Sony SA-WX700 Subwoofers

SA-WX700

  • bass-reflex
  • video-shielded
  • 250-watt digital amp
  • dual 10" long-throw woofers
  • frequency response 20-200 Hz
  • continuously variable 50-200 Hz low-pass crossover
  • speaker-level input and output
  • line-level input and output
  • signal-sensing power on/off
  • phase switch
  • volume control
  • black vinyl finish
  • 15-3/8"W x 19-1/4"H x 18-3/8"D

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
Mike   AudioPhile [Jun 08, 2011]

My subwoofer, its great i know for a fact that i'm not popular around my neighbours come the weekend, its quenches my sound thirst. its real deal for money. you have to own it to believe it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Davidb0123   Casual Listener [Nov 29, 2009]

I purchased this unit in November of 2005. It was in use (occasional use) for two years. then it was time to move so I packed back in origional box. Built a new home for two yrs & when i pulled it out of the box, plugged it in, it does not work. Apparently there is a problem with this model burning out resistors 7 capacitors when left idel & unpowered. When powered back up it blows out. Sound was great when it worked!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Basslover33   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 03, 2008]
Strength:

- Sealed cabinet with dual 10” woofers (forward and up firing)
- Excellent musical performer
- Very handsome - love the Green LED when it’s on
- Runs for hours without complication or getting hot
- Frightening performance at low levels
- Astounding performance at high levels
- Don't know much about Htz etc, but this sub goes really, really deep
- Energy Star
- Dead silent when it needs to be
- Top mounted controls – an absolute joy for set up
- Strong protective grill

Weakness:

- Very placement sensitive
- Can get too loud if not careful - complaints from other people
- Sometimes way too strong
- Hypnotic and addictive bass

I take Home Theatre very seriously; so seriously that I have a focus and that focus has been midrange, suppoerted by deep bass.

I kept this in mind when purchasing my speakers and made sure they had a wide sound stage. My fronts and rears are exactly the same and they are the Quest Q610; Solid, narrow, heavy and deep 2 way bookshelves, with 6” Polypropylene woofers on 22 ½” stands. The rears are placed 48 ½” off the floor. To complete my 5.2 system, I use a Sony SS CNK10ED Centre Channel only because of its incredible sound from the unique Barrel design with dual 4 ¾” woofers and a 1” Extended Definition tweeter. I don’t know what “Timber Matching” means but with the combination of 4 ¾” & 6” woofers, I get excellent audible midrange coverage. I assumed a deep bass system producing very low frequencies would allow my speakers to really come forth and provide additional midrange clarity with perfect pitch. What kind of bass system could do this? The Sony SAWX700.

About four years ago I came across the SAWX700. It was on display and the movie was the Incredibles. The room was a half-circle set up to display big screen TVs. I turned the Sub volume to 4 and the frequency to 1/2 and shoved it into a corner. Nothing happened until the scene when Dash was running across the water and this big rock cracked and came crashing down. It was a really low frequency on the sound track, but when produced by the SAWX700 it seemed as if the store was falling apart! Everything was shaking and to my amazement, the visible forward firing woofer didn’t move!

In July 2007 I finally purchased my first SAWX700 because I now have the space to accommodate it and in December 2007 I purchased the second.

This dual 10” Sub is solid, heavy and deep and is almost a perfect cube without the feet. Set up and placement took a while due to the multitude of setting available between the sub’s top mounted controls and the AMP. With this sub, placement within ½” makes an ENORMOUS difference in sound and depth. In a room 24’ x 11’ wide, I ended up with both subs mirrored at each corner of the room. The far corner of the sub is 8 inches off the front wall, the close corner is a ½”off the left and right side walls with a 15 degree tilt towards the listening area. My Subs are used in reverse mode with Bass Boost on and the volume @ 4 (10 o’clock) with the frequency level the same. The Surround Sub volume on the AMP is kept at 3 or 4 and the overall AMP bass setting for the speakers is in the negative. I use a Techniques SA DX940 AMP @100 Watts per/channel with raw Dolby Digital & DTS 5.1 processing.

As a result of using this Sub all my speakers sound larger. They are booming with fuller, richer and crisper sound enhancing the overall midrange presence of my system. In total darkness, the speakers are nowhere to be found because balanced sound comes from everywhere. With the midrange increased the bass doesn’t sound like its coming from the Subs at all, but from all channels and most impressively the floor and ceiling. With the subs positioning, when I get close to it there’s barely any sound. You have to touch it to make sure it’s working.

The power is awesome and it’s amazing how effortlessly this Sub provides it. The most frightening aspect of the SAWX700 is its performance at low volumes. The bass is still clear, detailed and powerful. After a year I’m still left speechless at having to turn the volume down after just turning the volume down. Running both subs at high volumes will crack the foundation of the house.

There are many movies I can use to describe this sub, LOTR, Star Wars, Matrix etc., they all sound awesome like watching the movies for the first time, but I’m going to use Cloverfield because there’s no music score and lots of cut scenes, with the sound changing frequently, and plenty of scenes that are truly terrifying. I never saw it in the Movie Theatres so watching it at home with the Sub would be my very first time seeing it. It was late at night so I had to keep the volume down and I only used one sub. I had no idea what I was in for.

Before the movie even starts, there’s this BOOM, BOOOM, BOOOOM that forced me to turn the system down. The Sub sets the ominous and brooding tone of what was to come and kept my eyes glued to the video source because of it. The street level noise, the voices and the party sounded so real with a density I cannot properly describe. Since the move is filmed with a hand held, sometimes the microphone gets rubbed and the sub even picks that up clearly. At 18:19 into the movie, when you hear that first explosion, unbelievable! When watching in total darkness it actually sounded like an explosion was outside my house and I was feeling the actual shockwave inside. The second explosion on the roof top and the disorder that follows put the sub through its paces and it stayed tight and accurate throughout. The explosion takes place in the distance and what impressed me was hearing the explosion and the bassy echo. The bass cutting in and out was tight and you could feel the anticipation that something is coming. Apart from feeling subsonic bass effects, which were also heard in crystal clarity, you still experienced everything else: Running for lives, heavy breathing, glass shattering and chaos are heard with precision with the same density I cannot properly describe. This was watching with one sub at around 9 O’clock on the AMP and the vibration was felt upstairs. I had to stop. The next day when I ran both subs, with the same scenes at the same volume levels, the overall sound is larger and the room seems much wider. You get the same clarity as if using one sub without the bass being overbearing or headachy, and that density I could not properly describe earlier, can only be described as 3 dimensional – if I can use this to describe it. But the drawback with 2 subs was that the house was shaking from bottom to top to bottom again with plenty of bottomless Bass in reserve. This is especially true during the eye popping confrontation scene. You’re left cringing by a massive stomp and monstrous roar only to then have your senses assaulted by machine gun, bazooka and tank fire all at the same time. Maybe it’s just me, but it seemed like I heard bass from every single weapon while the monster was wailing and the building was falling apart. After the characters of the story found sanctuary in the subway, I was panting along with them. I was left breathless and I had to pause the movie and get a drink of water. It was sensory overload. To date, I consider this the most intense scene I’ve ever seen, followed only by Jurassic Park III: Unhappy Landing. The previously described scenes had both subs running and the Surround Sub volume was set at 3.

With X-box Shooter video games in Dolby Digital Surround, this Sub is in sync with the vibrating controller producing a wild experience. The gun shots hurt, you’re forced to duck and cover from machine gun fire and explosions leave you shell shocked.

To my surprise, people who watch movies on my system say the EXACT same thing with the same expression of drop jawed, defeated astonishment; “the sound is fantastic”.

Overall, with midrange being my HT focus, the SAWX700 has given me exactly what I wanted and more; surrealistic sound and density in movies that’s beyond my capability to properly describe.

After all, with the Sony Walkmans and Discmans that I’ve owned, wouldn’t it make sense that the creators of MEGA BASS be the ones to produce the most awesome Subwoofers ever? - That’s if they make them.

Similar Products Used: M&K 5000 THX
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
themblues   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 06, 2007]
Strength:

Build quality, looks

Weakness:

too weak an amp for the surround size, dB output too low

It's obvious most of the reviews on this sub are from people who have never owned quality in their setups. No offense peopIe, but that's the truth. I got this sub for a mid-low level computer room setup in a 12x12 den. While this sub does get down to 20hz, it just barely gets there. Now a lot of subs do not get this low, this sub is definitely at the top of the budget subs. The sub I am pitting the Sony against is a Def Tech PF15TL+ 500 watt 15" sub. No that is really not fair, so I am giving the Sony a 5 for value, but the thing that pisses me off is that these are 10" drivers in the barest sense of the term. They are really 8" pistons with a HUGE surround, and considering they are only pushing 125 watts each (albeit with a 3 ohm amp) there is no reason for this large a surround. Would have served a lot better to make the cone a proper size with a smaller surround. Hell my Def Tech has a smaller surround at double the size cone and amp. And to top everything else off, I have to turn it up all the way AND put the boost on to get anything decent out of it. When all is said and done however, anything less than $350, you can't beat this sub. It is built like a tank, I will give them that. But if you are looking for a quality sub for a main listening room, save the bucks and get something good. For sheer price/performance balance, my Def Tech CAN NOT be beat.

Customer Service

good website

Similar Products Used: Def Tech PF15TL+, SVS cyl (passive) the 20-39 I think, Bose AM-5 ser II
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Allen   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2007]
Strength:

Cheap, Hits low and clean, down and front firing is a cool concept. The rubber surround looks thick and durable, and other sony subs have paper cone which i like, not sure about this one.

Weakness:

looks, the front grill does not look attractive at all, i took off the front grill and think that it looks better.

i Bought this subwoofer from circuitcity brand new for $100, it was on sale down to $200 plus $100 mail in rebate, so i paid $100 plus taxes, and it was a good investment. I was going to buy the velodyne 12 inch dps for $550 but this purchase was for my bedroom and i figured the velodyne would be too much, so i caught this for sale. I've always liked sony for having cheap subwoofers with decent performance, and this dual cone subwoofer exceeded my expectations. my bed room is 15 by 12 feet, and is complimented with an onkyo 500 series reciever, infnity satelites, onlyo 8inch powered sub and this sony powered sub, and i must say the sound is satifactory. The sub does hit clean and low for the price, but i wouldnt have bought it for $300, maybe $200. down stairs in my living room, i have a velodyne 12 inch, and it hits harder, lower and cleaner than the sony, but that was expected. For $300, youre better off spending a bit more money and getting the velodyne, but for $200 or less, its a great value.

Similar Products Used: old velodyne dual sub, one passive and active, 10in and 12 inch, hits pretty hard but muddy when turned up. Not sure what the model was but it was huge.

Also used the older Sony 12 inch at 120 watts, i think that was the one that used paper cone, sounded really nice for $200, dont know how that compares to the current sony 12inch that gets 150 watts.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
shutterbug33285   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2007]
Strength:

Low distortion.....solid, extended bass response.....plenty of control to match it to the room environment and the main speakers. Also....plenty of power. My listening room is 18' X 18' with vaulted ceiling. The main speakers AND the subwoofer are placed along one wall. Haven't tried it in a corner placement yet. That would probably boost the bass even further.

Weakness:

Wires furnished with the subwoofer are too light and fragile. I substituted heavy zip cord......#16 gauge.

Tried to file this earlier but I wasn't registered yet so guess it got round-filed.

I am a music lover with a high end sound system, albeit 20-25 year old equipment. My main speaker system is about 3 db down at 35 Hz. I'm a classical and theater pipe organ lover so I needed some extra bottom end. But these days who can afford the high dollar stuff that is on the market. So I did my research and settled on trying this Sony SA-WX700 subwoofer. Low end extends to 20 Hz. Dual 10" drivers share the load which reduces distortion. Other features are adjustable cut-off frequency and level control. There is also a switchable "boost" for extra bass.....a phase reversal switch and auto on/off which is defeatable. Owner reviewers were 99% positive and I was able to get it at a great price. So now I have one in my living room and have set it up so that it does not increase the bass already handled by my main system but rather it extends the bottom below that which my main speakers can reproduce. And wow! It does that in spades. With the 250 watt internal amp. it is fully capable of rattling the walls but I don't drive it that hard. The additional fullness to large orchestra sound and the added acoustical elements present in large halls typical of those that house big pipe organs are truly impressive. Although we primarily use the sound system for classical music listening......we do occasionally watch a good move off of cable or DVD and the extra bottom end contributes immeasurably to that experience also. I find myself wondering why my son spent $1,700 for his subwoofer when something this good was available for just over $200 including shipping.
Trust me.....I was cursed with a golden ear and I'm very particular about the quality and naturalness of the sound emanating from my stereo system.

Customer Service

I'm currently battling with Sony in an effort to get them to furnish me a print out of the response curves at the different cut-off settings and also the curves with and without the extra boost control turned on. They are resisting me but the battle is not over yet. I just want these curves to assist me in optimizing my subwoofer for my room and to work best with my main speakers.

Similar Products Used: I've never owned a subwoofer before now.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Harold P. Morgan   AudioPhile [Feb 14, 2007]
Strength:

Excellent extended bass response. Smooth, tight and it melds very nicely with my existing main speakers. I cannot imagine ever needing to turn on the extra bass boost switch. Now I can "feel" it when those 16' and 32' foot bombards sound off.

Weakness:

Furnished speaker wires are too small in gauge and too fragile. I substituted larger cable.

As an aging audiophile on a strict budget, the excellent review on the SA-WX700 persuaded me to order one. It arrived in two days. I hooked it up and selected a couple of my pipe organ CD's. All I can say is WOW! Very extended low frequency reproduction....clean and tight. My main speakers have response within 3 db down to 35 Hz. This Sony extends that to 20 Hz and greatly expands the listening environment. I have more experimenting to do but results so far are very positive. Distortion is kept low partly because there are two 10 inch drivers to share the load so maximum excursion is reduced from what a single 12 inch driver might be required to handle for a given level at a given low frequency. In my 18' X 18' living room this unit easily equals the performance of my son's $1,700 subwoofer. The Sony has no rattles, no voice coil bottoming out, no port noise. The side walls of the cabinet are not quite as rigid as those of my main speakers. I may take measures to improve that in the future. We'll see. Main speakers are Boston Acoustic A400's.....jewels from 1984. I'm driving the whole system with a Yamaha C-2 preamp/control unit and Threshold 400A amplifier....both late 1970's vintage. My system delivers very satisfying sound from orchestral, big band and classical and theater pipe organ recordings. Solo piano sound is fantastic. Like having one of those big Bosendoerfer (sp?) 9 foot grands in my living room.
There may be better subwoofers out there but one would have to spend 10 times the money. This is a real gem in Sony's arsenal.

Customer Service

From Sony? Don't know. Haven't needed it thus far. From Gear4less? Excellent. Very responsive and helpful with answers to my questions. Shipped unit within about 5 hours of receiving payment from me.....and it was dropped in my living room two days later. Amazing service.

Similar Products Used: None. Never had a subwoofer before.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
myriad1973   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 18, 2006]
Strength:

No boomy bass, good construction, and the controls on top are easy to reach.

Weakness:

None thus far.

This sub is a monster! Even set to quarter volume on it and the reciever, this sub will shake your room. I love it. Deep bass that's tight. Definitely well worth the money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JWhit   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 29, 2006]
Strength:

Value, musicality, power.

Weakness:

Its a large and functional looking unit. It will not impress your interior designer.

This is an excellent value. I believe that it is available at such low prices because it alienates two key market segments: Casual listeners may be turned off by its bulk, preferring an inobtrusive Bose-type modual, and audiophiles turn up their nose at the Sony brand name. Their loss is the gain of budget minded music/home-theater fans. It is deep, rich and tight on music, and yet shakes the furniture when playing back movie soundtracks. Sony selected a push-pull cabinet design, which means that one driver points out of the enclosure and one points into the enclosure. The drivers are then wired out of phase so they function in phase. M&K has used the same technology to fill out the bass response and neutralize distortion. At its price, there simply is no competition. End of story.

Similar Products Used: The performance of this sub rivals $600-1000 speakers from Velodyne, KEF, or Cambridge.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian Starks   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2006]
Strength:

Price, build quality, controls, deep tight bass

Weakness:

Yeah right!!

I was in the market for another subwoofer for my audio system to work along with my older sony subwoofer. I have an Onkyo TXSR702 THX receiver with Polk speakers (R50s for the front a csi5 center R30s on the side and R15s in the rear) My sub is a sony sawm-40 that I have modified that sounds great but like most I wanted more. I had looked at Polk and Velodyne but I didn't have the money to get one at the time. After reading so many positive reviews I decided to try the
sa-wx700. I figured for 200 dollars I didn't have much to lose plus I liked my other
sony alot. After hooking up my new sub and daisy chaining the old sub I put in Lord Of The Rings and went straight to the Caves of Moriah. Three words-low frequency bliss!! I have listened to that scene 50 times-I use it to test my new equipment and show off my system to my friends. It is an awsome scene for surround sound demonstration. I know I have achieved audio greatness when my wife is even impressed. The amount of vibration and floor shaking brought a smile to her face. I heard things I have never heard before and I haven't even really tweeked it yet. Every positive thing you read about this sub is true. Dont be fooled by the Sony name or listen to some salesman who works in a place that doesn't sell Sony speakers make you think that Sony can't make a good quality sub just so you can spend $1500 on one of his. Save your money, get one or two of these babies and be sure to stop at the drug store and pick up some Advil because you will have a throbbing headache from the deep pounding this thing produces.

Similar Products Used: Sony SA-WM 40 (modified)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com