Paradigm Reference Servo 15 Subwoofers

Servo 15

User Reviews (99)

Showing 1-10 of 99  
Willland   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 01, 2011]

Picked up (2) of the Paradigm Servo 15a's two months ago from a local seller on c-list for a crazy low price. I bought (1) to keep and (1) to sell and could not be more pleased with the performance. I am using it with a Klipsch RF-63 HT system and with a Klipsch RSW-10d sub. Using the X-30 crossover and many days and hours of tweeking and placement changes, I got this baby just about dialed perfectly into my system. Crossover for the Servo 15a is set at 40Hz on the X-30 and the RSW-10d is set at 80Hz on my NAD T773 receiver. The RSW-10d is punchy and fast while the Servo 15a is deep and clean. Great combination in my room.

I am very pleased with the Servo 15a with both HT and music and really would like to keep the other one but promised my wife I would liquidate to recoupe funds from initial purchase. I am afraid to run all three at one time because I might just go back on my word and not sell.

Bill

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ebertdw   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2007]
Strength:

DEEP, POWERFUL, BOTOMLESS BASS DOWN TO 17 HZ OR SO. ACCURACY & INAUDIBLE DISTORTION LEVELS. BIG, THOUGH ATTRACTIVE CABINET.

Weakness:

ONE BIG MAMMA JAMMA. GIVE IT SOME ROOM TO BREATHE, TAKE MEASURMENTS.

It's been said that as a rule of thumb, any audio product that can accurately reproduce music, will have little difficulty sounding great for home theater. That is largely true for the Paradigm Reference Servo-15. But, is it worth the extra money to include in your home theater? Considering the large amound of music included on so many of todays movie soundtracks, my conclusion is a resounding yes!

The unbelievable accuracy and lifelike sonic purity of this sub will astound you. In the price range of $1500 to $5000 home subwoofers, this is the one to buy. Ten stars.

Customer Service

PARADIGM IS A SUPERB COMPANY WITH OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Similar Products Used: PARADIGM SUBS, PARADIGM REFERENCE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mjorgensen   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 15, 2006]
Strength:

When not over driven the bass is second to none!

Weakness:

Damn heavy while your place checking or un packing.

I started out with the bass from a suite of Definitive 2002's in my HT so I felt that I needed a big jump to get better not more bass in my 23x16 ft theater. I struck a deal for three of these and placed them in the room. First let me tell you that the others are correct, nothing sounds good in the wrong location. I tryed multiple placements and used the x30's to try to tie it all togather and never really was happy. In the end I found the best place for mine were across the front of the screen and the center channel above them. I use the Def techs bass only on the 1/4 turn rule for the mid bass. After that I let the Servos work there magic. With the levels right and the distance from the frt wall at 42" they have a smooth and powerfull response. I don't need to overdrive them because I have enough pressure from the woofers so the bass is TIGHT.
I have had movies with bass that you never even knew was there scare the hell out of guests. And if you want really big grins just throw in the begining of "The Inside Man" and your vision will blur just a bit with the bass that most will never even hear!
I have tryed other subs over the years but this has to be one of the best all around enjoyable setups I have ever encountered.

Customer Service

Had one amp start humming and the store I bought from was a service center. They sent a tech to my house diaged the problem ordered the parts and came back to install them for less than $50 Not bad in my book.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne and Boston Acoustic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mikey   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2004]
Strength:

Speed, agility, sheer output.

Weakness:

None

Wonderous and amazing subwoofer. Previously had a SVS 20-39 and was convinced by a dealer to take this home and try it. Walked, no stomped on the SVS in HT and in music. What had been a blob of low bass energy all of a sudden became notes NOTES! People that own these know just how good they are. Doubtful you could do better without having to spend much more money.

Similar Products Used: SVS 20-39 KSW-12 Mission AS700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Whitesahara   Audio Enthusiast [May 14, 2003]
Strength:

Beauty, and smooth bass response at frequencies below 20hrz. Plenty of power for any home application.

Weakness:

Requires quite a bit of space. No XLR in, only RCA. That is not typlical of other Paradigm Active Referance cabinets!!

What a sub!! 15" Servo, 400w RMS, and beautiful at the same time. Mine is the gloss cherry finish. My listening room is not very big, maybe 12' x 17', the sub pounds. No audiable distortion, and contrary to some other reveiws I've read, I can not hear the servo. The sealed encloser offers a nice tight bass response. I am very impressed with this sub cabinet so far. Coupled with 4 Paradigm Active 450 L/R, 2 Paradigm Active 20's and an Active CC, the system sounds awesome.

Similar Products Used: Only pro audio subs, Turbo Sound, Yamaha Servo, Adamson B218's, and S218s.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mhconley   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 17, 2003]
Strength:

Speed, subtlety when needed, output when demanded, looks.

Weakness:

None!

I have had my Servo-15 in my home theater for almost 3 years now. The sub has performed flawlessly in all that time. It never draws attention to itself when used in to add low end grunt to my Studio 40's but can rumble the walls when setting and the movie demands it. A perfect companion to the Studio 40's; the Servo 15 blends seamlessly when listening to rock, vocals, jazz, or classical. Set a little more forward through my THX receiver this beast can rumble the walls and kick you in the chest during movies like The Matrix. I have the Light Cherry veneer which works very nicely with the Studio 40's and our high end entertainment center of the same finish. I would not hesitate to buy this sub again!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  AudioPhile [Feb 01, 2003]
Strength:

Servo 15 is built very heavy, but servo,s came from the Velodyne Company. After the fun and games with Paradigm S 15. Buy the Velodyne they have anti-clipping and excurion protection. They have the better voice coilengineering. Yes the Servo 15 is less money than a good Velodyne. I got suck in by the ADS. If they don't let you set it up at home move on. Looks pretty sounds nice when not screwed up.

Weakness:

I think I said just about all I can say, When a rep comes to your home and says if it doesn't work now it must be your equiment. Well Bryston BP20 new - Bryston 4BST new Cables Mit or Monster Problem Yea. Now on a 1 day old new Simaudio I-3 I don't thinks something is wrong here. What every make servo 15 work x-30 or this my guess. After calling factory about 10 time the Tech man told me he was working on 4 unit in factory with same problem. The X-30 I have tried alot of setings and you always have to get up and adjust control for bass. From Krell cd to Magnum dynlab ft101 Etude Limited edition I found this not audiophile suitable. Also the unit is too light,not safe very easy to break or damaged other equiment.

Last review Sept/2002 Paradigm Reference Servo 15. It was in for repairs 3 times, not very much fun. I could not get my money back from Sound Advice, they have no pick up for service which SUCKS. There is no way to talk with owners or management of Paradigm,about my problems with servo 15. This is very poor customer service for such a suppose HI-END world learder in speakers. If this were Bryston You get the top Guys that day or they will call you at home and fix the problem. Not me I got a sales Rep Mr. Pierre after many calls to factory, and going do to my dealer who did not shoot strait with me. My first unit had a S.N. #16620# when the Rep came to my home he said they would replace it with new unit, the S.N. #16345# which is not new it is -275 in the old run. If it were new the serial numbers should be going up not down. Also My first Servo 15 on back before the serial number on left hand side starts with servo 15 #16620# My replacement was servo 15A #16345# . I Just notice it today when I went to make up new connections for my new Simaudio I-3 integated amp. This speaker for last five months at random making pop pop noises when subs rear Vol. is set at low setting. I am using spike & serge protector. It Not the Simaudio it's 1 day old, There is a review date april 22 ,2002 on servo about same happening. Last but not least when the area Rep for Paradigm brought this so called new unit to my home why was the cherry wood veneer on top left corner blemished. That is not what I payed for a factory second. This company is known for selling factory 2nds,but at reduce price and the customer knowns. Well I am stuck with it, but I who have my complete surround system by paradigm. And my reference 40 v.2 will never in hell recommend buying this product. Satisfaction is every ones job Yes you Mr. President of the company or Designers or Engineers. You have lost by business, you could learn from bryston it's not ads that sell people, it is one happy customer at a time.

Similar Products Used: Veloydne
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
GKS   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 2002]
Strength:

The Servo 15 Sub delivers very tight bass for both home theater and CD bass signals. It also delivers bass with no noticeable distortion unless of course you crank the pre-set maximum level until your house starts to come apart at the seams. For home theater, it delivers explosions, helicopters, tanks at absolutely thundering levels that often hit you in the chest. It's like watching many movies for the first time. It has no trouble delivering short, intense bass signals or drawn out, multiple signals. A superior product to anything else I looked at and excellent value for the money.

Weakness:

It does weight 90lbs and hence will likely require assistance in installing it. I also recommend you double screw wallboard on the ceilings and walls if you're building a home theater from scratch. I haven't found any other weaknesses yet.

The Paradigm Servo 15 Sub is an excellent sub and well worth the investment. For the money, its one of the few subs that delivers sub-25 hz signals with such clarity and power.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JAY MACLEAN   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 28, 2002]
Strength:

IT HIT THE LOWS LIKE NO OTHER AND WITH THE X-30 IS IS A VERY VERSATILE SUB WITH NO LIMITS.

Weakness:

NONE OTHER THAN IT IS SO LOUD I CAN ONLY PLAY IT A 1/4 VOLUME OR I CAN WAKE UP EVERYONE IN THE HOUSE.

I HAVE LISTENED TO ALOT OF SUB, BUT THIS ONE ROCKS MY HOUSE. I WATCH ALOT OF MOVIES AND EVERYTIME THERE IS A EXPLOSION I CAN FEEL THE FLOOR SHAKE, HEAR MY GLASS ON THE WALL UNIT RATTLE AND FEEL THE BASS IN MY CHEST. THIS SUB IS THE BEST AND FOR $1500.00 YOU CAN'T BE THAT.

Similar Products Used: NOTHING IS CLOSE TO THIS SUB NOT EVEN PSB OR VELODYNE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  AudioPhile [Sep 25, 2002]
Strength:

Well at 90 lbs it is built to hold the massive 15 inch woofer & power amp & transformer. LOOKS good in real wood. Great value for our friends in the US. You don't have to buy any thing to set up unit a play it.

Weakness:

IT'S not a perfect world and it may not be Paradigm fault. HO the 90 lbs is hard on my back.

Hi to all you loves of the servo -15, first day home toroidal transformer humming loud. Note this is a 2002 sept unit. well they fixed that problem with a transformer padding kit. that same night 1hour in mozart pop pop out of woofer. Note volume less than half on servo 15. Next day some more light music one hour in to the music pop pop out of woofer. Called paradigm told tech man Tomas what was going on. He stated he has seen this problem ,woofer and amp wound have to back to factory. Well you know it's 90 lbs more fun and games, back for the second time. Days later they have found no problems which is good. Now they can put unit back together for the last time. This is important because in a sealed enclosure NO AIR must get in. Unless you want the no control approach, which is the vented PW-2200. I think air in the servo 15 wound kill the voice-coil. Well now they want to test the X 30 and little power supply. From reading all reviews,it could be power spikes in my building. Which can be solved by a fifty dollars surge peak protector as one person found. My guess it needs to be get one wall out let 15 amps all for it's self. Well Iwill kept you posted. No some audio people are giving the servo 15 a bad rap . They are notpleased with the Bass. WellONE BIG PROBLEM is always the size of the room, and the stuff in it. Lets just say the like hard felling loud rock bass they pick a bass relex unit. Just like the ones that come with air wholes in them to let the speaker make music sound waves both front and back. Yes this beats the servo systems out their. But the distortion is really high, it's ok for ht and todays rap, rock etc. But if you love nice stereo equiment, you want acoustic refinement in a sub woofer. The servo systems are in my mine the lowest in distortion by as much as 10%. when it is compared to lets say the paradigm PW-2200 the servo 15 is by fare more refined. I myself well test it on the Pioneer VSX 47 TX a really good piece of equiment to test the servo 15 in HT. You see people like myself are looking for a HI-END unit that is going to play with stuff. Like Krell CD, PRE, AMP, or maybe the SPECTRAL PRE, or 2 POWER AMPS. I also like Aragon or Bryston pre & amp. The Fact is when you put the servo 15 in with this equiment like my Martin Logans Request. You need a very clean very fast responsive Sub, one you can ad

Similar Products Used: Velodyne hgs-15 $2499 us dollars
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 99  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com