KLH SW-910 Subwoofers

SW-910

Front-Firing, Ported Design 10” Dynamic Fiber Woofer - Built-In 100 Watt RMS Amplifier - Frequency Response: 30 Hz to 50-200 Hz - Crossover Frequency: 50 Hz - 200 Hz (Adjustable) - Inputs: Speaker Level and Line Level - Controls: Power, Volume, Auto Shut-Off, Crossover Frequency, Phase

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
sweebs   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 02, 2010]

Purchased from Best Buy - disliked brand, but price was right, so I thought. After about 3 years, the amp crapped-out. Took sub to Best Buy for repair, after about 30+ days, unit was 'ready for pick up' Upon arrival at the store, they said "the parts are no longer made, can't fix it" WHAT? So capacitors, resistors, etc are no longer made? And, if they no longer make the parts (of the amp), how is it possible there was an entire shelf of new KLH subs over in the home theatre area? Oh yeah, I also had a 2nd KLH sub (ASW10-120B) - it was one year newer, and right on time, about a year after the first one, this one stopped working as well.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
tviles   Casual Listener [Apr 03, 2004]
Strength:

Low cost if you can still find one.

Weakness:

I guess the distortion could be a real problem for loud listeners.

Just bought today at BB cost 45.00 no box, grille or manuel. I don't know where to place the fire extingisher after reading the reviews. I may consider unpluging it when not in use. Any have a grille for it? For what I paided for it, it is a very good buy and a much needed improvement over my old passive sub. Yes I have heard it distort and have heard the clicking noise but I think it sounds good, not great but good.

Similar Products Used: Had a old optimus passive sub.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
nihil67   Casual Listener [Mar 23, 2003]
Strength:

Price, if you can still find these anywhere. Puts out a good amount of bass if you have the room for it. Great as a stress releiver for your mains if they can't handle what you're tossing at them.

Weakness:

Distorts at high levels. Will get very boomy.

Got a screaming deal on this one as it was a display model at my local Best Buy. It pairs well with my KLH 9152's and really help the 9152's sound better if you use the cross-over and speaker level inputs. I've never heard a sub distort until I heard this one do it. I was very surprised... it's own amp... Turning the volume down helped that but I have a poor room for bass and my sound suffered because of it. You get what you pay for. I've got it in a neat setup now. I purchased a Sony surround system in a box (yeah, I know... but it was cheap.) and now have two subs. This one and the Sony. I run the Sony out of the receiver's LFE port and do speaker level into the KLH. The result is that I can run the KLH at a lower volume and use it's nice range to take a load off my 9152's while not having to drive the crap out of the sub. The whole combination gives me a good, full sound. Again, this is because of the openness of the room I'm in and this would probably be too much bass for anyone else. The only reason I give this a 3 is because of the distortion.

Similar Products Used: Sony (doesn't distort, but can't be used as a cross-over)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Hobie   Casual Listener [Jan 13, 2003]
Strength:

Great fire starter

Weakness:

Great fire starter

Junk! no Crap! no its a fire starter. The first one I bought lasted 3 days and quit, took it back to Best Buy and got another. Well it worked? Real booming but It worked. I never cranked it up. Just played movies threw it about twice a week. Well guess what I must have over worked it and it almost cought fire. Smoke came out of it and stunk up the house. KLH will not even answer my E mail on how much it will cost to fix it, {like I even want to} Well its off to the store to buy a real Sub like Audio Source for a few dollors more then I paid for the KLH.

Similar Products Used: Sony JBL Other KLH speakers {and the last}
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
todd0218   Casual Listener [Jan 07, 2003]
Strength:

Sounded excellent

Weakness:

Well this is a disappointment. My dad toasted 2 of these. We had two different receivers and it defiantely was the quality of the sub setup the first one stopped working. The second one somehow got the voice coils blown out and started smoking before the amp blew out a fuse. Can't quite figure that mess out.

Well a good sub for a while can put you into the dolby digital 5.1 sorround movies.

Similar Products Used: jbl, adire audio, polk audio
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Charles Griffin   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 07, 2000]
Strength:

A good mix of power in a relatively small package

Weakness:

Just the limitations of it's size and power

I got the little sub at Best Buy, without having read the above comments. It was the last one at that store, no box, no instructions, so it was already marked down and I paid $90 plus tax after a little haggling. I needed a sub to balance out my jury-rigged 6.1 system, turning it into a 6.2, I guess. In the speaker room at BB, I listened to every reasonably priced sub, I was willing to spend up to $250, so there were a few choices, including a couple of Yamahas. The KLH, while not as narrow, was small enough to fit the spot I had and it did have the best output compared to the other in my price range. That it was also the cheapest was an unexpected bonus. At home it performed exactly as I suspected. After trying both music and movies, I indexed the control knobs and scales with a dab of white paint--less for music, about 40 percent--more for movies, about 75 percent. My CV S-150 is marked the same, except its more like 30 and 60. The final test was both systems going. Panasonic DVD A-110 to Yamaha DSP A1, which sends front sound to Klipsch C-5 center, Forte mains, and Optimus LX-5 effects, The big C-V sub-150, and rear sound to a Harman-Kardon AVR-10 which then splits the rear surround sound out to an Optimus center, Klipsch KG 1.5 book shelf speakers, and to the KLH sub. Twister in the DVD player, set the dialogue at a comfortable level and it gets real loud during the tornado segments. Perfect, felt like the house was trying to lift off the ground. Far better than any movie theater. Finally, playing classical music from public radio on the AVR-10, using just the KG 1.5s and the KLH sub, is very satisfying.

Similar Products Used: Cerwin Vega Sub-150, Sony powered sw, and a pioneer passive sub.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Andre   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 25, 2001]
Strength:

price.... gives good bass response..... nice small size (mine has a 120 watt amp and crossover frquency is 40 - 180 hz not 100 watt 50 - 200 hz) has a nice sized port in the rear ( i think 4 inch diameter)

Weakness:

speaker does not handle the power of the amp as it should at loud levels.

for the price you cant go wrong... but at loud levels you may get some distortion. still... i plan to get more because of the price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Tindall   Audiophile [May 18, 2000]
Strength:

Great extension*for a retail of $150*

Weakness:

Woofer needs to be built better to handle power of amplifier

I work at Best Buy, so I don't own this sub but I listen to it while I am at work. Honestly, the first time I listened to it after unpackaging it was to laugh at it. Well, the sub had the last laugh. I was stunned after only listening to it for a minute, I immediately heard the lower bass notes that the above mentioned subs couldn't produce. And also, those other subs costed anywhere from 100-400 dollars more which makes this sub a genuine STEAL at $150 + TAX!!!!
Even if you don't need a sub, take a listen for yourself at your local BB store and see what you think. If the sub sounds a little distorted when you first start listening, look at the rear volume controls and set about 2-3 notches BELOW half way up. After that, just set the crossover to your liking and ENJOY!!!! BTW, I own a Velodyne F-1000 sub,
so I know a decent sub when I hear it. :) Later!!!!!
Drewman

Similar Products Used: JBL 10", Yamaha dual and single 8", Cerwin Vega 15"
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
c b   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 16, 2001]
Strength:

price, sound, low frequency responce (I measured 27Hz with some resonance)

Weakness:

amplifier burnout (signal input electrtonics) after 1yr of casual use with vol at 50% and crossover set near 90Hz. Don't buy this product!

Electronics overheated while operating within specified limits: <80mA low signal imput. I would suggest incorporating a fusable link to protect the input electronics

Similar Products Used: Bose Audio powered sub
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Kevin Baucom   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2001]
Strength:

Powerful

Weakness:

Not as tight as some higher-end woofers (there is somewhat of a delay in the bass), Popping sound when turning on or off, only goes down to 30Hz.

Good subwoofer. I am thinking of replacing with a Velodyne or Klipsch now that I have more money than I did back in College when I got this one.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com