Definitive Technology SuperCube II Subwoofers

SuperCube II

  • Dimensions: 12" W x 12" D x 12-1/2" H
  • Frequency Response: 14Hz — 200Hz
  • Driver Complement: One 8" long-throw polymer subwoofer coupled to two 8" pressure-driven infrasonic bass radiators.
  • Amplifier: 1250 watts Digitally-Coupled Class D
  • Low-Level High Pass: 40Hz — 150Hz (variable) 12dB per octave
  • Speaker Level High Pass: 80 Hz (6 dB per octave)
  • Low Level Low Pass Filter: 24dB/octave continuously adjustable variable (40 —150 Hz) plus Unfiltered LFE direct coupled input.
  • Phase Control: 0 degrees — 180 degrees (continuously variable)
  • Finish: Piano gloss black or golden cherry
  • Weight: 38 lbs.

  • User Reviews (12)

    Showing 1-10 of 12  
    Csacred   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 31, 2012]

    Due to space/volume restrictions (apartment), and the fact I can't stand cable and big black boxes clutter anymore, I sold my audiophile system to build a compact, convenient, and visually pleasing stereo system: computer source -> DAC -> Beolab 8000 powered speakers.
    The Beolab 8000 are beautiful and elegant thin towers. Their sound signature is precise and transparent, they image very well...BUT, they lack bass.
    Here entered the entry level Def Tec 600 subwoofer. It was quite an improvement already but I felt a bit limited with the lack of adjustments knobs. It was much better already but I sensed it could be improved a little.
    Then came along the supercube II and what a bliss!!!
    The supercube II blends perfectly with my speakers in the most tuneful and musical way. The overall sound remains precise and transparent but now with the fast, tight, and musical bass it was missing. This combo truly sounds superb.
    The supercube II isn't just a subwoofer for movies, it is a wonderful musical subwoofer with all the necessary adjustments to tune it right (at least to my speakers). I don't see any reason to upgrade to anything else at this point, this sub has proven to be the perfect match and solution to my ears/musical enjoyment.
    The best part is, I no longer feel like my current system's sound was a compromise to gain space and look better.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    omimax1   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2010]

    Jusr aquired this at my local pawn for $300. I do not think it had ever been used .as just like all good audio equipment it takes time to break in and mesh with your system. The bass is very good for music and movies and I love the flexability of this sub. Recently changed sub cables and it became a whole new beast. Fotr those who think cables do not make a difference try it and please remenber that there is a break in time for equipment. Ps this sub hits hard and u will get great tactlie bass. if u turn this up to high u may see your pictures coming of the wall and later discover cracks in the wall

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    henry lee   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2010]

    Just purchased 2 supercube II's,have been runnining them for 3 day's straight now. Kind of anxious to get them broken in. I must say, right of the box they sounded fantastic, I am more than happy. Re arranged my front room inorder to place them in to the front corner's.As of right now my quest for the perfect bass has been finally met.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Mohaimen Kazi   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 04, 2008]
    Strength:

    Loud for the size.

    Weakness:

    Haven't found one yet

    This thing rocks! Loud as heck! I am in a 10x23 theater using 92" screen. My room is L shaped so it's a bit weird but I have placed 4" from left and front walls in the corner. Gives the best effect IMO.

    ***ONE THING TO REMEMBER***

    PLEASE, even if you have to pay extra, get it from an AUTHORIZED DEALER!
    Why? Here's my story. I purchased mine and got it for good price. They said it was a returned item because someone upgraded to a larger size. Not sure if they were lying or not but after a few months, I began to hear cracks in my sound. I was worried. But then I realized that Def Tech gives 5 years warranty on speaker. I took it back to Myer Emco. They found out there was a leak in the back so sent to Def Tech. After a month, Def Tech just sent me a brand new replacement. They didn't even bother fixing the woofer.

    So what's the point of this story? If I had bought it from e-bay for $100-$200 off, and this had happened, I'd pretty much be screwed up from behind. Think smart, not cheap. Thanks

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    gkennedy   Casual Listener [Jan 08, 2007]
    Strength:

    Clean Base, small size, appearance

    Weakness:

    Markings on the controls could be a little larger

    I purchased the smallest Super Cube, the Super Cube III. Since there is no place to enter a review for that model, I chose to place the review here for anyone interested. So far, I can't say enough about how pleased I am with the performance. I have it in a system which in includes an Onkyo receiver, and Boston Acoustics reference series VRM 50s (Great, accurate speakers I purchased to replace first generation B&W 602s which were weak in the mid-ranges) in front. At first, I placed the llittle cube along a wall and was not sure if it was producing sufficient base which caused me to turn the volume control way up. Then, I placed it in a corner approximately 4 inches from each wall, as recommended by the manufacture. Wow! As soon as I did that, I had to run for the volume control to crank it down. Needless to say, the difference was dramatic and stunning. The base is tight, and easily compliments my Boston's. Very musical and no indication of the boom type of base that I heard with Infinity's, Polks, etc., that I listened to. Its pricy, but at less that 11 inches square, it does not take any space or stick in your face. It gets a "recommend buy" from me.

    Similar Products Used: Onkyo, B & W, Boston Acoustics,
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Dave 12345   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 2006]
    Strength:

    Small size, great bass.

    Weakness:

    Lousy instruction manual.

    Nice little sub. Very high WAF (Wife acceptance factor), due to it's small size. Sounds great, better than the old entry-level Audio Source 200w Fifteen I have had for yrs. The instruction manual is pitiful, I've played around with it to get it to sound right. It goes with my Def Tech system really nicely (2004 mains & 4 ProMonitor 100's & a ProCenter C2. I wanted to compare it to an Sunfire, but no dealers nearby.

    Similar Products Used: Audio Source SW Fifteen
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    wolf_deftech   Audio Enthusiast [May 22, 2006]
    Strength:

    Bass extension, clarity.....Its a Deftech enough said. virtuoso performer

    Weakness:

    My not have the prodigious output of larger more expensive subs, but will out perform any sub with a similer driver size.

    I recently purchased this subwoofer and since then have not been able to lift my jaw off the ground in amazement. This subwoofer has truly astounding bass extension considering the size of cabinet and driver in question. This thing hits rock bottom low bass and without any audible distortion. I am happy to say that I will soon be adding another supercube II to my Deftech theater. Great value and quality, astounding performance. If you are looking for a small but potent sub and are bulding a modestly priced home theater, this sub is for you. You will not be disappointed. Definitive Tech speakers have a great warranty and have very helpful staff. If you buy this sub, be sure you thank definitve, then you can thank me for the suggestion.

    Similar Products Used: Onkyo 220 watt subwoofer, Polk monitor 40's
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    cullann5   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 04, 2005]
    Strength:

    Impact, Extension, Precision, Price,and Build Quality

    Weakness:

    None(except perhaps the sucky manual)

    I just recently purchased a Supercube II to replace an aging entry level PhaseTech sub that I have had for years. I, believe it or not, purchased the sub on-line without even an audition. I had read so many positive reviews on the unit that I felt comfortable enough. Once the sub showed up at my door I quickly got it set up and began to run it through its' paces. As with all other reviewers here I was amazed by the sheer impact and weight that this sub was capable of. The amount and quality of the bass produced from this little monster was impressive. The sound, to me, is very reminiscent of M&K's push pull subs like the MX-70B.... very precise and controlled. The only chink in this amazing units armor that I have found is that it can be, at times, too precise. What I have noticed is that when listening to 2 channel music some of the upper bass bloom that is usual in live jazz and blues performances and what is reproduced accurately by my Meadowlark,Bryston,Audio Research audio only setup is not quite there. This issue may be sorted out by varying room placement.... we’ll see. Overall the sub is AMAZING without even considering size or price. I would highly recommend this sub!

    Similar Products Used: M&K MX-70B Phase Tech Power 10 HSU VTF-3
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    acrsaved   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 02, 2005]
    Strength:

    1) Will certainly fill an average sized room (mine is 2700 cubic feet) with very clean, deep and loud bass. 2) Extends fairly deep (14Hz). 3) Creates decent pressure (108db @ 60hz, 1 meter) 4) Has a lot of power (1000W RMS/1250 Peak amp) 5) Convenient to place anywhere in the room. 6) Company has an excellent reputation. 7) Less than $1000. 8) Packed very well, easy to set up. 9) What info the manual does have is helpful. 10) Excellent customer question response.

    Weakness:

    1) Could have more precise markings on the gain, low, and high pass filter dial plates 2) Could have a more refined manual with more detailed specs listed for those of us who like that kind of information.

    I needed to buy a replacement for my Advent sub. As usual, I started my search here, sorting on subwoofers by ratings and then looking for subs that: 1) got a rating > 4.75, 2) under $1000, and 3) had >3 reviews. I narrowed it down to just a few models, but the top 3 were: 1) SVS 16-46 PC Plus ($875, 12", 525W RMS, 16-100Hz, 5.0 rating from 6 reviewers) 2) Klipsch RSW-10 ($1000, 10" active+10" passive, 385W RMS, 29-120Hz, 5.0 rating from 11 reviewers) 3) Definitive Technologies SuperCubeII ($900, 8" active+(2)8" passive, 1000W RMS (1250W peak), 14-200 Hz, 5.0 rating from 4 reviewers) I went to Myer Emco and auditioned what they had: a $700 B&W 12" and the $2000 Velodyne DD-10. The B&W was not very impressive. Placed just next to this was the Velodyne, but I could hardly hear it. I was not interested in laying down $2k so I did not ask him to turn the gain up. I'm not convinced it was even on. I went to the larger Myer Emco about 20 miles away and they had quite a selection. SuperCube, the salesman was certainly pleased, and apparently now I was talking his language. He was extremely enthusiastic about the SuperCube and he never suggested I audition anything after this, even though he certainly had pricier units. He applauded the build quality, the tech service (they answered my pre-purchase questions promptly and completely), and the sound quality. Apparently, this active/passive design was pioneered by DefTech, and is now being copied by other high-name brands, like Klipsch. I auditioned it with U-571, Attack of the Clones, Saving Private Ryan, and MercyMe's 'Almost There' CD. The sound quality was awesome. I like a clean and crisp, but deep and loud, LF tone that is there only when it needs to be, but when it is, it moves you. I do not like any background grumbling or rumblings that are still going on 30 seconds after the explosion went off. Give it to me crisp, clean, deep, and loud, then go away and come back again when you are needed! This sub gives me exactly that. It has a relatively low extension, down to 14 Hz. With the build quality and the dual passive design, recovery time is phenomenal. With the 1000W amp, I need only set the gain at 2 (out of 10), and with the low pass set to ~60, it delivers incredibly pure and distinct bass tones like the beat of a drum that are both deep and loud (a rattle your bones deep and loud). Of course, you can turn the gain up and set the low pass at 80 and this unit will shake the china in the cupboard, and rock your world. This little thing moves air! As mentioned by others, the manual is barely a manual, but I know the DefTech guys will take care of me if I have questions. I placed it 2" from the side and 4" from the back in the corner of my 15x15x12 foot room. I have a Yamaha THX 7.1 RX-V1400 with a single sub out. I connected to this out with a Monster sub cable, split to the L/R low line in on the sub. I have the mains wired directly from the receiver with Monster black ultra-low interference quad cable in 16ga with Monster Cable banana clip screw on connects. With the receiver, I have the mains selected as large, which apparently auto turns the LFE signal to 0%. The crossover is receiver-selected at 80Hz (THX). I have the LFE/Bass out signal selected to the SWFR only. The mains (dual 8" woofers, 5" mid) have a frequency range with 42Hz at one end, but I will likely never be below 60hz or even 80Hz with them. I have the gain set at the third dot. From reading the ‘manual’, I don't think I need to modulate the high pass filter, since I am not passing the signal through the sub to the mains. I have the low-pass set ~ half way between 40Hz and 95Hz. When I had the low pass set to ~80Hz and played the end of U-571 where they sink the ship with the stern torpedo, the unit was still grumbling and the room was still shaking long after the ship met its demise! Assuming a linear scale between 40Hz and 150Hz on the low pass dial plate, and assuming the dots are spaced equi-distant, I calculated that the dots correspond to 62, 84, 106, and 128. Set to that ~62Hz dot, I played Star Wars II and Mask of Zorro in Superbit and I was very, very pleased. I've found a great spot to keep the low pass setting for playing movies. I am also very pleased with it musically. In the 7-Channel Stereo mode the music is incredible. Really crisp and clean. I found I could move the low pass up towards 80Hz with music and still have it sounding very crisp and not boomy. The unit is also VERY small at 1 cubic foot. A quality that if all other things were equal, will leave the SVS in second place alone.

    Similar Products Used: Advent 8" 75W
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    pasa379   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 26, 2005]
    Strength:

    -The best bass I've ever heard for under $2000 -blows the socks off subs 3 times it's size -almost never chatters or clips -highly portable -looks nice and makes your buddies envious

    Weakness:

    -a little light in weight; can jump a little at higher levels; causing a minute lose of bass -doesn't have a standard detachable power cord

    I bought the Supercube III to replace a tired old JBL PSW1000, that could not hang with my reference series Klipsch towers. I started my search by going to my local audio stores. First I went to a store that sold Paradigm, I demo'd a seismic 12 and a PW2200. The seismic cost $1400, and was supose to be able to play down to 17hz. I really wanted to audition the seismic 10 but they didn't have one, but in hind sight, it wouldn't have changed anything. The seismic sub sounded a little muddy, and to make things worse, the radiators chattered against their frames. This was sad because I wasn't playing it all that loud. The second sub auditioned was the PW2200 which is a big 12" woofer. It sounded pretty good, but I would hope so for it's size. I then went to Circuit City to play with the Velodyne subs. The first one I auditioned was the VRP1200, it was a total dud. I could barely hear it. The other sub was the DPS10, which wasn't bad but wasn't much better than my JBL. The last stop was Ultimate Electronics, where I found the sub of my dreams. I orignally walked in thinking that I would get a Klipsch sub to match my set, which does seem a little OCD, but knew the Klipsch subs got bad reviews. I wanted to listen to 3 subs to find out which one I liked best. The first was the RW12 from Klipsch. It sounded pretty sad, especially down low. Second was the biggest Klipsch sub you ever laid eyes on, the RSW 15. This thing is huge, it deserves it's own zip code. It was very boomy though and it's lows (below 30hz) sucked for $1700. Finally the supercube III, blew my socks off. I have never been this impressed with a sub. I thought it would take several subs to produce the sounds this thing did. This sub despite it's size tears my speakers a new one. I have never heard a sub this small play so loud so low. I demo'd it for 3 hours at the store. I took it through 2 movies and 3 cd's. It blends perfect with my speakers and still lets you know it's there. This is an awesome little sub and all you have to do is let your ears do the listening.

    Similar Products Used: Sunfire True Sub
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 12  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com