REL Acoustics Q100E Subwoofers

Q100E

12" subwoofer

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
gav   AudioPhile [May 04, 2003]
Strength:

Good clarity at LF, can switch from 'depth' to 'slam' as required. Slam reduces the LF and increases punch, which is great for pop/dance. Depth is much more subtle and allows you to get a much richer, LF experience that you can feel.

Weakness:

Would like to have another one to increase SPL for some parties.

This was a bargain 2nd hand, used at very low power by someone in a small house meant that it hadn't really been pushed. It has now, augmenting an existing 6 speaker surround system fronted by ATC SCM10s in a 1000sq ft solid (warehouse) room. Effortlessly makes the cinema experience perfect (matching the 12ft screen we have). Adds that essential kick to all sorts of music from rachmaninov to alex reece, bjork, peter gabriel and even to esoteric electro-acoustic music that uses sub 100Hz as a normal part of the spectrum. Almost felt I was back in the studio.

Similar Products Used: ATC/Tannoy/Yamaha/Linn studio speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
witters   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2002]
Strength:

Superb depth and integration.

Weakness:

None.

I bought the Q100E as an end of line item at 15% off list price. I am very impressed with it. It adds massive scale to home cinema whilst blending in seamlessly with 2 channel stereo. Having owned a Q200E previously I can honestly say the difference is negligible, especially at this price!

Similar Products Used: REL Q200E, B&W ASW1000.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 02, 2000]
Strength:

Can reproduce subterranean frequencies, has the ability to make the house rattle, extremely well controlled, has a feature that automatically and temporarily lowers the volume if the cone begins to experience damaging stresses, 'Slam' and 'Depth' control

Weakness:

On bass heavy songs at loud volumes, a built in cone protection control may reduce bass volume temporarily

I got the REL when I realized my loudspeakers were missing some deep bass notes in some of the techno music I listen to. My speakers have very tight and clear bass, but it is weak and has a rather shallow cutoff. I needed a subwoofer that would only supplement and extend the bass of my loudspeakers, and the REL perfectly fit the bill. The REL adds weight to all of the bass notes without appearing "boomy," and uses special electronics to eliminate the overemphasis of the resonant frequencies of the cone (the bass is smooth, it doesn't boom at certain frequencies and struggle at others). While switched to "Depth" mode (20-140 Hz) the sub is subtile and uninvasive, and perfect for casual music listening. The added depth to bass has a startling effect on vocals and instrumentals in which harmonic frequencies are often lost. The Neville Brothers sounded reborn when my sub was on. When it is in "Slam" mode (40-240? Hz) the REL has awesome power. This is great for movies and parties, when you want not just to hear but to feel the music. Neighbors may like the sub in this setting a little less than you do, however. It should also be noted that sound quality drops when the sub is in this mode--an audiophile would perfer the "Depth" setting. All in all the REL is magnificent, especially for the price. I highly recommend it to the audiophile and home theatre buff alike.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bukhari Zahid   Casual Listener [Mar 05, 2001]
Strength:

Incredible bass, really mindblowing

Weakness:

None

This Sub was purchased at a reasonable price of £500
The difference between this sub and the rel 50 is substantial and it is well worth paying an additional £100 for the Rel 100.

When watching the Martix it really felt as if the bullets were flying over my head and helicopter scenes really shook the room as well as any explosions
I cannot reccomend this sub enough
You must insist on trying this sub before buying any home theatre package

My set up is
Kef Q35.2 fronts
Kef Q package for centre and rear
Pioneer DVD 636
Sony STR DB940




Similar Products Used: Rel 50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dunphuc Hall   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 09, 2000]
Strength:

Deep clean bass, depth or slam mode, high and low level input usage at the same time, quality British manufacture.

Weakness:

None that i can find

If you dont own a sub woofer and were planning to upgrade your main front and centre speakers, dont!!.
This small investment will make all the difference,absolutely deep cleen bass you can feel ,not hear but feel, totally enveloping sound and not boomy at all.
The Rel q100e will give any digital movie sound source the extension it deserves, at 495 english pounds its a bargain.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha yst80 sub
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ron   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 16, 2000]
Strength:

Versatility; ease of operation; MUSICALITY!!!!!

Weakness:

None so far

I absolutely adore this sub!!! I previewed many subs in my journeys, but none could even approach the sonic accuracy and musicality of this sub. The "slam" and "depth" settings as well as the low and high frequency inputs make it ideal for dual purpose (HT and Stereo listening)systems like mine. Even better is the ability to connect both inputs simultaneously so my processor can switch automatically from LFE during HT and high pass during stereo listening. This unit also allows the user to dial in the roll off frequency for seamless integration. Perhaps its most redeeming quality though is its ability to recreate low frequencies with stunning realism. This means allowing the listener to easily discern between "hammering" and plucking a bass guitar in stereo listening while, in HT, allowing gunshot to sound like a gunshot, not a cannon blast. This unit pumps out enough tight and accurate bass to pound your chest. If you want your house to shake, buy two.

Similar Products Used: Energy, velodyne, Carver
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marc Kruse   Casual Listener [Jul 30, 2001]
Strength:

Blends in with stereo music listening verry smoothly

Weakness:

have no comparison done

Use it with for stereo listening and HT with 4 Tannoy R2's and the Tannoy RC. Sonny strdb940 receiver.
Listening to CD's is great with the REL switched on. You can tune the REL so that it perfectly blends in with the Tannoys. For HT it gives you the deep effects that you are looking for. Great suggestion from my dealer to buy one with the Tannoy's. Made a nice price for me too. The five Tannoy's for $200 each, the REL for $440.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick Noordam   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2001]
Strength:

Musical as well as gutwrenching bass reproduction. Construction to last a life-time.

Weakness:

None found so far...

I was looking for a sub that completed my JBL home theater set-up. Thought of buying a pb10, but after reading the reviews, went for an audition with this baby. And it beats the JBL on all fronts. I never imagined a sub to fit in this well with my existing speakers and is a great addition to the sound while listening music. It seems that it isn't there, but when you turn it off... And for home theater... This sub really brings the theater home! It scared the hell out of my neighbours, cause they thought my heating installation was about to explode and their pictures almost came off the walls. (And I haven't even tried the REL out... yet!) Looking for a sub. This is the one. Especially at the price I bought it for. (1299,- Dutch Guilders!)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan B.   an Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 1999]

I've only owned this subwoofer for a few weeks, but I was immediately struck by how it improved the sound of my system. I previously was using an Energy ES-10, which I still think highly of for the money; however, the ES-10 is inexpensive and does not go down to the depths of human hearing (20 Hz). As a general rule, I prefer understatement to overstatement, but I must say that this REL has added a whole new dimension to my CD of Beethoven's Ninth Symphony -- it literally gives me chills. The sound quality is so high that I'm afraid I might have to eventually replace my cherished B&W DM601's with something like Sonus Faber Concertinos. I had to set the roll off somewhat high, but it is still impossible to localize this 16-inch cube's position. Somehow, this sub seems to subtly make everything sound more lifelike. I'm no engineer, but I really think REL knows something others don't. And obviously the Q100E gets my highest recommendation.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Sudhakar Gopalakrishnan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 18, 2000]
Strength:

Great deep bass output.

Weakness:

None so far.

I recently mated the Q100E with B&W CDM1NT speakers and it immediately had a dramatic improvement. The bass became real deep and everything, movies to music, is a pleasure to listen to now. The movies have been taken to a new dimension with sounds such as explosions, thunder, firings etc becoming more realistic. I heartily recommend this subwoofer to anybody who is interested in deep bass. Adjusting the subwoofer to the speaker system was real easy.

I got the speakers and subwoofer from stereo Plus dealer in Mountain View, California and had very good experience in dealing with them. I recommend them to anyone interested in dealing with high-end audio dealers.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com