Eltax c205 Subwoofers

Eltax c205 Subwoofers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Jul 07, 2003]
skin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

dont hit these in a temper..it hurts!

Weakness:

flippin clips!...

these are proper bo!...

Similar Products Used:

tannoy mk2,eltax dx50 fronts,eltax millenium 200 fronts,702e,701,eltax silverstone....

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 07, 2003]
aburner19
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

now i found the rite amp..bass is solid yet incredibly smooth and hits the lowest possible till the sub needs taking over midrange from these is very good conciderin they r not clarity speakers and the treble stands out sharp and all 3 tweeters give a diffrent sound which the technics didnt produce nice looking speakers with a powerful look without bein dissapointed to listenin to them.

Weakness:

only weakness is with the clip bindin posts which i treated thes to a bi-wireable post with gold terminals and has made a diffrence.

when i purshaced these speakers i played em on a low budget system and was still amased at the sound from a 20wpc amp recently i upgraded 2 a technics surround reciever deliverin 80wpc and the diffrence was a bit crap didnt like the technics so a few months later got a yamaha suround reciever (recomend to n e 1) deliverin only 75wpc but this semed to double what the technics would offer..i belive the c205 need a certain range of amp and now the bass is controlled and the mid stands out with no loss of treble so any one who has c205 that dissagress with their quality get a more suitable amp this is nothin 2 do with price just they work better on some than others and believe me u wont be dissapointed..

Similar Products Used:

plenty which i have kept..704a,701,wharfedale sapphire sp53 plenty others..

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 20, 2002]
Bob
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean sound. Handle enough power for any room without blinking

Weakness:

Interesting cable attatchment mechanism.

Having read reviews I finally went for floorstanders by offloading my Mission 701's (Nice speakers themselves) to my parents, who needed bookshelvers. Richer were out of stock, so they recommended som alternatives, each week I took their latest recommendation back (went through three sets) and then they got some c205's in. From the moment I fired them up they were celarly better than any of the previous "offerings". When run in they give nice smooth bass, clean midrange and a crisp top end. I am sure they are helped by having a Mission 70AS subwoofer taking the bottom strain though. I went through enough pairs to recommed these speakers :o)

Similar Products Used:

Quite a few, but none came anywhere near...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 08, 2002]
Tim Royksopp
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

So obviously crap from the first visual inspection, only suckers like myself (when I was a naive student) would buy them.

Weakness:

Boomy - can't hear any midrange. Treble - what treble? I think the crossover must be very poor. Too many drivers. Not heavy enough! :) No padding, transmission line, or box strengthening inside - empty box!! Poor drivers and case workmanship. Nasty vinyl covering. Nasty spring cable clips (mine popped out of the box!!!). No spikes. Incorrect box-volume for size of drivers (not deep enough due to not being of transmission-line design) Not anywhere near worth the 'cheap' £80 price tag.

DO NOT BUY THESE LOUDSPEAKERS. If you buy any Eltax loudspeakers, buy from the Liberty range.

Similar Products Used:

Eltax Liberty 5+ - superb loudspeakers!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 16, 2002]
james highton
AudioPhile

Strength:

extremly bassy

Weakness:

hardly no midrange tweeters are very poor

overall the loudspeakers are very dissapopinting with the sound which they produce,they have there stregths but the weakness''s take over the amount of good things about the speakers.It depends on what music you like to listen to if you like the club music these are the speakers for you as they have a very punchy bass.If you are the type for layed bac kind of music then these are dissapointing they have bad tweeters and very poor midrange.

Similar Products Used:

warfdale valdus 400

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 24, 2000]
Josh Warren
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very affordable, look good, will work with almost any amp.

Weakness:

Not over furnished in the power department.

With 90w of power, these dynamic floorstanders from Eltax are superb for all types of music. These speakers will work well with most amps and give a huge sound for a small price. Although the century series from Eltax is older and less modern and sharp, then the new millenium or liberty series, the C205 is the bick of the bunch and has been a success possibly because it is basic and reliable. I have not known anyone, inlcuding myself who has ever had a problem with any aspect of these loudspeakers.Nowadays one might sometimes find a brand new pair of these beauties for as little as £70 and pass them by because the price is to good, which indicates sloppy workmanship, unreliability or incompatibility-DON'T MAKE THIS ERROR. By adding one pair of one of the models in Eltax Century series instead of your plastic loudspeakers, you can be sure to have a new sound experience with you stereo system.

Similar Products Used:

Eltax titanium

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 09, 2001]
Ant
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

very boomy bass

Weakness:

VERY weak treble and non existant midrange

i bought this product for £59.99 from richersounds on the basis of reading other user reviews and recomendation by a friend........oh how do i regret it!these speakers are EXTREMELY poor!i was comparing to a JVC FX system speakers and the JVC blew them to pieces at everything but boomy bass - noticwe boomy not faithful bass just bone shacking bass. the bass of these speakers over powers every of feature of the sound which is jus as well because this side of the speaker is VERY bad! these speakers are going back to the shop tomorrow

Similar Products Used:

eltax monitor 3, jvc mx-d452

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jan 06, 2002]
simon smith
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

cheap

Weakness:

crap bass, blew one within 4 weeks

do not buy

Similar Products Used:

mission 702e etc.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 08, 2001]
Alun Thomas

Strength:

They sound like a set of 400 pound speakers for about a 7th of the price, The Bass is phenomenal and the Mid ranges are clear and precise

Weakness:

Cost 40 pounds to deliver, other than that the only ting i can think of is the finish with is a black coating of something, But can sand down and re-paint i suppose

Eltax C205, Wow i think that will suffice

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 04, 2001]
Andy Nash
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great Value, Looks, Clear and Musical

Weakness:

Lack of Binding Posts.

I decided to invest in these without auditioning (the first time I've ever 'bought on faith') due to the very low price (£60) and a recommendation from a friend. They are my first pair of floorstanders due to room size.
I certainly haven't been disappointed. They are solidly built elegant speakers (the Black wood effect vinyl coating looks a bit cheap close up, but from a distance they look fine) the main quible I have is the use of spring clips for cable input.
Musically however they belie this cost saving and their price. They sound clear and accurate, treble is crisp and light, the midrange clean and the bass is tight with no booming but perhaps a little light for my liking.
This is no high-end audiophile speaker, but I've auditioned various candidates at 3-4 times the price that fail to improve noticable on the c205's. A Musical Bargin.

Similar Products Used:

Mission 701se
Warfdale Diamonds

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com