DCM KX-SUB2 Subwoofers

KX-SUB2

Powered sub, 2 12in drivers, 150w

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
eaglescorpio1   AudioPhile [Jan 13, 2006]
Strength:

All

Weakness:

None

I wrote the review right below this one. I have just added a second dcm kx-sub2 to my theater. I didn't have to add one, but I came up on an awesome deal for a second one, and I quickly got it. I now have one in each of the front corners of the room. If you like overkill. Don't go spending 1500 dollars on a sub. Get two of these and just turn the system up. You will love it, but your neighbors might not. Find it, buy it, love it.

Similar Products Used: dcm kx-12's - still use dcm kx-center series two - still use dcm kx-6's series two - still use
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
eaglescorpio1   AudioPhile [Nov 27, 2005]
Strength:

Outrageously loud. Bass does real well for HT or music once you get it set up right in the right position in the room. Deep rumbling and great bass all the way from 100hz down.

Weakness:

none in my book.

All I have to say about this sub - BOOOOOOOMMMM!!!!! It's crazy. I already have 2 dcm kx12'a for my front channels and adding this was nuts. I have full range running to the fronts and the sub running off of the lfe on my receiver and our 3 story house just shakes so bad. I would be surprised if the neighbors' houses didn't shake. This sub blew me away. I have been trying to get this sub for some time and hadn't even heard one before I bought it. I wanted it cause I read the reviews and I knew it would go well with my entire system. All 5 channels and the sub are all dcm and it is the 2nd best system I have ever heard. The best involved carver thx amps and preamp and dcm's, velodynes, and cerwin vega's and that system was louder than a concert. Now I can say that my system comes real close to his. Anyways. Find it, buy it, love it.

Similar Products Used: Dcm kx12's floor standing fronts-still use Dcm kx center series two-still use Dcm kx 6 surrounds series two-still use
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
gdtbutz   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 05, 2002]
Strength:

All, especially with this new AMP.

Weakness:

Non at all.

I have owned this sub for 4 years and I love it. This Sub works great for both Music and Surround sound purposes. 3 months ago the AMP gave up. I have replaced it with a PARTS EXPRESS 250W AMP That includes a remote control (Controls volume and cross over too) WOW. I paid $149.95 plus tax. This AMP is very large I had to cut out about 4" Vertical and 6" horizontally to be able to install it in the back. Dept was not a problem. I had to cut space for the IR remote control receiver too in the front, about 4"X 3". This combination is just to die for. I have extremely enjoyed this sub over the years, and now its just unnnn... real. I listen to all types of music. The Subwoofer enhances the music to its true sound and quality. Unbelievable on HT you just have to listen to it to believe. I would recommend this Sub or any of the KX Series to any serious Audiophile. If you would like more info and some photos please email me. gdtbutz@aol.com

Similar Products Used: Checked many subs. This is the one to have especially with this new AMP.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jonah   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2000]
Strength:

loud

Weakness:

bass is boomy and inaccurate

This sub is horrible. The bass is easily locatable. I don't think this sub plays below 90hz. Its horrible. It sounds like a bose sub. Go do yourself a favor and listen to a real sub by psb, nht, paradigm, velodyne, monitor audio, mission, or b&w. You might as well throw your money off a bridge if your planning on wasting it on this sub.

Similar Products Used: paradigm, velodyne, nht, b&w
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Brad   Audiophile [May 01, 2000]
Strength:

Loud, Down firing as well as side

Weakness:

Just about everything else.

The only thing this sub has is Loud, but it is filled with distortion. Even with my Onkyo DTR-7 Integra receiver it sounds like crap, Music, HT, it really doesn't matter. Unless you can get this sub at a garage sale for $20 don't buy it!

My suggestion. If you are to purchase this sub do a side by side comparison of driver size NOT price! It my boom louder than a small vel, or M&K, but listen to a M&K with a 12" or 15" driver. You will be blown away!

Similar Products Used: Vel., Infinity HPS, M&K, Mirage
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
JOE   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2001]
Strength:

VERY LOUD, WELL MATCHED WITH OTHER DCM PRODUCTS

Weakness:

A LOT OF DISTORTION

IS VERY LOUD GREAT FOR MOVIES AT ANY VOLUME. OK FOR SOFT MUSIC BUT UNACCEPTABLE WHEN IT IS TURNED UP WITH MUSIC

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
chevrolet xtreme   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 04, 2001]
Strength:

awsome sound,great quality for the money,good looks

Weakness:

havent found any yet

all i can say is the equipment is awsome ,,there is nothing else to say.

Similar Products Used: yamaha,valodyne,the new "2001"kenwood equipment,harm.kar.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Richardson   an Audiophile [Apr 14, 1999]

I just purchased this Sub. I paid $279.97 plus tax.
This Sub works great for both Music and Surround sound purposes.

I listen to all types of music. From Classical to R&B/RAP to Metal. The Subwoofer
enhances the music to it's true sound and quality.

I would recommend this Sub or any of the KX Series to any serious Audiophile.


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
lance stapp   Audiophile [Jan 01, 2001]
Strength:

Very loud, powerful, trouble free operation , smooth bass

Weakness:

takes alot of experimentation to achieve a smooth balanced sound. Must be in the proper location and the crossover frequency must be set properly to match the roll off of your main speakers

When I got The Sub home I was impressed by the powerful bass. When I tried to listen to music there was alot of midrange bass and it was hard to control the booming characteristics. Whith alot of moving it around and adjusting the crossover to match the main speakers I was able to achieve a very smooth bass. The location of the sub is not apparent if adjusted properly. I would suggest placing it in a corner and using a low crossover frequency for most. Most modern speakers have at least some output at the 50hz range. Remember this Sub passes frequencys to the main speakers unchanged so you must compensate for this. I used a test CD and I can assure you you can get smooth bass down to about 25hz with no boomyness if you take the time to install it correctly. Also this is a very powerful sub so turn it up slowly to match the main speakers. It is very easy to overpower the main speakers. Most Subs from reputable companys will preform well if you work with them. Location is everything.

Similar Products Used: JBL, Velodyne, B&W,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Qwim Yang   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 02, 2001]
Strength:

very bassy very load very big sub

Weakness:

cost too much

Seems to me like alot of people dont like this sub.
My brother bought this sub back in 99. We only had it for a month...then he traded it for his car subs...So If you guys dont like it, its to load to much bass...that how I like to watch my movies, please sell it to me I cant find it in stores anymore and would love own one again. But 600 is too much for me, We bought it for 5hundred once I would expect it to be a little less Please email me if you have any info.
Thankyou.

Similar Products Used: na
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com