

    I use this sub in a 12 ft x 30 ft room with 8 ft ceilings. My room is fairly open to the rest of my house. The sub fills this room with ease. My house literally will shake, and things in my listening room will vibrate. I have the volume a little more than a third of the way up, and the bass output on my receiver is set to zero.

    Customer Service

    Easy to deal with when ordering. Have not needed them otherwise.

    Similar Products Used:

    Harman Kardon receiver- AVR 340
    Infinity Speakers
    Beta 50 fronts
    Beta 360 center channel
    Beta 10 left/right rear surrounds
    a sole Beta ES250 as both center rear channels

    Previous sub was a Sony WM 40

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 12, 2007]
    Dave
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Tremendous thundering bass yet controlled bass provides new details never heard before. The sub goes to the the lows of lows and delivers with furniture shaking delight. Musical too! Led-Zep DVD is superb.

    I like that it does not have a crossover dial. You don't need it if you have a decent amp and can set the crossover to 80Hz at the amp.

    3 year full warranty.

    Weakness:

    None to be found

    Great sub at a great price. The replaced a JBL PB10 which I'd had for several years, I didn't realize how much great sound I was missing. Wish I had discovered SVS earlier.

    My set-up includes the Energy Connoisseur series speakers, C-5 Main, CC-1 Center, C-3 Rears. Denon AVR_2802 receiver. Samsung HL-S5687w 1080p TV. Watching movies is better than ever.

    I

    Customer Service

    Super. The company is Ohio based, they make 'em there and they respond quickly to inquiries and make great suggestions based on your room size. Good company that treats the customer well.

    Similar Products Used:

    None that compare to this. Prior was the JBL PB10

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 30, 2006]
    Jaydubau
    Audio Enthusiast

    This is my first powered subwoofer. I've had quite a few car subwoofers. I've had the subwoofer for 6 months now, hooked up to the same equipment, which is a harman kardon AVTR300, 2 NHT Superzero speakers. My audio source comes from a digital optical out from my computers sound card.

    The subwoofer is awesome, I never have any problems with it because it integrates so nicely, I almost forget it is there because it blends into the music as it should. I hardly have the sub-woofer volume turned up a 1/4 of the way. The subwoofer is even sounding better now that is getting broken in after 6 months.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 31, 2006]
    JDEaton13
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Deep, powerful Bass. More than enough impact for all but the largest of home theaters.
    Impressive accuracy.
    Quality built enclosure.
    Bullet-proof woofer

    Weakness:

    possibly Size, the PB-10 is substantial in size and weight.
    possibly Output. If your home theater is very large (over 2000sq ft.) you may want an additional pb-10 for reference level listening.

    I was looking for a quality sub to complete my 5.1 HT setup. I've had several subs in the past, but found them too boomy and loose with bass and stuck mainly with my front Tower speakers for HT bass. I did several weeks worth of research on-line and in books/magazines and came up with the usual list of big-time players in the subwoofer market; Velodyne, Hsu, Rocket, Outlaw Audio, etc.

    After hearing several people mention SVS and reading a very glowing review from Hometheaterhifi.com I decided to see what they brought to the table. After comparing some of their impressive specs to the other manufacturers, SVS always seemed to inch out on top of the competition. Some of the competitors models did have higher SPL's , but also much larger price tags ($700 and up).

    I decided to take the plunge and plunked down my $450. After installation and just a little tweaking, the PB-10 blended in with my HT seamlessly. It's AMAZING just how much impact can come from a single 10" woofer. In point of fact, I've worked in a local recording studio for the past 14 years. I've heard multi-million dollar PA systems, Amphitheaters, professional music studios, etc......so I have a good grasp on just what a woofer is physically capable of.

    The PB-10 NSD is quite impressive. The NSD woofer is U.S. made by T.C. Sounds, and it appears to be a "competition-grade" car audio sub that's been converted to 8 Ohm 120v for home theater use (that's just my opinion). The cabinet is 3/4" thick MDF, internally braced, and insulated with fiberglass. The integrated BASH digital power amp has MORE than enough current, ready to go for the 10" woofer. The PB-10 also seems to have some sort of Subsonic filter built-in to the amp, it simply Will Not allow you to push the woofer into clipping, I tried....I was rattling pictures off my walls and it still wouldn't clip. The cabinet itself has a quality finish and the knobs and floor spikes are all clean and solid.

    In summary, this is a 10" sub, the way it Should Be built. No profit margin handicapping here. In my opinion, in a regular sized room (16x16ft) if you think you need more bass......you need to get your hearing checked.

    Customer Service

    Very good customer service. Since I live in Ohio, I made arrangements to travel to the factory to pick up my PB-10 NSD. The staff was very helpful. A+

    Similar Products Used:

    Subs from Sony, JBL, KLH, Bose, Yamaha, and Klipsch.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Jun 10, 2006]
    He11FiRe
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Price vs. Performance Ratio, goes very low, even frequency response, WOW factor

    Weakness:

    Sheer size (not a problem for me, but might be for others)

    The ultimate in performance below $500, no question. I had no idea what a sub was truly capable of before I got this one. It's almost hard for me to believe that SVS offers a sub with better performance! It's like watching my movie collection all over again. Windows rattle, knick knacks shake, pictures come off the wall. Unbelievable!

    Customer Service

    Best I've ever experienced. Tom and Ron @ SVS truly love what they do and are glad to help you out if you have questions, concerns, or dilemmas. I've never had an issue with my subwoofer, but I know those who have, and they are phenomenal about fixing issues.

    Similar Products Used:

    MTX SW2

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [May 30, 2006]
    RickG
    Casual Listener

    Strength:

    Clean, accurate bass. Even at retail price from manufactor, it is good value.

    Weakness:

    Size is somewhat of a factor.

    Bought this with my Christmas money. Looked at HSU and Velodyne and others. Have it paired with SVS's bookshelf speakers. Have been very pleased. I use it more for classical music. The music that it really shines is pipe organ! Great sound and, used with my Denon 2803, it is great!

    Customer Service

    Excellent

    Similar Products Used:

    SVS bookshelves.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 20  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com