JBL PSW-D115 Subwoofers

PSW-D115

15" 350w Amplified Subwoofer

User Reviews (35)

Showing 1-10 of 35  
jadeox   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2003]
Strength:

I have to say, when my sub is working it was good. Bass was low but not as tight. It will shake up your house.

Weakness:

People complaints about the size? Well, what did you expect from a 15"? You can't put it on a 12" casing.

I had the PSWD115 for over two years now. During that time, it has worked for maybe 5 months, the rest was spent in the shop or at home waiting to be fixed. This is the second time the woofer is in the shop(been there for the past 3 months), waiting on a part which JBL don't know if they still carry. The first time was after 2 months from purchase, back then it was still under warranty. JBL customer service offered to swap out my 15" for a refurbish PB12 which they said is their current comparable model. Please.... how can you give me a 12" for my 15"? Get real! After two years of frustration and wasted time and money, I'm going to ebay my home theater setup consisting of a HK 7000 receiver and JBL Studio speakers including surround speakers, and will get a Denon 4802 with Infinity new Alpha series. I will do my best to avoid dealing with JBL again.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
jgeren   Casual Listener [Feb 27, 2003]
Strength:

Doubles as an end table. Can drown out your girlfriends conversation with ease.

Weakness:

No mids, but who cares. buy some speakers for those.

Predator Scene "Jungle Comes Alive" Enough Said

Similar Products Used: G.E. 90-115b
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shook Tann   Casual Listener [Feb 27, 2003]
Strength:

Doubles as an end table. Can drown out your girlfriends conversation with ease.

Weakness:

No mids, but who cares. buy some speakers for those.

Predator Scene "Jungle Comes Alive" Enough Said

Similar Products Used: G.E. 90-115b
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
alan srodawa   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2003]
Strength:

Very good sound and power for the dollar. Metal front grille is ugly but keeps my 2 toddlers away from the woofer, very durable. A blessing!

Weakness:

It broke after 8 months. JBL was nice about it, and the local service center fixed it in 2 weeks. Local shop suggested using only the low level inputs. From what they could tell using the high level inputs with a "dirty" or an above 125watt/per amp was the main culprit in a few failures. The pre-amp won't tolerate it on the high side. I wish it hadn't broken but it has worked now for another year with no trouble. If something does break JBL did the best they could. Other weakness is that it's large enough for a family of refugee's to live in.

One more positive vote for this sub! I have used it in conjuction with B&W DM600 speakers and it is a wonderful combination. The sub blends very nicely with them with no holes in the sound. For Home Theatre I think this sub is the best choice for the dollar, especially if you have a large room to fill with bass. It has actually cracked a mirror on my living room wall, so I can't imagine you would need more.

Similar Products Used: Optimus PW-12, Design Acoustics SW-12 (passive)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mark koch   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 14, 2000]
Strength:

outstanding bass and great response

Weakness:

none

excellent choice if you want to feel movies in your house.highly recommmend

Similar Products Used: other jbl subwoofer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audiophile [Mar 23, 2000]
Strength:

Couldn't find out.

Weakness:

Amp fried before I had an input.

I plugged the amp in. I was getting the inputs ready and the sub spazzed out. I didn't even get to listen to it. Ahh, the smell of burning capicators. To hell with JBL.

Similar Products Used: Acoustic Research
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
gia vuong   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2000]
Strength:

Low bass, nice design and cover shield

Weakness:

Unreliable amp

Excelent bass, more than enough to rattle everything in a room. 3 months in it hummed really loud and died out. JBL customer service gave me a run around and so did the local certified jbl repair store. Was told I would not see it for at least another 3 months for the repairs.

Will not buy another JBL made sub

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Robert   Audiophile [Apr 22, 2000]
Strength:

Deep, clean, effortless bass

Weakness:

none that I've seen

I didn't want this sub, but it was offered to me in exchange for some work by a poor soul with no money. I checked with friends, asked at stores, everybody hated this sub too. The salesmen said "here, look at this Velodyne instead! It's a much better sub." The dude needed my help, and against my better judgement I agreed to take the sub-- without listening to it. I figured I was only out a few hours of my time if I didn't like it. So, it sat in a corner, unconnected for several months. I moved, the movers were looking at the gigantic cube and commenting about what a beast it must be!

After settling in I was looking through an old Audio magazine equipment directory and noticed that the sub when for $750! It got me to thinking about my PSW-D115.

If you're a person who believes that cables don't effect the sound, feel free to move on at this point. The comment I had heard most about the JBL was that the bass was very boomy on it. My own experiences with cables and interconnects has been that bass boom comes from the crappy PVC used to insulate the cables. I needed a 25 ft. interconnect, which I made myself from two 18 gauge silver-plated copper wires that were insulated with Teflon. I twisted the two wires for RF rejection and that was it. Total cost, about $20, including the price of gold-plated RCAs. How does it sound? I think the JBL with this cable sounds way better that much more expensive subs (I demoed an $1800 Velodyne that sounded nowhere near as good as this inexpensive JBL, and when I looked at the cheap, cheesy cable the high-end salon was using I knew why mine sounded so much better). It sounds very clean with NO boom-- at all. I put some DIY roller-blocks under the JBL and I don't even hear the deepest bass anymore, but man can I feel it!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2000]
Strength:

Terrific Bass Output,
3 options available to wire the unit to your system

Weakness:

HUGE size, power button way in back towards the bottom

BUY.com hs these units for $299. I always wanted a true Sub, but sure wasn't going to pay $600 plus for one. I had seeen these listed elsewhere for between 500-700 on the web, and this was the best deal going wit free shipping. Check it out, they always have sales etc. but enough with the sales pitch... when I read the report on its size it concerned me, but I saw some spec that said is was 20'x20'x20' - WRONG - its about 25'deep. ITS BIG. The upside is that it delivers great bass with a good punch an audio control up front alomg with a "video contour" button which is supposed to make it better for movies.

The best thing about this sub, besides the sound, is the range of options it gives you to wire it to your system 1) either directly from a the bass output on your reciever, 2) via your pre-outs on your reciever, or 3) from your left, right & CENTER outputs. I chose the third to give my center channel a needed boost, and it sounds much better. (I have removed my Wharfedale sub from that set up & placed it with my B speakers)

The main drawback is that the power button is WAY in back towards the bottom, and its tough to get - I'll have to put it on a power strip with a switch.

My recomendation is that if you cannot find this sub for between $300-$400, consider a smaller size sub in the same audio class as this on, like an NHT, or Cambridge SoundWorks

Did I mention this sub is huge?

Similar Products Used: The Subwoofer unit to my Wharfedale Modus Movies 5 Satelite set.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Rodney   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2000]
Strength:

I wouldn't know

Weakness:

Build Quality, Quality control

My friend bought a KSW-12 recently and it sounded awesome so I decided to add a sub to my system. I looked at Infinity, Klipsch, JBL, and Acoustic Research. I Settled on the D115 because of the bang-for-the-buck factor. Well, I got to listen to it for about 10 minutes (during which, it sounded ok) when it stopped playing. No amount of fiddling with controls fixed it, so I promptly returned it and now I am patiently awaiting the arrival of a KSW-12.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch KSW-12
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com