Mirage Loudspeakers FRx-S10 BPS Subwoofers

FRx-S10 BPS

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
ED Ortega   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2007]
Strength:

Clean low's and excellent tight bass, with a high level of construction.

Weakness:

None that I've noticed.

Bought this sub for 140$ including delivery off of ebay to replace a VX-10 that was stolen from my storage, and I glad I did as much research as I did because this sub is far superior to the sub it replaced. The FRx-10 goes deeper and handles music and especialy movies so much better than the velodyne sub, of cousre I know that both subs are not on the same level if bought new, I just needed something to compare the mirage too. Any way Great job Mirage I can't wait to try one of your newer subs. Thanks

Customer Service

They were nice enough to send me the owners manual !

Similar Products Used: Velodyne VX-10, B.I.C Ventura 12 owned and listened to verious other high level subs which listed for far more money.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
schwing_foodeater   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2003]
Strength:

I've under paid for such an excellent job in subwoofering.

Weakness:

The spring clips behind could be better, but given the price, I won't ask for more.

While scouring about for a neat sounding subwoofer because my existing ones in my room didn't really pound the oomph out really satisfyingly at high levels, I stumbled upon the FRX-S10 down at my usual audio store. As there wasn't many people during the weekdays, I asked for a demo, and very sure, it shook up the whole store with meaty sound, and drew a small crowd to hear what is going on, I can say, that I was hooked on it. At a bargain price of $300, I set it up alone with my old entry level tannoys, the bass had improved dramatically, the sound is chest pounding, meaty and it can go quite low for a sub of that price (to 25hz). When pushed up loud, I didn't detect any clipping (It seems that the Clipping Protection Circuitry worked well), It handles peaks without losing steam, compared to the many other subs that I find at his price range. However everyone should know that the driver does have a physical limit, and the sound tops off at a level. But that already equates to very loud level, especially that I had intended to use the FRX-S10 in my bedroom. The bass is punchy, and reasonably fast. I then paired him up with my smaller existing Mirage FRX-S8, and they work very well together, and they can create pressure waves. *Boom* One thing that the S-10 should have had, is a better set of High-Level Terminals... the spring clips doesn't match up to its sound here... but if you were to use only low level connections, that wouldn't be a problem.

Similar Products Used: Mirage FRX-S8 (Paired up with my FRX-S10) Yamaha YST SW-90 Kenwood SW-900
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Blundaar   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 22, 2002]
Strength:

A great all-around performer.Excellent quality

Weakness:

Mirage now has a new model replacing the FRxS-10.More power would have made this sub a steal at any price.

After listening to my friends(and this site),I decided to break down and purchase a subwoofer.It quickly came down to the Mirage or the Velodyne CHT-10 but, at $250.00, the Mirage won out. First,for those of you who do not own a subwoofer,BUY ONE-preferably a good one like the Mirage.Responsive,clean sounding,and placement friendly,it''s everything I want in a sub.Movies and music are handled equally well.Moving the low frequencies out of my KEF''s has really improved the overall sound and imaging of my system as well.I AM a happy camper! Sony STRDB-930 KEF Q75 fronts,Q95C center DCM surrounds

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Alexandre Moreira   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2000]
Strength:

Great bass frequency range

Weakness:

Needs to be well tuned

Great subwoofer for DVD and music because it has a large bass frequency response that offers a really low bass for DVD (i like those) and also a well balanced response when listening to music. To achieve this it must be well tuned(place, frequency, tone) and i recomend to use the High Level input. These precautions concerns those who want to listen to music with an AV system.
If you want also to listen to music its well spent money. For me that was what made the difference. (combined with Mirage AVS-500). Other subs, like Yamaha´s and Sony, are good for DVD but terrible for music, and the same happens with the Sony SA-VE705 AV system.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
YukonJack   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2001]
Strength:

Very Powerfull Amp. Adjustable Low Pass Filter and Output Level.

Weakness:

None so far.

Using with:
Yamaha RX-V596
Front: Mirage FRX-3
Center: Mirage FRX-center
Rear: Mirage FRX-rear
Sub: Mirage FRX-S10

This sub has some big sound and is a good value. Others from Mirage are small FRX-S8 and a larger FRX-S15.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2001]
Strength:

Very tight bass, powerful enough to shake a large open room without being boomy.

Weakness:

None.

The FRX S10 completes my Mirage system (Frx 5 mains, Frx center, Frx 1 rears), and it blends beautifully with the rest of the system. The S10 was quite forgiving with placement, as it performed well in a few spots eventually settling in between the mains. Musically the tightness of the bass was incredible. The sub was also fairly "quick" when it needed to be, but performed best with slower music. Movies sound just as good; Saving Private Ryan felt much more intense with the S10 added to the system. The tanks rumbled, thunder hammered down, bombs flew, and the sub didn't miss a beat. What impressed me most was that everything sounded "realistic", not just haphazard rumbling and shaking. The receiver I use is a Denon 1801, which tends to lack somewhat when it comes to bass. Fortuneatly the S10 tends to make up for the Denon's shortcomings, it makes the whole system sound better, the bass remains powerful even with a receiver that isn't the best at pumping out huge sound. I am extremely happy with the performance of this sub (especially with a less than ideal room), and I even prefer it over the much more expensive BPS150i. A great sub, which in my opinion can't be touched in this price range.

Similar Products Used: Mirage BPS150i, Kenwood Powered sub
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jared Baldwin   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 2001]
Strength:

Many to be listed below.

Weakness:

spring clip connectors, but who needs em'

Fantastic sound for music and not too shabby for home theater. Magnetic shielding also allows for maximum placement and the feet are adjustable to an uneven floor if you stack a washer or two when screwing them on. I think I'm going to buy one more.

Klipsch Stuff, Soon to be Mirage OM-9's.
Also a bunch of Sony stuff.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch KSW 15
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
frank   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 28, 2000]
Strength:

Great definition

Weakness:

none

Geat sub, after a little positioning the sub blends very well with my B&W 805's. I was a little concerned buying a sub under $500.00, no problems here. It is a real bargin, construction is first class, the spring clips on the back are a little cheap. I highly recommended if you need a small sub that works well with music and home theater.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
thomas a. gaumer   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2000]
Strength:

Absolutely no feedback, crystal clear sound. Can adjust to your listening pleasure with volume control and range.

Weakness:

None so far. Abit expensive. But I will pay for quality.

I am a big advocate of the mirage line.
I like what their concept is.
They are a bit expensive but quality out weighs the cost.
I need to get smaller front speakers to complement the
sub, which will be the Mirage FRX-3 bookshelf speakers.

Similar Products Used: First sub I have bought.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com