Sunfire True Subwoofer Signature Subwoofers

True Subwoofer Signature

Subwoofer

User Reviews (39)

Showing 1-10 of 39  
Chris   AudioPhile [Nov 20, 2003]
Strength:

Tiny, 13" cubed. Will go extremely low, to 20hz. Very fast sub, works extremely well for music and HT. Best Music "and" HT sub I have ever heard. High WAF!

Weakness:

No removable IEC powercord plug, the powercord is fixed.

I purchased a True Subwoofer Signature from a local dealer as a demo 7 months ago. I use the LFE from my Citation 5.0 to a Behringer 8024 digital EQ then to the sub. This 13" cube is just plain insane for HT. Aside from setting it in a corner behind my right main speaker and some minor adjustment to the sub and some minor adjustments to the 8024 digital EQ (used to help with room acoustics and to give me quick access to gain control) I have done nothing else as far as adjustments. The Sub and pre-amp is turned way down. The Behringer is generally set at flat for gain. Crossover point from the pre-amp and Sub is at 80hz. The room is 16'W x 9'H x 50'L. The listening area is 16'W x 9'H x 22'L approx. As for music, this sub is fast and will go to 20hz! I auditioned the following subs before buying the Subwoofer signature (I do not remember the model numbers): top of the line 8", 10" and 12" small Velodyne subs, a couple of Rels, the $1800 15" Klipsh, a couple of Polks, Martin Logan and many, many more. As a side note, I was not able to hear the new Earthquake subs, which are supposed to be very similar to the Sunfire. In summary, I am very happy with this little monster I purchased, for both HT and music. I would have paid $2000 for this sub, I just happen to blindly run into a screaming deal!

Similar Products Used: See review above.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Erik   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 16, 2003]
Strength:

Size (great peformance from a tiny box!); accurate, tight bass; can handle an enormous amount of power without distortion

Weakness:

none (so far) - for what you're getting the price isn't a weakness

I recently replaced my Klipsch bookshelf speakers with Klipsch RF-7's, RC-7, and RS-7. I decided to also replace my RSW-12 with a sub more suited to my system since the RF-7's can almost perform at the same level as the RSW-12. I was originally going to get a KSW-15 but the salesman recommended a Sunfire sub instead. I was initially hesitant because I wasn't familiar with Sunfire's subs or their performance (good, bad, or otherwise). He took me to a listening room and played several different kinds of music on the Sunfire and then on the Klipsch. The difference was asonishing - the Klipsch sounded boomy and somewhat sloppy and it couldn't handle ultra-high volumes or ultra-low frequencies that you can feel but not hear. The Sunfire, however, was tight, responsive, and also much more "real" sounding. It can rech frequencies that no other sub in its price range can touch, and it does it all so accurately. I know everyone says great things about their subs on here, but having owned and listened to many different subs, I have to say without a doubt that this sub is worth every single penny I paid for it. If you pay anything over $750 for a sub without giving this one a listen, you are cheating yourself out of one heck of a bargain. You cannot beat the amazing performance you get for this price anywhere within $2000 of this sub.

Similar Products Used: KSW-12, RSW-15, Definitive Super Cube
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NUTNICK   AudioPhile [Jun 19, 2003]
Strength:

good CLEAN bass with very low extension and smalll, small small package!

Weakness:

have nt found one yet

Love it, had the Velodyne 18" and found that for music the Sunfire is mucher tighter, and isnt boomy at all!!! My wif' loves that the hugh Velodyne is gone and i love that she cant put a plant pot on it -- The guys at American theater were cool , I buy wholesale from them all the time ------ review my other toys!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bugsy2003   AudioPhile [Jan 05, 2003]
Strength:

Glass breaking bass Small

Weakness:

None

This sub is Awesom. I am not going to rewrite what has been said by others on this site I am just going to agree. This little box is unbelievable. You have to hear it to believe what it does. I bought mine in Chicago along with the Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature II. This place had everything you could think of.They had $10000.00 monoblock amps that were as big as the endtables I have my lamps sitting on. There were millions of dollars worth of very high end equipment right in the store. The stuff you see in pictures in audio magazines they has on display, connected and playing. The salesman said the True Sig Sub was the best in the store. The sound wave it produces is the lowest I have heard. It took me three days to get it adjusted, but all subs are hard to figure out the right placement and settings. I use mine 95% home theatre and 5% music. It works great for both. I have wrote two other reviews on this site- TGIII and Cinema Grand Signature II. If you are considering a Home Theatre system this is the point of diminishing return as one reviewer said.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ricwe   AudioPhile [Nov 06, 2002]
Strength:

small, powerful, deeeeeeeep bass

Weakness:

a little pricey

this mutha rocks. i can hardly believe the bass something this small is capable of. when i read the reviews on this sub i had my doubts. i was pleasantly surprised when i hooked it up and played with it for best positioning and settings. this box will honestly shake your house. with music its a little boomy, but i haven t had alot of time to play with it. you can t beat it for HT. i think most people will be more than satisfied with the output of this little sucker. i wouldn t trade it for anything.

Similar Products Used: adcom, infinity, yamaha, denon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sheep   AudioPhile [Oct 15, 2002]
Strength:

Power

Weakness:

You need to know what your doing

It’s the greatest subwoofer ever. This subwoofer is everything I could ask for and more. It will rattle the back of your eyes more then any system you’ve ever driven by. The bass is very clean and quick. It does take some adjustments with the volume sense it’s very powerful. Blending with music can also be difficult and you have to know what your doing, but if you don’t know what your doing and your buying sound equipment of this caliber you need to stop. Your probably not doing your system justice and need to stick with things you can purchase at best buy. Now very little adjustments need to take place when watching movies in DTS format. I suggest having at least one DTS formatted movie to show off this new toy. Try the Fifth Element on superbit or Gladiator.

Similar Products Used: Bose, Infinity, Eclipse, Polk audio, Boston
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lou   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 2002]
Strength:

Tight deep bass, small size, build quality, plays loud, variable phase control

Weakness:

Tedious to set-up, requires infinite patience

What can I say that hasn't already been said. This is an outstanding subwoofer. Extremely tight deep bass is released from this small 13x13x13 inch cube. You can't believe the shock waves of bass you hear and definitely feel from this thing. It is however very tedious to set up. It may take several days to get the positioning correctly. The adjustments on the sub should be very minute and the cross over should be kept low. Small adjustments make a big difference. But once you have made the adjustments all the frustration and time will be worth it. This sub also features a variable phase control ranging between 0 and 180. This is helpful because sometimes just 0 or 180 does not help integrate your sub with the rest of your system very well. The fact that it's not as big as house is also a plus so you don't have to get rid of your wife's favorite coffee table. If you want a serious sub that won't take up half the room and will literally shake the walls loose from the foundation (this thing plays extremely loud)then this is the sub for you. If you want something more traditional, then by all means get something the size of a boat engine that won't sound any better but you can tell your friends you have a 15" subwoofer.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne, Energy
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gogo8   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 19, 2002]
Strength:

Small size, ultra deep bass, blends in well with my Monitor Audio Silver 8i's. Recommended demo track: " To Think of a Story" Track #1 on the Frankenstein Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Patrick Doyle. Be forewarned with the initial opening sequence!!!!

Weakness:

Takes some tweaking to get the absolute best sound out of the sub.

I have owned the Sunfire subwoofer for a few years and I love it!!! Great sound and impact. However, I tweaked it further and got truly impressive results. If you want better sound out of this sub, read on. I bought some solid brass spikes from Parts Express ( Part # 240-715 $19.95) and installed them on the bottom of the sub with Liquid Nails clear epoxy. (I did not want to drill holes and compromise the airtight box seal). I then went to Lowe's and bought 2 12"x12"x2" paving stones from the garden area. Each stone weights approximately 22 pounds. I cleaned them up with a brush and water. Once dry, I painted them black. I then used Liquid Nails to glue the two stones on top of one another. You end up with a foundation that is approximately 4" inches thick and weighs about 44 pounds!! I set the stone foundation about 36" from the corner and 6" from the rear wall. The Sunfire, now spiked, sits on top of the stones. Thus, the bottom edge of the sub drivers are elevated about 6" from the floor. The sound was great before, but I noted stronger and deeper bass pulses. It's as if I can feel each deep bass cycle traveling toward me. My room is treated acoustically (highly recommended to achieve greater performance) and the level of deep, clean bass this sub can produce is downright scary. Needless to say, I am all smiles. Total tweak cost . . .approximately $50.00.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Psychobabble1   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 20, 2002]
Strength:

No competition in terms of size vs. output. Can blend very well with any system if set up properly. High WAF due to size of box.

Weakness:

"Walks" around room when used on hard floors; Not the best looking little brute

Most of what should be said about this sub has been said in previous reviews, so this will be short and to the point. I've had no trouble integrating this sub with my system, which is primarily for HT. As some have suggested, it may be percieved as slow, but I've found that this is ususally due to the crossover setting being set too high. Mine is set at about 45Hz, and cannot be located when my eyes are closed, but certainly can be felt when needed. The stories are correct - if not using a dedicated HT, move all breakables away from edges, because the SPLs generated by this little black box are truely staggering, and it will vibrate them off. Although it's certainly not "pretty" (rather industrially "strong" looking), the WAF should be high as it is quite small. Although the manual states that corner placement is optimal, you should try to avoid corners if using small speakers that require higher crossover settings as the bass, while prodigious, can become boomy. Overall, this thing is a giant killer. While there are more musical subs for stereo out there, the TS sig is designed to add considerable extension and weight to audio performances. For HT, it makes an impressive theater sound jaw dropping - what it is designed to do, it does in spades.

Similar Products Used: Earthquake supernova, REL Q100E, REL Q200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CPW   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 21, 2002]
Strength:

Clean, pure bass response. Great articulation and no boomy, resonant decay on short biting pitches.

Weakness:

Remote would be a great tool for set up and switching from THX movies to music.

It does what a great subwoofer should do. No sonic compromises!

Similar Products Used: Atlantic Technology, Mirage.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com