Sony SA-WM500 Subwoofers

Sony SA-WM500 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

  • bass-reflex
  • video-shielded
  • 150-watt amp
  • 12" long-throw woofer
  • frequency response 20-200 Hz
  • continuously variable 50-200 Hz low-pass crossover
  • speaker-level inputs and outputs
  • line-level input and output
  • signal-sensing power on/off
  • phase switch
  • volume control
  • black vinyl finish
  • 14-3/16"W x 16-3/4"H x 16-1/2"D

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Jun 08, 2020]
Franklyn


Strength:

powerfull bass blast

Weakness:

dont have any

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 18, 2008]
JMC
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very good all around sound considering the low cost. One is okay, 2 kick some serious bass.

Weakness:

None.

I bought these for my basement system. Starting with one first with good results. Went back and got another. Use them for movies but mostly music listening. They sound as good as the Hi end stuff I use upstairs in the living room, and nearly as good as the ones in my music room. After about 8 hours brake in time, I cranked them up and have them set this way ever since. For the money, they are the best bang for the buck. Distortion yes, but very slight and only when wide open. Deep bass yes, it will shake the house, and the ones next door to you. No they dont sound as good as my Earth quakes, but they were $ 3,000.00 cheaper. Kid Rock, Disturbed, and Nickelback really come to life. If you need more than what 2 of these can put out, your DEAF.

Similar Products Used:

2 Earth quake subs, 4 JBL SUB 150's.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 29, 2006]
Taebin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

good quality for the price. loud, does exactly what a sub should do BOOM BOOM RUMBLE RUMBLE PUNCH PUNCH!

Weakness:

Have to drive nails back in the walls after a good movie.

I got this sub after Best Buy would not exchange my JBL PB12 for the new model number identical twin (service plan BS). I paid the employee price for the JBL which happened to be what I was getting for in store credit. I went over to the rack and grabbed the next best thing (I thought). When I got home and dialed it in I was extremely angry at the overpriced 500W 12 JBL .If you are considering buying this sub BUY IT just not at Best Buy. I have a small bedroom at my parents house at the moment and it still sounds awesome. I use it for movies and music. This sub has actually driven nails out of the walls in the next room!!! After a year of use and abuse it is still going strong with no worries. I will be getting another one soon to really get the place rocking! I listen to metal and hard rock, sub eats it all up!

Customer Service

Boycott Best Buy, their service plans are junk, but if you have no choice get the service plan because using their return policy is like trying to set an ice cube on fire.

Similar Products Used:

JBL PB12, listened to friends 10" KLH often

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 17, 2006]
Sean
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price, size, power

Weakness:

Sound, Lows

I purchased this product and received it 2 days ago and am very disappointed!! Not very deep bass at all. My 8 inch 190 watt woofers were better than this. It already has a tinny distorted sound to it and I have not turned it up to high to damage it at all. Has good power but not very good sounding at all. Would not recommend

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used:

JVC HXZ30

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 27, 2004]
guywithtruck
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great low-end sound, very loud and I have not noticed any distortion after 3 months.

Weakness:

I have not found any yet.

This sub is great for movies....low end is very decent..all the rumbles and gunshots are very well detailed. I used Monster Cable's Subwoofer 300 interconnect to hook this up to my amp. As other reviewers have said, you need to turn it down when you listen to music...but I did notice some sounds on Linkin Park's 'Hybrid Theory' that were not there before I added the sub. Overall, a great addition to my system. I should also add that this is my first sub, and I have not been disappointed. I had high expectations, and they were not let down. Worth every penny.

Similar Products Used:

My dad's JBL.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 28, 2004]
wingmessiah
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Cheap, Sounds/feels great, shakes the entire house, shakes the neighbors house, auto off is ideal, the addition of a powerful sub transforms the entire listening experience and the ability to do that for only $135 is a blessing.

Weakness:

You absolutely must turn the volume way down when listening to music, when you do that, it sounds great for music as well.

I love listening to action movies way too loud. If the Earth is blowing up in the movie, the Earth around me better be shaking as well. I listened to a friends Velodyne sub that cost him $700 and it sounded great but I just was not willing to pay that if it was not absolutely necessary. I read a lot of positive reviews about this sub and gave it a try. It is exactly what I was looking for. Unfortunately I was in a hurry when I bought it so I paid $65 more than I had to but it's still worth double what I paid. I use a Monster cable and the net net on this thing is great.Killer for movies turn it all the way up. BUT the volume must be at about 50% for most music or it gets boomy. That's the only downside and that's hardly down, when you switch from viewing to music you have to make an adjustment. For $200 I can deal with that. Every time my house shakes a little tear runs down my face. A tear for my buddy who dropped $700 bucks on that Velodyne. This sounds/feels just as good. Also it's almost silly to even compare the two, but it's significantly more impactful as any Bose sub.

Similar Products Used:

Bose Acoustimass Bass module, Velodyne HGS 10

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 12, 2004]
MIKELE
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

A lot of power (150 watts RMS),

Weakness:

Boomy, boomy, boomy. Definitely not audiophile equipment. Cheaply made.

I purchased this sub because of the price and because of the 150 watt amp. (Not to mention the fact that sony was the only company that would give me credit.) Hooking this up using the subwoofer output of my Harman Kardon receiver, the output seems to be very low. I decided to hook it up using the speaker inputs which did improve the sound. However I find the base very boomy and bloated. There is also a lot of port noise. For the price, there has to be better out there. I finally got my hands on some money and decided to treat myself to an SVS sub. I'm still waiting for delivery but when I hear it, I will review that one too. The Sony sub is worth it.

Similar Products Used:

Optimus (Radio Shack) subwoofer.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jan 02, 2004]
ces
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

12" sub with 150 watt amp for under $200. nice sounding. very low distortion, only a very slight hiss when level is maxed and no sound playing(i never need to keep it on max)great rumble. auto on/off(who wants that amp running all the time). sounds better than most BOSE subs ive heard (if that means anything). audio output jack. easy reach controls. energy star rated.

Weakness:

speaker posts. plain looks. (ugly? all subs look pretty ugly to me)

i put a $200 limit on buying a sub and this the only one that came close to the pricier subs. this sub is comparable to others costing $350 and up. great on movie tracks and almost as good with music. so many other lower priced subs only sound good with dvds. the auto on/off is great. after 7 minutes of no low freqs. it shuts itself down. as soon as it detects low freqs. it turns itself back on, never missing a beat. could use good quality speaker posts, but accepts 14 gage wire no problem. just dont use the weak cable sony provides, get a good quaity sub cable and it will rock you. are there better subs? sure, but if your on a buget this one will please.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2003]
jviper
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Strong clean output - enough to shake and rattle the whole house if need be.

Weakness:

The looks are not the greastest but very easily overlooked because of the great bass performance.

Forget the Sony name and the $200.00 price tag, this thing plays like no tomorrow. It's musical { maybe not to the nth degree} but it rocks and moves some serious air. If your in the market for a sub give this sub a good look and listen.

Similar Products Used:

B&W ASW1000,Sound Dynamics 1200.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 17, 2003]
Rob
Casual Listener

Strength:

very loud, great for music

Weakness:

none really so far... as soon as i figure out the adjustments

Bought this sub from my work about a week ago for my dorm room. I haven't moved in yet but I know I won't be able to turn it up loud at all, this will shake my whole side of the house. Very loud sub for the price paid. I've mostly just listened to music, but watched a few movies. Very good for music, and movies too, but at some scenes it's a little boomy and overwhelming (i'm sure i can fix with with adjustments). I'm sure I will be very pleased with this sub and definitly worth the 130 bucks.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com