M&K V-75 Mark II Subwoofers

M&K V-75 Mark II Subwoofers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 39  
[Sep 03, 2014]
fendaaudio
Casual Listener

Just one word Awesome

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 08, 2014]
Holy_Cow
Audio Enthusiast

I have an Infinity PS-12 sub and it works pretty good but I saw the M&K sub on Craig's List for $100. Offered him $80 and it was mine. I had to remove a broken pin from the mono in RCA jack and hooked this beast up. My large living room/ dining room area has a HT section but I mostly listen to music. I recently bought some Advent Legacy Tower II's to replace my Advent Heritage towers for the surrounds and moved the towers to outside the HT area facing to our outside sliding door to patio. The M&K is astounding in it's accuracy. It also helps the towers (2 eight inch drivers and tweeter) give a sense of mid-range which was always lacking compared to my A/D/S M-12's which are my HT mains. I used pre-outs from Denon 3805 to a Yamaha HTR-5150 (going to replace it whith a Denon 3801 I have in a box for more power) and use it to drive the Heritage towers and feed the M&K sub. Long winded review but final thoughts are the M&K is still a fantastic, accurate sub. Highly recommend it. By the way, the Advent Legacy towers sound much better than the Heritage for my surrounds, I think the Heritage were just too much speaker for that role, but now that they are dedicated to stereo, WOW! I bought every single thing off Craig's List and have a close to $10,000 system (forgot the Mitsubishi 65" for $50 working fine for last 5 years and and Klipsch C-5 for $30) for about $1000 total investment. I still use the Infinity sub and I guess 2 subs are better than 1.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 20, 2012]
Jerry Rutledge
AudioPhile

I've had this sub for about 15 years and it's one of my best purchases.

Originally bought it to go in a home theatre system with Denon 3803 receiver. I've gone back to a modest audiohile stereo system with Arcam A85 recieiver and EPOS M5 speakers.

The MK works perfectly in this system providing nice tight clean bass.......I'm also a bass player :-).


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 28, 2011]
Palmer
AudioPhile

THIS DIDNT HAVE A YEAR IT WAS SENT BY A GOD. I INHERITED THIS SUB FROM MY GRANDFATHER, AND I HAVE HEARD MANY-A-SUBS IN MY LIFETIME, NONE SOUNDING QUITE AS GOOD AS THIS. IT IS HOOKED UP TO MY RECEIVER THAT PUMPS OUT 100W, AND WHEN IT IS TURNED UP TO ABOUT HALFWAY WITH THE SUB ON LOW, IT SHAKES MY WHOLE HOUSE, WHICH IS A DECENT SIZE. IF YOU PLAN ON USING THIS FOR AN EVENT, GO AHEAD AND FIND NO OTHER, FOR THE AUDIO GODS HAVE GIFTED US. IM SCARED TO TURN THIS THING ALL THE WAY UP NOT DO TO THE FACT THAT IT COULD BLOW AT ALL. THAT CANT HAPPEN WITH THIS SPEAKER. IM WORRIED ABOUT MY WINDOWS AND WALLS BLOWING OUT. SAVE YOURSELF THE TIME, GO BE A HAPPY BIDDER OR BUYER, AND GO HAVE SOME FUN (ECSTASY TO YOUR EARS) AND BUY THIS SUB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2010]
Tim parm
Audio Enthusiast

JUST CAME ACROSS ONE TODAY. BIELIVE IT OR NOT ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITH GARBAGE. PLUS A SPRINKLE OF RAIN, DROVE BY. WENT BACK! LONG STORY SHORT. I GOT HOME AND IT POWERED UP!
HOOKED TO MY SYSTEM. AND WOW!!!!!! FREE M&K SUB IN PREFECT SHAPE,
LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT SO FAR ,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 22, 2003]
joel
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Absolutely everything. It does it all.

Weakness:

NONE!!! NONE!!! NONE!!! Did you get that?

Are you kidding me? After buying 2 other subs (Velodyne, Boston Acoustics) I decided I had the money to get a 3rd a do a side by side comparison. This M&K will absolutely astound your ears and tingle your senses. This sub is leaps and bounds the best sounded well rounded deep tight easily tuned sub I have ever heard. Dont let the power rating fool you this as the sub will power and punch its way to fill sound in any size room with room to spare. Please buy this sub at all costs. I never knew music and movies could ever sound this good.

Similar Products Used:

Boston Acoustics, Velodyne, Mission surrounds (the best IMO you can get for the $) Mission 77C1 Center (also the best bang for $) AR towers (rated the best tower speakers)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 01, 2002]
Thomas
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound - crisp and clear Price

Weakness:

Placement Angry neighbors

I did a lot of research before I bought this sub, and it paid off. Of the subs I have listened to, it is by far the best for the price. I got it cheap because it was used, but I dont think the $600 MSRP would be unreasonable. The sound is excelent. It is always crisp and clean. Whether the volume is cranked or low, or whether playing jazz or metal, this sub is tops. The one downfall that I have found is placement, but this is often difficult with subs. I live in a small apartment, so it was quite difficult to find a location where the sub was not resonating off a corner. But once I found te sweet spot, how sweet it was.

Similar Products Used:

JBL

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 26, 2002]
Rich
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

price

My friends all have 250 watt powered subs. When I bought this measly 75 watt subwoofer, they were sure I screwed up. Until they heard it and felt it shake up the room.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 04, 2002]
dave1616
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

It''''s value The tightness & response is unprecedented in subs below $1,000.

Weakness:

None that I can hear.

You just can''''t go wrong with this sub. I didn''''t think I''''d find a sub this cheap that sounded this good. If you''''re looking at subs in the $250-$400 range, like I was, do yourself a favor & scrape up or save an extra hundred bucks & go for this M&K. It''''s a drastic jump in quality from the stuff you always see in J&L, Crutchfield & other mail order catalogs. I''''ve got a fairly large room with vaulted cielings & this thing floods the room with beautiful & articulate bass. Don''''t be fooled in thinking the 75 watt amp inside may be inadequate. M&K designed the amp specifically for its 12" driver & there is tremendous headroom. I nomally have the level setting at about 15-20%. I can''''t even appraoch 50% without it being ridiculously loud. I''''ll be using this sub for a long time!

Similar Products Used:

JBL, Cerwin Vega, Klipsch

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 26, 2000]
Kevin
Casual Listener

Strength:

Good clean bass

Weakness:

none noted yet

After much research at this web site and in the sound rooms, I finally broke out the visa card and purchased a sub. My criteria was stay below $500. I compared JBL, Velodyne, Klipsch and M&K 12" subs. in this price range. For me it came down to two models, the V-75 and the Klipsch KSW-12. Both have their strengths and weaknesses. Without argument, the Klipsch packs a lot of bang for the buck, but side by side the V-75 was the winner. Also the V-75 uses a sealed enclosure which, typically, produces lower hz. -vs- a ported enclosure like the Klipsch. I was willing to trade off some SPL for lower extension. My only fear about the V-75 was the capability of the 75W amp to provide enough SPL and ability keep up without distortion. I don't typically crank the volume but with a two story vaulted ceiling there is a lot of volume to fill. My home test criteria was Top Gun and Metallica's "One." The V-75 did a great job, its a keeper. Distribution for the M&K is much more limited than the other products thus not as much market competition to drive the price down. I stayed under the $500 objective, verily, but the Klipsch could have been had for much less. For those of you researching, ABT in Chicago quoted $450 on the M&K and Vanns.com had the best price on the Klipsch around $325.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com