KLH AWS-110 Subwoofers

AWS-110

User Reviews (130)

Showing 1-10 of 130  
jchowmis   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2003]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

Non reliable Amp

I got it from Costco last summer. It works fine with movie and music. The price is good too. However 3 days ago, I heard a pop sound when I turned it on and the amp blew. No more bass again! I am lucky that I got this from Costco. They allow me to refund it even I think it is not fair to Costco. I think about to get a Yamaha subwoofer now

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Brad   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 06, 2003]
Strength:

Good sound, good instructions. good price.

Weakness:

Sucks butt, blows after a few months, AMP problems, distortion. Don't buy this speaker, you might as well either buy the newer modle, or just go with a JBL, its worth it.

I bought this Sub from HHgregg back in January i used some christmas money that i had to purchase it. It sounded great in the store, and it sounded great at home, and the price was awesome. I took it up to school and it rattled everyones room. Next thing i know it dies, i check everything and then i called KLH. I said my ASW10-120 is not producing any sound. Without any questions they said take out the amp and send it to us. So i was thinking that this was a problem that wasn't just happening to me. I thought about it and said....Nahh im gonna get a better quality speaker. So i took back the speaker and bought a JBL PB10 and it rocks. I love it...Plus it has a 5 year parts, and labor warranty with it.

Similar Products Used: JBL pb10.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
tinn_85   AudioPhile [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

PRICE >$100 that's rather good, and it sounds great with minor tweaks, and adjustments

Weakness:

It can't keep up with My Yamaha towers, but it's just a 10" and it's not in a corner, a lot of excursion at high levels, but not as much sound. The cabinet is a lot uglier than others, and the driver is Mo ugly (a little enamel fixed that)

OK, I bought this to appease my parents... I wanted a 15" and this is what I settled on. All in all it has been a great sub for the money. I haven't noticed any overheating or any of the problems many others have had. I did load the inside with some more poly-fill, that helps a lot! I also added an enamel grey coat of paint and a clear coat, it's stiffened the cone up some and doesn't distort as much. Don't skimp on the cables, and you shouldn't have any noise problems. I'm thinking about switching to at least a 12" driver and keeping the amp... It's a good peice of work. If you can still find one get it.

Similar Products Used: I had a infinity perfect 12.1 sitting where this was now, but it was powered by a Aiwa shelf system, no where near the 400 rms in my car. and this one does have a nicer cabinet than a car box.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
salbright   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2002]
Strength:

Customer support. Way to go KLH! Very good sound/price ratio.

Weakness:

Now with comparison, the boominess is now more noticable. I'm going to put more foam inside the box to see if I can help this.

This is a second posting, but I have to make a couple of points and defend those of us who have experienced blown amplifiers with this unit. First, my unit began blowing fuses while listening to music at background levels. It is hooked up utilizing a Sony ES preamp with subwoofer out. I called KLH and they were VERY NICE. I can't say enough about their service. They asked me to send in the amp with receipt and that they would replace it. I could not find the receipt however, and this thing sat in my basement for 8 months. Finally, I sent in the unit WITHOUT the receipt, explaining my problem. I figured they would either replace it, or they wouldn't (Whatever...the subwoofer was useless to me anyway so what the heck...). Much to my very pleasant suprise, They sent me a repaired amp FOC! Kudos to KLH. You could not expect more from a company from a service standpoint, especially from a company which is not highend (anybody try to deal with Sony?!). Last Christmas I received a 15"subwoofer from Aperion, and for the first time, have been able to compare subwoofers. Not a fair comparison, as the Aperion is 4X the cost, but others have expressed the following which is the truth: You get what you pay for. The Aperion's sound is far less boomy than the KLH, but I can't say I am displeased with the KLH. I have now put together a second system utilizing this subwoofer with BIC Venturi 52si in an inexpensive subwoofer/satellite system. For less than $250, this system is impressive. Not high end by any means, but will fool a lot of people...

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
erwadley   AudioPhile [Dec 02, 2002]
Strength:

Value, does everything it should within a reasonable limit. Good ergonomics, comes with feet, switches ports well done.

Weakness:

Amp section would not be the most clean under full load but read THD and other vitals before buying if not comfortable with it.

I was on a strict budget when I bought this and I really don't have any complaints. It is more than enough power/range/response etc for a small -medium sized room -unless you are some moron rube who thinks that 'bass rules' and that 'dude it rocks' a way to accurately describe components. In short: the amplifier section is what you would expect for 100 bucks, but good value, mine has been very reliable for usage of 2-3 hours a day at sometimes very loud listening levels -and as with anything if you don't tax a cheap section too much so that the bass section on an active sub is out of proportion with the rest of the music(like only a bafoon subwoofer -car audio type would do) then you will find this bargain sub satisfactory. No complaints here, the sound is accurate, room filling and fun. I even have trouble with it rattling the room too much on heavy bass lines from Jazz/rock pieces. Obviously for its price it won't disappoint-again unless you are like some other reviewers who don't understand that a sub is complement to an audio setup not the main component.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
MIke   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 30, 2002]
Strength:

LOW Freq. bass-better tham my pops JBL Variable X-over Supa Cheap!

Weakness:

KLH-Bad reviews

This is Model KSUB-10 available at Costco. I thinks this subwoofer kicks arss for the price. I''m a bit concerned about some reviews I read saying there were problems with the amp. Not that concerned though, since Costco has the "NO ?''s ASKED" forvever return policy. I love that!

Similar Products Used: AudioSource SW10 100w downfiring sub. Very Nice until stolen:( BASSTARDS!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tram   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2002]
Strength:

lots of bass, great frequency range(price wise), pumps out power 120 watts!

Weakness:

uh, well somtimes if you turn it too loud like really loud you can hear a little distortion.

OK, I just want to say that the people who gave the sub a bad review, well dumass. thats all i got to say about them, but for me its a little different. This KLH 10 120 watt subwoofer is the best and it works perfectly fine and it has no defaults or problems related to it. It has the needed bass and a little more to thump the whole house! I mean 100$ and you get a better sub than one costing 400$ and not even 100 watts! Thats when i dont get you look for a cheap cost sub that has lots of bass and a decent size (10 inch) but you see all these 200-700 doller subs and they are berarly hitting 200 watts, that i laugh at. the KLH is perfect for anybody and anything that likes bass. anybody who thinks different well, you can kiss my ass

Similar Products Used: harmon kardon 700 watt 15" (crappy)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2000]
Strength:

Price. Made in USA. One year warranty.

Weakness:

Popping noise after unit does an auto shutoff

I've noticed that the model for this heading is for a AWS -110 sub, but I see other reviews indicating that this is the one that is available at Costco for $99. Just to note a correction the Costco model is ASW-10.
All things considered this is a great bargain for $99. We all know that if you want to spend in the $300-$500 range there are definetely better subs out there. For this price range ($100) I don't know of any better value for an American made sub.
I was also bothered by the switching noise when the auto shutoff was selected (happens after 5 minutes of no signal). When watching a DVD that didn't have any .1 channel output for that length of time the speaker gave that annoying popping sound when the amp shut down. This was solved by simply plugging the sub into the switched outlet on my receiver and not selecting the auto shutoff feature. Now it stays on whenever my receiver is on with no noises.
The variable frequency crossover and volume controls on the unit make it easy to tune the sub to your system.
The specs say it only goes down to 30 Hz. If you really need that extra 10 Hz to make it to that magic 20 Hz you have to spend hundreds more. This unit will satisfy most of us bargain hunters for this price.

Similar Products Used: Cerwin Vega SW 12 (not powered)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Doug Walden   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 19, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound and price. Easy setup.

Weakness:

None for the money. The user documentation could stand to have more details, however.

I read some of the reviews for this sub here at AudioReview.com. I then bought this sub at Costco for $99 dollars and am VERY pleased with its performance. It offers very deep bass, qulity construction and easy setup. I believe you could spend 2-3 times the price and not have better performance. I attached it to my Sony 100 watt digital-ready receiver with my Bose AM-6 speakers (I know 'audiophiles' think Bose are junk for the money, but actually they perform very well for what I need.)The Bose speakers were lacking in the bottom range however, and adding this sub has given my system the 'punch' it needed. I put on 'Jurassic Park' to test it out and my family was amazed.

Overall, I would highly recommend this KLH product, especially for the unheard of price of $99 at Costco.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ymc27265   Audiophile [Dec 26, 2000]
Strength:

Price, 'tweakability' - anyone who has one try these tweaks to improve the bass 100%

Weakness:

Quality

Bought two of these as rear surround subwoofers and paid just $60 each for them. First one died after 15 minutes. After a couple of weeks pissing around with Best Buy, I managed to get another one direct from KLH. Still sounded a little weak and flappy at low bass below 40Hz and died at around 35Hz. So anyhow, I got bored one day, and decided to tweak them a little. I have NEVER heard such a difference from such an inexpensive tweak. I IMPLORE anyone reading this to go to the 'Home Depot' and get the following ;

Two 12" SQ. real stone bathroom tiles ($2 each),
A piece of rubber matting (shower underlay) ($2),
Two packs of 3/8" I/D 'Frost King' polyethalene foam pipe insulation.

Unscrew drive unit with woofer and remove the crappy foam sheet inside that's supposed to dampen the vibration. Next, after cutting to length, pack the insulation tubes the full way around the sub's chasis, including the base. Although you may not need to - I also decided to redrill the woofer holes at N, E, S & W as opposed to the supplied NE, SE, SW, NW drillings which were off center. Re-assmeble the woofer and place on the bathroom tiles with the rubber matting between the two. After this re-building the new 'drop off point' was at 26Hz - nearly 10Hz better than previous. The difference on DVD's like the Abyss, Blade or The Matrix is pretty big even though I have these subs set up for surround use only. If you have a couple of hours to spend it is well worth it. It turns what was a $100 woofer into something closer to a $350 unit. KLH take note....



Similar Products Used: M&K (main) / Cannon VSB passives (center channel)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 130  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com