M&K V-1250THX Subwoofers

V-1250THX

12" Subwoofer with 125 watt amplifier

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Dave   AudioPhile [Jun 24, 2009]

Bought on Craigslist for $250. This sub is very tight and excellent for music. I use it to even out my room response and supplement the bottom end of my PSB Goldi speakers. It does not have the oomph that some other subs have for home theater (probably needs to be louder than the level appropriate for music - a remote version would be perfect) and I imagine that this is due to the emphasis on its accuracy. Highly Recommended

I have also owned NHT, SVS and PSB subs but this is my favorite so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
frankie1   AudioPhile [Sep 11, 2003]
Strength:

The Sub works very well with films and film, but you may need to adjust the level on some films.

Weakness:

This sub is not very good with music, but will make the front speakers sound better now that i use a sub as a addition to my speak system B&W CDM 9.

Just got the sub. Found that setting up via THX switch was a waste of time. Set the sub up manually and a complete new world opened up, the low frequency took me back , it is a very good sub.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Kef, B&W None of the above subs matched up to this one.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Fuzzy32   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2003]
Strength:

Amazing bass; THX Select certified. Just flip all the swithches to 'THX' and sit back; Price; appearance; 12" sub; 125 Watts

Weakness:

Needs time to break in.....not really a bad thing. Stays on all the time, no auto on/off switch.

Just got this sub for myself on Boxing Day. For $1600CAN(taxes incl)this is a killer sub. Normally retails for $1699+tax. Bass is nice and tight. Best DVD to test a sub is Pearl Harbour. Listen for the continous heart beat during the attack scene. When you hear it, you'll be amazed. I never knew it was there and I've watched the movie 3-4 times. On music it kicks. I listened to a SACD sample disc on my Sony 9000ES and was amazed. I hate Celine Dion but was in awe when I heard it on my system. Give it 4 stars for now. After break in period will post another review. Good work M&K.

Similar Products Used: PSB Sub Zero
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick Donato   Audio Enthusiast [May 19, 2002]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

As I''m sure you''ve read here, this sub is killer! So I won''t tell you how tight,deep,accurate or musical this sub is. I will tell you that at the Home Theater store I work at, during a demo this sub almost shook one of the florescent lights off the ceiling.

Similar Products Used: Most subs made by M&K,Polk and Energy
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg T.   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 28, 2000]
Strength:

EVERYTHING

Weakness:

NO WEAKNESS

I got my MK1250 with my new M&K 750thx select system. This sub SINGS with music and is jaw dropping with home theatre.I highly recommend this sub and this speaker system.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Grey   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2000]
Strength:

Great Sound, Strong Tight Bass

Weakness:

Isn't an MX-5000thx :-) (None)

I bought this sub as part of my M&K 750thx system. It is intended to be part of that system and performs very well in it. I would suspect that it would work well in any system though.

My sytem:

M&K750thx speakers.
Yamaha RX-V795a Reciever
Toshiba SD-1200Y DVD Player

Some reviewers on the 750thx system (see review on this site), were saying that the sub isn't very musical and sounded a bit boomy. I found that when I placed the sub in the front corner of the room, facing the front wall, the spread of sound evened out around the room and the bass was noticably tighter. I think the previous reveiwer is right about room placement.

This sub has more bass than you can drop a tonne of elephant onto. Not only does it pump the bass out like there's no tomorrow, but it keeps all that energy quite tightly controlled. Admittedly the more expensive push pull subs M&K offer will be better again, but nearly double the price before you think about it... If you have loads of cash, then consider the MX-150thx or the MX-350thx. Or if you really want to blow that retirement fund, then opt for a MX-5000thx. If you aren't rich. Don't despair. This sub rocks!

I put "The Matrix" in my Toshiba SD-1200, and the sub tore it up...

Did I say explosions??? When that helicopter hits the building and explodes you better hang on to your seat!

Did I say lightning??? The scene where Morpheus shows Neo the real world (which is actually a simulation of what they think the surface looks like) contains a nice electrical storm. I swear my house was hit by lightning! The rumble of distant lightning strikes was uncannily real.

The hum of the ship the Eberkenezzer (excuse the spelling), and the train roaring past were also very impressive.

Next, "City of Angels" got a whirl. Not a lot of bass in this movie, but there were some nice songs, all of which sounded beatiful.

As for the controls on the sub. The low pass filter is either set at "thx" which will bypass the low pass filter in the sub and use your receiver/processors, or the "80hz/24db per octave" setting. The bass level is similar, with a "thx" setting which will use the receiver/processors level, or a "variable" setting which will allow you to make use of the volume knob on the back (and your receiver/processors volume will still affect the output levels).

I have the bass level set to variable, dropped down a bit, and the low pass filter (LPF) set to thx, so that my Yamaha 795a (Not actually a thx amp) does the LPF at 90hz, which unfortunately is not adjustable to 80hz...). M&K support informed me to do it this way...

This sub is great. Good value, excellent sound. If you're looking for a sub in this price range, then look no further.

I highly recommend taking the rest of the 750thx system to go with it.

Similar Products Used: Various Subs demoed in dealers...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 14, 2001]
Strength:

Clean Base, features, build quality, warranty

Weakness:

No off switch

So far i'm really impressed, clean tight bass, lots of power, fast and accurate for music. I have the unit for a couple of days, it takes a little to break in, but once you get it going its great.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Callihan   Audiophile [Nov 30, 2000]
Strength:

Tight sound

Weakness:

none so far

I purchased this sub after using a Yamaha 160 watt model. The Yamaha had twin 8" drivers. The Yamaha had a boomy type of sound to it and I didn't care for it.

I listened to the 1250THX and really liked the tight bass and the musical quality of the sound. I'm sure most people would know what I mean by "musical" quality.

I think this is an excellent sub for the money. At least based on what I listened to.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, NEC
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tim   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2002]
Strength:

The bass response is tight and quick, and blends seamlessly with the satellite speakers (in this case the M&K 750 THX Mk-I system).

Weakness:

I wish I'd had the money for one of the M&K push-pull subwoofers, but this one does a wonderful job.

On many subwoofers today, you'll notice an enormous PORT. That port might have wire mesh on it, or it might be shaped like a large smooth parabola, designed to rush the most air in/out as possible. This porting process makes the subwoofers LOUDER, but by no means more precise, and results in a great deal of air-noise/boomy-distortion at any sort of considerable volume.

Of course, one thing you'll notice about M&K subwoofers (including this 1250THX here), is that there is NO PORT, not A port anywhere on it. M&K does this to eliminate port noise/distortion completely, and in the end create a razor-sharp, surgically-precise subwoofer. I am very happy with both the home-theater-soundtrack power, and the mellow, singing musicality of this subwoofer. The THX-setting on the sub works hand in hand with my THX Onkyo TX-DS777 receiver to produce a seamless satellite/subwoofer integration.

If you can AFFORD an M&K Push-pull subwoofer, which uses dual drivers (such as the MX-150THX, or the MX-350THX), I would recommend those OVER the 1250THX. However, for the price, I believe this subwoofer can't be beat. :-)

Similar Products Used: I (grudgingly) sold Panasonic, Sony, Yamaha, and Acoustic Research subwoofers while working at Sears electronics, not being impressed by any of them.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Mastrocco   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 06, 2001]
Strength:

Tight, clean bass. Quick response.

Weakness:

None

This is a great subwoofer. The sounds is not at all boomy - unless it is improperly placed in the room or over-driven. As with most good powered subs, it has an auto-sense circuit that makes it very convenient when using the system.

Couldn't ask for a better sub for the price.

Purchased as part of the 750 MK II THX system and used in a 2700 cubic foot room.

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com