Klipsch RSW-12 Subwoofers

RSW-12

Reference Series powered subwoofers shatter your expectations for deep, driving bass by playing louder and going deeper than significantly larger designs, creating the most dramatic, intense bass you've ever heard or felt. Designed from the ground up for class-leading, room-filling low-frequency performance, the RSW-12 is sonically, cosmetically and technologically matched to the Reference Series. Low-level inputs that also operate as an LFE input (for compatibility with 5.1 digital sound formats) and an adjustable low-pass crossover allow you to configure the subwoofer to your room's acoustics. The easy-to-reach, side-mounted volume control makes for simple setup and convenient level adjustments between music and movie sources.
The RSW-12 delivers truly deep, musical low bass with depth and intensity that intimidates much larger subwoofers. It matches a 12" rear-firing active driver to a 2400-watt BASH® amplifier to provide enough power and low-distortion performance to complement our floorstanding speakers. It is available in wood-grain black vinyl.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
theatrejunkie   AudioPhile [Nov 21, 2005]
Strength:

Incredible Power! Hits down to 22HZ with authoritative power!

Weakness:

May need to come back and caulk your walls!

Absolutely SCARRY! Best Sub @ the $1k-$2K range! 2200 watts max output, and your listening room better be ready, or your going to shake it to pieces! Enough said!

Similar Products Used: Tons of different Subs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mgeroyannis   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 09, 2005]
Strength:

Powerful tight deep Bass slams hard!

Weakness:

Manual could be more detailed with pics on how to set up sub for first time subwoofer owners. Also frequency numbers on the dial could be added more instesd of going from (eg) 70Hz then skipping straight to 100Hz (where is 80 and 90Hz)

Purchased this sub a week ago after having to return my B&W ASW 675 because of woofer problems. Set up was pretty easy running a single rca lead from my reciever to Y-adapter to the sub, which in turn gives you extra 3-6db more, so volume on sub is set at 9'oclock and frequency at 80Hz which i think is in the middle of the dial since there is no numbers to indicate that. Listening to a various music such as R&B,Jazz,Dance and other sorts this sub is really musical. Pounds hard with little or any distortion. I run this sub with a pair of Bookshelf B&W 602's and they blend in just fine. Don't listen about what types of main speakers you have and that this sub will be a overkill, its all in the matter of tuning! Because any subwoofer can overpower your main speakers. I also auditioned prior to buying this sub an M&K MX350THX Mk11 but i still felt the Klipsch had the edge over it and the Klipsch was much more musical plus the M&K was $1070AU more than the Klipsch. If you are looking for sub that does both music and movies with giving you a hard slam everytime it pounds than look no further than the RSW-12 great looks great sound what else could you ask for!

Similar Products Used: M&K MX 150THX Mk11, B&W ASW 650, B&W ASW 675
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
baristaboy7   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 19, 2005]
Strength:

Dynamic range

Weakness:

Actice sub-woofer ceased to operate after ten days. Brandnamez said tough luck. Repaired at a cost of $325.00. Lesson learned. Buy from an authorized dealer.

I bought this sub-woofer to compliment my other Klipsch products which it does extremely well. It really is amazing with DVD-Audio and SACD recordings. I have nothing to say other than it really,really gives me the bottom end i enjoy.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch RB-35 Klipsch RC-25 Klipsch RS-7 JBL 312 Denon 3803 Denon 2200
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
steve fortune   AudioPhile [Jan 24, 2005]
Strength:

Great for music and movies as long as your whole system is of equil calaber.

Weakness:

falls a little short of its big brother. You cant have any thing breakable siting around without ruber mack tack under it.

Very good product I loved the way it sounds in dare devil wen the IV drips in the hospital this sub literiley nocked the pictures off the wall. So I went and bought its bik brother the RSW-15 so I could masage my feet on the living room floor. With both subs you can literiley feel your nose get ichey and your hair shake on your arms. I love it but my neighber doesnt.

Similar Products Used: Nuaunce,paradigm,sony,sherwood,polk audeo and bose.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jkmcelhaney   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2002]
Strength:

deep and low; this thing hits the spot.

Weakness:

like I said, you have to organize the shelves often.

This sub is awesome! I've had it a year now and haven't had a single problem; which is good to hear when you spend this much. The sub is in a 26 by 18 room and I can only turn it up around 3/5 volume to watch movies, without being to loud(even then my wife thinks its to loud). At full volume(on the sub) stuff comes off the shelves pretty quick. You do have to play with the settings for a while to find the ones right for you. If you were planning on spending this much on a sub, you won't be disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jbsl   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 22, 2002]

I've had this sub for 3 weeks now and it still amazes me over and over. Saving Private Ryan, Black Hawk Down, We Were Soldiers are three of the best war movies and with this sub it adds a feeling of realism. I've had the KLF 20's for a year now and HT sounded great but with this sub it takes you to a whole new level with home theater. I rented Monsters, INC. and the subs impact on drawing you into the movie is amplified even further with the RSW 12. For movies like Das Boot and U-571 with depth charges it will sound fantastic. On the music side it blends perfectly with the KLF 20's. One feature I like is the volume control on the side of the sub so you can lower or raise the volume to blend in with your main speakers without having to go to the back of the sub. I have seen this product for a cheaper price online but I prefer to deal with a authorized Klipsch dealer. I made a bass CD with songs that had great bass went to the store and put the RSW 12 through it's paces. I also like dealing with a person I can see and talk to so if I have any problems I know the person I bought it from. My living room is 16 by 15 and this sub could handle a room two to three times it's size. That is why I bought the 12 instead of the 10. I purchased my whole home theater system so that as I buy bigger houses I won't have to upgrade my HT to fit the bigger house. If you are looking for a sub that will work for both HT and music this is it. Also I agree that if you buy this sub and the rest of your system is low quality then the sound will not sound good. If you have klipsch speakers in your HT system then a quality reciever/preamp/amp are a must. You will hear the difference in these speakers if you give them the quality componets to run them. There probably are better subs out there but I don't want to spend $3000 to $5000 or more for them. Those subs are for the audiophiles who hearing is so good they can hear below the normal human being.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mikechuri   AudioPhile [Oct 17, 2002]
Strength:

Everthing........best sub under $2500 price tag

Weakness:

NONE.........

Excellent,excellent,excellent...Wow, what a great sub.Like you will read in a review below,make sure you have a good quaility set of speakers to match this sub.I have Mirage om-7 towers Mirage om-c2 center and 2 sets of om-r2 rears.

Similar Products Used: velodyne,b&k,m&k,polk,definitve,boston aucoustics,rel,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rogue   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 27, 2002]
Strength:

Awesome bass Clean and tight. Enough power to do what it needs to and keep up with the rest of mid to high end systems.

Weakness:

Your Neighbors will hate you.

WOW! Is this sub incredible. It does everything well. I first put on Techmaster PEB cd in 5 cannel stereo and it boomed. I then checked out ID4 in Dolby Digtal, I was not disappointed. Thanks Ricky for the advice on the volume, althhough I did not have any problems with the setup. I tried a Cerwin Vega v-12s 12" powered sub and brought it back as soon as I could. It just was not enough for the rest of my system. the v-12s is ok, but not even close to the power and sound of the rsw12! I am running 2 Klipsch KLF 10''s, 2 Klipsch 4.5s(surround), 1 Klipsch rc3 center with a Denon 5600 receiver. If this is in the price range you want to spend, I think you will be happy!

Similar Products Used: Crewin Vega v-12s Cerwin Vega HT12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ricky Dale   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2002]
Strength:

(Warning!!!This sub produces the deepest, low frequencies I've heard in a long time) Produces tight, deep bass...very clear...nice design, and very good materials used for the drivers!!! Plus I like the technology of the active/passive subwoofer...it really makes this sub stand out above most of its competitors.

Weakness:

It took me awhile to find the right placements and settings to use...but no worries, once you get the sub adjusted to your own personal tastes, it really proves to be a top-of-the-line subwoofer!!!

One note: make sure, before purchasing this product, that you have high quality speakers to match it with. If you do not match this sub with high end speakers that produce pretty deep mid-range frequencies themselves, the Klipsch RSW-12 and your cheaper, lower end speakers will sound horrible together(you will notice a huge gap in the sound spectrum). This sub is designed (the way I see it) to fill in the rest of the low range frequencies that even your high end towers or bookshelves cannot produce. Feel free to email me if you have any questions that need answers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com