Dynaquest DQ-12 Subwoofers

DQ-12

Subwoofer

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
patryk d.   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 25, 2007]
Strength:

what I like most about this sub is that it automatically turns off if there's no signal detected the reciever which can conserve electricity in the long run.
Lots of knobs to tweak that can fine tune your listening desire.
Build quality is perfect.. the paint finish and the color of the sub compliments very well with my other speakers.

Weakness:

The only thing that i noticed with this sub is its not really good for music listening.
There are times that I want more bass on the music I listen to so what I just do is turn down the sub's volume just one notch and all is good. But for crucial music listening I usually turn off the sub. Anyway this is an HT Sub so its just understandable.

I've been hunting for a good HT sub with a good price/performance ratio. And i think i found one that suits my need. I like the forward-firing design and it got lots of knobs to tweak like crossover cutoff, eq, subwoofer volume . There is a ls also a phase switch 0 to 180 degrees so that you can fine tune your subwoofer.
Overall build quality is very good, from the surface finish and the paint quality.
It weighs approx 18 kilos. Sound quality is very good considering the price you paid for the sub. I could've got a velodyne sub but budget restricts me to do so.
after tweaking the sub's knobs, switches and it's placement.. You'll almost forget that you only paid $100 for this item..

Customer Service

I got a one year warranty from the shop where I bought it in RAON.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ted Velez   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2003]
Strength:

can deliver ur bass needs for ht and music.

Weakness:

have to lower the volume of sub when using for ht coz the cone tends to falter when receiving signals of very low frequencies.

Buy this amp! excellent for its price.

Similar Products Used: ganz klar active sub
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
sprensenbuhl   AudioPhile [Nov 23, 2003]
Strength:

good gadgetry, very bargain pricing ,comparing to what it can perform for its price - excellent, can bring the bass you need for movies (can shatter glass panels)

Weakness:

no auto shut off,not good for music to play with(anyway no one uses subs for music, it is intended for movie low frequencies, rather pick floorstander speakers)

purchased this sub when i was in manila,for my HT setup (B&W HT spkrs and onkyo recvr) budget bargain price for a HT setup. can bring the bass you need for movies, good gadgetry at the back but gives hard bass compared to may AE 150.try one if you can still find one

Similar Products Used: acostic energy 150,B&W hometheater speakers, onkyo hometheater receiver
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Bhot   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 10, 2003]
Strength:

deep bass, 12-inch sub for less than US$150

Weakness:

burned amp circuit on the first 6 months of use. replaced by S&S with a brand new unit.

This is one sub you cannot pass on. It's cheap, good sounding, and strong. Didn't have regrets in owning one.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael Landon   AudioPhile [Apr 18, 2002]
Strength:

overwhelming bass, great build quality and, value for money

Weakness:

absolutely none

Fantastic. This subwoofer topples my old Velodyne amp. You will not get better value for money elsewhere. The new wood finish is great too, and the construction is first-rate. They provide all-gold binding posts and knobs for crossover frequencies, phase, bass, and gain. A little boomy for music, but true audiophiles do not turn on the subwoofer for music anyway; they have their front speakers for that. Improved significantly when paired with good quality cables.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dizon Michael   Casual Listener [Mar 12, 2000]
Strength:

Active Sub/300 watts maximum/great architecture

Weakness:

none to report

Sounds really deep. With a price thats really cheap! It really kicks. Great contruction look like an expensive sub.Great for home theater use.

Similar Products Used: Kef speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Santos Wynnie   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2001]
Strength:

Tremendous SPL, Value for money

Weakness:

With certain degree of Boomines, More of a HT sub

This has a 12-inch forward firing driver (having an inverted dust cap); this sub is well-equipped with accessories & controls found only on more expensive subs (talking about phase switch, rotary crossover setting, gain, etc.); connection to your receiver is via line level or speaker level.

I use this sub to provide the lowend of my HT system, composed of Focal fronts speakers (French), B&W CC3 center, Atlantic Technology surrounds, driven by an Onkyo 575.

Its got immensely satisfying bass in movies. T-Rex footsteps rampaging through my audio room, which almost destroyed my house! It can whack out a maximum sound pressure level of about 103-105 dB in average sized rooms, and can go as low as 29Hz, measured on a Radio Shack SPL meter I borrowed from a friend (thanks to Melvin C). It can rival the output of Velodyne CT80 or B&W ASW800, and trounced the mass market sub called GanzKlar. I can safely say that it sounds close to, if not the same as, the M&K V125. On music though, this sub is rather reticient. It is quite slow, had a hard time coping up with my ultra fast Focal main speakers, no matter how I adjust the crossover. Solution: I just turn the sub gain down a bit.

However, I bought this sub for home theater and for the money, you simply cannot find another HT sub that can provide such deep and satisfying bass as this Dynaquest DQ-12. Pretty decent on music too, if you turn down the gain a bit to avoid slight boominess. At US$170, it's definitely a steal!

Similar Products Used: Velodyne CT80, B&W ASW800, GanzKlar, M&K V125
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Ed Palang   Audiophile [Nov 11, 2001]
Strength:

stereo capable left/right jack, decent looking

Weakness:

haven't experienced yet

Match with Yamaha RXV 620 and Pioneer DV 533, this subwoofer rings my door chime when watched with Godzilla. Its a best buy, Bass satisfaction plus cheap price combined.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rene Rivo   Audiophile [Oct 02, 2000]
Strength:

Cheap, 12" speakers, nice construction, good for HT use, deep bass

Weakness:

little boomy, less accurate, but for the price , its worth it

I can't believe that a sub in this price range could exist, i mean its cheap, price range is equal to other company with 8" woofer, but this sub is 12" front firing, rear ported, 100 watts min. and go as low as 23db, I measured it using my ocilloscope, get boomy sometimes, but most of the time I love it, I use 4 sub for HT, I recommend this sub to all audiophiles with no money.

Similar Products Used: velodyne ct120, paradigm pdr12,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com