Polk Audio PSW350 Subwoofers

Polk Audio PSW350 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

10-inch direct radiating subwoofer driver for deep bass Dual flared ports for low distortion 100 watt High current power amplifier

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 56  
[Aug 12, 2009]
ALLAN
AudioPhile

THIS IS MY FIRST SUBWOOFER, AS I HAVE INFINITY KAPPA 9S WITH 4 WOOFERS. BUT THIS LITTLE GEM IS THE FINEST THING I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY SYSTEM. I USE IT WITH THRESHOLD STASIS 500 AND THRESHOLD F9PREAMP. THE POLK SUB GIVE REALISM. AND I DONT UNDERSTAND ALL THE OTHER PEOPLE WHO HAVE POPS AND CRACKS, THIS LITTLE 10 SUB PLAYS LOUD AND REAL. MY ROOM IS 20 BY 25FEET AND IT PLAYS LOUD.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2008]
Nick
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Has a rich sound. Does not BOOM like car subwoofers.

Weakness:

Not made to be cranked up too loud. Will flutter if you do so.

The Subwoofer itself is very rich in sound. Is great for music. Has lasted me me 5 years thus far (knock on wood). The trick to making any subwoofer sound good is to put them on "reference points". These bad boys will increase the sound of any sub.

Customer Service

Never needed them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2007]
Simon
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very muscical and tight. excellent all rounder. plenty of power for music and movies. good value for what you get.

Weakness:

none really if it is used correctly. if you want to shake the neighbourhood you should probably buy something else.

Note: Purchase price is in New Zealand dollars (NZ$900)
Great sub for the money. If you are after a sub that will provide great tight bass for music and good sub for movies, this is great value for money. I agree with the other reviewer that says if you want a sub for a rave party and want to vake the whole city, this this isnt for you. But if you want good clean bass for music and movies, this is good value for money.

Similar Products Used:

M&K V125

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 19, 2005]
Dmax
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Ignorance destroys wonderful things!

I've listen to this sub for 2 and a half years now and it only sounds better and better.I've taken a little time over the years to learn how to properly use subs and suggest many others do same and you will realize that half of the subs many are bashing are better than you"ll ever know if you use them properly.Ignorance can destroy something truly wonderful.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 19, 2004]
twister3233@aol.com
Casual Listener

Strength:

Build quality, sound, all the stuff that matters

Weakness:

Not an boom box

I found this to be a very nice sub. It is very good for music listening in a medium sized room, and does an excellent job for what it is intended. It does require some tweaking, but the results can be breathtaking. I find it unfortunate that this sub gets some bad reviews for not being a ground shaker. It isn't designed for that. If you are thinking of buying a sub, spend the money and get what you need. Please do not spend $250 for a sub and leave trashy reviews when it doesn't rattle things like a $1200 sub. If you are an average listener in an average sized room, you cannot do much better for the money than this Polk. I probably would not recommend it for loud home theater. It does seem to run out of power on sustained bass notes at high volumes, or it bottoms out the cone. If you want to rattle the neighbors dishes, look elsewhere. If you are a serious music listener, definatly look into this one.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 18, 2003]
Richard
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

great for music

Weakness:

crappy for movies.

Was happy with it at first, sounds great with music. But it is constaly popping when i play moves. So i have to turn it way down.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 11, 2003]
Guy
AudioPhile

Strength:

Good bass for the bucks (at the new reduced price of around $350 CDN)

Weakness:

Overdrives.

I had this sub for over a year. Generally when set up correctly this sub can produce room shaking bass for both music and movies. Sometimes the bass was muddy though and not tight. Also, when set to the level that I like it, overdrive occurs periodically. It has produced a cracking noise on a number of occasions which is a shock to the system especially after drinking great quantities of beer. This means that the voicecoil is leaving the slot that it should be travelling in. It can't be doing the sub any good either. I replaced with a Velodyne 12" and I am very happy with it. See my review under the CHT-12.

Similar Products Used:

Velodyne

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 09, 2003]
themurph1018
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very loud for music, Works great for movies at first

Weakness:

Bottoms-out frequently, No tuning control, Overall an inferior product for the money

This is a second review on the unit. I placed a review on it prematurely when I first got it. It was the first subwoofer I had ever heard so I probably gave a real dumb review on it. Now being more experienced I'm finding out that the sub is very poor for the money. It has been bottoming out alot lately and I can barely hear it sometimes because I have to turn it down too much to prevent bottoming out the driver. Seemed great at first but I'd say to anyone interested in this sub, save your money and get an SVS. I payed $350 for my PSW350 and If I would've saved about $200 more for an SVS then I wouldnt have this problem.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 01, 2003]
sam46
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Nice sub for music. Nice price.

Weakness:

cheezy spring loaded speaker connecters

I use this sub for two channel stereo only, not home theater. It isn't an earth shaking boom box, but if you adjust it right, it dissapears into the music and makes a very tight natural bass. Very musical and blends very well with the my Paradigms. It really brings deep percussion instruments into the room with you. If you want to rattle the neighbors, you might try something else, but this is a very nice sub for the serious listener with an average to large size room. I'm keeping this one for a long time.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 03, 2003]
Dan Lowe
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

It will do the job as long as you don't mind changing the volume, and possibly settling for less than you want.

Weakness:

Can't handle loud,sharp,noise.

I'm using the PSW350 for my Home Theater. I noticed that I was hearing a loud popping noise when a loud sudden passage played on a DVD (such as depth charges on U571). I'm using a Yamaha 5250 HTR with 100 watts per channel so power shouldn't be an issue. I finally turned the volume to a little below the 10 o'clock position to stop the popping. This is lower than I like ... and I have to turn it up to listen to music. I'm disappointed, all things considered. It's not likely I'll buy Polk Audio again.

Similar Products Used:

Boston Acoustics

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 56  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com