JBL PS120 Subwoofers

PS120

Powered Subwoofer

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Martok   AudioPhile [Aug 13, 2011]

First good sub woofer. I used it with my second hometheater. It would shake the walls of my home. Clean sound.
I think JBL's are the best speakers out there. I think I paid close to 300 bucks for it. Great investment.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
normn3116   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2010]

This sub can go very deep, and is the first good subwoofer that I have owned. I used to have a Sony SA-WM250, but that got very boomy and distorted at low frequencies. This sub is very good at those low frequencies. It fills the room with rumble, but without overdoing it. As far as music, it definitely fits the bill as well. It has no problem producing tight, clean bass. There really isn't a whole lot else to say about his sub that hasn't already been said about it in the other 9 reviews. For 20 bucks on eBay, this was an absolute steal!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RaymondHayter   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2006]
Strength:

Musical. Sounds just as good for music as it does for movies/HT. Goes very deep - excellent low frequency extension.

Weakness:

I wish the amplifier was more powerful. It really needs a 250W amp since the rest of my HT setup is 110W RMS per channel.

A very good subwoofer. A little underpowered by today's standards (100W RMS amp) but goes deep and sounds very musical. Good features including auto shutoff, line in and speaker in/out connectors.

Similar Products Used: Primary comparison is a relative's Polk Audio sub. The Polk Audio sub definitely has more "slam" than the JBL.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Michael Breaux   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 23, 2002]
Strength:

good quality construction, dependable, and great bass.

Weakness:

none

I have enjoyed these speakers over the years without ever having any problems. The bass is GREAT! Especially in home theater. I use it with a Onkyo 6.1 amp and all JBL speakers and sound quality is hard to beat without busting one's budget.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
agtpunx40   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 28, 2002]
Strength:

great sound for movies. goes very deep, and obviously the price. A hundred or less for a decent powered sub is a steal.

Weakness:

sounds a little dirty for my personal music tastes, but that's just me.

not positive about the model year, but that's what everyone else put. Anyway, picked this up on audiogon for $60 AFTER shipping. I use this sub almost solely for music, as I think my JBL S312s have enough bass for my music and is much cleaner, so I will rate this as a sub for home theater. If you want to use this sub for music, it is really not all that clean sounding, so depending on the music you like it might be ok, but I think this makes it even better for movies. When there's a large explosion or something on screen, you don't need a tight sound, you need an explosion. It goes down deep and loud, and I have never been dissappointed with it for movies. If you can find one of these used, I highly recommend it. Another important aspect: I haven't heard stories about the amp dying after a year or two, a definate plus when buying a 4 or 5 year old sub.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
thanatoid   Casual Listener [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

-instruction manuel is on the JBL website -auto on-off -LED indicator -slim size -both speaker level and subwoofer input

Weakness:

-grille is glued shut -grille collects dust that can''t be removed (see above) -Hard to plug in thick cable (recommended)

Hip Hop: Produces tight clean bass for "everyone who is livin it up" Classical Music: smart enough to turn itself off when low frequencies are not received = save electricity

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim Zhu   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 22, 2000]
Strength:

Great strong deep bass

Weakness:

none yet

This bass system has really good strong bass. I'm using it with a very simple pioneer reciever but the effect is still awsome!!! I got the system for $180 and was a great buy. I recommend it strongly!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill Hobgood   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 06, 2001]
Strength:

Tremendous impact on the overall sound for music and video soundtracks. Small. Nice looking.

Weakness:

Red "subwoofer OFF" light is a little big and bright (not a big deal)

This is easy...I bought a bunch of audio items in a poorly done Ebay listing. Kept this sub and sold all the other stuff back on Ebay (well listed!!). Got all my money back + a few bucks and this sub.

I have a Bose AM-7 system (the dual cube speakers) with the included bass module that I thought was pretty good....til I added this sub to my home theater system. WOW!!!

This sub has added a whole new dimension to my system. If I turn off the sub now, the audio sounds lame. I like that it is always in standby and ready to switch itself on when the audio starts...and that it turns itself off when no audio is detected. To think I basically got this for free. What makes the difference is the 12" cone and the fact that it is an ACTIVE (powered) subwoofer. If you have one of the BOSE Acoustimas systems...they sound great but you NEED an active sub.

Gig 'em, Aggies

Similar Products Used: Bose AM-7 bass module
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 1999]
Strength:

Price, deep bass, options, loudness.

Weakness:

Not the tightest bass. Difficult to find this product.

I was shopping for subs and found myself disgusted by the wildly inflated prices I was discovering for weak and pitiful subs. One example: Over four hundred dollars for a 90 watt infiniti which only went down to 32 hz. That's plain ridiculous. I was beginning to resign myself to buying an amp and getting a professional level sub when the sound guy grabbed this sub from the back and hooked it up.
Now we were in business.
If a sub doesn't go deep, and I mean at or below 25 hz (at the least), what you have is a glorified speaker that plays really loud in a low range. You won't get that deep rumble that shakes your teeth, you get an anemic "whap whap" that I hear in all too many home systems.
This sub goes down to 23hz, was only 300 bucks, had a volume control as well as line and coaxial inputs, and a phase switch. The protection circuitry which turns the sub off after long periods of non-use or if the signal gets too loud is a welcome bonus. The sound good be tighter, but my stereo contributes to that problem with a noisy sub out.
Don't get tiny little subs that salesman tell you will "hit hard". You need at least a 10 or 12 inch cone. Eight inches just won't cut.
This sub has a 12 inch cone, and plays unbelievably loud and deep even though it's only 120 wattss (so loud I've never turned the sub itself up past 2/3rds power, it drowns out the music). Good luck finding one, they're pretty rare bacause the profit margin wasn't high enough to warrant continued manufacture.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 10, 1999]

I am not a professional critic. However,I believe I have a reasonable opinion as to why I have been extremely impressed with this subwoofer. In short,this is a well built system. I was looking for a rather inexpensive subwoofer. I knew of a store owner who specialized in JBL speakers. I purchased the last one he had in his stock. The day of arrival was upon my household! I set up this fine-looking piece of machinery and fired up my system. The PS-120 contains a 100-watt amplifier,which is plenty of juice for any sane system. The driver is a 12" high polymer laminate(American-made)cone driven with the help of a 2" voice coil. This is for those of you who enjoy the finer details of life.
The remaining goodies are of the typical fashion. There are speaker and line level inputs. One of the only complaints I have is that the speaker inputs are spring clips. These subwoofers have been out of production for well over three to four years. I beleive they were intended to be an alternative to the more expensive subwoofers on the market at the time. For this reason I have learned to except this minor detail. The crossover frequency is the somewhat standard range of 50-200 Hz. And now that one very important specification: JBL claims the system to reach the pits of the 23Hz arena! I can accept the possibility under other natural,household situations.
I have found the PS-120 to perform well. The enclosure is a rather unconventional one,meaning smaller than most I have seen. On any given night this little subwoofer can shake our world. It produces a very tight sound on both music and movie soundtracks. Help me I think I sound like one of those audio magazine writers. However, I am not at all disappointed in the purchase.
Finally, the PS-120 has a handy LED indication system. This tells me if the subwoofer has picked up a signal,is in stand-by mode,or if the amplifier is in protection mode. If the amplifier is subjected to any other damaging signal(s) the system will shut off. This has never happened. As you have probably noticed I am a strong advocate of the JBL family. You may eventually read other reviews of my system. For now,rest assured the JBL PS-120 subwoofer gets a high rating from its owner. If you ever have the opportunity to get your hands on one of these rare babies give it a test. You may enjoy it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com