Cerwin Vega HT-S10 Subwoofers

HT-S10

Powered Subwoofer - 10" Driver

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
MatrixDweller   AudioPhile [Jan 30, 2007]
Strength:

- Nice output
- Adjustable crossover, phase and volume
- compact size

Excellent sub for the price. It pounds out fairly high quality bass and goes loud enough for most home theater or music setups. It's not the most powerful sub but it's fairly accurate.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael Broadhead   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 2002]
Strength:

When syncronized with a reciever it will produce high quality floor pounding bass

Weakness:

Sensetive,No Auto Volume

To the reviewers below who were getting poping noises. I to had this problem at the start,but it is not the subwoofers fault. You have to lower the LFE and Subwoofer settings a few db (5-15) on your reciever. On the back of the suboofer put the dials on half. This will reslut in some awesome floor vibrating bass. I found i have to adjust the reciever based on the movies quality, on Shrek i had the recievers sub and LFE settings at 0db but for Lord of the rings i had to drop the LFE and Sub 10db each on my reciever its a Sony STR-DB840

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bob   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2000]
Strength:

Good Bass. Solid and thundering.

Weakness:

Lack of technical documentation on CV web site or in the shipped doc's

Wow! Hooked this up as the final piece to my home theater system. All I can say is the room shook. The Matrix scene where the helicopter crashed into the building was visually stunning before the sub but after, the effect was completely enhanced. Aerosmith came into my living room with this sub. I would recommend sizing the sub to the listening space. I chose the 10" for my room size and it is perfect.

Similar Products Used: I have heard other subs, first one owned.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 08, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound, Affordable.

Weakness:

None so far

I have a pair of CV D7's that are 15 years old that I use for my right and left front speakers and they have done me well for a long time. They sound as good today as when I bought them. When I went to purchase a sub woofer for my suround sound I had great confidence in Cerwin Vega so I did not do a lot of research on subs. I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend this sub for anyone who wants thumping bass without thumping their wallet.

Similar Products Used: This my first powered sub.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2000]
Strength:

Powerful, strong bass

Weakness:

A little muddled at high volumes, sometimes a little slow

My system was in dire need of a subwoofer. I tried the CSW Basscube 10 and disliked it completely returning it after 2-3 days of use.
I had also considered the Paradigm PS-1000, but do to cost cosiderations (ie, out of my budget) I did not get it.
I settled on the HTS-10 since CV has a good reputation for making decent woofers.
I am pleased with the product. The bass is powerful and clean and normal listening volumes. I put the sub through the gamut with Sarah McClaughlin's Surfacing CD - there are really deep bass parts. I tested it with the Phantom Menace CD and was pleased. I tried it with Metal and it kept up pretty good.

I am using this with a Marantz SR-685, Paradigm Mini Monitors for the front and the Paradigm CC-350 for the center. The sound blends well and the sub has brought a wonderful element to music and movies.

The sub doesn't go as deep as I may like. The sound and level of bass is more than enough for my apartment. The room I am using it in is approximately 16 x 14. I haven't heard complaints from my neighbors yet, but perhaps that is because I don't play my music overly loud all the time.

On loud listening volumes, the bass can get a little muddled and sometimes appears a little slow or behind the music. I noticed this on Duel of the Fates for TPM soundtrack. It wasn't worth getting worked up over, though.

I am content and would not hesitate to recommend it. It was what my system needed to provide more dynamics to the sound.

Similar Products Used: CSW Basscube 10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim G   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 1999]
Strength:

Very Strong bass response especially if wired directlt to rear speaker outputs. In my opinion, unless you have a reciever with serious sub out power, skip it and wire using leads. I actually like it better than the hts12 I considered.

Weakness:

None

All around a great sub

Similar Products Used: Cerwin Vega Center Speaker
BIC Rears and Wharfedale Fronts
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tyler Schell   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2001]
Strength:

Works well with the lightweight stuff... Nice finish...?

Weakness:

Can't handle heavy bass, feet are on the weak side, poor performance for the price.

I thought I had died when I finally bought the HTS-10. You can imagine my disappointment when the First movie I watched, Unbreakable, coused it to snap-crackle-pop right off the bat.

I turned down the sub output on my reciever to -4 to cancel this out, but was left with limited listening enjoyment. This is not what I expect for $575 cdn.
I was also very disappointed with the CV website when I tried to find out spec info on the unit. I had sent in an email to them asking for info and was ignored. After my performance difficulties, I sent them another message asking if this is customary for their product. Cerwin Vega, once again, neglected a response.
Since then, I have toned down the unit with moderate success, but I watched Final Fantasy on DVD and was subjected to non-stop crackling and feedback. I am convinced this is junk.
FYI, my system is a JVC rx-7000 Digital Reciever, Infinity Interlude center, Pioneer towers up front and Polk R10's in the rear. I cap it off with a JVC Progressive Scan DVD and a 55" Toshiba Cinema Series HDTV

Similar Products Used: Polk, Infinity, Velodyne.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Fred   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2002]
Strength:

Produces great thunder for home theatre. Pretty good in music too.

Weakness:

Can sound boomy at the bottom of the bottom end.

Price I paid is in $Canadian. Had this sub in my home theatre set up for over a year. Stepped up from the Paradigm PDR8 cause it lacked the sonic boom to fill my space for dvd movies. The HT-S10 has not disappointed in my open mid size living room. The walls have been shaking. I think Jason below got a bad apple. For me, highly recommended as a home theatre sub.

For music play, on the low low end, I've heard faster and tighter subs but they are out of my price range. This baby rocks rocks for HT and Music for the amount I paid.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm PDR-8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jason   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2002]
Strength:

Looks good, Down Firing

Weakness:

Can't handle high volumes. Very poor performance.

I bought this sub which sounded excellent in the store, however, when I got it home and threw in Episode I, and turn ed up the volume a bit....snap, crackle, pop. And that was only on the THX demo. To get it stop cracking, I had to turn it way down such that I could barely tell I had a sub in the room.

Maybe I am asking too much from a sub, but when I watch a movie and a T-Rex is running down the road I would like to feel at least little vibration. This sub cannot handle this. I am taking it back and getting a velodyne.

PS - the price I paid was in canadian(~275-300 US)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Paul   Casual Listener [Feb 11, 2001]
Strength:

Very strong clean base with music as well as DVD movies .
Lots of punch .

Weakness:

None so far , just bought it .

This is my first sub and wow what a difference . Music has
a whole new meaning and movies jump off the screen . There
is now rumble in the jungle . My system is comprised of
Bose 501 front speakers , Bose VS 10 center speaker , Bose
301 rear speakers and a JVC RX7000V Audio/Video Control
Receiver . I realize speakers are a personal choice with
everyone hearing sound differently so the only way to
really find what works for you is to go out and listen and
choose the one's within your budget and that have good sound
for you .
For me this sub has lots of punch and is quick with music as
well as movies . And to think this all started with the
purchase of a DVD player...which begat a new Amp/Receiver
which begat center and rear speakers...and finally the sub .
Well worth it...incredible...sound to another level .

Similar Products Used: Listened to Paradigm PS-1000 , PDR-10 ,Polk Audio 350 ,
Velodyne and JBL subs .
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com