JBL PSW-D110 Subwoofers

PSW-D110

High output 150 watt class D amp w/ 10" driver

User Reviews (80)

Showing 1-10 of 80  
Shawn   Audio Enthusiast [May 04, 2017]

This subwoofer has stood the test of time. Almost 20 years ago I worked at Best Buy and this sub still powers my theater room!! Love it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
thedavago   AudioPhile [Jan 06, 2011]

Wow, I guess I'm the lucky one. I have had my JBL for over 7 yrs now and have NEVER had a problem with it, It could be that I am an audio engineer and never push my equipment beyond what I perceive it can handle, or it could just be luck. I have used this Sub as part of my Studio monitor set-up (awesome sound unless you ride it too hard and overdrive the amp - it's not a Crest LOL), I have used it as part of my home- stereo system, it is currently part of our Home Theater system which means the kids relentlessly play XBox Black Ops, World at War, and many other games on it LOUD - they're kids, I have even used this at small gigs with a small PA and run Bass guitar through it. Way more than what it was designed for but I never let it run into distortion. It was only designed to run 75 watts rms into ONE Channel - you just can't expect too much from it - but it has plenty of power for a 250 - 400 sq ft room.

After reading all the reviews I will purchase the C6 kit from JBL and install it just to play it safe, I plan on keeping this Sub for years to come.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mike & Linda   Casual Listener [Feb 25, 2008]
Strength:

None - it doesn't work.

Weakness:

The company(JBL) knows about the problem and does nothing for the consumer.

The JBL PSW-D110 is a worthless subwoofer.

Customer Service

I have emailed them and they wont get back to me.They know they have problems with this product and they are avoiding contact.

Similar Products Used: None and will never buy another JBL product.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
cdickinson   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 06, 2005]
Strength:

Good Thump for home theater

Weakness:

C6 (capacitor 6) factiryt defect (50v used instead of 100v as spec'd)

Same problem as most of posts (C6 cap blown clean off board). JBL should be made to stand by their engineering & repair/replace product!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Todd   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound, and has been a reliable unit.

Weakness:

All the bad experience others have had.

Just got done reading all the horrible reviews about this model. Guess I got lucky.. I've had my JBL for just about four years now, and I have been very pleased. I keep the volume up high (about 3/4) and have always experienced room-filling bass. I've taken this sub to hell and back, and it has always come back for more. What is interesting though (and the reason I decided to write this review) is that I too woke up on night to some odd booming sounds. The sub was the cause, and I still can't figure it out. It wasn't a machine gun sound, but rather a boom every 5 seconds or so. I first unplugged the sub from the receiver, but the boom persisted. Next, I unplugged the sub from the surge protector, and plugged it in a few hours later. I haven't heard the sound since. The sub continues to work, so I haven't gone out shopping yet. Disappointing to hear insufficient caps were used.. but mine is still working -knock on wood-. Overall, I feel I've gotten my money's worth out of this unit. Great sound, and not too expensive. Even if it blows tonight, I still have a few months warranty from Best Buy.

Similar Products Used: Polk, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John   Casual Listener [Dec 16, 2003]
Strength:

Good sound when it works! Strong Rich bass.

Weakness:

LED light doesn't indicate correctly whether a signal is being received....and it died just like the other reviewers said.

Liked the subwoofer sound. Rocked the walls in action sequences on a medium setting....but when it quit...it quit. This speaker is long out of warranty, but suspect the same capacitor problem seen by other reviewers. I saw one review which said the service bulletin and info on repair kit to fix the problem was on the JBl website, but couldnt' find it. If anyone knows where the information exists will appreciate posting the info.

Similar Products Used: First experience with a subwoofer although have heard others. Sound seems to compare well, but not working presently.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Kevin   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 16, 2003]
Strength:

Decent bass.

Weakness:

Reliability.

I read all the reviews up to this point, and it is clear that there is an issue with the C6 capacitor in this model. I also read the service bulletin from JBL concerning this issue, and they did indeed use a 50V instead of the correct 100V cap. My C6 was blown clear off the amplifier board, but I could still read that it was a 50V capacitor. So, JBL suggests replacing this blown out C6 capacitor with a 10uF, 100V, NPE cap. They also suggest replacing the C24 cap with a 100nF, 50V cap, the R46 resistor with a 47ohm, 1/4 Watt resistor, and the R23 resistor with a 20kilo-ohm, 1/2 Watt resistor. The whole kit is labeled part number 30721, or the C6 Kit from JBL. Another option is to find the parts separately from an online distributor going by the given specs, or even Radio Shack. To buy from JBL is more costly, $16, but you ensure getting the exact parts and even instructions on how to repair the product. JBL was very helpful when I called in. Although the product was too far out of warranty to fix, they let me know the issue and told me how to fix it on my own to save the money from a costly professional service.

Similar Products Used: 2 JBL GT1041D 10-inch subwoofers in custom enclosure for car
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
JMiller   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 04, 2003]
Strength:

Nice sound.

Weakness:

Amplifier has blown twice, producing that all-to-familiar knocking noise.

Nice unit, if it could last longer than a year between amplifier rebuilds.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
deberhardt   Casual Listener [Sep 10, 2003]
Strength:

Sounded great while it worked. With all these posts I'm beginning to smell a class action suit.

Weakness:

Customer service. Poor engineering.

Had this unit for 4 years, bought it in 99. Worked good until it blew. Did not use it much (casual listener) so that probably explains its longevity compared to everyone else. JBL and customer service are an oxymoron. Never again. Started looking at the Infinity Entra until I found out it's made by the same people. Will try the Radio Shack C6 fix that everyone is talking about. The top of the cap is missing and I can't find it. Mine did't smoke but turned the fuse into a crispy critter.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Hareley   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2003]
Strength:

good performing middle of the road unit for the money - lasted a good number of years for me at least.

Weakness:

It died

I feel really lucky after reading everyone else's reviews of this product. I've had it for something like 4 or 5 years, although it was in storage for about 10 months of that time. Mine finally blew with the same problem that everyone else is reporting with the loud noise that sounds like a jet is flying through the house. As I stated before, I feel lucky because 1. I got a good number of years service out of it and 2. When it blew, it was Sunday afternoon and not in the middle of the night. It came at a bad time financially, but it gave me the excuse to go buy a 12" Velodyne that I've had my eye on.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne CHT-12
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 80  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com