Infinity Systems PS-12 Subwoofers

PS-12

  • bass-reflex design
  • 300-watt RMS amp
  • 12" front-firing driver
  • frequency response 25-150 Hz (ñ3dB)
  • continuously variable 50-150 Hz crossover
  • phase switch
  • line-level stereo RCA inputs with LFE/normal switch
  • speaker-level inputs with binding post connectors
  • on/off switch
  • black wood-grain vinyl finish
  • 14-3/8"W x 16-1/2"H x 17-1/2"D

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Pablo   AudioPhile [May 20, 2015]

I was another one to get fooled by this product. While it lasted it worked very well. But as many other reviews, the amp smoked after one year. I'll be replacing the amp by an aftermarket replacement amp. But I'm done with the Infinity cheapos.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
GarageRat   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2013]

My BU faltered. They offered the PS 12 as a substitution for $160 but after some pointed facts, it cost me $100. Have been using it for years now and tagged up with the Overture 3's by Infinity I don't even need to push it on the HT system or listening to music 2.1. I could put my O3's on small but why, it really brings every level top to bottom and super tight having only the very lows transfer to the sub.
I have hooked the PS12 up to my vintage Sansui G -7000 and it kicks azz is the only way to describe it. I have smaller Sansui speakers for that system and larger ones so when the SPX7000 speakers meet this sub, its low frequencies are all there supporting the smaller higher toned 4 way SPX7000's.
Nominal (RMS) output power 300.0 Watt .
Response bandwidth 25 - 150 Hz .
Crossover frequency 50 - 150Hz
Controls :
Power on/off,
Subwoofer cut frequency,
Subwoofer phase,
Subwoofer volume control
2.0 x Speakers input ( Banana/spade x 2 ),
1.0 x Audio line-in ( RCA phono x 2
This Powered Sub offers options to hook it up to varied systems which is a bonus. Not heavy for the sound it produces out of the 12" woofer. 14.4 in x 17.5 in x 16.5 in & 45lbs.

Can't comment on their warranty as my change went well but have stayed away from Infinity since Harmon pretty much killed the Infinity brand. European market saw the Clasica which looked like a winner but trying to get them in the States for a listen was impossible plus shipping was a joke. Nice job Harmon, another stake in the Infinity coffin.

All in all Infinity was a fantastic top notch brand as I can even compare my speakers to Paradigm until it was desimated by HK. Now it doen't get into any running. If you can get the P12 cheap now it carries a lot of weight, sound, and wattage. It has more than you will need in a normal sized 20 x 15' family room.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
gmb2428   AudioPhile [Jun 22, 2009]

Man I thought I had one heck of a good sounding sub in this ps-12. Bought from circuit city back in 2005, and now after just 3.5y the amp went up in smoke! Well I WAS so happy with it I wanted to repair the amp. Called around after searching the internet for a parts place, find out the amp is no longer available!!!! REALLY, a 3.5y old sub doesn't have parts available???? I been running my Polk Audio speakers for 11y now, and parts are still available, but not for infinity, so they sure will NOT be getting anymore business from me!!! STAY AWAY FROM INFINITY AT ALL COST, DONT WALK, BUT RUN IN THE OTHER DIRECTION! I would buy from Pyramid before I buy another infinity product again!!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Chief Joseph   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 22, 2008]
Strength:

Bass, sound, pretty much everything a sub should be.

Weakness:

Too hot and burn up. They need to charge a little more and put QUALITY amps in them, not cheap burnout ones.

My first sub was an Infinity BU-120, I burned up on me outside warranty. I then bought a DefTech sub which lasted just beyond it's warranty. I then bought this sub at video only. It lasted to just after it's warranty expired and then burned up on me. I took it in for repair at my local infinity repair shop and they found a hole burned into the circuit board and that board was no longer available. ??? It's not that old. Well, went to video only and they have the new pretty infinity subs as well as klipsh, but i'm done with infinity subs and the klipsh has even a shorter warranty, so no way. Found some very nice velodynes at frys, but too much money. Found the discontinued dps-10 at onecall.com for 217.00 and jumped on it. Got it today and it sounds about the same as my infinity ps-12 did, so I'm very happy. Take my advice, avoid infinity subs, they are unreliable. Too bad, my entire speaker system is infinity and I love them.

Similar Products Used: Infinity BU-120, DefTech TL200, Velodyne dps-10.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
kenrob   Casual Listener [Sep 25, 2006]
Strength:

Strong, solid bass
Good headroom from the 300w amp
Smooth transition as paired with Primus 250 towers

Weakness:

None found

Onkyo 150 watt / Primus 250 / PS12 sub

My intention was to purchase the Primus 250 towers. In the showroom the bass was acceptable but based on reviews it was recommended to use at least the PS8 sub. I decided on the PS12 based on price (Circuit City closeout / floor model for $189). After a brief trial with placement of speakers and re-securing a couple of pictures that were vibrating on the walls, I am throughly pleased with the combination. I am glad I opted for the larger PS12, because at higher listening levels the 12 sounds rock solid. Bass transition is extremely smooth; at 1/2 to 2/3 gain the bass is very natural. Only by turning the gain down was it apparent that the 250's were severly lacking deep bass. My listening room is a roughly 30 x 30 L-shaped lower level with carpeted concrete floor. The combination quite easily fills the room.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2006]
Strength:

build
tight bass
gain and cross over knob
phase switch
power switch

Weakness:

none

this subwoofer is just incredible! i'm using this sub with a pair of polk rti8s and have been impressed ever since i hooked it up. just simply amazing! great sound, tight bass, awesome build! highly recommend.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Colin   Casual Listener [Jul 23, 2006]
Strength:

Strong 30 min SUB

Weakness:

Over heats, loss of bass quality,

This sub is Great if you Have a fan on it. In thirty min of listening you lose sound quality. I think it sound great but not for more than 30 min and yes i have had it checked out and it is fine just no air flow to cool your amp.

IF YOU ARE SMART YOU WOULD NOT BUY THIS SUB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Service

Thats a joke there is no customer service but they will give you someone elses number.

Similar Products Used: B&W,DENNON
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Matias Reccius   AudioPhile [Jul 17, 2006]
Strength:

Power
Low frequencies range
Linearity
Finish

Weakness:

Response time

I have this subwoofer for 3 weeks now and I use it mostly for music. For movies, it has lots of power and goes deep, shaking the room and adding lots of energy on the impacts, easily recommended. For music though, it’s a 12” heavy driver, which combined with the vented enclosure, makes bass output a little slow. That is, when the drums hit the bass, there is always a very little delay between the dry “thud” from the speakers and the “whoom" from the sub. It’s a really small con, most people won’t even notice, but for the serious audiophile, try smaller and faster drivers (10” or 8”). Linearity is good though. For strong bass on movies and lot’s of heavy beat hip-hop music, it rocks. Finish is excellent and controls are easy to handle.

Similar Products Used: JBL 10" sub
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
cschauerj   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2006]
Strength:

Great sound! Quality construction. Attractive.

Weakness:

None so far.

People usually only write reviews to get back at a manufacturer when something is wrong. Just thought I needed to take the time to commend Infinity on this sub. Initially I was shopping around the popular JBL in theis price range. The bad reviews scared me off. I don't care if the problem has been addressed with there model or not. They went cheap and now I won't take the chance. I spent the extra fifty bucks on the Infinity and have been very happy with it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
dblr44   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2005]
Strength:

Deep, deep bass. Punch that you don't normallt associate with a sub.

Weakness:

Really heavy. With a 300 watt amp, this is not really a weakness, but a neccesity.

I bought a BU-120 about 5 years ago and it died in April. When I got around trying to get it fixed, I was told that the parts were unavailable because the vendor was out of business. I was offered an accomodation offer for less than 1/2 price for the PS-12 and took it. After reading the first review, I was amazed that someone could find anything wrong with this sub. Compared to the BU 120, it is far superior in every aspect. The only thing that I can surmise is that he has it hooked up wrong or his amp does not have an LFE output. I think this sub rocks and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a powerful sub at a reasonable price.

Similar Products Used: Infinity RS-8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com