Paradigm Reference PDR-12 Subwoofers

PDR-12

User Reviews (40)

Showing 1-10 of 40  
nic   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2016]

Home | Reviews | Subwoofers | Accurate Sound Wave

Accurate Sound Wave Cantius AS 412 Subwoofers
4/5 (1 Reviews)
WRITE A REVIEW


WHERE TO BUY
SPECIFICATIONS
Product Description
A real power pack, with its 450 watts of music power, the subwoofer provides a deeply going volume level and an amazing bass in an attractive cabinet. The llows a frequency response of 24 Hz The music is noticeable and every action film production offers exciting pleasure. ,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Erik   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2010]

I'm not sure when I got my PDR 12 but it is absolutely fabulous! Amazing deep tight bass. I use it with the Paradigm X20 crossover with phase adjustment and paradigm Titan speakers. This sub-woofer is huge in sound. I also have a pdr 8 on another system and it is just as awesome. Paradigm have really got it nailed down with this sub. Great boom for your buck!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marcin   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 21, 2007]

Hello
I`m wondering If somebody have diagram or pattern to amplifier from subwoofer PARADIGM PDR 12 V3. I have little problem with this , because my amplifier burned and nobody can repair it without this diagram. I would be grateful for your help. My mail is karino@interia.eu .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marcin   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 21, 2007]

Hello
I`m wondering If somebody have diagram or pattern to amplifier from subwoofer PARADIGM PDR 12 V3. I have little problem with this , because my amplifier burned and nobody can repair it without this diagram. I would be grateful for your help. My mail is karino@interia.eu .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sdavis   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 18, 2003]
Strength:

-Deep, smooth bass -Excellent musicality -Disappears from the soundstage, blending with the main speakers well -Plastic feet make it easy to slide around for placement. -Terrifyingly powerful -Classy look, but kind of plain I'm rating it two 5/5s because at this level of audio, it's the best I've heard.

Weakness:

-No-nonsense design with no removable grille, no phase control, no sub output, speaker clips instead of 5-way posts. -Kind of plain looking (I have the black model, not one of the nicer veneers)

I bought this Paradigm sub after shopping around for a good period of time. Despite its lack of a sub output to add a second sub, and the relatively modest connections and bells and whistles on the rear panel, I was won over by its depth, musicality, and sound quality. I knew I was buying possibly the best sub for the price, but I had no idea just how good it would be matched with my system. This sub has literally made my entire system sound better, its musicality blending perfectly with my mixed bag of other speakers. Its power terrifies me, as I can almost knock stuff off the walls at mere half power. I've never been over 60% on the gain, and I'm afraid to even try it! Movie soundtracks sound great and hit hard, and the sub never chokes, even with the most abusive bass sounds. Music sounds great. The sub brings out the more subtle parts of bass guitar that I had missed with my earlier sub, and even with my Boston subs in my car, which used to be my real reference system. I would recommend this sub to anyone looking for the best quality bang for the buck. I'm nothing less than totally happy with this purchase, and I can't imagine replacing this sub. I spent $200 on my first Sony sub, and $350 on this one, and the $150 has made all the difference in the world. Honestly, this sub is so much better that it could sell for hundreds more.

Similar Products Used: Sony 12" Sub (SAWM-40 or something like that.)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SBIGYNK   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2003]
Strength:

PLASTIC FETT ON BOTTOM MAKES IT EASIER TO MOVE ALONG CARPET. BIG SOUND FOR LITTLE PRICE AS COMPARED TO THOSE THOUSAND DOLLAR ONES. GOOD AND TIGHT.

Weakness:

NONE SO FAR

GREAT SUB FOR THE PRICE. BROUGHT HOME THE PDR-10 BUT WASNT TO HAPPY WITH IT, WANTED SOMETHING LOWER AND LOUDER AND I GOT JUST THAT.VERY POWERFUL AND LOOKS VERY NICE. GOT THIS TO REPLACE MY VELODYNE CT-120 GOD SUB ALSO BUT A LITTLE TOO PUNCHY AND A LITTLE LOOSE.

Similar Products Used: VELODYNE
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike B   AudioPhile [Apr 02, 2003]
Strength:

Very tight and fast response, incredible clean range down to (and sometimes below) 20Hz, very loud

Weakness:

...uhhh.....it can't fly?

After one of my Cerwin Vega subs blew for the second time, i decided to look elseware instead of paying $250+ and waiting 3 months for it to be repaired. Paradigm and Velodyne were my two choices since Mirage were out of my price range. Velodyne isn't as tight and was too big. Paradigm is incredible with it's relatively small box, very very tight and clean response, incredible ability to go down to 20Hz (sometimes i think lower...) with quality sound, and shear volume. It's an incredible subwoofer for the price. Since it's made in Canada there is no additional costs to bringing it over the boarder. The price listed is in Canadian dollars. Very sweet sub. Highly recommended. So in the end I bought two PDR-12 subs. My twins :)

Similar Products Used: Cerwin Vega LW-12, Kenwood 8", Velodyne CHT-12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rsaavedr   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2002]
Strength:

Awesome power, quite flat a response at this price, hence amazing value

Weakness:

None

I bought the PDR-12 to complement the rest of my HT system which has Titans as fronts, CC-170 as center, and recently Atoms as rear speakers. I made some measurements in my living room using an LFE frequency pan in the AVIA calibration DVD, a Radio Shack volume meter, and my Marantz SR-4000 as the receiver. With the crossover of this sub set to around 140Hz (almost all the way to the right) I got a response of 70dB +/- 2dB all the way from 35Hz to 70Hz. This is amazingly flat for such a powerful and relatively inexpensive sub. I found it consistent with some reviews that claim flatness between 25 and 90Hz with a +/-3dB margin: http://www.paradigm.ca/Website/SiteParadigmProduct/PReviews/Paradigm/HomeTheater/HT_Phtm_CC170_ADP170_PDR12.pdf Most importantly, the narrower flatness below 70Hz is particularly convenient given the also well known flat responses +/-2 dB of the Titans and Atoms from 70Hz up: http://www.audio-ideas.com/reviews/titan.html http://www.paradigm.ca/Website/SiteParadigmProduct/PReviews/Paradigm/Soundstage/SST_Atom.pdf Well all of this flatness techno talk just means, the PDR-12 is excellent both for music and HT, it blends amazingly well with these other Paradigm speakers, and it should blend very well with any speaker because of its flatness and adjustable crossover. With the crossover at lower values, for instance at 80Hz, the response plateau shrinks as you would expect, it becomes flat still within +/-2dB only between 35 and 55Hz. The volume of the sub goes down the more you reduce the crossover value, so the volume knob of the sub has to be adjusted manually accordingly, depending on what level of the crossover you choose. All in all excellent subwoofer.

Similar Products Used: Some Sony subwoofers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ken   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

plays loud and low

Weakness:

Took many weeks to tweak level and crossover settings-probably caused by my corner placement

Great sub and a GREAT VALUE at $400.00 US.If you can't afford a better sub buy this and be happy. It's hard to overdrive or bottom out,not too boomy,plays MORE than loud enough for your average listening room.TIP-pull sub out into room when adjusting levels, a foot or two can suddenly lock in the bass you need and love. As Tom Nousaine says "Once you've heard deep,clean bass there's no going without it". AN EXCELLENT VALUE,you'd have to spend $600-$700 to top it! I'm using it with 3 LCR-350's and ADP-170 dipoles (all by Paradigm) and I'm extremly happy with BOTH music and video performance.Buy this sub,and put the money you saved into some DVD;s.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne 10" sub(junk! amp blew in less than 1 year-poor quality control)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex Trcka   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2000]
Strength:

Excelent price vs value

Weakness:

no phase adjustment, single pre-amp input

This sub is an great piece of equipment and for the price I paid ($369) it can't be beat! It plays lower than any other sub in it's price range that I've heard and can do it fairly loud. The only real problem is that there is no phase adjustment control, which may slightly limit placement options. On the whole, though, Paradigm has put together a great sub at a very good price.

Similar Products Used: AR s112-ps, Infinity BU-120
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com