NHT Sub One Subwoofers

Sub One

10" Driver - 250 Watt Sunfire Amp/Separate contoller

User Reviews (37)

Showing 1-10 of 37  
hkusuma   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2010]

I just need to know if someone out there have the NHT Subone Subwoofer Controller available for sale, I may be able to use one if reasonable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
KLIPSCH SPEAKERS   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 27, 2006]
Strength:

BASS IS STRONG AND ACCURATE

Weakness:

NONE

I ORDERED MY KLIPSCH KSW12 ON FRIDAY AND I RECEIVED IT ON TUESDAY. ARRIVAL WAS SUPERFAST. I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE PRICE OF THE SUB AND THE WAY THAT IT SOUNDED WITH MY KLIPSCH KSF 10.5's.THE ONLY SUB I HAVE EVER HAD FOR MY HOME WAS A KENWOOD WITH A 10 INCH SPEAKER IN IT AND THAT SUB DOES NOT COMPARE WITH THE SOUND OF MY KLIPSCH.JUST LAST NIGHT WE WERE WATCHING A MOVIE AND TWO PEOPLE COMPLAINED TO THE LANDLORD ABOUT THE BASS COMING FROM MY LIVING ROOM AND WE DON'T EVEN LIVE IN AN APARTMENT. ITS A TOWNHOUSE AND NONE OF THEM ARE EVEN CONNECTED!

Similar Products Used: KENWOOD 10 INCH SUB
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Noonin   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2002]
Strength:

Great tight, seamless bass, very cool control box. All parts seem very well made.

Weakness:

Not nuts about the piano black finish, would have preferred a wood grain type

This is my first sub, so I don't have alot to compare to. All I can say is this thing sounds great! I have a room that is a little boomy, but this thing has no problem with it, sounding clean and tight. That goes for HT as well as music, which I had my doubts about until I plugged it in. It totally disappears into the room to the point that I have a hard time remembering it's on and where it is. For HT, it rattles the windows in the BACK of my house! The controller is a great little gadget that lets you dial up just how much bass you want. When I brought it home, my wife thought it would be just another expensive toy I bought, but once she heard it, she loved it and agreed just how valuable a good sub is to a system. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
acizmar   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2002]
Strength:

Clean power and sound, flexibility, quality and convenience (the outboard controller is wonderful)

Weakness:

Only goes down to 25Hz

Crisp. Clean. Powerful. That's a fair 3 word summary of the Subone. This unit has been a true joy to own this past year. Everything about unit has been first rate: packaging, set-up, quality, and sound. The outboard controller not only looks cool on top of my NAD amp, but it's oh-so handy when tweaking, as I am prone to do at times. The variety of connection options ensures that I will be able to use this sub with whatever equipment I choose. The 16" cube sports a beautiful high-gloss finish consistent with other NHT models. Musically, I've found it to be very transparent and quick. I've always felt that the bigger subs (12" or 15") can get too boomy and thus unnatural to my ears. However, this is not the case with the Subone. It's 10" driver, powered by a tight Sunfire amp, has proven to be very appropriate for my listening levels and musical tastes. It has also proved to be punchy (250W) enough to handle the dynamic peaks of my home theatre selections. I've found that I do not need to set the volume very high to obtain a full sound, however, some may prefer a more dominant presence. I like my sub to provide a low-end fill and the Subone has integrated quite well into my all-Mission set up. In all, the Subone provides flexibly, quality and true fidelity at a reasonable price. I found a stellar deal ($400 delivered), but even at a much higher price, this would be a solid unit.

Similar Products Used: Polk, Velodyne, PSB, Infinity,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Abex   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2002]
Strength:

Build Quality +Control Box +Manf.Booklet +Magic of Bottom Octaves of Bass

Weakness:

-Wish it went down to 20Hz. -There is another way of hooking it up that is needed in my case!

Subonei Well I have to say this was a great upgrade or in my case update! Have been doing research for someone getting an AV system and have been in need of a new Subwoofer since a flood, due to an Ice Storm that damaged a Jamo Sub I used to help out with a set of Magnepan1.6''''s and PSB 40MKII''''s. Magnepans are very particular to subs so I needed to be careful in my selection of a subwoofer! Had heard Paradigm''''s & B&W''''s and they were good also!The over riding decision was based on the features that the sub had to offer and the price paid.When I ran across the price when doing research and read the reviews here I had to try it.I had my reservations,but after setting it up and listening to selective recordings that I use I was throughly impressed.The features are a definite plus that made intergration painless.The Control Unit makes adjusting a simple matter no matter what you might need to do!I could have bought the Paradigm PDR-12 for the same price and having the same specs ,but no controller.Could bought the Subonei in NH aslo for $600.So It is a steal!I thought that AUDIOSHOPPER might put me on a waiying list,but they had it to me in 2 days(Triple Boxed).Another friend getting a Velodyne has been waiting 2 weeks after ordering. For some reason after setting up the system with a run of Straight Wire for Installation Connection Method #1 in the manual the soundsatge became wider than I could previously experienced using a recording I use to test.That is one for the experts to tell me as to why that happend(Wires , Control Box or Sub?). The Sub is a pleasure to hear doing it''''s magic .Was able to hear the seperate octaves of base with the PSB''''s or Maggies! Bootomline is if you truly need to go to 20Hz. then spend the extra $200-$500 on a Velodyne,Paradigm or M&K.If you just want quality sound and can live with a little less Depth and need the Dexterity of the Outboard Controller then it might be right for you! Equiptment Used Rotel RC-960 Pre-Amp B&K ST-202 Amp (Modified by SoundUnlimited Bristol,CT.) Phillips CD-60 CD-Player Phillips Cass. Deck Dual CS-5000 Turntable -------------- Magnepan 1.6''''s PSB 40MKII''''s --------------- Monster Ref.II Interconnect-(CD-Pre) AQ Ruby Interconnect-(Sub-Pre) Straight Wire-(Sub-Amp) AQ Blue Indigo-(Amp-Spkrs) ---------------- 300 CD''''s 2000 LP''''s Classical

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jerry   Casual Listener [May 08, 2002]

nice sounding sub(Subonei),and costumer service was great ,called me back next day at specified time to help with a connection issue.easy to understand manual.controler is seperate from sub for easy access. i''m happy with this purchase.the bass sound is natural. my stuff:onkyo494 receiver cerwin vega e-312 front cerwin vega center e 76 mitsu 47 in. wide screen

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
worldcupjerry   Casual Listener [May 08, 2002]
Strength:

12 in.,250 watts,

i like this purchase very much.the Subonei sounds great,and the controler is seperate from the sub itself.you can adjust the sub from the front and not have to reach around the sub. the owners manual is easy to read.costumer service was unbelievable.a rep called me the next day when he was able to get a engineer to help me with a connection problem.bass sounds very good and natural and goes well with my full size cerwin vegas fronts and center.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
berserker   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 12, 2002]
Strength:

A. Sound quality B. Ergonomics - separate controller - Sweet! C. Placement versatility D. That polished black piano laquer finish - high WAF quotient ;-)

Weakness:

The cost for 3 long, quality RCA cables from the AVR to the controller

Now that I''ve got 40-50 hours break-in time on the AVR and speakers, here goes... I highly recommend the NHT SubOnei (the 2002 12" model). It''s a 12" ported enclosure with a Sunfire licenced 250W(rms?) amp. I auditioned the Hsu Research 12" VTF-2 at a friend''s home and the 9"(?) Sunfire at a dealer. Of these two, the Sunfire underwhelmed me (even at half it''s price) and the VTF-2 was about equal in sound (Wife-Acceptance-Factor was not good on the enclosure). The SubOnei brings a very cool approach to powered sub design. Instead of having gains, crossovers, etc. on the back of the speaker box, NHT has put the line-level stuff into a separate controller, and connects this to the amp/speaker enclosure via a supplied 18'' RCA cable. what this allowed me to do was put the controller next to my recliner to fine-tune the low end gain & crossover frequency as needed (yep, really miss that groping around the back of a sub enclosure to change settings). But what''s REALLY nice is that the controller has separate inputs and gain controls for L+R (from the AVR''s preout) and the LFE (from the AVR''s subout) channels which can be hooked up at the same time! This gives me the flexibility to tailor the sub''s response to either provide low-end reenforcement for my mains when playing 2-channel material, or dial in the LFE for movies - all without having to get my butt out of the lounger! Subjectively, the SubOnei gave up nada to the VTF-2 in the 23-35Hz range. It''s always tight, and not a bit flabby up through 80Hz which is as high as I set my low-pass crossover. The other gear: Onkyo TX-DS898 AVR, a TV, a DVD, a couple stereo VCRs, and a CD changer. The speakers are B&W DM604_S3s up front, an LCR600 in the center, four DM600_S3s around the back, and the SubOnei. As far as J&R (Darrell @ x1056), factory warranty, shipping was fair and reasonable, packing was ''zero damage'' professional, and it was delivered when expected. And I sent a NY business my dollars...

Similar Products Used: Hsu Research VTF-2 The small (9"?) Sunfire Infinity ?L120
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
thereds   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 06, 2002]
Strength:

Tight bass, quite deep, good price, Nice look

Weakness:

None so far

I am reviewing on SunOne i(12" version).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2000]
Strength:

A very powerfull, clean, deep sounding sub(at an afourdable price).

Weakness:

The controll box broke.


Acourding to AudioPerfection (a fine store where i bought my equipment) there is a loose connection in the controll box. Along with equipment problems, NHT has been slow shipping me a new bow(over a month now). Its a great sub for the price.

I suggest a Carver True Sunfire for home theater and a good
REL for music.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com