Infinity Systems HPS 1000 Subwoofers

HPS 1000

15" down firing with dual 15" side firing passive radiators. Powered by a digital 1000 watt amp. Claimed response is 18-120hz

User Reviews (59)

Showing 1-10 of 59  
Daniel   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2009]

This thing is a beast and must be respected! There is not a movie or audio source that this thing cannot handle. I love watching war movies or anything with a big BOOM. There was a recent snow storm where I live and when it finished, snow was covering my living room windows. I turned on the HPS 1000 (the Beast) and with 3 minutes of watching "The Dark Knight" all the snow was gone off the windows. The Infinity HPS 1000 is big and you need to treat it as a pice of furniture in your house (unless you have a cinema room). I only draw back is that you have to manually turn it on. That might be a problem depending where you place the unit. Other-than-that, it is a great, big sub. Enjoy it because I have for 10 years.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
fred neal   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2008]
Strength:

delivers amazing bass for your surround sound or your audio needs. remember though that a chain is only as strong as its weakest link. you must have enough power to the rest of your equipment to really enjoy the sub.

Weakness:

the only weakness i can think of is, you have to manually cut the sub off and on. becaus of the location and placement of my sub, the power supply cord will not reach the back of my amp. I am sure given enough time and a simple drop cord could remedy this problem.

i paid absolutly zero for this sub. i purchased a denon AVR-5803 reciever from craigs list for 1300.00. the sub was just part of the deal. i told the seller that i did not really want the sub. i have 4 cerwin vega D-9 speakers in my living room now. whow was i wrong. this sub is more than most people will ever need. the denon puts out 170 WPC. 4 cerine vega d-9s for fronts, a monster infinity hps center channel, 2 infinity HPS1.5SPS for my rears, and then the hps 1000 sub for the back which claims a whopping 1000 watts. i am 53 years old and will admit. i have never heard anything that would compare. if my math is right, i have the ability to supply my speakers with 2360 watts of of total power. i am very impressed with this sub. i cant imagine any other sub that could compare. but we must remember what i actually paid for the sub. luck has it that i have one of those amazing wifes who does not try to put retrictions on my listening pleasure. if you have a chance to own this sub. buy it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Davidka   AudioPhile [May 24, 2006]

Ok, I was just "surfing" around here, but this previous review from Arpegio shows that he is a complete idiot. (sorry)
Not 1000 Watt? "The Technics THX amplifier actually shows the amount of power it puts out." Hahaha. Yes, it shows, but not the power of the SUB'S AMPLIFIER.
It becomes distorted, yes, because of too high low-level signal from the receiver. This distortion has nothing to do with the actual power of the sub.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Arpegio   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 11, 2002]
Strength:

Looks great - this Epicurean-Macedonian architectural shape looks 500% better in life, no pictures will do it justice! Sounds great, especially with music. Forget all about equalizers and top of the line amps - it will give you the range they will never even be able to process. Front buttons - excellent idea! Absence of auto shuttoff doesn't hurt, as you really have to increase volume on other models just to turn them on (might be too loud then!) Exceptionally built - luxury materials and workmanship - no doubt!

Weakness:

Looks too oversized for a small room. Its not for appartments or small houses. Expensive shipment - paid almost $70 by UPS ground (almost a 100Lbs). The original box is too weak for the product! Generally - if you have at least a medium sized room for it, buying it in oderately used condition for not more than $600 including shipment - get it! Other than than - you will be taking chances against far better sized and priced competition from Bob Carver or even the Infinity's own latest line of terrific subs! There are not too many reviews on those, though.

My wife's first verdict on arrival - "this thing goes straight to garage, you can listen to it there, its too big to stay inside the house!" Tested it with a THX certified Technics SA-TX50 (560W). MOVIES. The Matrix sounds magnificent. Both titles and the part where Neo fights Morpheus. Not sure why, but even the most powerefull subs fart like they had burritos for dinner during the second scene! The bass is tight, fills the room completely. MUSIC. Absolutely unbelievable with music! Without any EQ - electronic or not! - all music suddenly sounds full, warm, with the right amount of punch at 50%. Billie Holliday's 1947 recording sounds with almost unnoticable drums reaching upper 40Hz. This is with no equalization at all (only the amp standard bass and treble, of course). The drum and bass sound is beyond belief. Photek's "Smoke Rings" sounds great (as good as on other powerfull subs) up till the first reverb. This part basically stops, and after a second and a half of silence, hits you again with a moderately volumed 22Hz of electronic drums - masterfully echoed and reverbed! The feeling is undescribable. You are actually being lifted up by this sound, phisically! At least that is what it feels like. It was not even at a quarter of its power! Ambient music comes with a new twist with this subwoofer. I tried Terre Thaemlitz's "Trucker". It starts with 89Hz low waves (can't call it a sound because an average human can only hear 20Hz-21KHZ) that slowly tranform into a sound with some electronic beeping in background. There are approximately 3 seconds of this low frequency madness that almost sound scary. While the subwoofer produces that infrasound part, my heavy clock plays poltergeist on me. It shakes and the sound only comes 2-3 sec later. You have to see it to believe it! Somebody said over-rated? Definitely! Although its too powerfull for a small-sized rooms and same size budgeted home theater projects, and, probably, is Ok for a medium level projects, it is not 1000W for sure. The Technics THX amplifier actually shows the amount of power it puts out. At 25% of full amp power and 50% gain on the sub at a 100Hz cutoff the Matrix title sounds full and rich. At 50% (amp's, not the sub) its overpowering, but still without distortions. At 70% the sub begins farting, that is appr 300W output with a 50% gain. If it is 1000W, its is a maximum - not RMS!!

Similar Products Used: Velodyne, AR, JBL, NHT. Tested and used with: Amplifier - Technics SA-TX50, THX certified, 560W. Center speaker - Technics SBT-A80, 200W. Front speakers - KLH-18T, 210W each. Rear speakers (surround
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
rsmcphee   AudioPhile [Sep 01, 2002]
Strength:

Powerful amp, clean & precise bass. Love the looks of it (imposing and art deco style)

Weakness:

no remote. Size can be an issue (this thing is sizeable)

Before I get into this review, let me share the component that I have matched with this. - AV Amplifier: Onkyo TXDS797 THX certified - DVD/CD/SACD Player: Sony DVP NC650V and Pioneer Elite DVC-36 (5 CD/DVD changer) - Speakers: Wharfedale Pacific Center Channel, Wharfedale Pacific PI-40 Front Left/Right, and Wharfedale Pacific PI-10 rear surround channel. -Subwoofer: Infinity HPS-1000 (1000 watts) Cable: All Monster Cable When I played SADE’s “Love’s Live DVD” this thing conveyed the music with good precision. The sound quality for drums is good. The home theater performance is outstanding. I played the movie Pearl Harbor and Matrix this sub really shook the family room (30 feet x 14 feet) at 6 on the volume and ½ way on the frequency. I really love this sub for music and home theater application. I listen to music 60% of the time and 40% on the home theater application and this really exceeded my expectations. Excellent sub indeed!

Similar Products Used: JBL, Wharfedale, Klipsch, Velodyne, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cory S   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2002]
Strength:

- Sound ~20-80Hz (I only use it upto 50Hz) - Appearance - Control panel

Weakness:

- No Auto On/Off for amplifier - Shipping costs

Excellence describes this sub. Very tight and impressive lows. In my application (a 35'x20' room in a 30 yr old home), I found the sub to be tighter than the constuction of the home. With such a large room, in the past I found that 2 subs work better (even with a Paradigm Servo-15). Not anymore, the HPS-1000 fills the room with fairly even distribution of tight output. I currenly have it wired @ speaker level on the way to my Dahlquists in the front, and a gain level of 2-3 will suffice and 3-4 if you prefer a little more bass in your music. The only rattling or distortion detected is coming from my aluminun slider windows, indoor doors and other objects around the house. This is sub may not be a great idea if you live right next to another unit in an apartment or condo. However, if you have one of those neighbors with $K+ sound systems in their cars who love to show off their distoring boominess, invite them in and have them bring their bass driven CD of choice. That should clear up any misconceptions of who's got the real bass on your block.

Similar Products Used: - Paradigm Servo-15 - Very good/excellent sound, but x-over/control sold seperately and not as productive as the HPS-1000. - Boston Acoustics PV1000 - Very good, but a bit less substantial as the Ser
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
benkim   AudioPhile [May 21, 2002]
Strength:

Prodigious bass, and surprisingly clean in the lower frequencies. It puts out, and puts out, and puts out, and puts out...there seems to be no limit to the bass it can put out cleanly. Greatest performance to price ratio by a long shot of all subs I have ever owned. I did a quick calculation and the total surface area of the 15" driver and two 15" passive radiators happens to be TWICE that of a single 18" driver. So you're effectively getting the performance of two 18"ers at the lower frequencies. Simply amazing at this price point.

Weakness:

Upper bass can be more pronounced and cleaner (>90Hz) but then again, it is a massive 15" driver in a non servo configuration. The cabinet can be deader. In regards to its size, I have no complaints. When it comes to deep clean bass, it's all about surface area and power. Greater surface area means less travel is required by the driver, i.e. it operates in the linear region. You can't defy the laws of physics. If you want deep bass, expect a big box. Sunfire and the other small subs out there just don't cut it...not even close. Why do you think funkmaster George Clinton uses TWELVE 18"ers PER CHANNEL for his concerts? Answer: clean tight bass.

I just got this sub this morning, delivered by UPS. Admittedly I was a little worried about the condition this sub would arrive in and whether or not it would work with the LFE input. Well, the sub arrived in perfect condition and the LFE input worked just fine with my Sony ES receiver. In terms of its sound, for those of you who say that this sub is boomy need to strap everything down in the house (or apartment) because things rattling at their respective resonance frequencies will give the impression of boomy bass, especially if the walls and floor are shaking. Make no mistake about it, rattle things this sub will! The upper bass seems to be not as clean or pronounced but this is expected from a 15" driver. So this needs to be crossed over at 80Hz or below. The bass is incredible. I can't wait to go back home to listen to it, or rather feel it. This is the best $540 (shipping was $101) I have ever spent on a speaker. I'm thinking about getting another one.

Similar Products Used: Adire Shiva in 3 cubic ft sealed enclosure with NHT SA-3 sub amp; Paradigm Servo 15; Velodyne VA-1250X; NHT SW3P; Velodyne servos; M&K; countless others...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tom blank   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2002]
Strength:

Deep, clean bass where it exists in the program material. This sub is capable of putting out prodigious bass with very little apparent strain. I dont understand the boomy label given by some reviewers. I expect that this is due to lousy room acoustics.

Weakness:

This sub is a beast in mass and size. Where will you hide it in your(wife''s) living room? I expect this is why it was discontinued(examine the substantially smaller relative size of the new infinity intermezzo 1.2 sub) The industry trend is to smaller(sunfire, etc) subs that can be easily hidden or that subs look like fine furniture. If you live in an apartment, this sub is not for you for both space and power reasons. You may be evicted or trip over it.

An excellent all around sub, especially below 90 hz. I get a sense of confusion from the reviews regarding the LFE input levels. I agree with some others, you must adjust the LFE level out on your receiver or you may be led to believe the sub has less than 1000 watts. This sub goes deep with authority IF low frequencies are present in the program material. Ubid delivered the sub (100$ shipping!)in one week in great condition.

Similar Products Used: Compared with sunfire jr, infinity IL100(I own one), and velodyne CT series. At this price, there is NO comparison and I will gladly put up with the size given the performance/price. I like the Velo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rainman3211   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 25, 2002]
Strength:

Controls, Power and Response.

Weakness:

SIZE, Shutoff access (button on lower part of the sub)

OH MY GOODNESS!! This sub is incredible. Unit arrived safe and sound from Ubid. It is now connected to my Carver C-1000A LFE out, along with 2 Infinity IL50''s, 2 Infinity IL30''s, and an IL36 for my center. The presence of this subwoofer is incredible without being a distraction. I did not encounter any problems using my LFE out! It offers great control of frequency crossover as well as terrific control of it''s awesome power. Considering it is a 15" sub, it is relatively tight. Incredible for movies, a little to loose for music. My primary use is movies and this one shakes the house. Pearl Harbor''s attack scenes and the blowing up of the USS Arizona will wrench your gut! This is a unit to seriously consider for your home theater. It''s sound is awesome and the price is right!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
lenny00   AudioPhile [Feb 19, 2002]
Strength:

Fantastic power

Weakness:

Lacks precision on certain types of music

No other sub that sells for under $1,000 can match the output of the HPS-1000. On the depth-charge scene in the DTS version of U-571, it plays tight and with such power that those who hear it for the first time are left speechless. Of course, like most 15-inch subs, it is not built for speed, so if you value music more than movies, look elsewhere. For home theater, however, one would have to spend $2,500 or more to get a sub that is arguably its equal.

Similar Products Used: M&K MX-125
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 59  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com