Mission 70as Subwoofers

70as

The Mission 70as active subwoofer system: -10 inch driver reflex loaded, 40 litre effective volume enclosure -Cross-over frequency 40Hz - 180Hz -Frequency response ±3dB 50Hz to 20kHz -100W integral high performance amplifier -Finished in Black Ash

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
The Spatula   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 08, 2004]
Strength:

Tight bass at a cheap price, not too large good size for hiding.

Weakness:

Needs to to be turned way up to get decent response, tends to chauf and bottom out during complicated passages, If you have a problem, YOU ARE STUCK, AUTHORIZED DEALER OR NOT!!!!! Sub standard build quality

I own several mission products and have never been dissapointed until now. I have owned the 700ASI for over a year and from day one this sub had issues. The build quality is shody with grill popping off very easily and taking one of the clamps with it. The amp section has an annoying hum, not loud just noticable if you are listening for it. Its auto shut off does not work, it remains on all of the time. Denon basically tells me fat chance we do not deal with Mission anymore so you are SOL. The sound is OK for $299.00, but not when you look at its retail of $499.99. During movies with very complicated multilayered bass sequences, such as the opening scene of SW/II Attack of the Clones you could hear audible chauffing during the explosions. This tends to happen when pushing the system during any explosion scene. To get well defined bass you must turn it up to 3/4's of it's full capabilities. Overall a real disappointment.

Similar Products Used: M&K, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Scott Callaghan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2002]
Strength:

Great bass...down low its unbelievable...worth twice what I paid

Weakness:

None that I can think of

I read a shootout on subwoofers in a Stereoreview Mag. The Mission sub ranked as one of the best buys for $500. Considering I paid $500 Canadian its an even better buy. I love this sub. Not boomy at all,goes deep when needed, sounds tight on the upper bass. Great sub

Similar Products Used: Bose(junk)...Quest(bigger junk), JBL(not junk...lol)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
James Cook   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2002]
Strength:

crisp, clean bass, quality construction

Weakness:

none as of yet

I just recently purchased a 700asi after returning a pathetic Paradigm PS1200 (unit failure). Since my local shop only carries Paradigm and Mission, I thought I would give Mission a try, and I was very, very pleased. The bass is crisp and clean, very defined. It supplies a full range of bass and does it consistantly. This is the first Mission product I have owned and will gladly purchase more of their fine products in the furure.

Similar Products Used: Infinity, Klipsch, Paradigm(failure)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity, wonderful construction, quality

Weakness:

none yet

The unit I have is the 700asi, since there is no section for this unit I posted it here, like others did. I previously owned a Paradigm PS1200, and Im sorry to say that it was the worst product Ive ever owned. After only a week the unit stopped functioning and since my local shop sells only Paradigm and Mission I thought I would give Mission a try and thank goodness I did. The bass is crisp, clear, and a pleasure to listen to. Do yourself a favor and give Mission a try like I did and you will be very satisfied.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm PS1200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Viker1   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 26, 2002]
Strength:

Solid bass, clarity, and enhanced performance

Weakness:

none as of yet

Firstly, the unit that I purchased is the 700ASi, and not the 70as; since this catagory is a cross between both. The finish and appearance of this subwoofer is great. The base produced is very clean and solid, to the point were it enhanced my speaker system to definate degree, allowing for a fuller and not to mention deeper sound. I have only turned the output up to 50%, seeing as anything above that is just too over-powering, but then again its all a matter of preference. I did not encountered any pop when the unit goes into auto turn off mode, I assume this issue has been rectified by Mission. Overall I am very satisfied and pleased with the performance of the unit.

Similar Products Used: B&W Dual channel sub-woofer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bluefish43035   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2002]
Strength:

Size to sound ratio.

Weakness:

None

I love the sub. Before I start I have to say this catagory is pretty screwed up. I think that there are reviews in here for at least three different types of subwoofers. After checking the box, I DO HAVE A 70AS. The low frequency sound produced from this sub is incredible. I bought it so that my teeth would rattle during movies. They do!! The crossover and volume control allow me to adjust the system to the size of the room and my other speakers. The size is small enough to fit almost anywhere in my room.

Similar Products Used: Sony sub woofer. The Sony did not produce clear sound.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Craig   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 2000]
Strength:

Low cost, low distortion, very natural bass extension without getting too boomy. Bass has a harmonically transparent quality not usually found in economical subs. Capable of outstanding performance for the cost if used with the right cable setup.

Weakness:

Not the last word in concussive impact but at the cost, who cares? Annoying "pop" when automatically shutting off, often in the middle of your movie. It will turn back on if a signal is present again, however. Still, it's a pain.

First of all, I double checked and the specs above are correct. Direct radiating bass driver is 10" and the amp is 100 watts. Inputs are right and left stereo inputs and Mission supplies a cheap y-connector to run it with a single sub cable for HT. Spike feet are also provided.

This sub has been an interesting experience for me. It's primarily used as a bass effects sub for a Dolby Digital HT system made up of Mission 700 series speakers, and in its current state, makes a great sub for reinforcing the bottom end of my 774's for regular music listening, particularly accoustic instrumentals and jazz.
This sub is not an earth shaker, but it's not a lightweight performer, either. Its direct radiating, side-mounted driver design allows users to aim the bass output directly toward the listening area and not into the floors or walls. This makes it more condo/apartment neighbor friendly than most other designs in its price range. At least no one's complained yet.

One annoying aspect of its operation is that it's got one of those automatic signal sensing on/off switches. This means the sub will issue an annoying pop if, during the course of your movie, bass effects aren't fed to it about every four or five minutes. It would have been nice if Mission would have added a selector switch for users to defeat this function and manually turn off the sub, or at least lengthen the period before automatially switching off to 30 or 60 minutes.

The quality of cabling has a tremendous impact on the performance of this sub. The first cable I used was one half of an old 26-foot length of Monster Interlink 400 II stereo cable and the cheesy Mission y-connector used to connect the cable at the sub end. It was okay, nothing great, but it was a cheap sub so I was satisfied if not exactly thrilled.

On the advice from a friend, I replaced the Interlink 400 II with a 6-meter long Monster Interlink 201 sub cable with the t-connector that comes with the Monster cable, again at the sub end. Bass tightened up some and seemed to be more forceful and a bit faster.

Encouraged by those results, I decided a few months ago to take a risk and purchase a pair of 20' MIT T-4 interconnects from Audio Advisor (under $50) and joined them at the receiver end with an IXOS t-adapter (a solid piece of gold plated brass with two female RCA jacks for a stereo pair of cables and one male RCS jack) which I plugged into the sub output of my Pioneer Elite A/V receiver. So now I have TWO lengths of MIT T-4 interconnects cables that carry a split mono signal to the sub. This just means there is twice as much copper running to the subs inputs, as it's still a mono signal, and the A/V receiver doesn't seem to be freaking out about the additional cable capacitance. Also there's a single Audiodyne EMI/RF trap adjacent to each cable's RCA plug at the t-adapter end with the usual MIT Terminator box at the sub end.

As with all MIT Terminator cables I've used so far, it sounded awful (no bass extension, power or slam, and very much a wimpy sounding thud-thud-thud affair) at the beginning of the break-in period.

After a month, I was stunned at the performance of this cheap little sub! It's bass output is now fuller, more dynamic and harmonically natural and every before. Quite honestly, I didn't think anything but megabuck subs were cabable of conveying any sort of musical detail or harmonic qualities to bass. It's now a good match to the incredibly fast, natural and distortion-free bottom end of the Mission 774 front speakers.

In summary, this sub is a decent value for the money. If you don't mind spending more money on a substantially better cable setup and your electronics can deal with it, this sub is capable really terrific performance. Highly recommended!


Similar Products Used: M&K, Velodyne, Sunfire, Boston.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 02, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound, clean clear, not over powering

Weakness:

None

I have the 700AS which is what is in the description above, i.e. 10 inch driver 100W. I thnk the 70AS is an 8in driver and less power. In any case, I really like the sound from this sub. I picked it up mostly to use in HT but the sound is just so good that it really makes a world of difference in music.

I have Infinity Deltas up front and center, Mission 77DS for surround and it all comes together with this sub.

The sub is easy to setup, nothing special here. I have a good size room and this baby does the job. I think the volume is up around 2-3 and it keeps up.

I got this for what I think was a really good price and I could not be happier.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bruce   [Oct 10, 2001]
Strength:

Solid bass

Weakness:

None so far

I just picked up the 70ASA model which is the 8" version and this baby is solid. I have this teamed up with a Yamaha MCR-E150 mini system and I can't believe the quality of sound from this small package. The speakers that came with the system are perfect and do have quite a bit of bass already, but I'm a bass freak and just had to get a sub since there is a subout from this mini system.
After plugging this bad boy in this system rocks! I can't even describe it, but you are not going to find a better sounding system for that price, not even a full sized system can compare to this set up for clarity and quality. By the way don't skimp out on the cables either, I used an Interlink RCA cable for the sub and monster speaker wires.

Similar Products Used: Tried out the Kenwood, Yamaha, Energy, and Polk subs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audiophile [Oct 09, 2001]
Strength:

Variable crossover

Weakness:

Loud pop from auto on/off switch, reliability (sent in three times and finally replaced with new unit)

I purchased the sub about 3 years ago. It has been sent in three times for repair and was finally replaced. I am running it with the Denon 3300 reciever and seems to work well since it was replaced this month (with a 700 ASi 10 inch 150 watts class "D" amplifier). I was not pleased with Denon's customer service as they were very difficult to get a hold of.

The sub sounds great when it is working. The loud popping sound is caused by the auto on/off switch and is very distracting during movies that don't have continuous bass output. I purchased the sub based on Denon's reputation and I am disappointed.

Similar Products Used: Klipche
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com