Earthquake Super Nova MKIV 580-Watt Subwoofer Subwoofers

Super Nova MKIV 580-Watt Subwoofer

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
itssaravana   Casual Listener [Nov 17, 2009]

HI, I live in Chennai, India. why is earth point not provided in the earthquake subwoofer, I had been given a 3 point cable?. I have temporarily connected a earth point to the body of the amp. can i do this?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mrhookup   AudioPhile [Mar 15, 2009]

We are Custom Audio/ Video Designers, Installers. We sell & install the entire Earthquake line of products. Please contact us regarding Earthquake Speakers, Subwoofers, Amps, etc. www.mrhookup.tv mrhookup@verizon.net. 410-961-8689

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stazi   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 22, 2004]
Strength:

Very well built. Easy set up. Extreme bass. Pretty compact for a 15" sub. Musical but even more unbelievable with home theater. your haitful neibghor will learn to show you respect very fast.

Weakness:

Heavy but you won't be moving it a whole lot anyway.

I have been looking for a complete subwoofer for almost 2 years. My 1st sub was a JBL. It was an OK sub, but nothing to brag about. So I upgraded to an infiniy IL120. Then I added a second IL120. They sounded pretty good, speacially for $300 a piece. After a while they just didn't do it for me anymore. So I went back on a my long search again. I tried a martin Logan sub, Velodyne HGS 15, Velodyne SPL 12 and even the over Hyped up VELODYNE DD15 (They were all good subs by the way but all overpriced). On August 20th of 2004, I finally found the truth and now I am a believer. After reading the reviews on this great site, I decided to give the Earthquake a try (I 've been hesitant at 1st, because they are mostly known for their car audio products). So I bought 2 Earthquake supernovas MKV 15. What a huge diffrence these BASS monsters have made to my home theater. Amaaaaaaaaaaaaazing !!! These are so good I had to send the 2nd one back. One is more than my walls can handle. I have a pretty big room (28' x 22') and this baby fills the entire room with beautifull thundering bass. It brought out sounds I've never never heard before. even in non action movies. If you have the money to spend, buy one of these and I will promiss you, your home theater system will be complete. Even if you don't have the money, GET A 2ND JOB and save up for it instead of wasting your money on other cheaper or even more expansive subs for that fact. And while you are at, make sure you save a little extra money to hire "appartment movers" or "2 man and a van" or even "8 brothers helping others" to help you carry this beast to it resting spot in your home theater. Trust me, you will need all the help you can get. This thing will brake your back ( a 90 lb heavey weight champion) . These babies retail for as much as $3000 at some stores, but you can pick one up on line for a fraction of the price. I honestly cannot understand how people could need a better or more expansive sub other that the supernova 15". So if you hate your neighbors, investing in supernova MKV15 in one legal way to settle your differences with them.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne HGS 12, HGS 15, SPL 12. velodyne DD12, DD15. Martin Logan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
starfish   AudioPhile [Feb 10, 2004]
Strength:

solid looking parts

Weakness:

does not work - replaced the amp still does not work - the company does not seem committed to stand behind their products or customers

i have not ever seen such bad customer service. the sub arrived in non-working condition. getting things resolved is taking far too long with too much struggle.

Similar Products Used: sunfire, bag end, saturn, home-made
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
tipteman   AudioPhile [Mar 14, 2003]
Strength:

Sound, speed, accurate, finish.

Weakness:

None

This unit is the absolute best addition to my Home Theater. WOW.. what a boom.. Rocks the entire house with pristine accuracy. Incredible speed for music. Sonic impact is the best I have ever felt. System: B&W CDM SE 7's, B&K Ref 30 pre/pro, ATI 1505 Amp, Denon DVD 3800, Mitsubishi Diamond 65".

Similar Products Used: Velodyne HGS 12, Sunfire
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Manny   Casual Listener [Feb 10, 2002]
Strength:

More QUALITY Bang for your buck! Great customer service from Earthquake Sound Corporation.

Weakness:

Cracks plaster (only joking!)

As the last item in our home theatre set up, it proved to be the most difficult! We auditioned many brands, but unfortunately only two in our room. It''s very important to listen to a subwoofer in your own acoustic area, and High Impact Digital Entertainment understand this. We auditioned the MKIV-12 and were sold immediately. We knew subs could be loud, but to feel it in your spine and under your seat. Wow!!! More expensive subs we had listened to, didn''t come close to giving us this experience - and for movies you want to "feel" the explosions, and Gozilla''s footsteps shake the floor. This sub delivers! It coped extremely well with bass demanding material such as "The Haunting" DTS-ES version, when other subs "popped". It isn''t boomy and is accurate - even with music, although we primarily have our set-up for movie watching. Placement is important, and to get the best performance you need to experiment. There are no rules, everyone''s listening room is different, and so many factors play a part. It''s amazing what a difference settings and placement make with any sub! If you live in Melbourne, there isn''t anything that comes close to this sub, anywhere near this price range. We love it and my husband refuses to go to the movies now - he believes why bother, if you are not going to enjoy (and feel)the sound! Also important, the customer service from the manufacturer - Earthquake Sound Corporation, is EXCELLENT! We emailed some questions, and had a response in under 24 hours! It''s good to know that behind a great product is a professional company!

Similar Products Used: First sub purchased - tested many, nothing similar.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Farnam Toussi   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2002]
Strength:

Powerful, deep bass! Acurate

Weakness:

No Grill, maybe get damaged if something hits it.

I have had my Earthquake Super Nova MKIII-12 for 3 days and its been amazing. I am only using it for music. I never new the amount of bass i was missing in certian songs. This thing goes deep and i mean deep. I have heard alot of low end subwoofers (had KSW-12) and car subwoofers, but nothing i have ever heard came to the sheer presence of this 70 Pound 15" Cube Monster. According to the manual, you can reach 100dB @ 10HZ, 108dB @15Hz, 128dB @30Hz. I don't even want to test it too loud incase i cause some kind of damage to my weak constructed room/house. I know every body talks about SVS and how great they are, ok, but the SVS ultra is so much bigger! SuperNova for its size, its unbelivable. I actually had a chance to speak to the designer of the sub. According to him this subwoofer surpasses the sunfire, and he claims their is no better subwoofer at any cost. For you audiophiles, this sub is not boomy to me at all. I couldn't stand listing to music with the KSW-12 I had because it sounded so 1 Note. Not anymore, bass is acurate smooth deep and flat in repsonse. You can tell this is a quality sub when in the box you find a Birth Certificate with about 6 signatures of the people who put it together and tested it and a graph displaying its response measured.

Similar Products Used: KLIPSCH KSW-12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Doug   Audiophile [Nov 26, 2001]
Strength:

Extremely high output

Weakness:

Slightly boomy with some sources

I have a fairly high end system with the new Lexicon MC12 and Theta Dreadnaught amp run by an AMX automation system. The room is 16x26 and the Velodynes just didn't have enough output for my tastes. I initially heard of the Earthquakes through Widescreen Review where they had an outstanding review. I had heard numerous other subs but they just didn't have the output I was looking for. I understand that output isn't everything, but these are clean and are fairly well-controlled. They are never strained when there are loud passages no matter what source I used. I have now placed the Velodynes in a secondary system. Also, they are competitively priced. They actually retail for $2250 (not $1499) but can be bought for less (less than the $2500 retail for the HGS). Although the Earthquake company made their name in the car stereo business, if you can get past this "stigma" I think you will find this to be an excellent performer.

Similar Products Used: Replaced Velodyne HGS 15s with these (2)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex T.   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2001]
Strength:

tremendous output,construction,slaps,delivers deeeep BASS for movies,but can also keep the rhythm and pace of music

Weakness:

when using the remote to raise or lower vol. youll hear a slight thump at each setting.

Like the other reviewer, I also read about the Earthquake in widescreen reviews subwoofer edition. I actually had my heart set on the 18"Energy, having heard it in my setup already. However,energy stopped making that model, so I had to look elsewhere.Speakers, as you know, are the most difficult to decide on.Subwoofers are even more difficult!Some have deep bass, some have tight bass, some are great with movies and suck with music and vice versa. Knowing this I knew I had a difficult task in front of me. So I started to look for Earthquake dealers.un-be-knownst to me,there are NO Earthquake dealers in my area.However,and extremely puzzling to me to this date, is that the manufacturer is located about 30 mins. from me. What kind of sales team does Earthquake have? Anyways ,I went to checkout the merchandise. Guess what? Nothing is setup for listening.So then I went to this site. GUESS WHAT? NO REVIEWS! Finally, I said --ck it. Ill just have to take Richard Hardestys'word on it.And boy am I glad I did! This thing will rock your world.I can say this confidently because Iam an audio video tech.and let me tell you I have heard them all. My system is dead Quite during playback, so when an expolsion occurs it shocks you.You can only imagine what fun I have watching my friends reactions when they feeel the BASS! SERIOUSLY,IF YOU WANT SOME SERIOUS BASS, LOOK NO FURTHER!MIND you Im a REL kinda guy,For music there is no other, but for movies, GET THE QUAKE!!!!!! Oh did I mention I got mine used for 1320.00.

Similar Products Used: energy,b&w,M&K,Sunfire,VElodyne,REL,DEFTECH,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2001]
Strength:

Engineering; depth; accuracy; slam. Diminutive size valued, too - I lump it all into the 'engineering' attribute.

Weakness:

Aesthetics weak.

I concur w/ the complement below. I've been waiting for this sub to be presented for review apart from its previous iterations. I'll give it a 'go.'

Excellent sub. Continues to surprise me by defying my perceptions of "oh - so that's what it can do."

The MK IV Supernova commands itself with precision, even at tremendously low frequencies. It is fast and loud, dismissing itself with deft immediacy. No bloat. No overhang. It just makes a mockery of your perceptions, threatens your possesions, and is gone before you even look for it. Hard to explain, but that's what Foley tracks require, because of how they're mic'd, and because of their character.

The REL Q201E was good, but I had the sense it was trying too hard - kind of like hearing a manufacturing facilty, instead of that which is manufactured. I'm a very large fan of REL, however...

The M&K was good, of course. I didn't try their larger designs (with my mains) because of space.

As you'll see by the system I'm about to describe, music is very important to me - about 60% music Vs. theatre. The sub will not dissapoint.

System: Marantz SR19, Vienna Acoustics Bach (L&R), Vienna Acoustics Haydn (Center & Surrounds), Sony S9000ES DVD/SACD, Sony 36XBR400. Interconnects by bettercables.com.(Vienna Acoustics is very, very under-valued - in my opinion.)

Note: Rethink your sub's capabilities to allow for demands of future multi-channel, higher resolution sources. I do not doubt the Supernova's ability to handly SACD surround, for instance. (Bass summing assumed)

Good job - company has been great & responsive to questions, by the way. (Thanks Joseph).

Similar Products Used: Tested REL Q201E, unit w/ surface similarities. Also tried M&K MX700 et al, Velodyne.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com