Klipsch RSW-10 Subwoofers

RSW-10

Reference Series powered subwoofers shatter your expectations for deep, driving bass by playing louder and going deeper than significantly larger designs, creating the most dramatic, intense bass you've ever heard or felt. Designed from the ground up for class-leading, room-filling low-frequency performance, the RSW-10 is sonically, cosmetically and technologically matched to the Reference Series. Low-level inputs that also operate as an LFE input (for compatibility with 5.1 digital sound formats) and an adjustable low-pass crossover allow you to configure the subwoofer to your room's acoustics. The easy-to-reach, side-mounted volume control makes for simple setup and convenient level adjustments between music and movie sources.
The RSW-10 matches a 10" front-firing Cerametallic™ passive radiator and a 10" rear-firing active driver to a 1150-watt BASH® amplifier, generating enormous sound from a surprisingly compact cabinet. It delivers more thundering low bass with greater clarity than much larger subwoofers, and is finished in unobtrusive, durable black vinyl.

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
celiomota   AudioPhile [Jun 01, 2004]
Strength:

1. The most musical of the Klipsch Reference Subwoofers 2. Solid, Clear and Powerfull bass articulation. 3. High definition, no matter the placement

Weakness:

None.....well maybe the grilles. The company could introduce an auto-volt shut off switching artifact.

The first impression that I had when I opened that box it was that my eyes were contemplating something big. Always when they present you something for advertising means you don't have the security that 100% works until you check it for your own means. This is not the case, here the art unites with the science and they combine to create some of the devices but sophisticated and avant-garde in audio reproduction. The RSW-10 is designed to delight to the most demanding of the audiophiles in the world, it possesses a depth and clarity difficult to find in others of their same condition. I had in my study for several days the RW-10 and frankly it was not what was looking for. This apparatus is manufactured for other purposes different to those of the RSW-10.In advances I can say that the RSW-10 are the most musical of the subwoofers of the series Reference of Klipsch. My first test was with music and I placed my receiver in alone stereo with the front horns and the subwoofer. I put in the cd player the song have you heard of Pat Metheny of the album the road to you live, that was a banquet of perfect sounds that refreshed my auditory palate. I was surprised it with the resolution and clarity that the basses and the drums were reproduced. The voices were so faithful that the exercises of the singers' breathing and their effort could be appreciated with the beginning of each verse, there you could appreciate from the dry blow -off on the 25 HZ frequency until the cymbals and the Hi Hats on high balance not to color the sound neither envelope to act it, neither to saturate it with excesses. This subwoofer reproduces the sound of the contrabass as if is present the artist playing in front of you in way becomes intimate and with all the realism and the excitement that it bears a live presentation. My surprise arrived at its highest level when I put John Patittucci's imprint" CD and play the song King Kong", that it was the most amazing of the recorded contrabasses that I had never listened. This had been my test CD for the Subs, however the RSW-10 behaved as an entire copy making honor to their creator's name and maintaining a standard of quality and good acting. I could not believe of what my hearings were being witness, there I could until listening the rake of the strings when Patittucci played his contrabass. A minimum movement and the contact of the fingers in the pitch were faithfully reproduced for the delight of my hearings, this was completely incredible!!! I believe that Klipsch has wanted to introduce a series of Subs but economic and affordable to the public, but not with the same quality and the high level that brought to the world with the RSW series. For those who are not so demanding with the music and they want a subwoofer of middle price level acting in movies and music I can recommend them the RW series. But for those that look for a superbass in the musical frequencies with details and adjusted harmonically, I recommend them the RSW series, specifically the RSW-10, the most musical of the Klipsch Reference Subwoofers .

Similar Products Used: Klipsch RW-10 Yamaha Subs Bose Crap..etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tweinberg   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 22, 2003]
Strength:

Room filling, accurate and concise bass. When it should be quiet, it's quiet. When it should roar, it roars. And everything in between. NEVER booms. Always delivers. And at this price, everything else seems overpriced and overblown.

Weakness:

Klipsch subs, and maybe most high quality subs, are affected by room placement more than I would like. I don't care what folks say about the fact under 100Hz speakers disappear, how and where you place this sub makes a LOT of difference in how it sounds.

This review is for the RW 8B Reference Series Subwoofer NOT the 10" version. I purchased this Reference Series 8" version of their subwoofer strictly based on price/performance. Their Cerametallic Reference Series products perform and perform for so much less than comparable products from other vendors. The RW 8 is only an 8" 200Watt powered sub but it absolutely is an overachiever. In my medium sized room (15 feet wide by 21 feet long) this little sub absolutely dominates when you wish it to, and never booms or gets loose. The bass is tight, accurate, and always under control. Accurate would the the watchword for this product. In DVD's and in music, once you have the sub set up (location, direction, phase, loudness) it will make you wonder why you ever thought about a 10" or 12 or larger. If all you want is a loud boom boom boom, yeah, bigger subs with more power will give you more. But if accuracy in a jazz band, or vocal arrangement or in a quiet scene in a movie is important to you, this little 8" powerhouse has it all. And has it under control as well. It completely disappears sonically in the mix with its Klipsch brethren (RB25's, RC35, and Quintet surrounds). Make sure you have an efficient set of mains to go with this sub. It puts out and I am still amazed at how it fills the room. And it fills the room for so much less money than its older brothers. It take my Velodyne 10" sub and makes it sound slow, mushy, and dated. I have loved my Velodyne for years and will continue to use it in another room in my house. But for accuracy, efficiency, and good looks, the new RW 8 from Klipsch gets my new allegiance.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne subs. BOSE crap. Polk.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TheGreaseMan   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 29, 2003]
Strength:

Very clear/detailed sound, tight bass, look much better than the Synergy Series. Will bring out things you've never heard before in your cd's.

Weakness:

Speaker grills vibrate slightly at very high volume, but they sound better with them off anyways.

These are the first real speakers I've ever bought and they sound great. Originally I was going to buy the biggest boombox they had at bestbuy.com (JBL Z630 or something like that) but the people on klipsch.com message boards steered me away from that. I then looked at the Klipsch SB-1's but they looked kind of ugly. Then I saw the Reference Series, wow! I decided to get the biggest one I could afford which was the RB-35. I also bought an Onkyo TX-8511 receiver from Onkyo's website for only $230 with the extended warranty. It really sounds very clear and detailed with the RB-35's. The only problem though is I think I need a subwoofer since these don't make that much bass, but maybe they're not broken in yet. In any case I'm sure a subwoofer would make these sound a lot better. Guess I'll start saving up for an RSW-10. BTW I want to thank sounddistributors.com for giving me such a good price on these, my local store wanted $699 for them, which I just didn't have.

Similar Products Used: none worth mentioning
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
FarwellKings   AudioPhile [May 12, 2003]
Strength:

Great Power handling and efficiency Compact with a punch Easy to adjust/setup

Weakness:

Volume knob sticks

This RSW-10 was Tweeter's floor model,so it was nice and "broke-in". At first I had trouble setting it up but now everything is just right little bear. Using all Reference series;RCW-5,RC3-II. Yes! that's right ALL In-walls incl.the ceiling surrounds. The mains lacked the needed bass and that's where the RSW-10 Rode in like a dark horse @ a Renaissance party. Had to set all speakers to LARGE and LFE out to BOTH(main/sub). Using the Sub's x-over between 70-100hz. WOW, what a difference that slope rate makes! Very smooth,defined and thunderous Bass. Cranked up during the beginning of ICE AGE when the Glacier falls down-BOOM! Very tight w/Stereo and DVD-Audio. Now know why the experts say to match your Reference series (or any model for that fact). Receiver used:Yamaha RX-V1200 Listening Rm size:15x15. Total Rm Size:15x26. Ceiling:Suspended Tile @ 8'

Similar Products Used: not worth mentioning
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Boodah   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 08, 2002]
Strength:

Tight, clear bass. Massive power for its size. Compact cabinet.

Weakness:

None that I can find.

I just upgraded from the KSW-10 to the RSW-10 since my main speakers are now RF-3 II's and not the Quintets I had before. The difference is like night and day. The KSW-10 was just fine and I never had any complaints about the sound or performance of it, but the RSW-10 is clearly superior in both categories. Everything I threw at it last night it took without batting an eyelash; from Jazz to Techno to Rock to Metal. Throughout all of these it remained clear, responsive and tight. I also fired up a few DVD's and got the same results. I can't stress more how impressed I am with every single Klipsch product I have had the pleasure of owning so far. (Price paid was $1,000 Canadian)

Similar Products Used: KSW-10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JLove   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 26, 2002]
Strength:

Front and rear-firing capability.

Weakness:

None, 0, zilch.

FROM MY REVIEW OF THE RF-3 IIs: My system consists of 2 RF-3 IIs, 1 RC-3 II, 2 RS-3 IIs and the sub : RSW-10. Klipsch's newer subs make all the difference, as I realized after listening. All the reviews were true. The bass is deep, rich, and wonderfully powerful. Turning the bass up only half-power will literally cause the floor to rumble. You will FEEL the power of the bass. I had a friend over to watch Pearl Harbor, after one of the explosions, he said he felt the bass in his feet, legs, and back. Another example, my wife thought she was controlling the volume on the VCR via the receiver. She kept increasing the volume and couldn't hear anything, so she started pushing buttons on the remote. I was asleep upstairs and when she found the right input source, the entire wall started shaking and vibrating. This little baby packs an incredible amount of punch. I can't imagine what the RSW-12 or RSW-15 is capable of. I don't have a huge theater room, and for the money, I'll stick with the RSW-10. Klipsch has made a wonderful improvement in the RSW series when compared with the KSW series subs. Spend a little more for the RSW's, you won't be disappointed.

Similar Products Used: Sony...are you kidding me???
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tillercraig   AudioPhile [Oct 23, 2002]
Strength:

everthing

Weakness:

nothing

this sub shakes the house. I live in a house about 4 years old and this think makes it rattle like it was built in the 1800's. i was a little unsure about its power until i got it. I was about to purchase the twelve but for my house this is one has plenty of thump behind it KLIPSCH all the way

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hi Fidelty   AudioPhile [Sep 14, 2002]
Strength:

This 10 has a small footprint that rocks.If your looking for a small sub that sounds like a 15 get the reference 10.You want be mad.

Weakness:

Yea right.Just make sure your pictures are secured on the wall:)

4 months ago I upgraded my ksw10 to the rsw10.The sound was like night and day with good clean tight bass.

Similar Products Used: polk=joke
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
vddobrev   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2002]
Strength:

Clean, deep, punchy, and accurate bass

Weakness:

None

Initially I purchased KSW-12, thinking it will do the job and save some money. I have a pair of Klipsch RF-3II for mains, Klipsch RC-3II for center, and a pair of Klipsch Quintets for surrounds. Boy, was I disappointed with the KSW-12 -- it "boomed" too much, not to mention it was slow as a snail in music -- in more dynamic contents the bass was as lagging behind. For movies it was kinda "OK" but still too boomy. After a week of torturing myself with the poor KSW-12 and deciding whether to spend $500 more on a RSW-10, I decide to listen to them side by side. I visited my local Magnolia HiFi in Palo Alto, CA. The salesman was readyily prepared to demonstrate both subs side by side. He played some Jazz and the RSW-10 was marginally better, but the track was not too dynamic. Then I requested something more dynamic, and the salesman played some rock - Scorpions. I decided immediately within the first minute of listening. The RSW-10 won the race by a million. Clean, deep, punchy, and accurate bass, no boomy effect. In a dynamic content like ROCK music, the RSW-10 really showed itself to be one superb subwoofer for music. I took it home and returned the KSW-12 with relief. The RSW-10 is also excellent for movies, I rediscovered my favorites - Matrix, U571, The 5th Element. I strongly, strongly encourage anyone who is considering bying a cheaper sub like the KSW series to audition side-by-side with the reference series. The price is double, but it is worth every penny.

Similar Products Used: KSW-12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
coyote070   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 19, 2002]
Strength:

clear, hard hitting bass. great for both movies and music

Weakness:

?????

Rediculous- I don't know what other word can describe it. I just purchaced the RF5, RSIII, the RCIII and the RSW10 for around $2500 so I basically paid for the sub and fronts and got the others for free. This is the clearest and cleanest sub that I've heard and I've been shopping around. Klipscsh has come a long way from the KSW series. I'm so glad I waited. If your considering buying a KSW series, make sure you listen to the RSW first, its worth the extra money.

Similar Products Used: KSW12, Mirage Dual 8"
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com